Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left for this publisher:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Breaking Bones Volume 1: Characters
    by Marcus B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/06/2016 09:20:36

    This is billed as a companion for Bare Bones Fantasy and focused on player characters. The cover looks nice and the interior uses the BBF fanwork template to good effect. The layout is OK if simplistic with several illustrations. Sadly they are BW images on a white background placed in black borders within the text. This I find rather jarring and really brakes up the text to hard. And makes it look cheaper than it is. The writing is concise and easy to read.

    First is a chapter on expanded character creation. It begins with rules for 0 level characters. Something I like since running a DCC funnel. Due to the nature of BBF the characters can`t be totally blank slates and start with their primary skill already.

    Next are random tables for starting professions. Each gives your character some background as well as some items specific to the profession at game start. Otherwise there is no mechanical effect.

    What follows are several tables for your characters age, body type and height/weight. After that are more tables to help you flesh out characters background with family, friends, enemies and special events during your upbringing. There are even omens and portents on your birthday! All strictly optional but can help you to kick start your imagination.

    Next is a section that deals with characters that begin the game higher than rank 0 or 1. The tables here deliver some background of what the Character may have done in the past to get him where he is now. As they mention in the text, this is also really useful to flesh out NPC and great for replacing dead characters.

    Following this are 2 new races, first the Deep Dwarf. They are living deep underground, gathering forgotten knowledge and are capable of casting “low wizardry”. And they have their own profession table! The same goes for the Satyrs, the second race in this PDF. Additionally they also have their own age/body type /height/weight tables. Both races are fleshed out in the normal BBF way and usable right away. I especially like the Deep Dwarfs as they go against some of the usual dwarf tropes. In contrast the Satyrs are exactly what you may expect.

    After the two races follows a short, general treatise on the skills in BBF. It aims to clear up some confusion and misconceptions about them and their use. This contained nothing new for me, but may be useful to you. But they do not stop there. They also represent two new skills, the unarmed combat specialist aka Brawler that is pretty much what it says on the tin. Their unique ability is to appraise an enemy’s abilities and fighting dirty. And there is a skill called Mentalist. They have the unique ability to increase they STR or DEX for one turn. Additionally they are spellcasters, a kind of mage/cleric hybrid. Both have their place and will find players.

    The new skills are followed by another short treatise, this time on spells and magic. The unbalanced power has been a point of critic in regards to BBF for a long time. At its heart BBF is an old school game where spell casters where indeed much more powerful in later levels then a fighter type for example. This lack of any balance may offend modern sensibilities somewhat. What you find here gives you some options and ideas on how to handle this in your game if you feel the lack of balance is an issue. They also give some suggestions on specific spells and how you can alter some of the really flexible spells in BBF.

    The next chapter deals with “Legacy Items”. These are magic items that start as mundane gear but are imbued by a character spending some of their own DP. They then have a basic power but can unlock more and more abilities as time goes on. There are only 2 example items here. They are interesting and useful but for me not enough to get a good feeling for a baseline. More of them please, and if they come in their own little PDF! Items that grow in power with their wielder have always been something I wanted to implement in my games and the way they are done here is good. However I would have liked more mechanical guidance in setting up "unlocks".

    Then there is a rules expansions for BBF. The first is about splitting the single Body Points pool of BBF into two new pools, physical and mental health. An approach I can appreciate, as it allows for “mental attacks” against characters, a place where they usually are not armored. And with this you can have a whole new way to make enemies exciting.

    Finally there is another short rules discussion, this time about multiple actions and why you should or should not use them. Definitely interesting and something to keep in mind as the ability to use multiple actions in a turn is one of the ways characters get more powerful in BBF.

    In closing, the 34 pages are filled with useful stuff for your BBF game. At 4,95 USD I think it is well placed and well worth your consideration. The mix of new content and thought on BBF rules in general is great and makes this truly a companion to the core rules. If this is the quality we can look forward too I can`t wait for the next issue, “Combat and Encounters”.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Breaking Bones Volume 1: Characters
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Magic8s
    by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/16/2015 12:42:58

    Great system for various types of game play. I hate to use the word "generic" but I mean it in the best possible way.

    Various ways magic can be used. Emphasis is given on Fantasy and modern games.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Magic8s
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fantasy8s Tarvek's Tower
    by Michael S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/16/2015 12:14:02

    Love the simplicity of the Crazy 8s system. Tarvek's Tower is a olid adventure. We need more!!!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fantasy8s Tarvek's Tower
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Michael, Thanks so much for the excellent review! There is definitely more on the way for the Crazy8s system. Big plans are in the works for 2015! Happy Gaming! -Travis
    Super8s
    by Alessio S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/19/2014 17:41:39

    Mmh, I've read the rules and initially I've found them interesting but, proceeding into the rules, I was disappointed for two important features (very important considering that Super8s is a superheroic rpg): 1) Very few powers: ok, we don't want the huge and detailed list of Marvel Superheroes rpg or the details of Champions, but one or two more powers would have been appreciated. 2) The most important mistake of Super8s: the total lack of superhoeroic benchmarks! In most every superheroic rules systems there are lists with benchmarks related to the intensity of characteristics like Strenght ("How much Superman or Hulk can lift?"), Speed (rocket, bullet, sound speed, light speed, and so on, compared with superheroes like Flash, Superman, etc.), Intelligence ("[...] like Mister Fantastic or Doctor Strange or whatever else), etc. etc. In Super8s I don't see any list of power intensities' example: with what Skill I can lift 1 tons, for example? And 1 mega-tons? Has Hulk +8 on (what?) Athletics to lift a skyscraper? Or has Wolverine Athletics +2 to lift something else? And what is the Toughness of Superman or the Thing of F4? Are the KnickKnacks power related to the bat belt of Batman, for example? All these examples lack in the book and this is my big complaint because I'm not able to do any comparison or adapt supers from other systems to play them with Super8s in an easy way.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Super8s
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Alessio, Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I\'m very sorry to hear that you didn\'t enjoy Super8s. Keeping our rules-lite supplements affordable and easily digestable leads to decisions being made to cut certain information, and I can certainly understand where you may feel the data you listed is essential. Fortunately, we have been able to make a follow-up product, called Super8s Issue 2 http://rpg.drivethrustuff.com/product/141760/Super8s-Issue-2 , in which you will find a chart of benchmarks, some additional powers, sample characters, and an example setting to help get your game off the ground. I hope you will check it out and share your thoughts with us! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Fantasy8s
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 14:11:13

    Of the 17 pages, 13 are the content. No table of contents. Typo (P12): Under Myths of Many Lands, Hopi shaman (Harpy shaman?). Who knows?

    A few pages of CGI cheesecake. The currency seems to be Srip? Makes a change from gold I suppose.

    No magical Items. No healing potions. A list of appropriate skills is given on page 1. Some interesting playable races: Skeletons! Orcs, Yumboes (faerie folk), Draco, Felines, Constructs, etc.

    I would say the Fantasy8 PDF is open to your house rules. Adaptable even.

    As said before; at 60 pence ($1), you can't argue. Worth a look.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Fantasy8s
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Stephen, Thanks much for the detailed review. For clarification, the Hopi is a tribe of Native Americans located in the Southwestern U.S. More information on them can be found at http://www.hopi-nsn.gov/ \"Scrip\" is a term used historically to represent a substitute for actual legal currency which you can learn more about at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scrip Glad to hear you liked the race choices. We are planning to add more in future supplements! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Magic8s
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 13:47:00

    A 9 page PDF (5 pages are the content). Those 5 pages aren't too bad. The magic system has 2 domains (Prime & Principle). So, to cast a fireball, if I had 2 levels in Create (Prime), and 3 in Fire (Principle); that gives me +5 for the Casting roll result, which you then gives you the magnitude of effect (P4 table).

    I tried the aegisstudios.com site to see what they had on Crazy 8's, but they have a problem with their webhost, so not much there unfortunately.

    One thing I've noticed about the Crazy 8's PDFs: no table of contents.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Magic8s
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Stephen, Thanks for the in-depth review of Magic8s! Glad to see you\'re enjoying the systems. Allow me to apologize for the difficulty in navigating our homepage If you utilize the link at the end of the \"While we get our hosting concerns sorted out, you can look at our movies, comics, games & reels here.\" sentence, or visit the \"Games\" link under the \"Useful Links\" sidebar, you should be able to find the section of our site that covers our RPG products. In regards to the table of contents, I decided not to include them in the Crazy 8s product line given the small page counts of the Crazy 8s products and the fact that we are already sacrificing pages for the Open Gaming License. As you note in your review, the 9 page PDF includes 5 pages of content. I felt that adding a table of contents or index would simply not be prudent. If/when we collect the Crazy 8s line into print, I will certainly add a functional Table of Contents and index. Thank you very much for your thoughts! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Crazy 8s Editable Character Record Sheet
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 12:08:59

    An editable character sheet for free: pretty good. Yes, it's editable. I gave it 3 instead of 4, because of the thick black/dark grey border. Ink intensive (just a bit). A light frame (if needed), of a light pattern, might be less on the ink. But; it's free and editable (good).



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Crazy 8s Editable Character Record Sheet
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thanks much for the feedback! We will look to adding a printer-friendly option to the next file update! Also, for those wishing to conserve ink, the font should be of sufficient thickness and size to be well legible on most printer\'s draft setting with the current version, though your mileage may vary. Thank you, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2014 12:00:29

    At 8 pages, the system is 3 3/4 pages. Each page is double column. I found 2 typos on P1 (right column): woll 2d8 instead of roll 2d8; and under Health: appropriate nmber instead of appropriate number.

    At 0.60p ($1), it certainly is a rules lite system (and that's not a bad thing). I've seen other rules lite systems for £5-£6 here (and not worth it).

    It certainly needs more definition on what's written on the 3 3/4 pages. Am I right in thinking that (on P3), that a massive firearm (shotgun/assault rifle) will give me a +6 on my ranged combat? Talking of P3; the 'cheesecake' (CGI) that was mentioned throughout the PDF; how the hell does she wear that outfit comfortably? I've purchased the other Crazy 8's PDFs, to see if the add more definition, clarity, etc to the rules.

    At 60 pence/$1, it's worth a look; but it looks like you'll need the other supplements to 'fill it out' so to speak.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Stephen, Thank you very much for your detailed and thoughtful review. I appreciate the notification regarding typos and we will correct those in the next file update. You are correct that a shotgun/assault rifle does add a +6 to a Ranged Combat roll. This translates to a higher chance to hit with a higher possibility of massive damage. The outfits certainly do look uncomfortable, especially on page 3.... The core rules are intended to be very basic, with expansions to those rules being covered in supplements. The idea is that you can pick up and go with this system almost immediately, but if you wish to add additional elements, the supplements will create more detail and broader options. Thank you very much! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
    by Lewis P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2014 13:21:08

    This is advertised as a Rules-Lite Engine and certainly lives up to that billing. That isn't necessarily a bad thing but it gives me a sense that it's more suited to an evening of "I'm bored, what shall we do" than running a long-term game, or perhaps to running a game at a con or similar where you don't want to explain complex rules and characters to a wide variety of players. That doesn't mean there aren't rules for character advancement - there are - but there's a feeling of such lightness that you think a serious campaign would stretch the rules and require far too many house rules to be genuinely playable as provided.

    If you want to run a system with just about any supernatural element you're going to require the Magic-8's additional rules as well.

    All of that said... the rules are cogent, coherent and you can pick them up in 5 minutes, from nothing to playing. All you need is some paper (or an iPad or similar) and 2d8. If that's what you need, this is probably the ideal system for you. It's so light, you can add it to any setting and it really ought to fit OK.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Lewis, Thanks so much for the excellent review and the mention of Magic8s! I\'m glad you found the system cogent & coherent! I\'d also recommend the Fantasy8s supplement to any who seek to incorporate supernatural elements as you mention in your review and the Cyber8s supplement for those who like a little sci-fi in their games! I\'d love to hear your thoughts on those as well and thank you again for taking the time to review! Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Engine
    by William W. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 08/17/2013 23:16:31

    A simple, bare-bones rules-lite system using a pair of d8s. The full document runs 8 pages (I'm guessing to keep with the theme), but once you take away the cover, intro, OGL, and cheesecake artwork, there are maybe 2.5 pages of content here. Other than some bonus stats for gear and weapons, there is no genre or setting material provided.

    The system is nothing spectacular or revolutionary, but for a lite system, it seems to work well enough. Is it worth a buck? Probably, if you're looking for something different, and have a preference for very rules-lite systems.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    William, Thanks very much for taking the time to review the Crazy 8s Rules-Lite Universal Game Engine. I would love to hear your thoughts on some of the expansions, such as Magic 8s or Cyber 8s sometime! Thanks, Travis Legge Aegis Studios
    Hi William, I've just finished putting the 2nd edition of this system together would like to know if you would be interested in reviewing the updated system. Regards Craig
    Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    0 items
    There are currently no reviews for this product