Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Schwalb Entertainment » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Kingdom of Skulls
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/08/2019 16:39:05

RJS does it again. Wonderfully evil little book. SoTDL is/was the best kickstarter ever.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Kingdom of Skulls
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Call to Arms: The Warlord
by Ted S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/30/2019 01:51:22

I think the base class has a lot of potential, however I believe there are a few mechanics that can be tweaked or altered to be cleaner and more inline with the 5e mindset.

Full review here: https://youtu.be/6g1tjFWKpxg



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Call to Arms: The Warlord
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Augur
by katlin b. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/21/2019 01:57:10

As a long time user of Tarot cards this Expert path is amazing!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Augur
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Occult Philosophy
by Simon S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/16/2019 15:45:03

Occult philosophy is an essential book for any long-term shadow of the demon lord group. Occult Philosopy contains over 800 new spells, with each tradition recieving at least two new spells from ranks 0 to rank 5, and one spell for each of new rank 6 to 10. These spells add a ton of options and variety to each of the traditions. The spells from ranks 6 to 10 provide ways for spellcasters to influence their game world with long-lasting and in some cases region wide effects. For example one of the rank 10 spells summons a meteor that destroys everything within a 3 mile radius.

The book is also stuffed to the gills with new paths both expert and master. Many of these new paths provide addional flavour providing ancillary talents and skills to make spell casters both more specialised and personalised. The book also contains a bestiary for the monsters and creatures which could be summoned and bound to your will by the new spells. Finally the book contains rules for paragon tier play which expands on the rules previously presented in the Forbidden Rules supplement. These new rules enable groups to continue their adventures beyond level 10.

The book is beautifully presented with original evocative artwork throughout. In my opinion Rob Schwalb has created a supplement packed full of gameale content which is useful for both GM and players alike.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Occult Philosophy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Demon Lord's Companion 2
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/11/2019 00:38:57

This is a good supplament to anyone that wants to run Shadows of the Demon Lord, RPG. I found it helpful for planning campaings out more so than from a player's standpoint, but it has some info that players might like it to make some of the more hinky races that the system has to offer.

I have a common compaint with Shadows of the Demon Lord where the lore doesn't match the mechanics well in that the lore, spell desciptions, and world seem to call for a very brutal and deadly game and you end up taking several rounds to resolve even an easy fight.

I have common praise for all the Shadows of the Demon Lord products in that I wish this was what 5E D&D was. It is a really great, no nonsense, system that is easy to pick up and really fun to multi-class. It is hard to make 2 characters the same even when you are all playing the same race, class, and concept. It is great from a player's point of veiw.

I love the art, but it can be a bit adult at times. Nothing too raunchy, but I would not feel comfortable handing the PDF to a minor. You kind of know what your are getting with this if you have experiance with the other Shadow Of the Demon Lord products. It has a very grim dark style that contributes to the overall tone of the game. Think classic medevil fairy tales.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Demon Lord's Companion 2
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Blood Moon Rising
by Ted M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 08:32:29

Dope game. Fun to play as evil and terrorize villagers.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Blood Moon Rising
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/31/2019 00:29:05

I really love the system, and the game play is great. It is one of my favorate D20 systems, and the setting is great too. If you like 5E D&D, you will like this. It gives players a lot of options for character creation while balancing the classes (paths) for the characters better than how 5E does it. I will say that two things bug me about it: lots of splat book and the tone of the fiction doesn't match the tone of the mechanics. These are minor gripes... but to be fair let me explain.

There are a ton of splat books that provide a lot of additional options for players; which is good... but each splat book is its own very specific section of options. On the one hand I like how focused that is as far as the topics (all fae in one, devils in another...), but I dislike how there is a lot of GM info, like monster stats and certain lore info that deals with things that are secret to most of the people of the world (like who the Old Gods are and who the New God is) within these products. I would prefer to have seperate books for player options and DM Splat matterial; that way one can make a preistess of the New God without nessicarily giving away his true nature in case your players don't want to ruin the surprise (or the DM wants to use the surprise).

Second, the mechanics don't support the tone in my experiance. The tone in the fiction and lore of the book is bleek to say the least... adventures in the shadow of the demon lord after all. The game play I tried to run the first time rules as written, and I found it to be fairly hard to die. It is not a bad thing if that is what you are expecting, but I was a little disillusioned with how a lot of the game play works out with the base math based on the tone of the product's description. It will take several rounds of chipping health away from each other to decide a combat, and there is a lot of flavor text to the spells, effects, and path abilities that just doesn't come up an any relavent way; ie, the spell Desire's End does 2D6 damage and makes the target's genitals scrivle up and fall off. Kind of a magically punching below the belt kind of thing; ok... but 2D6 is not a lot of Health to be taken off, so this is interesting flavor with no real mechanical bite to it. Weapons do not do a lot of damage compared to how much Health most things have; we experianced easy fights lasting 3-5 rounds with a party of 4 and most creatures are only a threat if you wear down the party over the course of several rounds. It kind of feels like you are fighting with wiffle ball bats. I was expecting combat to be fast and brutal, like GURPS or Call of Cthulhu; this feels a lot more like 5E D&D.

Long story short, if you like D&D 5e, you will like this. It is particularly good if you like to multiclass and spend an hour going over character creation options that turn out pretty well ballanced. It really is a well constructed game to have this amount of variety without leaving anything too unbalanced. I do think it is worth the cost just for the art. You will have to buy a few splat books to get all the options, but nothing new if you play in class based systems.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Occult Philosophy
by Joshua W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/30/2019 23:39:23

There's an absolutely insane amount of content in this book. On top of the ridiculous number of spells that are worth the asking price on their own, there are the paths. The expert paths are all about new ways to interact with magic, with most of them being ways to combine two traditions. Some of them are obvious, with air/water being ice magic and fire/earth magic being lava magic, but some others are less obvious. Invocation/necromancy is a combination I wouldn't have thought of, but I'm looking forwards to putting together a Soulcatcher nonetheless.

Of course, there are options for the more mundane caster. Become a Magister to fight against dark magic practitioners, or focus on attack magic with the Spellslinger.

Each tradition of magic gets a new master path, as well. I've always found the Pyromancer lacking somewhat in the "wow" factor, but now I can play a Firebrand and light myself on goddamn fire. Perfect. Summon weapons made of pure magic with the Mageblade, use your voice to cast spells from afar with the Spellsinger, and see the future as a Watcher. No longer do you have to have your two earth magicians fight each other to the death in ritual combat over the Geomancer master path!

What about tradition-neutral master paths? You won't be left out. Don't feel like living an eternal life as an undead abomination? Show up those amateurs in their dumb black pyramids by becoming a Soulbound, gaining relief from the clutches of death without having to die first. Want to master your spells? The Orb Master manipulates area of effect spells like no other, the Spell Sniper is a master of attack rolls, and the Taskmaster devote themselves to utility spells.

If you're planning to run Shadow of the Demon Lord for any length of time, this is one of the first books I would recommend buying. I consider this added to the base game and the two Demon Lord's Companion books in what is essentially the "core" of the game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Occult Philosophy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Occult Philosophy
by Taylor D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2019 12:14:15

Schwalb is truly a madman! 24 new Expert Paths, 49 new Master Paths, and 800+ new spells. This book has more pure, juicy content than many $50 or $60 sourcebooks for other systems. If you're playing SotDL, this is an absolute must-buy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Occult Philosophy
by Matthew W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/29/2019 09:01:42

RJS can do no wrong, give this man your money! Wonderful book, mind shattering spells, and damn cool new paths for your character to walk. 10/10!!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blasphemies of Bor Bwalsch
by Mark M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/15/2019 00:32:21

5 Freshly Shucked Skeletons out of 5

In the festering tradition of the 3rd edition BOOK OF VILE DARKNESS (and the evil it contained which was so unbound that it caused people to cancel their Dragon Magazine subscriptions) slouches THE BLASPHEMIES OF BOR BWALSCH, a slew of unmitigated dark magical unpleasantness from the fevered brow of the Demon Lord himself, Rob Schwalb.

These spells are perfectly balanced (Rob was on the 5e design team after all) but the ghastly flavour will have your players shrieking in alarm and you in vague need of a shower after unleashing this corruscating weirdness. Come for the promise of evil spells that will catch your players unawares, stay for the corpse bombs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blasphemies of Bor Bwalsch
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Battle Scars
by Adrian M. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/05/2019 03:58:14

This is supplemental material on wounds that your character can take. I really like the tone of those in my games, and they are heavily inspired by WFRPG.

Unfortunately Battle Scars is too scarce, and I was expecting more tables and effects. This doesn't do justice to what I had in mind to such an important facet of fantasy horror, and wished there was a lot more content. For the listed price of 1.49$ it's not a rip-off though, but still feels as a half finished bake.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Battle Scars
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Genius Loci
by Adrian M. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/20/2019 05:25:27

This is a hefty supplement that sprung from the Occult Philosophy Kickstarter, clocking at 21 pages (including cover and a backcover with promotion for other titles). Genies and elementals get a proper treatment, including lore, juicy d20 random tables, and monster blocks. Tons of very fleshed out genies and their servants (gnomes, salamanders, undines,...). Included are 6 pieces of art, with the usual SotDL aesthetic which I really digg.

HIGHLY recommended. I'm glad I received this as part of the Kickstarter. HAIL!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Genius Loci
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DLC2 Spell Cards
by Brent N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/18/2019 16:43:51

Missing two cards: Metal/Barbed Hide and Invocation/Investiture of Desire in Flesh



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DLC2 Spell Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Blasphemies of Bor Bwalsch
by Adrian M. G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2019 09:36:25

This is a very nice supplement, and it delivers exactly what it promises: spells for D&D 5e. Nasty ones at that. Anyone familiar enough with Shadow of the Demon Lord will recognize the tone and flavor of most of the spells presented here. They work nicely for a hag/necromancer/lich or other nasty villain. Players' faces when they can't find the spell in their PHB is priceless! 5/5 would recommend.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blasphemies of Bor Bwalsch
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 136 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG