RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
The Reaper - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Mike N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/09/2018 07:58:52

Such a cool idea! Usually a character like this would be straight evil, but I love how a Reaper hates the undead and necromancy because it is robbing Death of souls it is owed.

I also think that the character itself seems balanced and not op, which happens often in homebrewed characters. Well done!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Reaper - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Scarecrow - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Trey A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/26/2017 11:45:09

Pretty cool class, there is a typo on the 6-10 abilities where 2 of the abilities have the same name even though one is obviously wrong but thats not a big deal



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Scarecrow - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello! Thank you for your review and our apologies for the typo. The error has been corrected now and new files should be available for download!
Strongholds - A Dungeon World Guidebook
by Toby W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2017 17:25:17

I just finished reading this, and it's awesome! It was reallly exactly what I was hoping it would be (we're so often dissapointed). I think this will be an awesome addition for my players; normally there is so little to spend money on in DW. I'm very satisified with this purchase and would recommend it to others!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Strongholds - A Dungeon World Guidebook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Glad the product was exactly what you were looking for! My group also struggled with finding what to spend coins on, Strongholds was the result of that need. If you have any suggestions for future products or feedback on existing ones, don't hesitate to let us know.
The Shade - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2016 04:28:22

The Shade has everything a playbook needs. The class gives of an anime ninja feel, with a focus on stealth and supernatural powers. There’s a very short introduction followed by the class itself. Moves are good and varied, mostly using Dungeon World’s hold mechanic to give The Shade tactical options. I can see the dramatic tension rising on the tabletop – do I spend my hold to evade the guard, or do I try to take him out quickly to conserve it for a more critical time? The book also holds a few magical items, some more imaginative than others but all useful. The Shade is a good playbook, though it does not go beyond expectations it delivers a solid class.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Shade - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Scoundrel - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/03/2016 04:11:32

The Scoundrel presents a more suave version of the Thief. Backstabbing and trap removal toned down, moves related to social interaction put in the foreground. The playbook open with art of a Scoundrel, followed by a few lines of introduction to set the mood and goes into the class. It is my favorite way of opening a playbook, a few words on what this class is and then rules. It works better than just throwing the reader into the class features without any overall idea of what is the intention with this class. Comments from the author occasionally appear under different moves and items, giving a better understanding of the text as written.

Though not poorly done, the artwork confuses me. I get a strange kind of ‘Saga’ magic-mixed-with-technology vibe from the character image, which shows a character in modern looking clothing with a magical scepter (?) strapped to his back. Reading the class I fail to see the relation to the image presented – a small criticism, but something I felt stuck out.

The Scoundrel works for lots of different character concepts. If you want a talker rather than a lock-picking thief this is the character for you. The class does retain some combat moves, mostly related to tricking the opponent I different ways. I will be presenting this to the Thief player in my group as an alternative to the base class, as she always wanted to play a fast-talking face and found the thief class not met up to her expectations.

The book ends with a few pages of new items, compendium classes and a new race, the half-elf. The items are particularly good and fits the mood of the class very well, including various concealed weapons and gear. The wrist crossbow might be my favorite; it gives of an ‘Assassin’s Creed’ kind of feel that goes well with the Scoundrel. All in all a nice book. You get more than your monies worth, and I do not mind giving it a top grade.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Scoundrel - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Hello Christian, Its been over a year but the artwork has been updated to match more a fantasy setting. I hope the new artwork is to your liking.
The Oracle - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/02/2016 23:44:26

The Oracle makes good use of Dungeon World’s mechanics. The class’ moves mostly deal with seeing the future (or a future) as you would expect. The playbook is clearly inspired by ancient Greek oracles like the one at Delphi. It would fit very well into a fantasy world inspired by the ancient Greeks, or 60s Hollywood blockbusters set in the period.

The book presents the class with a little intro, written in character, to set the mood. It works for me. Then we go straight to the class description. Some moves are dependent on other characters, NPCs and players, and the class makes a good job of using bonds and hold to create interesting possibilities for almost every situation. There are also a few notes on the different moves and how they might be used, something which I love. It gives an insight into what went on in the designer’s head when writing this class.

In addition to the class itself, the book also has new equipment and an original race, the Catari - four armed humanoids with a knack for fortunetelling. Both additions are very welcome, giving a little extra content for your money. The Catari is a race I would like to see fully fleshed out at some point, maybe in an appropriately themed setting. My only problem is that some of their moves would seem more suited for the Oracle class than for a race, something I might mess with when using the class.

The art is fair, with 4-5 images spread over 16 pages. A good count per page. Used mostly for watermarks the art presents the class nicely, though I am disappointed we do not get a nice, full picture or pictures of the Catari. The only image of this race is a watermark, and show the character’s back.

I would recommend the book for anyone, though it might fit best into a setting with some leaning towards mythic Greece.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Oracle - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Hunter - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 12:15:36

With a good base class and tons of extras this might be my favourite of Dwarfare Games' playbooks.

The book opens up with a cmall text writeen from a hunter's point of view, which gives a nice feel for what this class is all about. I would have liked a few lines of introduction on sources of inspiration, design philosophy and style but there is nothing lacking as such. We move right to the class, which moves make me think of a Hammer Horror version of the Ranger. There is a feel to this class not unlike the world of Geralt's 'Witcher' universe or the Winchester brothers' 'Supernatural'. A flexible class that can see a lot of different uses. The Hunter's base damage seem a bit on the low side. I would personally raise it by a dice type. This might be because the Hunter is intended to work in accord with a more hardcore warrior type, for me it stuck out.

The Artowrk is limited to the frontpage impression of a Hunter (nice!) and some watermarks showing preusmeably also Hunter types. It does the job of presenting the archetypical Hunter without being in the way as watermarks sometimes are.

And then there's the extras. Gear, posions, compendium classes, magical items... there's enough stuff to inspire a few adventures at least! Everything is well suited to taking the class into distinct roles depending on what the player wants while keeping the essence consistent. Good stuff.

All in all I can only repeat what I wrote earlier, that this might be my fauvorite of Dwarfare's playbookds so far. I would have liked a small essay or introduction about the writer's vision, to help graps the exact purpose of the book. That being said the writer does provide a G+ tag and an email and encourage the reader to send him any and all questions, so that might be the way to go.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Hunter - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Chronomancer - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 11:52:39

The Chronomancer is a solid playbook for adding some Dr. Who to Dungeon World!

And as a fan of Dr. Who I see no downside to this. We get a short introduction to the concept and after that it is right down to the crunch. The mechanics are interesting enough, there's lots of good time shenanigans to plahy around with that makes for interesting time travel related possibilities at the table. Chronomancers store resonance energy equal to either Wis, Int or Cha dependent on their background, using t to fuel their abilities. This is a departure from a straight up spell list that I would usually associate with any class ending on '-mancer'. Alternatively, the Chronomancer can use a system where Resonance is aquired through a move and can cause Paradox, which attracts weird situations and a penalty to making new changes in the timeline. I thought that was brilliant, and I would really have liked to see the Paradox mechanic more fleshed out.

The book ends with a small section on new gear, with one of two new items being directly Chronomancer related.

Overall the Chronomancer provides some interesting mechanics that might go on to affect gameplay in unexpected ways. The Paradox mechanic is perhaps the most interesting of these, and while I would have liked to see that with a bigger role there's nothing stopping you from expanding it to what fits your game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Chronomancer - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Barbarian - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Christian H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 07/26/2016 11:36:24

The Barbarian is a staple of fantasy litterature, and it is good to see it get some attention in this playbook.

Dwarfare's take on the Barbarian is a little different from what yo might usually see in other games. There's an emphasis on leadership through the 'Chieftan' background and assorted moves. This is an interesting angle, and unfortunantly it's not very well explored in the playbook, lacking some more supporting moves. That being said the Barbarian also has the kind of thing you'd expect if you have ever played the world's most famous roleplaying game, new and old players can feel right at home.

I was disappinted the playbook feels too short. There's no introduction, the book goes right into the class, and no real effort to explain moves and the reasoning behind them, something I really like in my DW playbooks. The books ends with a short section on artifacts that seem misplaced. I would have preferred using that space to go into depth with the philosophy behind the class, an afterword explaining some design choices or similar. Overall the book does what it says, no more no less. Finally I want to comment on the design. It is uninteresting. Some more evocative artwork would have helped to give me a better feel for the class.

Overall The Barbarian is a decent playbook, and that is good, but there is nothing that really make it stand out. Buy it if you want a decent class with for immediate use rather than an essay on what the Barbarian is.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Barbarian - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Shade - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2016 16:43:31

Downloaded this today and have read through the playbook. Interesting class that, at first read, doesn't seem like it will be over powering to a DW game. Will have to see if I can work it in to my current DW game and give it a real test. The playbook is clear, easy to understand and once printed, the background does not over power the text (very nice). The cover really sets the mood for the character. The addition of the character specific magic items at the end are nice as well. Good job. As far as the character sheet goes.... well, it's barely functional, the type face is just WAY too small for me. Would really need to redesign this. Improve the use of the space you have. Lots of "dead" space on the first page, Stat blocks could be smaller to give even more space. The type size just doesn't cut it. An otherwise 4 star effort, I have to give it a 3.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The Shade - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
A new character sheet has been added to this product that addresses your concerns. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.
The Witch Doctor - A Dungeon World Playbook
by Radu B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/27/2015 00:09:17

I love this playbook! The art is unique, the class is interesting. I really love these types of characters and the author really gave them justice. The only reason it's not 5/5 is because I haven't had the chance to play it yet, but it is well worth the $2 it costs.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Witch Doctor - A Dungeon World Playbook
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Good to know you liked the class. Once you get a chance to play it let us know how it went!
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG