RPGNow.com
Browse Categories
 Publisher Info













Back
Other comments left for this publisher:
Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer] Date Added: 06/10/2018 13:24:20

THE GOOD: I love the premise. I love how much stuff is packed into a tiny book. The Setting Rules are both completely obvious and completely inspired. The inclusion of a random adventure generator is always welcome.

THE BAD: The adventure generator seems a little anemic. Four steps with six options per step. On the other hand, it's not a complicated genre, either. All the art of guys without masks for a setting in which not having a mask is tantamount to suicide is questionable and makes the wrong impression. The book is confused over whether the biker gang is called "The Jackals" or "The Jakals", as it is used interchangeably throughout.

THE SKINNY: I dig this product. I think the art choices could have been better for the setting, and I'd sure like to know if it's "Jackals" or "Jakals", but the good completely outweighs the bad. I'd happily run this for a short campaign (10 or so sessions). Heck, you could probably get a minicampaign out of each enemy faction (and then dump a full government strike force on them after they take the war to the cops). Cool stuff in a small package, with that underground "do it yourself" vibe that's pretty reminiscent of a lot of the great OSR stuff that's come out over the last few years. I bought it. I don't regret it. I'd run it, and happily.

For my full review, please visit https://mostunreadblogever.blogspot.com/2018/06/tommys-take-on-vigilantes-rise-of.html



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
by Chris B. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 05/01/2018 22:02:54

I rather like this setting. The adventure generator is a bit lackluster, and the first printing had some impressive typos but for the most part, it's a nice modern pulp setting with appropriate rules. I recommend this one.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Sewer Rats
by Adamek P. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/27/2018 01:51:39

Totally worth its price! This book is a good product with new character options (you can kind of custom-make your race), a nice setting and a pretty good adventure generator. And it doesn't use any supplement except for the core rulebook.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Sewer Rats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Sewer Rats
by kender m. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 04/24/2018 17:55:31

I wish that this had been out BEFORE a friend ran Necessary Evil. That group has a player with a borderline overbearing need to play Good characters, and he almost sat out the NE campaign. I think he would have happily jumped in with a Sewer Rat.

Since it's RAW instead of Necessary Evil level modification, this can be easily added to many Savage Worlds campaigns, or played stand alone for a TMNT flavored game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Worlds!
by Ed M. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/25/2017 17:30:33

I'm a big fan of retro science fiction, so when I saw the Astonishing Worlds book as the Deal of the Day, I quickly snapped it up. I was not disappointed. It is great!

The Astonishing Worlds book describes a science fiction setting with a classic feel. Although the main thrust of the setting as presented is about exploration of new worlds, it is a true sandbox setting with multiple avenues for adventure. You could explore new planets as a member of the Alliance. Or you could fight against Star Pirates as they raid planets. Or you could try to thwart the evil Galactic Lords as they try to extend their dominion to other planets. Or you could attempt to stop Galatron and his army of evil robots from exterminating all organic life. Or a bit of all of it!

There's only one part of the system that I wasn't really fond of. But being a systemless setting, it's a simple matter to change it.

I'm really eager to put together some adventures in this setting. When I run this, I will probaby use Savage Worlds, since I'm a huge fan of the system. I can see it working for just about any other generic system as well (FATE, HERO, GURPS, etc.)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Astonishing Worlds!
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Fable Hunters
by Customer Name Withheld [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 12/19/2017 23:22:04

Update 12/19/2017:upgraded my rating after archetypes were added in an updated file. Thank you!

Having recently purchased Tricky Troll's bundle and liking what I saw in the bestiaries and other setting kits, I was quick to grab this one when it come up. Overall, I find it to be well-worth adding to my collection. It nicely fills the urban fantasy niche that seems to be lacking. The book layout is pretty basic (entirely black and white except for the cover), but I like this as the art is great and it's easy to follow and find information. It's organized well and I find it easy to locate all the necessary information.

I'm certainly happy and I have some ideas on how I want to use this for some adventures, but there was one thing that I felt was missing: stats on the archetypes. The descriptions of each are great, but when I see an archetype, I expect oget an idea of what their build might look like. You can extrapolate some through the Bestiary entries, but I would have liked a set of basic stats with the archetypes. While it doesn't detract, I think that the pages dedicated to the Adventure Generator could have been better used for additional setting ideas and/or tools.

All that said, the book itself is a great addition to any library where GMs and players have a desire to create an urban fantasy game not unlike Grimm, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, or The Hollows series of books.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Fable Hunters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your kind words! We will definitely consider Archetype stats in the future!
Example builds for each archetype are now available in an updated file! Thanks for the feedback!
Skies of Lynteer
by Richard W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 11/24/2017 01:53:25

This is a very cool mini setting with a low entry barrier for newcomers, and enough flavor to springboard an entire campaign. The book covers everything you'd expect to see in a full-size setting book, but compressed down to about a quarter of the normal page count, focusing on the essentials rather than overwhelming the reader with information. I find this approach a very good fit with the low-prep mindset of Savage Worlds.

The players belong to a group of heroic explorers called the League of Heroes, exploring a sky realm filled with floating islands. But rather than using flying ships, the characters can actually sail the islands themselves! There are also flying hippogriff mounts for short-range travel (such as getting from one island to another).

Although the book doesn't include any adventures, it does dedicate several pages to an adventure generator.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Skies of Lynteer
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2017 15:37:19

I just left a review for Fable Hunters, a similar product from the same company, so forgive me if I save some typing time by repeating a few comments.

In 20 odd pages, Vigilantes gives you the skeleton of a modern dark heroes campaign where crime and corruption are running rampant, and a few angry men and women have chosen to fight back. The book provides a brief background, some stat-less archetypes (and as the other reviewer said for Fable Hunters, some stats would be nice) for players, some new edges and flaws, and stats for the bad guys. I particularly like that the book includes a number of stereotypical bad guys, from biker gangs to ninjas to corrupt cops, so that a campaign can have some decent variety of adventures.

I personally am I big fan of the random adventure generators you get in many Savage Worlds games, and this has a good one, but one that I would have liked to have been a bit larger with more entries. At a mere d6 per adventure element, I can see a lot of duplication happening.

Between this and Fable Hunters, I am a fan of this company and this line of products, and will definitely keep my eye out for more campaign setting kits.

Steve W



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Vigilantes: Rise of the Powerless
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Archetypes now feature example builds! Thanks for the feedback!
Fable Hunters
by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 10/30/2017 14:42:35

I bought this file after buying the Vigilantes file from the same company, so i was fairly aware of what I would get. And I was quite happy to get it as well.

in 20 odd pages, Fable Hunters gives you the skeleton of a modern fantasy campaign where humanity is secretly preyed upon by creatures from folklore and myth. The book provides a brief background, some stat-less archetypes (and as the other reviewer said, some stats would be nice) for players, some new edges and flaws, and monster stats for the bad guys.

I personally am I big fan of the random adventure generators you get in many Savage Worlds games, and this has a good one, but one that I would have liked to have been a bit larger with more entries. At a mere d6 per adventure element, I can see a lot of duplication happening.

Between this and Vigilantes I am a fan of this company and this line of products, and will definitely keep my eye out for more campaign setting kits.

Steve W



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Fable Hunters
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Example builds for each archetype are now available in an updated file! Thanks for the feedback!
Example builds for each archetype are now available in an updated file! Thanks for the feedback!
Husk: Wrath of the Swarm
by Matt S. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/18/2017 09:21:06

It's review time. Yesterday a friend of mine sent me a message asking if I was going to use Husk to run a game. I said what is this Husk? Then he sent me a link to DriveThruRPG and when I saw the image I said oh yeah I remember seeing Nathan Carmen post this on Google+. I must admit, I was very skeptical about purchasing this product because it seemed a little overpriced from what the product description says. I think the words "This Setting Kit provides an outline of a setting" threw me off more than anything else. At $4.00 for 23 pages the pdf will cost me $0.17 per page which I thought was a little high. So when my friend messaged me, I thought about it more and decided to buy it. I'm glad I did. These 23 pages are really good. Wait, I think I just got tricked into doing a review on this. I won't forget that Eric.

You are resistance fighters and only 30% of the populace is left. It's a dog eat dog world where only the strong survive. The alien bugs have invaded and all but wiped out the world's military organizations. There are 6 factions of resistance groups left and you belong to Unity. This group seeks to unify the human race against the invaders. You may or may not face off against the other factions. That's up to you and your GM.

Within the pages you get 4 new edges, 2 new hindrances, 2 new setting rules, an adventure generator, and a great bestiary with 7 wildcard human NPC's, 2 human Extras, and 14 alien NPC's (6 of them are wildcards). This product is labeled as a kit for an alien bug invasion setting and it is exactly that. It is a toolbox of great ideas and beasts. I highly recommend buying this pdf if you're interested in any type of science fiction. Best of all, it's for Savage Worlds and it's only $4. Go check out Husk: Wrath of the Swarm.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Husk: Wrath of the Swarm
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Husk: Wrath of the Swarm
by Neal H. [Verified Purchaser] Date Added: 08/17/2017 23:46:21

Husk is a great addition to Savage Worlds. It is exactly what it advertises: A brief description of the setting, character creation in the setting, an adventure generator, NPCs and monsters. There's no fluff or fiction to get in the way, just the muscle and bones of the sandbox game world for a GM and players to put the skin on as they please. While just the core rules are required, having the Horror or Science Fiction books would be helpful.

Although Husk is intended to be only 23 pages, I'd love to see more material for this setting in the future.

I hope that this will be just the first entry in a series of short setting books in the same style.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
0 items
 Hottest Titles
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG