Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » FeralGamersInc » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
League of Seekers
by Sam J. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/31/2019 09:05:19

This game has an incredibly cool conceptual idea: the plagues of the 17th and 18th centuries were brought about and documented by the development of Necronomicon and the release of a horrible series of events in Europe and the Middle East. The rich created walled cities and residences to protect themselves while the commoners died. Awesome idea, which is why my rating is two bullets and not one. Then things go really, really bad.

This is one of the most poorly edited and organized games I've had the unfortunate experience to read.

The game begins with a description as a "percentile-dice" driven game and then jumps immediately into using d4, d6, and d8s, with no explanation as to why.

Character development is based on three archetypes, where you have a 80% chance of rolling a Peasant (updated), which makes it very, very unlikely you'll be playing anything but. There are values to be assigned to certain attributes and skills, but nowhere does it explain how or why you'd do this. Ever. (12/31/19 update: There are methods for assignment for each class but they're not easily understood as to how this is done. I stand corrected. The technique to do so still makes little sense.)

There is no example of play included, so understanding how to develop a character, build a story, run an adventure, or understand which dice to use when are completely missing. The game feels as though the developer wrote it for themselves, and most of how to play needs to be put on paper. Simply horrible.

I bought the PDF + softcover copy. I wish there was a way to get my money back. I've returned to Dead of Night, which has a very nicely organized character development system as well as a simple action mechanic that makes Tension an integral part of the game.

Truly unfortunate.

12/31/19 update: I received a reply to my review, appreciate the speediness, but this particularly struck me: "I'm sorry you did not like the game but you can't expect to like everything and this is the nature of small Indie press titles we often don't have the money or resources of big companies like Paizo and WoTC."

No, I certainly cannot expect to enjoy "everything" or every game or game system. I can, though, expect a Preview on DTRPG that gives me more than a timeline (which it does not as of this writing), expect an example of character creation, and expect a simple and/or rough game play example to tie the overall game mechanics together. Shame on me for blowing $30 on a timeline.

As for the excuse that "this is the nature of small Indie press titles we often don't have the money or resources of big companies like Paizo and WoTC"...just stop. Outside of the grammar in that sentence fragment, which is similar to the numerous inconsistencies, misspellings and grammar issues that litter the game text, you DO and SHOULD have or make time for a copy editor and/or series of people to make your text understandable. For example, the timeline has so many interesting events but they're marred by errors that reduce interest and/or comprehensibility.

If your answer to these previous statements is "we don't have the money" or "nobody cares that much about grammar and spelling" then you've lost at least one customer, and I will guess many others. The text on which your system is described is all anyone has to decipher your game. When it's riddled with spelling and grammar errors some will believe the system itself is as sloppy as the language.

As an example of the types of issues that pervade the game text, which is it? FeralGames or FeralGamersInc? Your logo to the left of my review says one thing but your Publishers reference says another. Enthusiasm isn't a substitute for consistency.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
League of Seekers
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
So let me reply. The game is a percentile game, as explained in the game the D4, D6 etc are used for damage bonuses and Exp rolls, this is clearly stated on page 39. You have a 80% chance of rolling a Peasant and this is explained in the section, this figure was based on actual historical data of the time period and that 80% of the population of Europe were Peasants, this is done in a similar way that Warhammer makes being a Human 90% of a roll, and like in Warhammer the GM can decide to ignore this. I agree the distribution of skill points may be a bit complicated but I felt that they were not to complex. How to roll dice and when is all explained in the Challenge section, where the first two sections are titled When to roll dice and skill rolls. I'm sorry you did not like the game but you can't expect to like everything and this is the nature of small Indie press titles we often don't have the money or resources of big companies like Paizo and WoTC.
From the Ashes Colour
by David D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/29/2019 06:37:28

I'm not really a fan of the mixing of mechanics and meta-concept (playing as lost souls) here. I think each element would be stronger if it were stand-alone. But each element does still have merits. For someone really willing to commit to both this could be an excellent product.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
From the Ashes Colour
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ghost Ops OSR
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/14/2019 09:26:56

Let me start off by saying that I love the content of this book. I think the concept is fantastic and I love how the original six stats were changed to fit more to the theme of the genre. That being said, I have never, EVER, seen a book so poorly written. Spelling, punctuation, grammar, layout, it is all offensively bad for a book that has a cost attached to it. This is currently (as of 9.2.2019) in a state that should be Pay What You Want because to charge for it is nearly criminal. I made the unfortunate mistake of buying a physical copy and I went through it with a highlighter and found over 180 (OVER 180!) highlighted spots that are either spelled wrong, have the wrong grammar, wrong (or no) punctuation, or oddly vague rules that are not explained well. An insane amount of sentences that start with lower case letters, no periods, commas where periods should be (and vice versa), etc. There are TWO pages in my copy (not counting full page art pieces) that do not have a highlighter mark on them. I kid you not.

All that being said, if this file got a proper proofreading and update, I would easily bump this up to FOUR STARS. Because it's cool as hell and I love what they've done with the OSR here. It really is a cool game, and I hope the developers take this as a plea to fix the game, not as me saying it's a terrible game. It's not a terrible game, it's a terribly written and un-edited book. I think FeralGamers has a potentially fantastic product on their hands here that with a little word of mouth could catch on quite well to the OSR community, and if this file gets properly fixed I will be spreading the word myself. If you don't mind bad proofreading and just want to play a cool Special OPS-Style OSR game, give this a shot (at pdf level until it gets fixed), and I can imagine people having a LOT of fun with this one!

EDIT - I am bumping this to 3 stars because the publisher got back to me and are actively working on updating this file. That is good customer service!!



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops OSR
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback I have uploaded a new file which has been better-edited hope this helps, if you can send me an email to FeralGamersinc at gmail dot com I can get a new physical book out to you once they are ready.
Delve - Second Edition
by Daniel C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/01/2019 23:20:57

I backed this on Kickstarter and printed out and bound the pdf shortly after it was released. I also recently received my hard cover copy. I decided to run Delve at my local game club and just tonight finished my first session. Delve is a wonderful game with lots of possibilities for adventure. I rate a game as a GM and a Player and this one managed to entertain and provide fun for all of us. I had four players and I decided to randomly roll the characters as they woke up on the beach. I used the rules and built up character Attribute generation and skills and spell generation as the characters had their memories return and so therefore the character creation process had weight, meaning and consequence. Some had their Attribute rolls betray them as they did not quite get what they needed to supplement their randomly rolled class choice. I am blessed with a group that roleplayed this all out and to hilarious and tense solutions. Delve, at its heart is not a game made for long term campaigns unless a lot of work is put into it. Does that make it a bad game? Absolutely not! It does exactly what it should and gives rules to cover most everything, and yet it isn't a game you have to have 10 books to play or reference. It seems to encourage that "seat of the pants, in game rules surrender to roleplay" framework, which a lot of games and gamers have lost these days. I am of course a person who has been running and playing for many decades and therefore the dropping of 200 bucks on game books is something I am kind of tired of. Delve is minimal and yet heavy. It provides a set of rules, a setting, magic and bestiary in a small footprint, some 120+ pages. It is full color mostly and the art is very good. In closing I must say that tonight's session went well and it is because this is an easy to learn and deeply immersive game that brings out the best in the right players. Is it for everyone? Of course it isn't, but what is. As far as the feel of Delve, it is kind of Grimdark. The fashion of Warhammer Fantasy Roleplay and Zweihander feels like this, though of course much more detailed in every way. This is survival fantasy and it is done well. Players must struggle to discover who they are, where they are and how they will live after day one. All in all, a pretty amazing place to live and tell stories in. Keep it coming, fellas.

Danny Crisp



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Delve  - Second Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Savage Wraith Recon Jumpstart
by Gary T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/31/2019 10:20:24

This package has everything a busy GM needs to run a session of Wraith Recon at an unbeatable price. It consistently captures the feel of what a group of special operators would look like in a fantasy setting. If you like the idea of an elven ranger in a ghillie suit calling in an airstrike on an orc encampment, this is the setting for you. It needs a strong editor to clean up grammatical errors and trim system fat, but overall this is a solid product and I'm eager to see what comes next.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Wraith Recon Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ghost Ops - A Modern Day Covert Ops RPG
by ar e. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/30/2019 00:08:58

Excellent system! Finally, a military game that strikes a great balance between beefy simulation and fast-paced, narrative-oriented play. If I had to summarize it quickly, I'd say it's a great amalgamation. It mixes some of the better concepts from various systems to create a unique engine that's well-suited to its task. In essence, you might say it's the love child of the Cypher system (Numenera), FATE (FUDGE, more specifically), and a game I played a while back called In Harm's Way: Wild Blue. It's got a nice, sleek system, plenty of source material to get you rolling, and more in supplementary content.

My only personal complaint is a nitpick in that at times it feels, especially with the art, like it leans more towards Tom Clancy or Call of Duty-style operations than I'd prefer, but leaning more towards realism is as easy as playing it that way. Nothing about the engine itself or the various special forces backgrounds you can draw from say "action movie" more than "simulation", so in that regard, it's actually a good thing. If your table enjoys more romanticized action, it can do that. If your table prefers a more procedural simulation style of play, it's absolutely equipped for that. Aside from that, the book isn't extremely pretty, but it does its job and that's all you really need. I don't really have any other major complaints!

Excellent buy, not disappointed. Something I've been searching for across the past couple of years, and finally, Ghost Ops delivers.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops - A Modern Day Covert Ops RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Savage Wraith Recon Jumpstart
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/12/2019 15:22:25

The original Wraith Recon was an intriguing idea---a special forces unit in a fantasy setting---married to an adequate gaming system. Savage Worlds would seem, with it's emphasis on fast, furious, and fun gaming, to be a far more suitable fit for the concept.

It must be stressed that this is a short taster of the full game. There's not enough detail here for a full campaign or much world building. A GM would have to put a lot of work in to stretch this over more than a couple of missions. But considering the low cost that is not what this is about. It's simply to give potential GMs and players a sense of what the setting is about, and in that it succeeds admirably. Several new Edges and Hinderances add to the environment, and a short mission provides a taste of the sort of adventure members of the elite Wraith Recon teams will carry out.

To summerise, it's short and lacking in details. However it does what it sets out to do very well, and as it's Pay What You Want, the price can not be complained about.

If you want a fantasy game with a different feel to it, it's well worth a look.

Disclaimer: I've been following this project for some time, and have made a number of suggestions to the publishers. I have no financial interest in this however.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Wraith Recon Jumpstart
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Savage Ghost Ops
by Dominic R. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2019 17:41:48

Hey, the SW rules are off to a great start and there is a lot to work with to get a spy/black ops game started. There are a few rules advertised that are not present in the rules. such as operatives from different countries, and hearts and minds missions. Likewise, there seems to be a few rules missing that the rules themselves seem to touch on in parts but are not wholey in the rules, such as the rewards for complete missions, and the uses for these rewards. The sample mission has types of rewards for various things the players can accomplish, and aside from the Cash reward, there is no other elaboration of there points uses. The core rules have some very useful tools, and make a great jumping off point. But they are not quite as expected.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Ghost Ops
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ghost Ops - Expanded 2
by Bradley C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/12/2018 17:55:15

If you are not playing GHOST OPS why not? if you like CALL of DUTY etc you will enjoy this game the 2nd Expansion added agencies like the CIA and MI5 so you have the option of playing spies vice special ops The guys at Feral do good work so please show them some love



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops - Expanded 2
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Savage Ghost Ops
by leanne a. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 21:35:08

Where are the rules for running a hearts and minds campaign? The whole thing looks pretty slapped together. This was a kickstarter!?

In reply to an email from the publisher. Read your own product description:

"...Safehouses that offer new Squad Edges New Edges and Hindrances New Skills New Weapons and Armour tables Rules for running Hearts and Minds missionsAnd Much More...   So, gather your Squad and grab that kill order, the world is a bad place and you have work to do."

So I was ripped off because of your sloppy / sloppy wording? You know $8 00 is about all I had to spend on game stuff this month and I wanted it on your stuff because I was misled.

Thanks.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Ghost Ops
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
It's an action RPG, but you could always check the Savage Worlds Deluxe Edition and use their rules for Hearts and Minds. Otherwise, it isn't really your type of game.
Ghost Ops - Africa
by Timothe L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/25/2018 06:00:36

An excellent "mini-pedia" and selection of information to act as adventure seeds for military special operations on the continent of Africa. While billed as exclusive for Feral Game's Ghost Ops, it wouldn't take much for the creative GM to suit the information to their needs regardless of system.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops - Africa
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ghost Ops - Africa
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/23/2018 10:54:39

The continent of Africa provides many opportunities for Special Forces activity. This supplement gives useful background details on the countries and envionments to be found there. It must be stressed that this is information about the location, not a collection of new rules. Every nation is given a brief description. Although the short nature of these limits the amount of data, as it would take an encyclopedia to cover them all in detail, there's enough here to flesh out a quick visit to a country. Reading through the descriptions can trigger scenario ideas, giving a smart GM a good starting point to research further for the level of detail they prefer.

There are brief but informative sections on the weather, wildlife, and diseases most common in Africa. Various organisations, criminal groups, warlords, and PMCs are described, providing opposition or assistance to the players.

Overall this is a useful resource. Although it's small size limits the amount of information it carries, it is an excellent starting point for planned African adventures, and a good go-to guide if the players decide on a sudden short visit. It is well written, clear and concise.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops - Expanded
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 09/24/2018 14:59:04

If you play Ghost Ops, then this expansion will add to your experience. There are new optional rules to either speed combat up, or add detail to the game. New weapons and equipment will give a bit more choice for tooling up Operators or Tangos, and four new Backgrounds allow even more variety in character creation.

It's not perfect, there are a few typos, and it isn't made clear that the new armours are currently in development, ideal for a near future setting (or perhaps one where Operators are issued prototype gear) but not a contempory real world setting. But those are minor matters. It's also a pity there is no prospect of a SW version, but that does not affect the quality of this one.

Summary: A short product, but with some useful material. If you do play Ghost Ops, I can't see any reason why you wouldn't get this.

Disclaimer: I have made some suggestions into the development of this game. These were done voluntarily and I have no financial benefits from it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops - Expanded
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ghost Ops - A Modern Day Covert Ops RPG
by Holger S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/13/2018 04:10:28

When I read about Ghost Ops at Kickstarter I almost immediately backed the game as the setting sounded quite thrilling. I was not disappointed. Ghost Ops captures the feeling of covert operations perfectly, it's not too heavy on rules whick makes gameplay fittingly fast. If you're more interested in elaborate storytelling and character development this might not be your game, but again this is owed to the setting. The layout of the book is admittedly a bit spartan, still that's no reason to give any less than 5 stars. If you're into special military units and clandestine operations, you really might want to have a look at Ghost Ops.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ghost Ops - A Modern Day Covert Ops RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Ghost Ops - A Modern Day Covert Ops RPG
by Matthew B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/11/2018 12:02:51

Disclaimer-I backed the Kickstarter, and recieved vouchers to get my copy here.

Ghost Ops is an RPG of Special Forces. The players form a team drawn from the elite of the worlds militaries, to carry out missions that no one nation can handle. A wide variety of SF units are provided for a character's background. Each unit has three 'Packages' to choose from, with each Package (such as Assault, Engineer, or Recon) having a selection of special abilities. Initialy the player picks three of those abilities, though more can be bought later. Should a situation arise where the ability may be relevent, a bonus is given. Thirteen Skills cover a wide variety of situations.

The game uses Fudge dice, but is not the Fudge/Fate system itself. If you don't have the dice you will benefit from getting some, but it can be done with ordainary D6s. Alternately, many dice roller apps are available.

Themetically the style can vary quite a bit. Realistic anti terrorist operations, hostage rescues, drug suppresion missions and the like are all possible, but the game is geared towards a cinematic style, so if you prefer the more Hollywood approach to Special Forces you certainly have that option. A 'Bullet Time' mechanic allows for bursting in through the window, landing in a roll, and delivering headshots to three enemies before they can react. The fact that Matthew Reilly, writer of over the top but hugely enjoyable action thrillers like 'Ice Station; and 'Area 7' has given permission to feature the Maghook grappling gun in the game speaks volumes.

It's not perfect, some areas are very light on detail. I'd have liked to see more information and rules for weapons. The afore mentioned Maghook is treated here as a basic climbing aid, and deserves a few paragraphs outlining it's other uses. There are also a few typos throughout. Most of these are little more than irritants, but the ommission of the Police Package does limit the choices during character creation.

Still, that's the advantage of a pdf copy. Updated versions can be made available as these errors are caught.

Overall, if you like the idea of a fast paced globe trotting action adventure, Ghost Ops, in either this or it's Savage Worlds form, may well be what you are looking for.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 43 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG