RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
by Andrew T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2018 17:47:14

Updated review 06/18/18: They added a fillable version, so my old critique is no longer valid. This is a steller sheet totally worth getting! Old Review: Organized with plenty of room for notes. The only down side to this product is that there is no fillable version ( heck I would pay for a fillable version). Other than that extremely petty gripe, this is a must have for any spellcaster or rabid notetaker.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Necessary Sacrifices (Novice)
by Matt P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/15/2018 19:25:41

The story of the adventure is good, but be warned most of the opponents in the adventure are expert level monsters that will handily wreck level 1 PCs. Difficulty 100 and 50 creatures are recommended for expert tier. It wasn't a fun challenge for my PCs, it was just hopeless frustration.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Necessary Sacrifices (Novice)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
by Damien L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/04/2018 08:24:45

This was the first time we played SotDL (been playing RPGs since 1979) and Dark Deeds in Last Hope (DDiLH) was the perfect choice for SotDL noobs like us. Not only because there is a lot of suggestions on how you might run things, but the adventure itself is very enjoyable and easy to run. Although the page count of DDiLH is a "whopping" (when compared with other SotDL published adventures) 15 pages! this is simply because it provides a lot of advice useful to both new players and new game masters. Within these pages you get:

  • Art filled cover and adventure premise snippet.
  • Suggestions how different ancestries fit into the community of Last Hope (the town where the adventure starts).
  • List of equipment that PCs may find over the course of the adventure (in addition to rewards at specific locations).
  • Six clues, each one handed to a PC based on their profession type.
  • Optional Path Point System aimed at assisting which Novice path a player should choose at the end of the adventure based on the actions of their PC during the adventure.
  • Suggestions for replacing PCs who die with randomly rolled townsfolk (names & professions) together with a “Local” (townsfolk) stat block.
  • Rules for “creating” Last Hope where you drop dice on the supplied empty map of the town and buildings are assigned based on where the dice fall.
  • Descriptions of the people/places of interest in town – A priest, temple (with cemetery), tavern, abandoned workshop, and constables’ office.
  • Two of the main characters (and their stat blocks).
  • Five pages of story dived into scenes with each scene containing suggestions on which scene to do next based on the players actions.

Good:

  • The story itself was quite good and had some unexpected twist and turns. It’s also worth noting that the adventure isn’t as dark/horrific as some of the other SotDL adventures.
  • The suggestions for what scene comes next were handy (even more so for novice GMs).
  • The clue handouts were a nice touch – who doesn’t like a handout?
  • The town creation rules were simple but added some Player/GM ownership and depth.

Bad:

  • Nothing really but if I had to pick on something some might say the scene descriptions are unnecessarily long (but given its usefulness to a novice GM I disagree) and given all up its 12 pages of adventure (including the cover) it’s still not a lot to read for one night of adventure.
  • I also didn’t care for the Path Point System myself as it seemed extra book work for little gain but others might like having such decisions based on in game actions which is definitely in the spirit of SotDL.

In Play (Potential Spoilers)

We are a small group of three RPG players and with one player “on leave” for two weeks, the rest of us (two) decided to try SotDL having never played it before. That said we are quite familiar with d20 based systems (Basic D&D, AD&D, 3.0, 3.5, 4.0, 5E, and PF) and it was pleasing to find during play the rules were never an issue. I made my own 6 pages of “cheat sheets” which pretty much covered everything one would require in play without opening the rulebook just in case and that should indicate how simple the game is to run.

Given we had only 3 hours I had my friend roll up 4 Staring PCs, a dwarf acolyte, a human, a clockwork, and a goblin, beforehand. So already the acolyte and clockwork fitted into the story well.

Opening scene sees a panicking NPC running from the temple towards the players who grab him and manage to calm him down. The acolyte was immediately concerned for the priest so after some quick questioning sent the stranger on his way without escort to the tavern – whoops! They also failed to notice a bulge in his pants that certainly was no squirrel!

At the temple they took in the scene, discovered a relic was missing, and decided to split the party – yay! Two went towards the woods where they thought they saw some movement deeper in the trees. One stayed in the temple to read the priests letters. The fourth went to talk with the constable. All the while they wondered where the priest, Father Solomon, might be.

The goons in the prison cell were none too pleased to hear a description of their leader being sent to the tavern for a stiff drink as the fourth PC described the nights events to the constable. The PC made a mental note of their reaction but failed to notice the state of the cells lock. The party regrouped and went to see how the guy from the temple was fairing only to discover he was a no show at the tavern. “What the ?”

The party then decided to venture into the woods and came upon a woodman’s body, stripped of clothing. Pressing on they came upon a camp where the same woodsman, now apparently alive, ran from a tent straight towards then as an animated corpse stumbled towards him. The “What the?” moment here was really cool. Dispatching the corpse was not an issue and after questing the woodsman's double they realised they had a changeling on their hands.

They ignored her pleas to look for the mayor’s son (and her friend/lover) and took her back to town only to discover a jailbreak had occurred and a break in of a nearby house by the 4 goons was currently underway. They of course went to the occupant’s rescue and after a slightly protracted battle, where despite the acolyte’s crap armour not a single blow could a goon lay on him the goons were dispatched. Surely evidence of the New God ability to protect their own? The goons boss also tried to sneak up on the PCs goblin archer but failed and was quickly set upon in turn and died when he decided things weren’t looking good and tried to run.

With the goons and their leader dispatched and the relic recovered, they got the bad-tempered tavern owner to clean up the mess and returned to the camp in the woods. From here they followed another trail to a small clearing where the mayor’s son whimpered and spat at the “witch hunters” to stay back. A short fight broke out but the necromancer in the making soon surrendered just as three ‘goat’ headed Beastmen investigating the sounds of combat gate crashed the scene. Alas for them the PCs again quickly dispatched their new opponents and returned to town with mayor’s son in toe.

Conclusion

We easily wrapped up the adventure in the short time frame which given we had never played before was really cool. I was quite surprised not a single PC went down. My friend and I both really enjoyed the adventure and look forward to next week when we will try a Novice adventure. So that’s a thumb up from both of us for the adventure and another thumb for SotDL itself.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The God Below (Novice)
by James P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/14/2018 10:54:06

I ran this adventure for my homebrew campaign ( where I'm testing the SotDL rules ). We knocked this out in one session of around 4 hours. Around 2 to 3 hours of which was investigation, which went well. Each of the characters went about with their own ideas of how to look into this, i was able to use the rumours/clues to fit their choices. For the last hour, a fairly intense fight scene as the characters tried their best to not die whilst dealing with the problem.

At $1.49 this was excellent value for money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The God Below (Novice)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The City of Lorden Gazetteer
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 20:44:04

Very good. It was descriptive and detailed. Looks like a lot of work went into it. It will help my game and I would buy from them again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City of Lorden Gazetteer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/26/2018 02:09:05

An interesting evolution of d20 system, more simple in most things, and adding sanity and corruption mechanics, but is the fluff I love. More details here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
by Matthew S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/13/2018 13:30:28

Great character sheets! Easy to use, lots of room for notes. I like them.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord Character Portfolio
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Disciples of the Demon Lord: Creator Resources
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/06/2018 12:26:04

I thought it was fantastic. An awesome way for fans to get involved or for new writers to get involved. I'd recommend it to anyone trying their hand at gaming.   I'dKI'I



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Disciples of the Demon Lord: Creator Resources
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Knife in Your Hand (Novice)
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 12:39:14

The Good: A very evocative delve into a single location dripping (literally) with flavorful detail, where the players will face some uncomfortable decisions, at least one of which is likely to have ramifications lasting long beyond the end of this adventure. The Bad: The balance seems way off for a novice adventure. For my 1st-level party, even cutting the monsters by more than half led to a near TPK (and I can't see much hope for a non-combat resolution to the scenario as written). Also, the conclusion offers the party a staggering reward of 150 gc -- 30 times the maximum limit recommended for a novice party in the core rulebook! Still, if the GM is prepared to adjust for these issues, the scenario offered is a very interesting and memorable one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Knife in Your Hand (Novice)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
by Christian L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2018 12:24:38

A very impressive adventure for a group of 0-level characters. I cannot say enough good things about the non-linear design of this scenario, with a number of interesting things going on in different places at the same time, leading to a lot of variety in how the adventure might play out depending on the decisions made by the players. GMs are well-served by the "choose your own adventure" style guidance directing them where to turn based on what their players did in any particular scene. Definitely one of the best single-session adventure designs I've come across for any system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dark Deeds in Last Hope (Starting)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Foulest Reptiles
by Peter R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/07/2018 14:35:35

Foulest Reptiles is somewhat of a baseline for the Monstrous Pages series for Shadow of The Demon Lord. It provides GMs with a large aount of material for using Lizardmen and variations in an SoTDL game. Overall, I was very pleased with this product(besides the fact that "crocodile-folk' are catergorize as generic Lizardmen. 5 Stars.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Foulest Reptiles
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

He Sees You When You're Sleeping (Expert)
by Merric B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/20/2017 18:28:32

An excellent adventure that brings forth the horror of the Shadow of the Demon Lord world at festival time. Recommended.

Full review: merricb.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
He Sees You When You're Sleeping (Expert)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Dead by Dawn (Starting)
by Mark C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/13/2017 12:57:21

Last night, we took a break from my Tamoachan DnD 5E game so that I could run a Halloween game. I chose to run Schwalb Entertainment's Dead By Dawn adventure written by Rob Wieland for Shadow of the Demon Lord.

The adventure comes in at 6 pages and I spent about 20 minutes reading it the night before, making some notes for about 15 minutes the next day, and then a final pass about 5 mintues before we started playing later the same night.

The set up is that the Players (all starting characters or 0 level in DnD) are staying at the Goathorne Inn (The two owners pronounce it differenty, by the way) close to a road winding through a foreboding forest.

My opening scene was set a bit before dinner and gave the Players, an orc, a human ex-marine, a human student of religion and magic, and an inquisitive human healer, time to meet each other and introduce them to Gelda and Ananda, dwarven adventurers who have settled down to run the Inn and their empolyee, Bester, a fair-haired kid.

Soon, dinner was ready and Ananada asked David, the magician, to go fetch Horvath, a local staying with them, from upstairs. Horvath's door was locked and David called for help, Ananda sent the keys to the room up with Matt, the healer. After they got the door open open, they found Horvath, naked upon his bed and dead for at least 24 hours. Amongst his belongings was a fur pouch with mystical symbols, identifying it as a blood ritual to David. At that moment, Horvath rose and began uttering a curse, but Matt used his dagger to stab the corpse in the head. The pair called up the rest of the group and as they spoke about him rising as a zombie they began to hear moaning and beating upon doors and the shattering of first floor windows.

The group sprang into action and began beating back zombies in the kitchen and then fortified the rest of the house.

David learned that the ritual was a protection from an evil tree that grew in the forest and that Horvath was to complete it. He explained that if they could survive until dawn, the tree's power would collapse under the daylight and they would be safe until the next nightfall.

Dead Until Dawn presents a system for a five part siege, with each part lasting 2 hours. During each part a player can attempt to fortify, rest from fatigue, heal, work the ritual, or run for supplies. If the ritual is worked, it requires blood and the more blood offered the fewer zombies might appear for that part, however it is best to use the caster's own blood, as another's blood adds Banes (my Player's did this for 2 parts before they caught on). Fortifying can also help reduce the number of zombies that appear for that part.

After actions are declared, there a d20 table for Unusual Events which affects, often negatively, that part. Finally, there is a Threat rating for the zombies for that part, if the ritual succeeds, the number of blood spent allows the players to remove specific undead (comprised of Animated Corpses and Zombies from the SotDL rule book). The number of successful fortification roles for that part also can lower the Threat rating (which defaults to 2). Additionally, if Gelda, Ananda, or Bester help to a Player, they add Boons to the roll.

It's a well done way to organize the chaos of a zombie siege and my Players and I loved it.

My group managed to make it until dawn, as David, their magician ran very low on blood, but the Orc, Benth, spent most of the night learning the ritual so he could finish it for the last 2 hour part. Sadly, Bester died (due to a roll on the Unusual Events table that would have required someone to go outside after him).

When dawn broke, the Orc (who had suffered an insanity) and Ananda (who was already a bit unstable) left the area together. Gelda, however agreed to accompany the other into the forest to take care of the evil tree.

My one-shot has turned into a (at least) a two-parter.

I can't recommend Dead Until Dawn enough!

Great game for a great Halloween Adventure.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Dead by Dawn (Starting)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord Screen (PDF)
by Thomas Z. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/29/2017 13:19:08

My rating doesn't reflect the quality of the product in any way. For the money it's a nobrainer. Approximately $7.00 gets you the digital file and you'll also receive the 8 cardstock inserts in the mail. Very nice all around. The problem stems from the fact that nobody seems to produce a 4-panel GM screen to house these things for less than $30. Add the one offered on Drive-Thru to your cart and by the time it's all said and done you've spent nearly $50.00 for a piece of plastic. Spend $50.00 to hold $7.00 worth of stuff? Crazy folks. I just can't come to terms with that in my head. For that money I'll go grab another 400 page, full color game book.

At this point my Demon Lord screen has done nothing but collect dust which makes me sad :(



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord Screen (PDF)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Robin L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2017 06:37:31

Wonderfully grim setting with a simple system. The bastard child of Call of Cthulhu and D&D is a true spiritual successor to WFRP.

Loved it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 112 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG