DriveThruRPG.com
Narrow Results











Back
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG $5.99
Average Rating:4.8 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
53 73
9 5
1 3
0 0
0 0
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Click to view
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Valerio P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2019 03:29:38

This game is just... Wonderful! The first attempt with my children, this Sunday, took us just about twenty minutes of playing, and they didn't want to stop. I just improvised a couple combat encounters for them, very straightforward, with a bit of "story connection" between them, and they were completely excited.

I'm so happy I've purchased the full lot, I have so much to work with, and the initial reaction from my children seems to point out that they will love this hobby, just like daddy does!

Thanks a lot for this great small game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Christian S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/10/2019 13:24:53

I'm afraid I've not played a roleplaying game for years, but my 9-year-old daughter found my old dice, asked me how they worked, and she was entralled with the idea—so I poked around the internet to see what there was nowadays and i settled on HERO KIDS. My two younger kids were hooked from the beginning of Basement o' Rats. My 11-year-old, initially disdainful, got interested and asked to join in—we had to contrive a way for her to join in partway through. The combat was exciting enough, and they got into it, but their favorite part was the side trip to the chamber with the pool, where they had to figure out how to extricate a small treasure chest from amidst magically frozen rats, without getting trapped and frozen themselves. I also decided the mushrooms there would be useful magical ingredients and were safe to eat, but made the characters glow blue the remainder of the adventure, which tickled the kids. In all, you've roped in three kids, 7 through 11, who had a blast with their first RPG, and one dad who had a blast with them, and got to roll some serious dice for the first time in ages. I highly recommend the bundle for grownups whose professional life doesn't leave lots of time for creating—the adventures are a lifesaver.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Josh D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/07/2019 00:33:25

This has been great, I play with my 5yo son and my 3yo daughter. It's quality time for us and a bit of time alone for my wife. My daughter is the one that is constantly asking whether we can play more HeroKids on the weekend! If you're a parent, just buy the bundle - great value for money on an hours to $ point of view.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Dan L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2019 11:43:04

This is a great system—not only for introducing young kids to RPGs, but also for enabling families with young kids to play RPGs together. The system is simple enough for very young children to be able to play, but has enough detail that older kids can enhance their characters' capabilities as they understand more.

All of the player characters (many fun pregenerated options are included) have a special ability. My kids have latched on to these; each is excited about their character's special strengths and functionality. The enemies also have well-concieved special abilities, so there's some exciting variety in combat even though the combat mechanic is very simple and easy for all to navigate.

The published adventures are a lot of fun, and always include enough detail to help inexperienced DM parents narrate a compelling story for the kids. Of particular note are the maps. They're done simply but very well. They're nice to print out and keep around for reuse in other adventures in other systems.

That's all enough to make this a great system; but to sweeten the deal, the prices are very reasonable.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by DANIEL R D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/03/2019 12:36:26

Simple, objective, upgradable, replayable, PERFECT! Awesome to play with kids but I cannot deny that I am playing with a group of adult friends and we are having a lot of fun. LOL



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Steven H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/13/2018 13:26:01

Great product! I was wanting to introduce my 9yo to tabletop RPGs and this was a perfect way. She grasped it quickly and wants to play every weekend now. I will be buying the rest of the modules now I guess! Thanks!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Edward C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/08/2018 18:11:19

This is absolutly fantastic for younger kids getting into rpg's, i started by getting my kids (3, 4 and 8) to choose a hero out of the coloriong book, a seprate free download, aand got them to color in there heros as we played (a helpful distraction at times for the younger 2) I had my 8 year old help the 3 year old at times but he is definatly keen to play more, and all 3 kids already feel a connection to there heros and each others, (one encounter i may have KO'd one of their heros causing them to get a little upset....but they worked out they could use a potion on him to get him up again) Things are easily modifed to suit your needs with age diffrences ect. and the book has a few tips on running a game with younger players. Im so glad i found this!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Roey T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/28/2018 07:40:47

Good points:

  • Marvelous artwork that makes the kids immediately take to the game;

  • Simple and easy system to understand - both for the parent DM (who doesn't have as much time to read a 200 rulebook, as he used to in his youth) and for the kids. My kid understood very quickly how to play the game;

  • Can be downloaded in PDF format with several versions, one of which can be easily printed on a home printer so that you can play immediately.

  • Free follow-up adventures (I just got an invitation to download the new adventure: Reign of the Dragon for free). Very generous!

BAD points:

  • Incredibly simplistic system, with no leveling OR treasure to be mentioned (this may have been overturned in expansions and further adventures, but I only read the core guidebook and first adventure).

  • The first adventure focuses only on combat, and is incredibly repetitive. Fight a group of rats, then another group of rats, then a third group of rats, then the rats and their king. I'm not adverse to violence (I love intriguing fights), but the system is so simple that the fights become boring very quickly on the one hand, and on the other hand: is this REALLY what RPGs are about? Kill monsters? I think we all know there are about much more than that. They are about the wonder of discovery, the relationship between characters, moral questions and problems, etc. Kids are NOT too young to deal with these issues! By focusing the adventure (and indeed, the core system) only on combat, it diminishes their potential enjoyment of the game.

This pattern of bad adventure design continues in Reign of the Dragon (the only add-on adventure I tried), in which the characters face a huge dragon that lands in their village, and demands to essentially become their ruler. Then, cultists come to capture the dragon, and demand that the kids turn him over to their keeping. For some incomprehensible reason, the author seems to think the kids should protect the dragon. Well, my kids immediately gave him over, and finished the adventure in three minutes. As they should have, too! Why not make the dragon be in trouble, instead of making it tyrranical and demanding? Why put the kids in a position in which they have to defend a bully, rather than making them feel as "righteous protectors"?? All this indicates to me that I can't rely on adventures written by the inventor of the game, and that I need to come up with my own - or to tweak the adventures to fit my kids (obviously, this may be different for your kids).

Overall, this is a recommended purchase for any parent who wants to involve his or her kids in RPGs for the first time, but be aware you'll need to do a lot of tweaking to the adventures.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the feedback. I'm always looking for this kind of feedback about what people are looking for from Hero Kids adventures. My playtesters of Reign of the Dragon were fine with volunteering to protect the dragon, but I think that your feedback is correct. I'll update the adventure to make it more clear why they should help the dragon before the cultists arrive and confront them! For the treasure, you should check out the Equipment cards that are available (these are detailed in the core rules, but the equipment and item cards are available as expansions or in adventures): http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/116614/Hero-Kids--Fantasy-Expansion--Equipment-Cards Finally, leveling is an area of the game that I have been considering for a very long time. Other people have release character development rules for Hero Kids, but I have not yet: http://www.drivethrurpg.com/product/196871/Character-Advancement--A-Hero-Kids-Compatible-Supplement-for-Levelling-Characters?filters=45487_0_0_0_0 Thanks again!
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Brian M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2018 20:13:24

6.5 year old has very much enjoyed the game - we've played 2 of the adventures so far - one of which we did one evening while on a family vacation - just had printed the adventure beforehand - handful of 6 sided dice and a very compact game to play whereever the desire (or boredom) may strike.

Simple rules, simple math, the adults have had fun, she has had fun. Works on listening skills, critical thinking, some good math practice for the age group, and at least one of the adventures highlighted a discussion we needed to have on what kinds of things are appropriate for "keeping secrets" vs what should be discussed with an adult.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Chad L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/13/2018 06:56:34

What a great system to introduce RPGs to my 6yo boy! I was an AD&D and GURPS player from waaaay back when, and have been missing the hobby. When my son found my old D&D books and expressed interest, I jumped at the opportunity. I went looking for an age-appropriate system, ultimately landing on Hero Kids.

We had our first extended session this past weekend, and boy howdy did he have fun! He picked up the game mechanics straight away, and I got back into my old GM groove (just like old times!) He immediately gravitated to the Wolfchild character, and we spent several hours just developing his backstory, and my mind is abuzz with some fun ideas for an extended storyline. I'm so jazzed he's taken to the hobby so enthusiastically, and that I'm able to scratch that RPG itch after so long.

Thanks for creating such a great game!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Carlos T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/15/2018 19:23:03

My 7 year old son loves this game, and I can't recommend it strongly enough. I've told friends with young kids too.

Is there a forum for exchanging user-written adventures or ideas? My son has blown through almost all the published adventures, and we'll soon need to write our own.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Rachel S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/12/2018 11:14:49

I DM D&D for my family and friends, but my younger kids and their friends want to play, too, and it is just over their heads. Hero Kids is simplified enough where the kids can grasp the concept, yet versitile enough that they can bring their own flair to the premade characters, or create their own custom characters. The system is well thought out and balanced fairly. I like how the hit points are simplifed and are "knocked out" instead of killed (Though I have some kids with huge imaginations that want the deaths to be cartoon bloody. lol).

I bought the completel package with extra heros, bad guys, and adventures. They're all awesome. I absolutely love that every hero and mob comes with a paper mini, too, that can be colored in for personalization. :)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Matthew K. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/22/2017 15:35:37

I have played D&D since Red Book as a teenager. I was looking for a game to get my children into “D&D”. This is it. The mechanics are simple and the kids (age 7(B) and 10(G)) were able to pick them up in 5 minutes and focus on the story. I totally recommend this game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by Curtis B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/24/2017 13:55:21

Absolutely amazing! I figured my seven year old son and myself would have fun, however I did not expect to have as much fun as we did. He is very imaginative in general, and it applied very well to this game. The modules are very easy to use and require very little preparation, so we can play without delay. The rules are simple and fun and leave plenty of room for improvisation if desired.

I cannot recommend this enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Hero Kids - Fantasy RPG
Publisher: Hero Forge Games
by John Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2017 08:19:39

Simple enough rules for a four year old, seemingly heaps of potential for adventure customisation for years to come. First encounter went really well.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 81 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates