RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Great Ruined World [BUNDLE]
by Chad K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/19/2018 00:29:46

What a great deal. 3 neat color books for one low price. Its a fun game, well worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Great Ruined World [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Page Dungeon Compendium: 2017 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/16/2017 11:54:27

I snagged this little gem because I needed, well, some one-room scenes for an upcoming game. By and large, it's a great bargain - the dungeons that hit the mark hit it dead-center, combining novel concepts, interesting hooks, and excellent art work. There's a few that don't really work, at least for me, because they go a little too old school - simple maps on faux graph or notebook paper, hard to read fonts, and overall dullness, typically. In a couple of cases, the dungeons are flat-out silly (Piece of Cake), which doesn't fit my own tastes.

Regardless, OPDC 2017 is a top-notch product, and the good bits within far outweigh the drawbacks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Page Dungeon Compendium: 2017 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Page Dungeon Compendium: 2017 Edition
by Joel K. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/27/2017 11:51:13

I have every edition of these compendiums and I love them. I look forward to the new one every year. I get alot of great stuff to use straight up or to tweek for my games. As a DM its been very helpful in giving me quick ideas for stuff to throw at my players.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Unearthed Hack
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/08/2017 08:28:18

Very nice stuff. Good price and loads of classes, additions and such for the Black Hack. Also, the table for magic items is very very useful.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Unearthed Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Unearthed Hack
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/05/2016 23:28:55

The Unearthed Hack includes quite a few additional rules for The Black Hack that make it well worth the money. There are two suggested ability arrays with point buy alternates that give it a 3.5 or 5E feel of That Other Game and two different takes on Races: race as class and the more traditional race with added abilities and bonuses. The races are different enough from The Race Hack that you can get four different ways of implementing races or borrowing their suggestions and making your own. I enjoyed the section on monster groups and multi-staged boss fights; those will be fun to incorporate into my own game. FInally, there's the magic item section that definitely has a Diablo-esque vibe to it with bonuses or extra abilities receiving its own special title.

There are two things that detract from this title. The largest is the Combat section: I am not a fan of flipping the table, so to speak, and changing how the dice work in the first method of PvP, but there is an alternative given as well. The level drain segment seems unnecessary for my game, but if that's a significant area for you, then that guideline is there. The second comes in Character Creation: The Allure attribute is effectively a derived Comeliness attribute. Again, I do not need it, but it is there for those of you that do. And lastly, it is listed in the Race section that Humans have access to luck points, though I do not see anywhere in the book where or how luck points are generated and used. If I were to guess, it would probably be a once per day thing or, borrowing from the fifth edition of That Other Game, an inspired thing.

All in all, the title is worth the asking price. There are many recommendations in the game that will find its way into my game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review! Rules for luck points are in \"The Black Hack: Additional Things\", but that was not clear at all. I have added a reference to this in the book, as well as a link. I will upload the Updated version soon. I appreciate your feedback, and your effort has helped make the book better! - Shattered Pike
One Page Dungeon Compendium 2014 Edition
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/01/2016 10:50:59

These are GREAT for sandbox play. It's so good, it's hard to believe these were not professional.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Page Dungeon Compendium 2014 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Page Dungeon Compendium: 2016 Edition
by Dylan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/21/2016 10:16:25
  • the price is right. Happy to pay for this but not a lot
  • the quality of the scan is low. some text is difficult to read.
  • the quality of the work is varied. Some pages take longer to read than their creators spent making them i suspect
  • some of the OPDs are brilliant 60 61 41 34 20
  • much of it is boilerplate but will assist any lazy DM to keep his friends amused
  • overall I love it. It inspires me to contribute next year and to play in the meantime.


Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
One Page Dungeon Compendium: 2016 Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

One Page Dungeon Compendium 2015
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/24/2016 12:38:07

Just get this! The maps are AMAZING, unique, and even contains multiple genres. These one page dungeons are seriously professional level! If you can't run a short campaign as a GM from a couple of these (especially in fantasy), you should only run fully prepackaged adventures (lame!). All the inspiration you need for hours of entertainment for most fantasy rpgs.

P.S. This is pay what you want but it's huge and deserves something!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
One Page Dungeon Compendium 2015
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG