Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Bloat Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Cryptid Manual - An OSR Bestiary
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/02/2019 15:03:25

I’ll begin by admitting I love cryptozoology. I mean, really love it. Cryptids—monsters that science says doesn’t exist but legend say might just—are endlessly fascinating and have found their way into several of the non-fiction books I’ve written over the years. As I result, when I learned about Bloat Games’ Cryptid’s Manual, I was instantly excited.

This ‘Monster Manual’ for Dark Places and Demogorgons clocks in at 92 pages. The stunning cover, an atmospheric depiction of chupacabra, only increased my anticipation. I couldn’t wait to crack it open and take a look!

The book begins with the Hope Excerpts, supposed excerpts from the journal of an explorer searching the Staff of Bel, an ancient artifact that was used by Sumerian priests—and later heroes of other cultures from Greece to India—to defeat monsters. With the fall of Rome in 476, the staff was claimed and then destroyed by a hairy 9-foot tall Barbarian (perhaps as Almas of Central Asia?), its pieces scattered around the globe. Our explorer seeks to find these fragments and reconstitute the staff to defeat monsters that dwell in the shadowy recesses of our world.

All right, so that out of the way, let us get to the meat of the book and check out the monsters themselves. There are 55 in total, pulled from legend and lore the world over—from skinwalkers and thunderbirds of Native American culture to the mokele-mbembe of Africa, the Mongolian death worm of Asia, and the bunyip of Australia all regions are covered. There’s a strong European and North American leaning, however, which is understandable as the average reader would be most familiar with these cryptids. From North America we get the hodag, Jersey Devil, and Sheepsquatch, while kelpies, medusa, spriggans are among those culled from European sources. We also get 8 species of hairy hominids and 5 types of extraterrestrials.

For every instantly recognizable hellhound of wendigo, we get one—mishipeshu, nain rouge, or sheckles, anyone—that is more obscure. I’ve been reading and writing about cryptozoology for years and yet there were still some surprises in store for me—nice!

A page or two is devoted to each cryptid, which comes with game stats (naturally), as well as some—admittedly brief—details on its habits or physiology, and quite often a sentence or two of flavor text in the form of brief testimony from supposed eyewitnesses. I was really impressed with the way the mechanics were used to evocatively bring the monsters to life. It would have been really easy, for example, to make the eight hairy hominids statistically identical, but instead each comes across as quite unique, accurately reflecting differing cultural views.

The beautiful artwork deserves particular praise. Creatures are often shadowy and somewhat indistinct, lacking in details. This is perfectly in keeping with the nature of the subject matter. Cryptids are elusive, fleetingly—if ever—seen, and testimony often differs enormously in specific details. Presenting the monsters this fashion means something is left to the imagination. It’s a brilliant design choice and gives the book a distinctive look.

The book then concludes by providing a number of templates that can be added to the assembled cryptids, or indeed any creature. They include giant, rabid, radioactive, were-beast (were-skunk ape from the deep bayous—cool!), vampiric (an undead, bloodsucking sheepsquatch—even cooler!), and zombie.

Conclusion

Editing is excellent and the rules not only constituent but expertly handled throughout. I couldn’t find a single flaw. The layout is a thing of artistry, the occasional blood splatter adding to the illusion you’re reading a Top Secret file that Powers are desperate to keep under wraps.

Jodie Brandt and Josh Palmer have written an awesome offering: The supplement provides endless hours of adventuring opportunity by breathing life into some of legend’s best cryptids. Each monster represents an adventure-in-waiting.

The book offers, thus, a ton of excellent fuel for creative GMs. Heck, you could play an entire campaign with just the creatures continued within. It’s an invaluable—even vital—resource for Dark Places and Demogorgons game masters.

My final verdict is an enthusiastic 5 stars. I can’t recommend it enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Cryptid Manual - An OSR Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Blackest of Deaths - Dire Old School Fantasy RPG - KS Sneak Peek
by Joe E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 13:40:28

Ran two sessions to compete one dungeon crawl into the Tomb of the Serpent King. We had 4 PC and 3 henchmen in the group. Due to traps we lost one henchman and in combat we lost one player character. The players changed their normal play style to really embrace thinking out how to approach or avoid combat all together since there was no XP for doing it. The focus was on getting items and money so trying to use traps to kill or catch the monster was the majority of encounter over straight up combat. When combat did happen, it was fast flavorful due to the d6 Benefit/Hindrance dice. Luck was used as a crutch in the beginning of the adventure but quickly the party realized depending on luck was going to put them in a bad situation later when they really needed. I found the rule set a nice compromise between a heavier system and Whitebox.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Blackest of Deaths - Dire Old School Fantasy RPG - KS Sneak Peek
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Blackest of Deaths - Dire Old School Fantasy RPG - KS Sneak Peek
by Richard S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/17/2019 12:26:58

i received a PDF of this a few months ago, and instantly fell in love with its concept and game play. I reviewed it a few weeks ago, and encouraged BLOAT Games to fully develop it through a kickstater. i can't wait to get the CE BOX set.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack
by Jacob H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/16/2019 20:08:20

To my shame, I still haven't run this game yet, though I've read it several times. Looks perfect for Daredevil/Punisher/Arrow style vigilante adventuring, with maybe a smidge of Dirty Harry or Death Wish.

I highly recommend doing a Google search for "Vigilante Class Hack," a fan supplement that reworks the classes into 21 different ones.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Vigilante Hack
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules
by Ben T. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/16/2019 00:56:12

This is the class based superhero game I have always wanted in my life. This took everything cool about the vigilante hack and made it come to life with super powers. This along with Dark Places and Demogorgons is THE best OSR content I have seen. I cannot wait for the next two books!

All I can ask for is that I hope you come back and have a "Divine origin/Supernatural creature" set of classes and perhaps add even more variety to the mystic Class. Perhaps divine options? Magic systems from the world?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain's Guide
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/15/2019 11:00:56

Sometimes you've got to back off of something to really appreciate it such is the case of recently with Bloat Games SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City -Villain's Guide PDF. This book clocks in at three hundred pages of OSR super villain goodness so in other words this is the Dungeon Master's Guide for the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City Rpg. This is the DM tool kit book for the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City Rpg. And it does a solid job of providing the dungeon master everything they need to build up their own unstable society on the edge of collapse. This book gives you all of the tools to torture your player's super heroes in a customized setting. The DM is given a selection of villain-based Adventure Seeds that they can blossom into full adventures, easy random NPC and Villain Generation Tables, along with the Mutant Island Adventure/optional setting. The SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain’s Guide is designed to mimic the X-men, Spider-man and TMNT cartoons of the 1990's & in that sense it succeeds because it takes the D20 Modern roots of its OGL to its barest of bones. Then it works all of its tools around the entire book to give you as the DM an actual usable set of tools to construct the campaign that you want. The SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain’s Guide is the perfect compliment book for the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City Rpg. The SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain’s Guide supports & expands the dungeon master's options at the table top level for constructing a super hero campaign setting that they want & it does it well. Given the tools & systems that are available with the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain’s Guide I would use the Mutant Island Adventure/optional setting that's in the book & expand upon it by back dovetailing into the Dark Places & Demogorgons rpg with a UFO twist or two. The DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The UFO Investigator's Handbook

has some very need parts & pieces that hook right up with the Villain's Guide Mutant Island setting allowing the DM to connect the two game systems & settings with an extraterrestrial twist. Could the Greys or whatever aliens your using be turning the heroes back yard city into a test bed for their latest experiments?! Is there more behind the recent kid disappearances in the hero's home town or city? Could those super powered children that have been wrecking havoc be the product of aliens using your city or Earth as weapons testing facility? The SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain’s Guide has all of the tools at hand to make this happen & think is well worth the price of admission & its the perfect compliment to the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City Rpg. Really think that Bloat Games has a winner on their hands & that the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain’s Guide is worth your time & money.

Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want more OSR original content? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com/



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Villain's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules
by Eric F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/14/2019 09:41:28

So I've been a Pulp & supers guy for a very long time. I've played em all & changed systems more times then 'Supes' has done the quick change in a phone book.. Then I recently saw Tim Brannan's post on his blog about Bloat Games SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules & Villain's Guide PDFs Kickstarter I'm not going to lie I didn't even know this was an OSR event. But after reading through Tim's blog entry I approached Eric Bloat for a copy of the preorder rules.

I've been scanning through it like a demon & it looks like alot of fun. I'm familiar with many of the Swords & Wizardry style concepts here. Many of the classes I've seen before in D20 Modern OGL but here give a far more cohesive whole over the system. This is a complete OSR style super hero gaming system end of story. You don't need anything else to play this with. There is a lot of crunch here allowing a player to go for Humans, Mutant Animals, Borg Conversion and Power Armor, Magic, Mutant Abilities, Psionics, Speedsters and Super Soldier Drugs. There are rules for , Background/Origins, Weapons, Equipment, Gadgets, Vehicle Upgrades, Vehicle Combat, Ranged & Melee Combat, Morale, Skills, Usage Die & more immersive play style. But this is all done from an OSR platform & outta of the box play.This book clocks in at 292 pages of actual playable content & that's where things break into context. This book is done very well & the lay out is easy on these old eyes. The column count is done professionally & so its easy to read. Characters straight out of the gate are going to kick ass. But the first thing I've thought of is SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules & Villain's Guide going to be cross compatible with the In Dark Places & Demogorgons rpg?! Why? Because kids are some of the most underutilized resources in super hero rpgs. That's right I know that they get constantly used in comicbooks & possibly the new Shazam film. But the truth is that In Dark Places & Demogorons is the perfect opportunity to introduce kid heroes & a possible origin point for new supers. This is where SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules shine because they give the DM the tools to make their campaigns happen. Because of the PC customization option given by the system there's all kinds of options on the table top level for adventure gaming. There are some solid options that the system provides & street level adventuring is what this game excels at. Do I think that SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City, succeeds as a street-level, & gritty superhero game set in the near future? In a word oh yes! I'll be covering even more of this system & diving deep into the SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City Villain's Guide From Bloat Games next! Eric Fabiaschi Swords & Stitchery Blog Want even more OSR content? Subscribe to https://swordsandstitchery.blogspot.com



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SURVIVE THIS!! Vigilante City - Core Rules
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Cryptid Manual - An OSR Bestiary
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 02/24/2019 16:35:09

If I have said it once I have said it a hundred times. I LOVE Monster books. Any and all monster books. I even grab monster books for games I don't play. So when Eric Bloat they head monster hunter at Bloat Games asked if I would be interested in looking over his new monster book (Kickstarting today) for his FANTASTIC Dark Places & Demogorgons I screamed HELL YES at my computer.

Now I promise to be fair here but a couple of words of full disclaimer. First I was sent this book as part of an agreement for a review. That is no big, I get a lot of books this way and I always try to be fair. Secondly. Well, look above. I am predisposed to like Monster books and I already love DP&P and cryptids are a TON of fun. So please keep all this in mind.

Dark Places & Demogorgons: Cryptid Manual is a digest-sized book weighing in at 90 or so pages. Some bits look like redacted Governmental documents and blood splattered hunter's notebooks. It's actually pretty cool looking if not 100% original (see Chill, Supernatural and Conspiracy X). That being said though it is also 100% EXPECTED. That's HOW I want my 80s monster hunting guide to look like.

The interior and the cover features two-color art (blacks and reds) on glossy pages. Now the gloss might just be my pre-copy version, or not. In any case the color, the art, and the layout are all a leap ahead in terms of style and look than all the previous DP&D books. If this is the future of their books then the future looks good.

A little over 50 monsters fill this book. They use the same stat block as DP&D so that also means they are roughly compatible with Swords & Wizardry (I'd say about 99%) and most other OSR-flavored games. Given the size of the book it fits in nicely with my Swords & Wizardry Whitebox games, so I have another monster book now for that! Each monster gets a page. Some exceptions occur with the Bigfoots and the E.T.s, but still, it's a good bit for each one.

There are also templates in the back of the book that work like the monster templates from 3.x. So you can apply the Vampire, Werewolf or my favorite Radioactive, template (among others) to any monster. Radioactive Bigfoots? Hell yes! There is also a table of enhancements and how they change your monster. So now it's Agile Radioactive Bigfoots! There are some conditions ported over from 3.x (more or less) but very, very useful and I am happy to see them here.

Ok what are some of my favorites? There is the Almasti, which I also used in Ghosts of Albion. They have a special place in my heart. I'll likely include Almasti Shamen in my DP&D games like I did with Ghosts. Old faves like the Bunyip and Chupacabra. Holy crap there is a Crocoduck!

I have to admit I nearly shot coffee out of my nose when I first saw that. Worth the price of the book alone in my mind. Flatwoods Monster, all the various extraterrestrials (Nordics, Reptilians, LGMs, Greys), Hellhounds, the Hodag! (love those things!), Jersey Devils, Skin Walkers, and the Wendigo. So plenty really and many more. The monsters mostly come from modern cyptids, but there some classics from myths and local monsters.

This book is great really. While I may have been pre-disposed to like it, it really delivered and then some with me. The art is great and fun. The layout top notch and the monsters are just too much fun.

While reading it I could not help but think how well this would also work with White Star or other White Box derived game. So even if you don't play DP&D (and you should really, it's just too much fun) you can still get a lot of enjoyment out of this book. For example the Cryptid Manual is 90% compatible with Swords & Wizardry White Box. There is not a lot of overlap in monsters, so this makes the CM a perfect monster book for S&WWB players. Also, there are a lot of "new" monsters in S&W for the DP&D player/GM. Who's to say that an alien life form could resemble an orc or a wyvern.

In fact, this is true for nearly every clone. The clone game provides monsters for DP&P and the Cryptid Manual provides new monsters for your clone of choice. You just need to justify why they are there.

Worth picking up.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Cryptid Manual - An OSR Bestiary
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The UFO Investigator's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 01/16/2019 20:41:12

This book is the latest (for now) book in the Survive This! Dark Places & Demogorgons line. A couple of things jump right out at me.

First, the cover has dropped the "Survive This!" label. It is still mentioned on the cover page, but I am thinking that the Dark Places & Demogorgons name has more visual recognition.

Second, that cover is fantastic. It's a step up from the covers of past books (which are still great, this one is just better) and it invokes EXACTLY the feelings they wanted. Is that a Whitley Strieber inspired cover? Fire in the Sky? X-Files? Yes. To all the above.

Ok, let's jump right in.

I am reviewing both the book and the PDF. These were not sent to me, I bought them on my own dime. Noticeable differences: The PDF cover is blueish on my screen (nod to Blue Book?) but the physical copy is more green (Little Green Books?) anyway. Not important...moving on.

The book is 48 pages with an interior cover page and two pages of OGL. The font is larger than say your average Swords & Wizardry book at the same digest size. Color covers, black and white interior art.

The first section covers new classes. We get a good selection of the usual suspects; UFO Investigator (a class I resemble a little too closely at that age), Conspiracy Theorist, Alien Hunter, and Alien in Disguise (for your Starman types). The UFO Investigator covers your basic Fox Mulder, Carl Kolchak, Scooby Gang, and others. The Alien in Disguise is the most detailed with various forms and powers.

Up next are a couple pages of new equipment including the UFO Investigator's kits. Some adventure hooks, UFO terms, and some misrepresented UFOs. Enough in a couple of pages to get you going really.

The really fun stuff is next Alien Encounters/Seeds. Included are the Hexpost Monster, Alien Probers (we know what these guys are all about), K.U.F.O.O. (an organization), Green Men Attack Gaslight, and the G-Men Come to Town (basically the Project Blue Book). So if the hooks couldn't get you going these will.

We end with what is one of my favorite parts of all the DP&D books, the Recommended Reading and Viewing lists. Interestingly enough "Project U.F.O." is not on this list. Ok, Josh Palmer, this needs to be added to your watch list.

The book is excellent really. Great addition to the Dark Places & Demogorgons game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The UFO Investigator's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The UFO Investigator's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 13:04:33

Growing up I was a huge fan of the X-Files. The cover even gives the hint of Close Encounters of the Third Kind. However, the cover is only the start of a great book. Once you get inside you will find some rather epic classes such as the hidden alien and the alien hunter, all well thought out and excellently written.

If you want to tell a story about how someone was abducted and the small details in flashbacks, this is idea for it. Its really a must for Dark Places & Demogorgons. There are little plot hooks and more so and what I loved most about it. The images it gives of driving down a deserted road and sudden there are lights illuminating the heavens about you, thunder clouds roll by and at first you think its lightening--but think again...

I absoulte suggest this book for anyone who likes aliens, or wants to play something off the beaten path in most horror stories!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - JEFFERSONTOWN SETTING GUIDE Survive This!!
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/12/2019 12:52:33

Let me start out saying much like the original reviewer of this I was a bit eh, about buying a Settings Book, I have several but than I said what the heck. I have all the other products. So, I started reading through it and it is a Epic step back into the 80's its waking up early in the morning and slamming your hand down on the sleep button and having Africa playing on the radio nostalgia.

There are many plot hooks, and places where you can just see your players getting into trouble. Both spookiness and little heartwarming spots as well. This whole book has a great handle on the memories and the fun of the 80's walk down memory lane with this little gem.

The art work is fantastic and has a surreal quality to it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - JEFFERSONTOWN SETTING GUIDE Survive This!!
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Holiday Special - FREE pdf
by Charles D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/06/2018 06:45:53

What a great present to receive. Turkey demons (Tur'da Kun, ha!), Krampus, a zombunny, and the Christmas witch are only a few of the holiday creatures that visit J'town, KY.

This wonderful freebie includes 11 creatures to challenge or help the kids of J'town. The art is amazing, some of it in full color. Several creatures have a theme song from the eighties to inspire the imagination.

The system is d20 so you could easily port this to the Shudder Mountains for Dungeon Crawl Classics or your own D&D homebrew. I could even see some of these beasties showing up in D&D Ravnica.

If you think having a zombie plague starting with a zombunny is entertaining then you need this gift. Seriously, take it, otherwise, the Krampus will get you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Holiday Special - FREE pdf
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
by A customer [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/05/2018 22:39:24

This supplment is fantastic, its a real throw back to the Lost Boys and those vampire films I remember from my youth. The system is easy to learn and the little plot hooks located all the way through the book is great for involving all the characters and not only focusing on a main plot but giving your pcs side plots, to help further develop their character and myself as a gm to develop the world.

I can't wait for more products to come out!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Vampire Sourcebook - DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS & other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
by Seth P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/02/2018 23:08:17

I bought this book a while back after hearing about it through the grapevine of the internet. After reading up on it some more I was impressed! And once I got the book in my hands I was blown away! For being a small company, Bloat Games has really put out a wonderful book which just screams "PLAY ME!" As I read more and more of the book adventure ideas of taking my party through J-Town kept bubbling up, old ideas and inspirations from things like Goosebumps and Steven King constantly coming forth.

So what is DP&D? Well the game itself is based heavily on older editions of the World's Most Popular Roleplaying Game but with plenty of modern twists to make it both familiar and different. With the classic 6 ability scores and a brand new one (Survival) as well as twists on the classic saving throws, the game is easy to pick up for anyone with even a passing knowledge of any d20 system but with enough depth and differences to keep even diehard veterans engaged for many, many adventures in 1980's J-Town.

Would I recommend this game? I already have on several occasions! And here, have a free adventure idea on the house: the party heads out to the country fair and while exploring the spooky haunted house they belive they encountered a real zombie!

5/5 This is a game everyone should play!

Have fun and game on everyone!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - Survive This!! - Core Rule Book OSR RPG
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 10/02/2018 06:19:27

Nothing beats a good ghost story and the early 80s was full of them. From the old school hauntings of 1981's Ghost Story to 1982's Poltergeist to the old guard in House of the Long Shadows (1983) and even to 1984's Ghostbusters. And this is now where near all. If you loved ghost stories it was a great time.

Thankfully Bloat Games hears you and has what you need.

DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook is 60 pages (digest sized) with color covers and black and white interior. It has the same feel as the other books in this series. The art is good and I recognize a lot of the names inside.

With this book, like the others, we start out with new classes. The Clairvoyant can see things the others can't (we have a couple "I see dead people" classes already, but this is a good one). The Parapsychologist is great, but I think it is stretching what it means for a "Kid" class like the core book is filled with. Though, I guess reading the starting equipment this is also the class that best fit me in High School! Yes, I did write a program to emulate a PKE meter on my TRS-80 Color Computer. The Mystical Ghost Hunter covers your basic exorcists/cleanser type. But the class I was happiest to see was the Nullifier! This is the guy who walks in the room and all paranormal activity stops. The class might have limited growth, save that they are the ones that will survive any magical attack, but I like them all the same. In college one of my "hippie" friends claimed I was a "Null" because his Ouija board never worked when I was around!

Pages 14-24 cover different kinds of ghosts, spectres, and haunts and their reasons for haunting. This is one of the parts that make this book "and use w/other OSR games". You can drop these spookies into any OSR game (some will require tweaks) and you are good to go. They can all be run as-is really; especially if you are playing Swords & Wizardry. In fact, there is a lot here in the DP&D that the S&W game master can use.

A few pages on what you can find on The Other Side! (uh...Thanks! but I didn't get you anything. OH! THAT Other Side.)

There are a couple pages on equipment including Ghost Hunter kits to fit your price range. Next, we have some new ghost-related magic items. A couple pages of minor and major spells.

And what book on ghosts would be complete without a haunted house? Well, this one taped into that 80s feeling well and gives us a haunted asylum! It's like you guys read my Christmas lists or something!

Information of the J'town Paranormal Society (which feels like it is somewhere between Supernatural's "Ghost Chasers" and Doctor Who's LINDA).

We end with a great, but incomplete, list books, movies, and television shows.

Author Josh Palmer did a hell of a job here and this is a worthy addition to the DP&D line. The book is worth every penny. In truth at just $5 and 60 pages you are getting a hell of a deal.

Print on demand is coming soon.

It's Halloween. Get out there and bust some ghosts!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DARK PLACES & DEMOGORGONS - The Ghost Hunter's Handbook - and use w/other OSR games
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 36 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG