RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Werewolf Sourcebook & other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/26/2018 11:28:29

36 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

Same size, but a step up from the Vampire book to be honest. There feels like there is more material here and I will admit I was surprised to see the page count was really the same.

We get a little background on werewolves as a horror trope. Different means of causing lycanthropy are also covered. There is also a section of infecting humans and how it alters their stats, including Player Characters. Now I would say that being a werewolf runs counter to what a GM might normally want to do with a DP&D game, I can see it coming up. Good for drama really.

Now anyone that knows me well knows I am "the Witch guy" and before that I was "the Vampire guy". So I was totally expecting this to be my least favorite book, but no chance of that! This is a great book and even better than the Vampire book.

There plot hooks, NPCs, monsters AND a complete adventure. The book is packed. Well worth the money spent.

IF you can only afford one of these books, Vampire or Werewolf, then I would put my money on the werewolf one. Plus it has some fantastic Jacob Blackmon cover art, so what could be better?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Werewolf Sourcebook & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/26/2018 06:47:51

36 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

With the Vampire Sourcebook, we move DP&D a little further away from "Stranger Things" and "X-Files" territory and more into the realms of "Fright Night", "Lost Boys", and "Buffy the Vampire Slayer". The cover in fact is very reminicent of all the above.

We start off with an introduction to basic vampire pop-culture lore and quickly move to a list of vampire movies of the 1980s. It's a solid list, I knew all the titles so it feels complete, but I am sure there a couple Euro flicks missing. Not a big deal since that is not the focus of this book.

We get stats for a variety of vampires and plot hooks/backgrounds for all of them.
The book is designed for DP&D, but it really can be used with any OSR game.

For more 80s fun combine it with some New Wave Requiem from the World of Darkness game.

If you want to play a vampire then I suggest The Blood is the Life - Basic Vampires as a mostly compatible solution.

It is a thin book and I would have liked to see more varieties, in truth this probably the perfect size. Vampires are series-ending "Big Bads" not just your monster of the week. So characters are only likely to see one or maybe two their entire game life.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Player Options & GM Guide
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2018 21:49:08

124 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

Now this book. I knew I needed this one the moment I read the table of contents. This book expands the game in a number of really awesome ways. Now all classes can go to 7th level and all the core classes get a boost. That is great, and we get 13 new classes. They are Equestrian Show Rider, Equestrian Rider, Monster Hunter, Party Animal, The Performer, Phantasmagon, ROTC Cadet, Soviet Spy, Spy in Training, Street Tough, Survivalist, Teen Ninja, and the Telepath. We also get five new Magic classes! Black Witch, Mechano-Mage, Nature Witch, Voodoo Practitioner, and White Witch. All with a bunch of new spells! So yes, I am quite excited about these. Worth the price on the cover alone for me.

Additionally, we get a bunch of new skills.

The last half of the book is everything 80s. I have seen a lot of 80s guides in games before, but this one is very comprehensive. These sections include 80's Crushes/ Idols, Your Songs of the 80's, Your Movies of the 80's, Random 80's Movie Quote Table, and Your TV of the 80's. And just listing these does not do this lists justice at all. I consider myself an 80s aficionado and there are things here I had forgotten or even never knew. I am little surprised there isn't a Dark Places & Demogorgons 80s mix list on Spotify.

Really glad I got this book and I consider it a must-have for fans of this games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Player Options & GM Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - JEFFERSONTOWN SETTING GUIDE Survive This!!
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2018 21:22:42

140 pages, color covers, black & white interiors.

This book covers the Jeffersontown setting introduced in the core rulebook. I have to admit, I was not going to buy this book. I was not really that interested in the J'town setting; I had my own setting, settings really, to try out and this one did not grab me.
That would have been a mistake. This book is really freaking awesome.

Reading through this book you begin to realize that all small towns are the same. I read through this and was mentally replacing J'Town details with my own old hometown Jacksonville (J'Ville, no really that is what we called it). There are a ton of great ideas here for any type of campaign.

So who should buy this?

Well if grew up in the 80s then you know this already. You lived it. But this book is a wonderful trip down memory lane. It's someone else's memory lane, but it looks like yours; it looks a lot like mine too.

If you didn't grow up in the 80s then this book is a must-have. Really sets the tone and tenor of the game perfectly.

This makes this book a must buy, I am glad I picked it up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - JEFFERSONTOWN SETTING GUIDE Survive This!!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/25/2018 11:53:02

Originally posted here: http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2018/06/review-survive-this-dark-places.html

I'll start off my week-long look at Survive This! Dark Places & Demogorgons with the core rulebook. A little bit of background thought first. I love the 80s in the way a true child of the 80s only can. Everything about the decade still fascinates me, fills me nostalgia and is a creative well I keep going back to. In truth, I had better decades. The 90s were particularly good to me and the 2010s are also really nice, but the 80s hold my interest more, especially when it comes to gaming.

Dark Places & Demogorgons (DP&D) taps into all of this in such a deep and profound way that it pisses me off me to no end. Pisses me off, because I wish I had come up it myself!

A few things upfront. DP&D owes a great deal to Stranger Things (which in turns owes a lot to D&D), but as fantastic as that is, that is not enough to sustain a game. DP&D draws on deep 80s culture as well. And deep I do mean shallow! Nothing here about the Cold War, or USA for Africa, or the 84 Olympics, or the home computer revolution. This is about what was going on in YOUR small town USA and how it felt like it was the strangest place on the planet. All that "important stuff" is just background noise to what is really important; what are we doing Friday night and who's going to drive around cruising? That of course until your friends start to disappear.

Dark Places & Demogorgons (DP&D) is a 200 page 5"x9" book with color covers and black & white interiors. The art is a mix of new art, some art purchased from collections and (my personal favorite) some photos of the authors and friends from some 80's high school yearbooks. I am reviewing both the physical book and PDF. Both of which were purchased by me so no books were contributed for review.

The book is divided into an 80 page Player's Section which includes the Classes and Basic rules, and a 120 Page Game Master Section. The Players section introduces the concept of a Role-playing game and what you can do. We also get a little background on the town this all takes place in, Jeffersontown KY.

We go right into building a character. Now while the book tells us that this is a version of the same game played in 1974, there are more 21st Century rules here. The rules feel like a Swords & Wizardry variant with some Basic (Holmes in particular) thrown in. There are multiple types of saving throws (ala OD&D, Basic, an on up) and ascending AC (S&W, 3e). In short though if you have played any sort of OSR game in the last few years you will pick this up fast. If you have never played before, well you will still pick this up fast.

Unlike its progenitors, this game has Seven Abilities. The new one is Survival. At first, I was not a fan of it, but now I see how it works in the game it makes more sense to me. Much like how another seventh ability, "Luck", works in The Heroes' Journey. I mentioned there are new saving throws too, Courage, Critical, Death, Mental, and Poison. Courage works a lot like a Fear/San test and there is even a terror table.

Where DP&D takes off though are ways you use to describe your characters. We start off with Backgrounds. You can roll randomly here in true 80s style, or choose. Rolling seems better. These include things like "Parents are never home" or "Bratty Kid Sister" and they have in-game effects. Not having your parents home makes for your house to become the natural HQ of your monster surviving endeavors, but having to watch your "Strawberry Shortcake" obsessed little sister is going to slow you down.

After that, you can decide on what your Class is going to be. Classes work here like everywhere else really. They decide your skills, they let you know where you fit in the world and they provide a role-playing guide. The classes in this book are largely based on 80s High School stereotypes. There are five main classes with three subclasses each (similar to how 5e does it) You have The Brain (Kid Scientist, The Nerd, The Geek), The Athlete (The Jock, Extreme Athlete, The Karate Kid), The Outsider (Break Dancer, Goth, Metal Head), The Popular Kid (Preppy, The Princess, Teen Heart Throb), and The Rebel (Bully, The Hood, the Punk Rocker). That pretty much covers everyone in a small high school.

Each class gets 5 levels and new abilities and/or skills each level. So the Karate kid gets new moves and martial arts, the Princess can affect others and so on. Skills cover the things you can do. You can get some via your class or be improved by your class. Others you can pick. Combat is a skill and if you want to be better at it then you need to take the skill otherwise you are just a kid with a +0 to hit.

Character creation then is largely rolling up Abilities, picking a Background, a Class, some skills, determining your saving throws and finding out how much cash you have in your pocket. Then you are set! I recommend a Session 0 for character creation and concept. Sure it is not in the rules and certainly not old school, but it better than everyone showing up for the game playing all playing "The Bully" or "The Nerd".

Lastly, you come up with your age, Alignment and various combat-related stats (AC, attack bonus). DP&D is not a combat focused game. You are kids and the monsters are, well, monsters. You might score a hit or two, but that is it. Otherwise, run!

XP and Leveling are a little "easier" then and there are other ways to gain levels. We end this section with some sample characters, examples of play and a quick breakdown of the 1980s vs. Today.

The Game Master Section is next and this is where the fun is! Here the advice of not making this a combat heavy game is repeated. This is a game of mystery, investigation, and deduction. From the book:

This game draws inspiration from movies like The Goonies, ET and The Lost Boys and T.V. shows like Stranger Things, Eerie Indiana and Scooby Doo. Talk about hitting me where I live!

The rules might say 1974 on the tin, but they are much easier than that. Nearly every rule is simplified and straightforward in a way we never would have tried in the 80s. Among the "new" rules are Difficulty Classes (circa 3e) and Advantage/Disadvantage rules (circa 5e). It makes for a very fast-paced game and the rules will fall into the background.

We get some weapons and explosives, but not a lot.

There is a nice section on magic and the occult which include some really nice Psychic classes. In case you want to dial your game up to 11 (see what I did there!).

The fun part of the book are the Adventure Seeds. Some are familiar to anyone that watched movies or TV in the 80s. But others...well I can only conclude that these must be local legends and myths from the author's own home. Which reminds me how much all these little towns are really the same, just the details differ.

Replace the Pope Lick Monster with the Mobil Monster and they could have been talking about my old hometown of Jacksonville, IL. We even had giant cats, giant birds and bigfoot. But if you know what is good for you stay away from Magical Mystery Lane (if you could find it) or the glowing "things" out by Lake Jacksonville.

The book also has a bunch of monsters in Swords & Wizardry format (more or less). You could add more, but be careful. Just because I have the stats for a Manticore in a S&W book that would work with this there had better be a good reason to include it.

There are stats for animals and various types of NPCs. There is even a table of random monster generation. Delving into more game specific tables there is a table (1d100) of basic adventure hooks.

We also get a small guide to the setting, Jeffersontown, or J'Town (I grew up in J'ville. AND we used to call it a "Sinkhole of Evil" YEARS before anyone ever said the words "hell mouth"). The guide is great, not just for use in the game but for the sheer nostalgia. It read like someone had taken a fictionalized version of my old hometown. I think that it is also flexible enough that an lot of people reading it will feel the same way.

We end with a nice solid appendix (the PDF is not hyper-linked here) and their own "Appendix N" of movies, television, and music. Music was too important in the 80s for there not to be a list like this.

We end with a copy of the character sheet.

Wow. Where to begin.

Ok first of this game is very nearly perfect and I hate it so much. That's not true. I hate that I didn't come up with it and publish it sooner. But in truth, I am not sure if I would have done the same quality job as Eric Bloat and Josh Palmer. Plus the inclusion of their yearbook pictures and own background made this book for me. I LOVED reading J'Town because I could see and feel my own J'Ville in it. I would not have been able to do that if I had written it myself, so much kudos to them.

This is a work of art and I love it. Everything feels right about this game, to be honest. I even have a potential "Series" in mind for it.

Can't wait to do more with it! I would love to get some of my old gamer friends from the 80s and have them play versions of themeselves in a "Stranger Jacksonville" or more to the point the Jacksonville we all WISHED it was.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - FREE SNEAK PREVIEW
by William W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/21/2018 20:24:57

It is somewhat challenging to do a true review of a Sneak Preview for a yet to be released game. I think the art is fantastic, and the overall look and feel of the game has definitely sparked my interest. I now have a good idea of the classes (includes Anthropomorphs yay!!), and powers that will be available, and a solid feel for the art. I would, however, like to know a bit more about the mechanics (OSR based) but again this is an early sneak preview, with presumably more information to come. I will definitely be looking hard at the Kickstarter for further details about the game, and at this point from what I have seen in this early sneak peek I intend to jump on board the kickstarter for this product. Thanks Eric for this early preview. I can't wait to see and learn more about this game, which to me equates to this preview being a success.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - FREE SNEAK PREVIEW
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by CONRAD H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/04/2018 14:45:16

I purchased this and read through it but haven't played it yet. They have taken the D&D system (Str, Int, Wis, Dex, Con, Chr, HP, AC, etc.) and have added skills system that is just enough and not too much to get the job done they want to do. There are no revolutionairy game mechanics in here but that is a good thing because that means you probably know how to play this already. Should you purchase this? If you loved Netflix's Stranger Things then YES. Stop reading now and go purchase this.

The real magic that they have baked into this game is everything beyond the rule system. I honestly they believed they watched every 80s kid adventure movie that I wanted to be a part of and made a game for me. And I know why they did it. See, and I got this from the Stranger Things "Behind the Scenes" interviews, the '80s was the last time when kids could go have these kind of adventures. Parents were not as concerned where you were. Cell phones and instant data wasn't there so hearsay, rumors and superstition was still a parge part of our life. There was just more mystery back then. Things were just starting to get computerized and 2048 bit RSA keys were not in the way. You just had to sneak into the school office and turn on the computer to look at someone's grades. If you wanted to know about a kid, you had to go to the file cabinet.

Being a kid in the 80s in a strange rural town was awesome and I believe they have captured all that with this game.

I couldn't stop thinking of adventures I wanted to write and run. I think this game and setting is best for investigative type adventures. It takes only a little more than a beginner GM to write and run those but if you can then you will rock your table with this book and the other add-ons.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/03/2018 10:41:47

When I think 80's horror, I think of bloodsuckers. Many of my favorite vampire movies are from the 80's: The Lost Boys, Fright Night, Near Dark.... and let's not forget The Monster Squad (though it's not just vamps). That's why this book interests me so much.

The book starts by talking about the saturation of vampires in 80's entertainment and then gives stats classic vampires. After this section was are presented with a great collection of vamps presented in a monster of the week format. With A Stranger Comes to Town we're given a Salem's Lot inspired adventure idea. Technically Salem's Lot came out in 79 and isn't from the 80's, but it's close enough. This is followed by Ancient One. This vamp is very Dracula-like. Bump In The Night is an homage to the classic, Fright Night. The Lost Children section might be my favorite. If you couldn't guess, it's the homage to The Lost Boys. These are the weakest vamps in the book and there's a great chart about what happens when they die because "when a vampire bites it, it's never a pretty sight." Nosferatu - The Devourer of Beasts is a new pet eating beast. The Sangiest - The Blood Spirit is a rare breed of vampire that needs to bath in blood. Finally, The Thrall Keeper is just a creepy addition to any game. This vampire doesn't create vampiric brood but rather has a group of bonded mortals in it's service.

If you like vampires this book seems like it would be an invaluable addition to any Dark Places & Demogorgons collection. Even if you don't play that game, this is a great OSR vampire book. You can definitely take stuff form this to use in B/X or Labyrinth Lord.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Zombie Hack (EXTRA BLOODY MCDEVITT COVER)
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/30/2018 11:53:15

The Zombie Hack is another adaptation of The Black Hack by Bloat Games.

The pdf is 38 pages counting covers, legal text, dedications/acknowledgements, and such.

The rules are a stripped version of OD&D. There are a few new rules (such as Usage Die) and some familiar thing from modern games (Advantage/Disadvantage). Players do all of the rolling. Armor is damage reduction. This also has the Bloat Games Hack variants, such as multiple advantage and disadvantage. These are the classes: Fixer, Leader, Scavenger, Slayer, Survivalist, and Tracker.

The enemies section of the book is full of the obvious... zombies!!! We're presented with rules for infection and 7 different types of zombies which do a great job emulating zombies from a variety of movies (such as Night of the Living Dead, 28 Days Later, and Return of the Living Dead). There's also a bonus pwyw zombie that you can grab here

The book ends with a short piece of in-universe fiction.

If you want a nice, simple set of rules to play a zombie game, The Zombie Hack is the game for you. It's simple, concise, and seems like a lot of blood fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Zombie Hack (EXTRA BLOODY MCDEVITT COVER)
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES Dark Elf Zombies - by request
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:02:30

A neat little edition to S&W White Box. Even if you don't have White Box zombies, this gives you dark elf stats for White Box, which is nifty.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES Dark Elf Zombies - by request
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Vigilante Hack
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 10:00:23

On it's surface, The Vigilante Hack by Bloat Games seems like just another supers game. The cover is rather plain (which a thing with The Black Hack and it's alternate versions) and features a Captain America-esque woman. However, this is not a supers game. Seriously, if you turn the book over the first sentence you'll see is "THE VIGILANTE HACK IS NOT A SUPERHERO GAME."

This isn't the Spider-Man rpg. This is the Kick-Ass rpg.

The pdf is 37 pages counting covers, legal text, dedications/acknowledgements, and such. Like The Black Hack, the rules are a stripped down and stream-lined version of original D&D with a few new rules (such as Usage Die) and some familiar thing from modern games (Advantage/Disadvantage). Other than (optionally) villain damage, the players do all the dice rolling in this game. Armor doesn't make a character hard to hit, it reduces damage. While I don't really want to use the original Black Hack to game because that's now how I want to D&D, these rule modifications make for excellent non-powered vigilante play. There are a few different ways to play the game. For example, damage can be determined by class or by weapon. Also, there is a nice house rule about advantage and disadvantage.

You might be wondering about characters in this game. As mentioned they're regular folks that have no powers. They can choose from several classes though. Here are those classes (with comic book examples).

Archer - Green Arrow Dark Avenger - Batman Martial Artist - Elektra Mercenary - Deathstroke Protégé - Nightwing True Vigilante - Kick-Ass

The book then gives a page of goons, mooks, and thugs with relevant stats. Because of the simplicity of the system these are super light. After this we get some named villains. These are presented with HD, backstories, weapons of choice, and other useful info. A few have other abilities and one or two are something more (or less than human). These villains feel like Batman villains and that works just fine.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

A CITY FULL OF SINNERS - Game Master's Guide for The Vigilante Hack
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 09:59:19

A City Full of Sinners is the game master's guide for The Vigilante Hack. It's roughly the same size as the core book. While you don't need it to run a game using the hack, it's a damn fine book that's really useful.

The book starts with a discussion of city building and dice drops. This is followed by a brief description of Dreamsend, the worst neighborhood in the corrupt Apollo City. The book then presents a drop table and several pages of tables. These let you decide what buildings are in the neighborhood, then give you unique aspects of the buildings, denizens, and activities. There's also a handy little worksheet to go along with it. This is followed by an instant street gang drop table and a useful random villain generator.

The book has things for the players too. There are some nice kits that make vigilante work a lot easier. There are also rules for utility belts and additional equipment. The most important thing on this list is boomerang, because now I can alter the Archer class and make a heroic Captain Boomerang (that has trick boomerangs instead of arrows). There are also some gadget rules, which makes sense because many non-powered vigilante aren't much without their toys. These equipment rules are all optional. This is followed by vehicle rules, including things you can use to pimp your ride. The Vigilante Hack is a dark game and there's discussion of drugs, as well as some super drugs (primarily named after comic book heroes). This includes simple addiction rules. Since vigilantes are street level there's a page discussing contacts, which is a wonderful addition.

Finally there's a one page adventure for 1st level characters which is followed by a 3rd level Martial Artist that can bail the party out if they get in over their heads.

If you play The Vigilante Hack, you definitely need to pick this up. Actually if you play any gritty modern games, I think this is a useful book to have.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
A CITY FULL OF SINNERS - Game Master's Guide for The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

The Vigilante Hack - SANCTUARY ASYLUM
by Justin I. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 09:57:56

Sanctuary Asylum is a supplement for The Vigilante Hack.

The bulk of the book discusses the titular asylum. There's a description of the asylum which has a slight continuity error with A City Full of Sinners. The description says the asylum is near the city of Dreamsend, but according to A City Full of Sinners, Dreamsend is a neighborhood in Apollo City. This isn't a big deal and the books were written by different folks. The asylum was built in the 50's and is independent of all government support or aid. It is divided into five wards and each is unofficially ruled by a "Baron." Each of these barons gets a one page write-up (and have HD listed, like the villains of the core book). Interestingly enough, there isn't an actual floor plan for the asylum. However, there is a nice random table to help you generate it. This is followed by a quick asylum patient generator which is super useful. Drugs are often used in the treatment of mental health and this book includes some new ones. However, unlike the somewhat beneficial drugs of A City Full of Sinners, these "Psychochaotic Drugs" are meant to "induce sanity" and are full of nasty effects and have no benefits. The description of the asylum ends with two short adventures.

In addition to the asylum content, the book includes more material. There's a new class, the cat burglar, which is basically Catwoman. There are also 10 pregenerated characters with artwork (which is color in the pdf and black and white in the OBS print on demand version). While these are cool, especially the new class, they seem really out of place in a book about an asylum. It feels like they're just there for padding and because they didn't have another book to go in.

I know this review is a bit more negative than my previous reviews for The Vigilante Hack, but I still loved this book and really recommend it if you're running the game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack - SANCTUARY ASYLUM
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Sergio N. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2018 10:05:04

This seems like a fun game. I say 'seems' because I have not played it yet, but hopefully will, soon (bought it yesterday). It is a fun to read book, and the pdf adapts well to a 10 inch tablet (even 5' mobile phone), although the pdf does not have a proper table of contents with links for easy access during play (please include one in a future update!). I like the OSR feel, which emphasizes the 80s style. The descriptions and new mechanics/rules seem to adapt very well to the setting. If I had to mention cons, one would be that there's not much description on the product page. For example, what is the vampire source-book about? I still remember The Lost Boys movie, and would be very interested to know if it is an adventure/campaign, separate setting, etc. As there are no reviews or discussions, I cannot tell. These, some minor typos I already forgot about and the lack of a TOC with links are not enough (to me) to take a star from this 5 star product. If, like me, Stranger Things brought you back to RPGs, then buy this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/07/2018 16:18:29

48 pages, 38 are the content. The 'variety' of different zombies are similar to Survive This! Demihuman zombies (P20-41): quite good.

ArtworK: from Survive this! But still looks good. Good piece on P4.

P18 (P19 PDF) errors?: 1: Truth is though, they are a lot of zombified children (should that be there are?). 2: It's up to your referee to decide if and when you run across. (Incomplete sentence?). Should that be 'when you run across them/zombie children?

Nice variant OSR rules for zombie 'apocalypse' setting.

For £0.96 (sale), £1.44; $1.34 (sale), $2.00: worth getting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WHITE BOX ZOMBIES - A source book for SWORDS & WIZARDRY and all OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG