Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Map alchemists » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
New map compendium bundle [BUNDLE]
by Joel A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/21/2018 23:02:30

I misread the description of the bundle and thought everything was both PDF and JPEG. Most of this is PDF, but (thanks to some excellent customer support) I found that the PDFs all export very nicely to images suitable for VTT use with any of the many free tools out there.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
New map compendium bundle [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Art Pack For RPG Maps. Over 500 Objects !!!
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 06:50:15

This is my second review for a Map Alchemist product. Unfortunately I cannot recommend this product, and it's mostly due to price but also the assets you get vs the assets you don't get.

The assets Map Alchemist chose to bundle are some obscure, random things. I purchased this expecting to be able to populate my towns & taverns, dungeons & ruins - instead I can very nicely outfit a cemetary. There is only 1 type of bed (fancy queen sized), 1 type of armoire, and maybe a desk. Looking at the actual maps Map Alchemist produces there are literally hundreds of assets that are better, more usuable, and are higher quality. I looked at the weaponsmith map and maybe 10% of those assets are in this bundle. There are a LOT of assets, but 1/3rd of them are duplicates with only a slight color variation.

I wanted tables, chairs, shelves, rugs, beds, chests, boxes, etc. I was expecting to get a plethora of items that I have seen on Map Alchemist's maps. When I saw what I got, once again, it's probably less than 10% of what they have available. You can not outfit a tavern with what's provided - mostly because there are no chairs. There are 9 different colored coffins - all the same size & shape, but 9 colors...

I don't know what else is out there, but I'd suggest finding your assets somewhere else if you can. Perhaps these are the only ones available in which case, go right ahead, but if not I think you'll get more of what you're looking for from another seller.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Art Pack For RPG Maps.  Over 500 Objects !!!
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Fantasy maps all of map alchemists maps for rpg 's [BUNDLE]
by Joshua G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 06:32:24

Hey everyone, I recently bought the Map Alchemists map bundle. I thought it was a good deal at 1/2 off. Unfortunately for me (and this could be different from you), I'm quickly realizing this is not the direction I want to go. First and foremost, this review will be more critical and praise. It's to justify the star rating. Overall the company produced and sold what was promised. I hit buy knowing what I was getting - my feelings changed after I looked at them more closely. To me, that does not equal automatic 5 stars.

My major problems are these: 1) Some maps (most) are overpopulated with assets and items. The Mine map for example; almost every single tile has some sort of item or obstacle. There are also weapons and treasure and all sorts of things strewn about the maps. As a DM this is frustrating because players will automatically associate those with receiving some sort of award.

2) The grids are on top of all of the assets. I've seen other cartographers who put the grid layer over the terrain and assets on top of that. After this purchase I realized that was my preference. It's very distracting seeing the black lines all over the map.

3) There are no blank maps. For example, the castles, caves, mines... they all have junk in them. I bought the 500+ asset bundle in hopes that I would get blank maps to populate myself - no go. The assets are almost unusable, but I'll review that separately.

4) Cost - This, even at 1/2 price, is extremely expensive for what you get. The maps are usually 1-piece and are inflexible as far as use goes (you can use it once and it's done).

5) Art - The art looks better smaller. When it's blown up the lack of consistency in shadowing, asset placement, and the terrain becomes more apparent. I think that's a byproduct of the software &/or style and likely not the artists however.

Overall I personally regret the purchase, but for the most part these maps are what the seller says they are. shrugs 3/5 stars - average.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy maps all of map alchemists maps for rpg 's [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Joshua , thanks for the honest review here , I am very sorry that you don't like populated maps . I do understand that is not what you needed and feel sorry about you regretting your purchase . I don't really do empty maps , and I think I should, that would bring me to a totally new avenue . Creating art packs and empty maps should really go together as you said . For the grids ( I personally don't use them ) but I will consider in my future map to put them under objects and stuff. Again I apologize for the fact taht this was not what you needed and If you feel I can do something to make things better for you let me know . For the time taken for me to answer you review I am also sorry, I don't even get notified for comments and that is Why I din't know I had some questions and critique. I will now check all my products and try to figure out if they are any problems with them to make things better for all buyers. Thanks again and hope you can find things more suited for your needs ;-) Steve
Joshua , thanks for the honest review here , I am very sorry that you don't like populated maps . I do understand that is not what you needed and feel sorry about you regretting your purchase . I don't really do empty maps , and I think I should, that would bring me to a totally new avenue . Creating art packs and empty maps should really go together as you said . For the grids ( I personally don't use them ) but I will consider in my future map to put them under objects and stuff. Again I apologize for the fact taht this was not what you needed and If you feel I can do something to make things better for you let me know . For the time taken for me to answer you review I am also sorry, I don't even get notified for comments and that is Why I din't know I had some questions and critique. I will now check all my products and try to figure out if they are any problems with them to make things better for all buyers. Thanks again and hope you can find things more suited for your needs ;-) Steve
The Crow's Nest Luxurious Inn & Tavern
by Stephen C. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2018 00:09:24

While I really like the look the fact that the one inch grid is actually 10ft squares and not 5 ft makes it such that these are only good to me for reference. I bought several maps from the Mad Alchemist. Once I printed them I realized the scale was way off. I left a comment but there's not been a comment on it so I'll at least leave a review so others will know. If you need it for a reference or maybe VTT it could work. If you want to print, I'd look elsewhere.

Update: Steve- thanks for the reply! If you ever increase the scale to 5 foot squares I'd be interested. The artwork is awesome, its just the scale. If hey were 2-4 pages per image instead of one we'd be perfect!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Crow's Nest Luxurious Inn & Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
IHi Stephen, I don't know why I never received a message about your review and just found out about it ! I'm terribly sorry for that . I will see if I can make another grid version of 5 feet. If I can send it to you I will . Again sorry for that !
The Fort
by Carl B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/29/2016 17:36:06

You don't see too many Fort maps on the market. And this one looks great too.

The only thing that would make this better would be if it included a Grid version.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Fort
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Fort
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:49:11

A very nice rustic fort. A number of house exist. All clearly occupies as their chimnies puff smoke into the air. The attendants obviously live in the smallest and most in need to repairs. It is hard to imagine how the stay dry with the gaping hole in the roof in the back room. The local bull seems to have scared off the woodsman as there is a lrge pile of split but unstacked wood waiting to be organized. Traveling merchants display there wears in a tiny market. Their horse still hitched to the traveling wagon. A well maintained villa offers a cosy garden. The center of the fort is an ancient circle. This an the crumbling walls indicate the fort may be be from a bygone age.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil Librarist
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:35:13

Boy is this librarian living in 2 different worlds. In front you find what you would expect. Tables and desks. Books and scrolls. A nice reading area. Wall scones light the areas casting unique shadows over the unlit portions of the rooms. Lighting is very unique and interesting. In back the world turns upside down. Skulls line the wall and a throne befitting any demon worshipper. A blood red pool offers nightly opportunities for all your nightly rituals.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Evil Librarist
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

3 map package
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:10:34

These maps are ok. the best of the bunch if the Demon's Suicide. A quaint stained glass temple is marred by a horrific event. Maracred bodies are strewn about the blood soaked chamber. The horror in the center of the map is contradicted by the stained glass reflections shinning on the floor surrounding the scene.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
3 map package
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

3 Art Packs to populate your maps !!
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:06:23

A nive set of tokens for various occasions. Defintiely could populate 4 weddings and a funerl with these useful tokens. Flowers, coffins, graveyards all covered. Need to build a mine? Pleanty of track, and loot to fill a dungeon.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
3 Art Packs to populate your maps !!
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Double Package mine of the lost dwarves & Pirate's camp
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/19/2016 15:01:55

A double pack two fer. Both maps well worth it. The walls of the mine a covered with blue tinged stones. Work ares detail the piles of gems being recovered. Are these saphires or rare magic stones. You decide. Rickety mine rails indicate the mine has been in use for a very long time. Why did the dwarves abadon it. Maybe the spider webs throughout the area indicate the miners are not alone. Very nice detail on the mining equipement place throughout.

On a lone shore a single dingy is archored by a lonely dock. It is pretty cool to see the archor dropped by the dingy and how it sits in the water depths beneath. The ocean is a deep green and a barcidua serves protector to the area. Very nice details in the ocean. A sliver of sandy beach show a pirate camp. Backed up to some cliffs the narrow beach is home to a number of tents. Some more luxurios than other. Therre is a definite hierchy of pirates present on the beach. Foot traffic pattern give the scen a real sense of use. Priates are here and active. Very cool. The raging bonfire has a diner pot cooking. Are we all invited?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Double Package mine of the lost dwarves & Pirate's camp
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Dark dungeon
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2016 15:13:51

A deep and creepy dungeon with haunting crypts, demonic altars, arcane casting circles and an armory.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Dark dungeon
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Crow's Nest Luxurious Inn & Tavern
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2016 13:19:50

Three floors on top and one basement beneath this tavern has is all. A grand piano and enterntainment stage lead in to high end accomodations for the wealthy traveler. Very nice details at every level.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Crow's Nest Luxurious Inn & Tavern
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Generic city map #2
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2016 10:38:54

Another quiant medievl city. Churches and keeps reside with the city walls. Smaller manors also exist. A quint cemetary pays homage to the dearly departed.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Generic city map #2
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Generic city map #1
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2016 10:35:12

Here is a medievil town any adventurer could get lost in. A steam runs through the heart of the city providing access to the river and its riches.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Generic city map #1
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cabin in the woods
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 02/17/2016 10:24:23

This little cabin in the woods provides a stark frigid exterior view of a snowed in landscape. The snow covered trees help you feel the cold. In another view the interior of the cabin is shown. A warm fire with a rustic bear rug looks to provide the a source of warmth to the cabin but it is clear the warmth may not reach every nook and cranny. The rustic furnishing provide insight to the spartan life in this part of the woods.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cabin in the woods
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 15 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG