Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Nicky G » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
You must be logged in to rate this
Space Metropolis: City of the Future
by Kevin A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/19/2020 12:46:06

An amazing map for any sci-fi setting. It's hard to find preassmbled stations of this size anyhere. Grid size for the pre-assembled zones it 140px for anyone using a vtt.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Metropolis: City of the Future
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 4 Shells of the Old World
by Sean D. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 13:15:02

NickyG has done an excellent job of cleaning up the file name issues & has made this & the other sets in the series more usable. Still unusable for VTT due to the user license but now at least you can more easily use it for home printing use.

*It is obvious that "Nicky G" does not read, listen, or care what those purchasing his sets say. The naming issue in EVERY SINGLE "Apocalypse Metropolis" set is ample proof of this. I originally purchased sets 1-4 of these back in 2017. I resently redownloaded the sets, hoping that the renaming issue was resolved. Every single fine was IDENTICAL to the ones I originally downloaded, NOTHING had been changed. Not a single byte difference between the new files & my original archives. Having to rename hundreds of files by hand IN the archive file (because WinZip/WinRAR will NOT extract the enormous length named files) is annoying, time consuming, & in the end, worthless since the user-license blocks any & all VTT/Streaming online virtual Pen & Paper RPG game use.

Don't get me wrong, the art/design is good, a bit on the dark-side, but good. Fine if you are creating a map to print it out for use at your table-top RPG game. Still, you have to manually fix each filename length before you can even extract them.

I will not purchase anything this artist releases again. His work is good but not worth the headache for such an extremely limited use license. He does nothing to address complaints or problems with his sets. Caveat emptor. *



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 4 Shells of the Old World
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Drivethrurpg has not verified me in 5 years of selling on here, and i still don't have access to license info and tools. The drivethrurpg publisher tools section regarding licensing is locked for me so I'm not even sure where you see what the licensing rights are. It should allow ALL non-commercial use on whatever platform or service you prefer. I don't sell commercial licenses for any of my artwork through any platform or website, only through personal contact at nickguag27@gmail.com I originally published the artwork for another platform which required keyword search tags to be included in the individual filenames, which I agree is stupid and an extreme pain to rectify. I am working on updating the file names for all sets sold on drivethru. I do not check here often, because drivethru wont seem to verify me to give me full access to all the tools they offer verified publishers, and in all honesty the publisher UI is pretty atrocious and overcomplicated compared to the platform I normally use. Thank you for your "reviews".
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 3 Fun and Games
by Sean D. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 13:14:22

NickyG has done an excellent job of cleaning up the file name issues & has made this & the other sets in the series more usable. Still unusable for VTT due to the user license but now at least you can more easily use it for home printing use.

*It is obvious that "Nicky G" does not read, listen, or care what those purchasing his sets say. The naming issue in EVERY SINGLE "Apocalypse Metropolis" set is ample proof of this. I originally purchased sets 1-4 of these back in 2017. I resently redownloaded the sets, hoping that the renaming issue was resolved. Every single fine was IDENTICAL to the ones I originally downloaded, NOTHING had been changed. Not a single byte difference between the new files & my original archives. Having to rename hundreds of files by hand IN the archive file (because WinZip/WinRAR will NOT extract the enormous length named files) is annoying, time consuming, & in the end, worthless since the user-license blocks any & all VTT/Streaming online virtual Pen & Paper RPG game use.

Don't get me wrong, the art/design is good, a bit on the dark-side, but good. Fine if you are creating a map to print it out for use at your table-top RPG game. Still, you have to manually fix each filename length before you can even extract them.

I will not purchase anything this artist releases again. His work is good but not worth the headache for such an extremely limited use license. He does nothing to address complaints or problems with his sets. Caveat emptor. *



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 3 Fun and Games
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 2 Roads to Nowhere
by Sean D. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 13:12:23

NickyG has done an excellent job of cleaning up the file name issues & has made this & the other sets in the series more usable. Still unusable for VTT due to the user license but now at least you can more easily use it for home printing use.

*It is obvious that "Nicky G" does not read, listen, or care what those purchasing his sets say. The naming issue in EVERY SINGLE "Apocalypse Metropolis" set is ample proof of this. I originally purchased sets 1-4 of these back in 2017. I resently redownloaded the sets, hoping that the renaming issue was resolved. Every single fine was IDENTICAL to the ones I originally downloaded, NOTHING had been changed. Not a single byte difference between the new files & my original archives. Having to rename hundreds of files by hand IN the archive file (because WinZip/WinRAR will NOT extract the enormous length named files) is annoying, time consuming, & in the end, worthless since the user-license blocks any & all VTT/Streaming online virtual Pen & Paper RPG game use.

Don't get me wrong, the art/design is good, a bit on the dark-side, but good. Fine if you are creating a map to print it out for use at your table-top RPG game. Still, you have to manually fix each filename length before you can even extract them.

I will not purchase anything this artist releases again. His work is good but not worth the headache for such an extremely limited use license. He does nothing to address complaints or problems with his sets. Caveat emptor. *



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 2 Roads to Nowhere
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 1 City Limits
by Sean D. F. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 06/02/2020 13:10:49

NickyG has done an excellent job of cleaning up the file name issues & has made this & the other sets in the series more usable. Still unusable for VTT due to the user license but now at least you can more easily use it for home printing use.

*It is obvious that "Nicky G" does not read, listen, or care what those purchasing his sets say. The naming issue in EVERY SINGLE "Apocalypse Metropolis" set is ample proof of this. I originally purchased sets 1-4 of these back in 2017. I resently redownloaded the sets, hoping that the renaming issue was resolved. Every single fine was IDENTICAL to the ones I originally downloaded, NOTHING had been changed. Not a single byte difference between the new files & my original archives. Having to rename hundreds of files by hand IN the archive file (because WinZip/WinRAR will NOT extract the enormous length named files) is annoying, time consuming, & in the end, worthless since the user-license blocks any & all VTT/Streaming online virtual Pen & Paper RPG game use.

Don't get me wrong, the art/design is good, a bit on the dark-side, but good. Fine if you are creating a map to print it out for use at your table-top RPG game. Still, you have to manually fix each filename length before you can even extract them.

I will not purchase anything this artist releases again. His work is good but not worth the headache for such an extremely limited use license. He does nothing to address complaints or problems with his sets. Caveat emptor. *



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 1 City Limits
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cyberpunk Interiors
by Florian E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 19:48:12

You wouldn't know it, since the product has no preview whatsoever, but it's actually really good. A lot of high-quality assets for any cyberpunk setting. The colourful neon-style of the art works really well with the intended setting and it's a varied selection of objects. Really good value for the money. I use it for my Roll20 Cyberpunk-Campaigns and it's already indispensible for my map layouts.

Tip for the publisher: You would probably sell a lot more of these if you just added a preview of the art. That can't be that difficult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk Interiors
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
You are absolutely correct previews would help, I have neglected my product listings for too long and am currently working on updating them accordingly. Thank you for taking the time to review!
Cyberpunk City Battlemap
by Florian E. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/29/2020 19:42:11

Took a leap of faith and bought it, despite having seen no preview whatsoever. I actually was not disappointed. That is a solid set of blue-neon cyberpunk buildings and streets. And lots of them – enough to create a variety of battle scenarios for cyberpunk rpgs, desktop or VTT. Could have maybe profitted from a broader color palette, but it gets the job done and looks quite nice. Well worth the money. Tip for the publisher: You would probably sell a lot more of these if you just added a preview of the art. That can't be that difficult.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk City Battlemap
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 2 Roads to Nowhere
by David A. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/29/2020 15:51:39

I'm going to cut and paste this review to all 4 of the titles from this publisher, so they'll be identical.

For some unfathomable reason the author of these titles gave each of the items in the .zip file horrifically long names, making them impossible to read, alter, rename, extract or use. I wasted $20 on this whole collection of files. I can't for the life of me understand why a publisher would do this. If they could re-release ALL of these with reasonable file names, making the files extractable, and therefore useful, I would change my review.

Do NOT buy these. They are useless.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 2 Roads to Nowhere
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Everything I have available on drivethru were original made available through another platform which required the file names to include keyword tags for searches. Initially I didn't think much of the problems one could run into with stupidly long filenames but as many reviewers here have made clear, its something I will now prioritize fixing. Thanks for the review, and I apologize for the inconvenience.
Worldbuilder Deluxe Battlemap Creation Pack
by Kevin D. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/26/2020 07:25:03

I bought this some time ago and could not unzip them easily due the long file names used, I assume it was some tagging system, but it means Windows will have hard time unzipping these files if the path is too long.

I got around it using Powershell then I forgot all about them, until I was notified that another customer was put off by my message, this made me actually look at the files and they are better than anything I can do, but to be honest there is a lot better stuff available for the same price.

The Wordmaps are the same graphics with harsh colour overlays to make the martian map red and the ocean map blue, but other than that they are almost identical.

In addition you can see the seems where two images have been joined togther on quite a few of the maps.

There is some nice art assets in here but they are basically the same graphics colorised (to strongly) to try and make them look different.

It's a shame the creator obviously went to a lot of trouble to create the artwork, but the end effect is too jarring...



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Worldbuilder Deluxe Battlemap Creation Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Everything I have available on drivethru were original made available through another platform which required the file names to include keyword tags for searches. Initially I didn't think much of the problems one could run into with stupidly long filenames but as many reviewers have made clear, its something I will now prioritize fixing on all my drivethru packs. As for quality, there certainly are a number of amateurish issues with this set in particular which are not easily fixable, and going forward it will be pay what you want. I appreciate the review, and apologize for the disappointment.
Cyberpunk City Battlemap
by JD S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 03/01/2020 09:58:55

While you get a lot for the money, the city is character-less blue neon. Can't really see a viable use for it.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk City Battlemap
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 2 Roads to Nowhere
by Dan M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 01/06/2020 17:56:08

Pro's: Nicky G. is an excellent artist and once I got them to unzip they are easy to use.

Con's: The naming convention on part of the files are to long for Windows 10 Home ver. to recognize so, it would error. I solved this by downloading and installing the Free version of WinZip.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 2 Roads to Nowhere
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the kind words! I have received lots of feedback on the file names throughout my available sets, and am working on re-uploading the files with more user friendly naming. Apologies for the inconvenience this has caused and the long delay to address the isssue.
Space Metropolis: City of the Future
by Chason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2019 19:29:27

This is my favorite mapping product from Nicky G so far. Clean art with a nice futuristic scifi style. I really hope to see more sets in the Space Metropolis line, Ship interiors maybe or a damaged version with destroyed props and dead aliens/space marines.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Space Metropolis: City of the Future
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cyberpunk City Battlemap
by Chason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2019 19:22:10

This is a fun product, has an art style I've not seen on any other battlemap products. There are plent of props and buildings available to create your own maps with.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Cyberpunk City Battlemap
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 4 Shells of the Old World
by Chason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2019 19:14:04

This is a good bundle, i liked shells of the old word the most of the 3 included products. The airport set has some nice props but the planes are a little rough and oddly proportioned but still usable while the Metropolis Suburbia suffers from dark muddy textures that make some of the placeables hard to make out.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 4 Shells of the Old World
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 3 Fun and Games
by Chason L. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/08/2019 18:38:13

This is by far my favorite of the Apocalypse Metropolis bundles, between the casino and the ballpark there are some great pieces to create fun maps for your future urban explorer. Everything is well lit and ready to use right out of the box!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Apocalypse Metropolis: Part 3 Fun and Games
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 25 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
Powered by DriveThruRPG