RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/18/2019 17:08:09

I picked this up a few years ago to run for my group, as $10 for a 700+ page campaign seemed like too good a bargain to miss. I actually ran it with Savage Worlds instead of D&D, but it was pretty easy to convert, and I consider it one of the best campaigns I've ever run.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky: The Complete Campaign (D&D 3.5)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
by Jon W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/17/2019 12:17:45

After reading through the book, I find it a useful and good addition N.E.W. The added features at the end for creating your own races is a very cool feature and one that will be used a lot. The only things I wish and would have liked to have seen would have been a bit more info for some races as the Borian, Venetians and the Drahzik equipment and unique traits a bit more. The Drahzik had their own unique mini-equipment list and starship design flavor added in EONS. In addition, the Borians and Venetians had their respected races unique equipment and such in separate books. I would have liked to have seen something along that line added to some of the races in the Galactic Sentience Catalog. Would have made it truly stand out and stellar. Nonetheless, it is still an awesome book and addition to WOIN N.E.W.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2019 22:42:52

Well thought out, detailed and the inclusion of the ability to make your own race is brilliant.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Galactic Sentience Catalog
by Keith M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/05/2019 15:30:03

I just picked this up and it is an awesome supplement!

I am a Patreon backer for EONS magazine and have seen a good bit of the races included here already but do not let that stop you from purchasing it. There are quite a few new races included as well.

Having all the races in one place is great and the layout is fantastic as it presents them alphabetically yet gives you a breakfown of races by type in the beginning.

It also includes the excellent race generator so you can easily design your own races and there is a section in the back on the aliens of Sol space as well.

The artwork is beautiful and it complements the fantastic layout perfectly. This is another excellent addition to the WOIN RPG. It is worth the purchase and comes highly reccomended for your NEW adventures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
by Martin S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2019 01:56:16

A Great introduction to the adventure! We started on new years eve with this campaign till 0:00. When it was time to roll iniative, real life fireworks started. My group had a blast but I did had to modify some bits and pieces.

NPC's Boy there are tons of those and they are all really worked out! Big props!

Backgrounds By using the player companion my players were already quite invested in the City and knew what was there. Again this makes it easier to motivate players who can often fall to: "why are we doing this?"

-Spoilers beware-

First battle There are some things in this campaign that were a bit.. odd The first battle: The mobs have way too much hp for my 5 -3rd level party. [4E monks, Ancients pally, Wizard, Swords Bard, Alchemist class] I reduced those mobs to around 30 hp each. My group tailed it out of the tavern ofcourse.

In betweens There is tons to do in little time! My group went for the case first. We did a rooftop chase scene. They got the case and when they open it they found paper. My players love mystery but perhaps and idea: Vigenère ciphers! This gives the players something to do in their downtime!

Lot's of portions were skipped in this adventure by my players. Rantle, the elfsubplot etc, so can't comment on those. However the sense of Urgency made it feel like my players did not "have enough time to do all that. We have to make choices! What is most important know? " -Made me smile as a DM

Final chapter Again, all the characters have way too much hp. My players had a long rest before leaving the city but batteling against those blackhorse thugs with their original hp. That's rough! After they killed 1 of their leaders, I did a morale check and most left. The group picked up on this and killed the 2nd leader due to nova'ing him.

Short rest in the house with Haddin and then the Inquisitor attack. Once again, tons of hp with his orc bodyguard. It sure put the fear for the Inquisitors in my players but with the original hp values it felt.. unfair.

My group did not know I adjusted but boy o boy. They LOVE this adventure already. It keeps them on their toes, deep tactical thinking and the mystery with the briefcase.. Now we are in the forest and I will write a review later when they finished that chapter.

TL:DR Great introduction for this campaign. Needs some extra work for the DM and it seems written for optimised charachters. Make sure your players know their classes! [Start a lvl 1-3 oneshot? I did not and it showed]



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[5E] A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
by Garin J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/03/2018 15:16:20

Brand new, original and fully developed classes that will make the other players at your table jealous. These are balanced options that feel completely different from everything else out there. Sure, WOTC put out an Alchemist in Unearthed Arcana, but this version is better and has more variety.

I have the print copy and love this book.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[5E] A Touch of Class: 7 New Classes for 5th Edition
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
by Luis G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/26/2018 17:47:45

As the introductory adventure to the War of the Burning Sky adventure path, The Scouring of Gate Pass manages what official D&D products struggle to do: to be simultaneously thoughtful, engaging, challenging and funny. It is rare to find an adventure that strikes such a great balance between action-packed cinematic setpieces and giving players the freedom to interact with the obstacles in a way unique to their gaming group. While the adventure does present the reader with an expected progression for the party, the social nature of many of the encounters allow for plenty of improvisation from the players. This, combined with the complex motivations of the NPCs, helps lend a sense of identity to each and every character and brings to the forefront their humanity, something crucial in a story about war. The conversion to Fifth Edition by Brian Criswell is superb and although I would consider the artwork of varying quality, it gets the job done. Particularly noteworthy is the stunning illustration on the front cover, as well as the black-and-white image of the ragesian inquisitor on page 35. The maps are clear and easy to understand and the city itself seems to come alive thanks to the detailed descriptions of its locations. My only real quibble is that the text is not justified, which makes it look somewhat messy, and that a lot of the artwork would have looked better if it had been left in black-and-white.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
War of the Burning Sky 5E #1: The Scouring of Gate Pass
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tip of the Tongue
by Thilo G. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 11/15/2018 11:34:00

An Endzeitgeist.com review

This module clocks in at 45 pages, 1 page front cover, 1 page editorial, 1 page SRD, 1 page back cover, leaving us with 41 pages of content, so let’s take a look!

This is a high fantasy adventure for characters level 7 – 8, and takes place in a town steeped in magical academia – the city Bellek. We get a proper settlement statblock for the town, and the magical nature of the place is emphasized throughout: A whole list of magical alcohol for the obligatory starting tavern, for example, has been provided. As a minor nitpick, there are a few inconsistencies in their rules, though these remain largely cosmetic and don’t impede functionality. (Electrical instead of electricity damage, for example.) The starting angle has a couple of hooks provided, and the module does not come with cartography for the town or locations visited. The module pretty heavily references the NPC Codex for less crucial foes/NPCs, so having that, or the SRD-pages ready is suggested. If you own the Liber Influxus Communis, you’ll be interested to hear that the mnemonic class features somewhat prominently in this module. If you don’t have it, fret now, for all relevant information is provided.

All right, you know how this goes – from here on, the SPOILERS will reign, as I discuss the module in detail. Potential players should definitely jump ahead to the conclusion.

..

.

All right, only GMs around? As the PCs arrive in town, they’ll spot the guards sweating in winter armor – and indeed, as they explore the spire of knowledge, they’ll have an…interesting time, as anything short of a DC 10 Stealth check will be met with shushing sounds – and the PCs may well be escorted out of the place after 5 failed consecutive checks. This can be hilarious for your group, but be careful when running this RAW, as it could similarly frustrate players. Anyways, at the top of the spire, the PCs get to meet Hirsli Aptal, a mindchemist who may have a brilliant mind – but also has puzzling news: obviously, the keenest minds, particularly nobles et al., have recently been struck by an odd wave of amnesia, and Hirsli is beginning to suffer exactly the same slips of memory. Something is amiss, and PCs willing to investigate the matter get a badge that should help during the investigation. (Btw.: Attacking her is a bad idea – book golem…)

Investigating Aptal manor, the PCs can find a secret passage in the treasury that leads into the tomb of Ipo Aisun-Aiji, a mnemonic from days gone past that sacrificed himself to end the threat of a horrid entity – Mitk’. Alas, as often the case, Mitk’ wasn’t destroyed, and has since found a mad apprentice/prophet of sorts in the eleven oracle Kit Mha, who has placed clues that allowed Hirsli to break the cipher of the Kitabu Mitk’ – a grimoires now hidden below, ready to be unleashed upon the adventurers. The tomb of Iso Aisun-Aiji is btw. a magical labyrinth full of yithians and the like – now maps or puzzle helps solve the maze, which is a bit of a downside – particularly since failing a skill check and traveling willy-nilly can cause ability score damage. As written, this is a clear example of PC skill over player skill use.

Returning the book to Hirsli, she creates a concoction that cures the amnesia – and that’s it, right? Wrong. The PCs do get to meet King Halfviti (lol), and in the aftermath of a feast, an assassination will be carried out – hinting that not all is well, and indeed, a mysterious killer named Kurtaric manages to (probably) get away. Thing is, there is an invasion looming, and 3 nearby settlements, and thus, the PCs are sent out to gather armies, while the old killer attempts to strike if an opportunity presents itself – but not all is as it seems: The old warrior finally opts for parley, and just as he talks, he is struck dead – and with his death, his ritual fails: the old mnemonic attempted to isolate and contain the spread of the idea of Mitk’, eradicating the idea the PCs helped to inadvertently spread.

The game is on, as Mitk’, as a deadly idea of sorts, now has reached critical saturation – a war for ideas, fought with mass combat rules, against the gruesome vergeten –and, obviously, Mitk’! Ultimately, the PCs may, courtesy of special (and seriously potent for the level) weapons, triumph – these special weapons, oddly, have no value, but instead use a charge-like mechanic and quickly decrease in power. Still, it’s something to keep an eye on.

The pdf comes with extensive statblocks and army stats.

Conclusion:

Editing and formatting are good, though not perfect. I noticed a couple of minor hiccups, though no game-breakers per se. Layout adheres to a no-frills two-column standard with few colors and a white background – the module is pretty printer-friendly. The interior artwork is a blending of nice original pieces and fitting stock art, in full color and b/w, respectively. The pdf comes fully bookmarked for your convenience. No cartography is provided, which is a slight comfort detriment.

This module, penned by Mike Myler and Christopher Kugler, is per se amazing in many ways – the ambition and story is grand, and particularly the climax can be amazing – if you draw the battle-field, etc. The module also suffers a bit from its scope and what it can accomplish in it – this feels like a trilogy of adventures, jammed together into one: Act I, the investigation and dungeon – the latter of which is pretty much glossed over and could have used a more rewarding solution. Act II, as the gathering of forces – the traveling and locations could have used more time to develop the threat amassed…and thirdly, the showdown, which has all the makings of an epic finale. The third act works best here, but even it could have used a bit more room to shine. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoyed this module, but it does require some serious fleshing out by the GM to truly realize its potential. And I really, really wished it didn’t rush things like it did. As provided, the narrative weak points are the exposition dumps at certain stages, which, to me, felt like a necessity for the sake of remaining briefer than the material would have warranted. This module is not bad, not by a long shot – but, frustratingly, it has all the ingredients of being a great epic, condensed to a briefer presentation form that slightly hurts the module.

That being said, my final verdict will clock in at 3.5 stars, rounded up for the purpose of this platform. If you don’t mind doing lots of fleshing out, then this might make for a grand and rather epic experience for you and yours!

Endzeitgeist out.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tip of the Tongue
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[WOIN] 15 Careers for W.O.I.N.
by Bart W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 12:57:19

Love this WOIN supplement, so many resources for both Players and GMs to use!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] 15 Careers for W.O.I.N.
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[WOIN] Starship Recognition Manual
by Bart W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 12:56:19

Great resource for all Sci-fi settings. Would of loved to have seen some more deck-plans though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Starship Recognition Manual
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[WOIN] SPACE FIGHT! Playtest
by Bart W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 12:53:02

Really helps with the NEW rulebook and has great bonus material that can make space battles very interesting.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] SPACE FIGHT! Playtest
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
by Bart W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/10/2018 12:50:07

Being able to design your own ship and to get so in depth resulted in amazing play which is what every DM wants. Love it!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
[WOIN] Starship Construction Manual v1.1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD RPG Core Rulebook
by Kerry S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/09/2018 15:25:56

AMAZING! I purchased OLD, NOW, and NEW as well and they became our go to system, but judge dredd...OMG this was fun! Playing a perps games, and modified an adventure in the book to get their feet wet, and the shear look of terror that came across their face when a lone judge rounded a corner during a heist was pricless, every player mouthed the same word at teh same time (sounds like duck starts with a f) they were studdering to each other, all luck dice spent to bluff, it was amazing. The lore of the world, and the way the system flows, just made for a unforgettable night that we are still talking about moments that happened. It was amazing utterly amazing! Thank you for this game system, if we can a bestiary for the three other WOIN books that would be great. I am marking down 1 star (because I can't give half stars), because the rules to create an NPC are extremely hard to understand, even when using the pre-builts in the books as a base. I would recommend maybe doing something with a step by step guide, walk the reader through creating a NPC so we can see how you do it. If you did that I would give you 5 stars.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD RPG Core Rulebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
We can do even better than that! If you head to the official website (worldsof2000adrpg.com) and click on the Resources page, there's a link to an NPC/Monster Stat Generator which does it all for you! :)
SPACE FIGHT! Counter Pack
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/03/2018 13:42:59

1 page of colourful counters of various designs (some you might revognise from various shows/films). For free, you can't beat it.

Very much worth a look.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SPACE FIGHT! Counter Pack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
by Jordan T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2018 09:01:40

a great little intro to get ready for the main release



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Judge Dredd & The Worlds of 2000 AD Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 708 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG