Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Local Heroes
    Publisher: Baggage Books
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/02/2019 12:03:07

    I've yet to run this, but this is an unexpected FASERIP release with very local, very street level events and adventures mostly for a GM and a single super, which slowly can expand into team scenarios and a larger meta plot of the GM's devising. The closest thing in the old Marvel game in terms of power level would be the Night Life / Night Moves "Gang Wars Trilogy."

    First the module has a bunch of hero and villan write ups (looks like they were built with a campaign level Decent rather thant the standard World Class) for FASERIP which alone are worth the 4$.

    Next is a gazetter of NYC (Brooklyn mostly) with NPC Organizations, NPC's, allies, aliens, etc. All well written and most importantly, concise.

    Last are a set of adventures, some as simple as helping out a car accident and going more complex from there.

    Layout is fine and functional, art is mostly stock art that we've seen before in other products (same with FASERIP itself).

    Overall, very much worth the price, solid writing and good content. Would love to see more FASERIP stuff by these guys in the future!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Local Heroes
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Faserip
    Publisher: Gurbintroll Games
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/17/2017 11:59:29

    This is a solid and clear collation of the 80's MSH rules. I had MSH as a kid and though we played, I never really 'got it' at all. The chart was odd and I didn't get the Karma system. Granted I was about 10 years old. This version we've played and had fun with and I definitely 'get' the game. I actually really like the big chart!

    I have read other reveiwers that have said it's impossible to make what you want with the random character generation and like any RPG, it's a tool to use to get what you want out of it. If you roll random powers you don't want, (say you want to make a Brick and end up with a different type of powers), work it out with your GM just like you would if you didn't have any random rules. Or just play as the THING (in the above case) and reskin/rename. The Random gen is an option that you do not have to use!

    My only niggles with this version is the use of Terrible, Bad, Average, etc instead of Feeble, Poor, Typical, etc from the original game. This makes MSH modules SLIGHTLY more difficut to convert. I don't like the cover art and wished there was a gallery of heroes/villains in the back using some of the interior art.

    Lastly, it has a bit about using the FASERIP rules to run an Exalted type campaign, which I really appreciate.

    The price is ZERO. This is a labor of love and it's fantastic (40): full bore 5 stars.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Faserip
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Into the Odd
    Publisher: Lost Pages
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/16/2015 22:00:51

    This review is based on a single play as the GM. I bought the PDF, read it and immediately set up a game and ran it, which is probably the fastest purchase to play for an RPG I've ever had. The game rules are simple, but effective. Saves go against a stat, either Str, Dex or Will. Combat is rolling for damage only. This leaves lots of room for adjudication of odd situations on the fly without flipping through a book. Character creation is fast and interesting with only 4 stats and a matrix for equipment based on them. I'd love to see more matrices of stats to equipment as that is brilliant since you skip the horrible and long step where people buy all their crap during most of your first session for the ZZzzzz. We were off and playing within 15 minutes and the game runs at a good clip. I finished an entire adventure with about 6 encounters in just over 2 hours. Definitely a system to check out and try if you are interested in OSR as it's a boiled down D20 at it's core, and frankly, if you want to get into story stuff without all the annoying and confusing system crap in say Dungeon World or FATE, this will do it. Will make a very easy pick up game for nights drunk when you, as the hapless GM, get forced to run something as well!

    Overall it is as if Lamentations of the Flame Princess and Numenera had a child.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Into the Odd
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    RuneQuest Essentials
    Publisher: Design Mechanism
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/23/2015 22:50:50

    I bought the hardback full book and picked this up later for my players to put on their tablets during play (since it's PWYW). There's only one possible rating for RQ6 and that's at the very top. While the huge book is a kitchen sink full of stuff, much of it is the world building and non-essential things to getting in and playing, this has just what you need. In terms of a free product to get you playing, Essentials is an excellent start and you could probably play RQ for years without needing the main book and looking at the bestiary, a lot of the old Glorantha stuff as well.

    System-wise there are lots of things I like, and two things I really like about RQ6. First is the detailed and fast combat which gives players the opportunity to make very interesting choices while still resolving quickly. There's a lot to it, but essentially you roll the dice and see what happens and (except for magic) there's not a ton of stuff on people's sheets to distract them from the story. Note that the combat has been described as 'deadly' but what that means is it can resolve quickly with someone defeated. The way the system works is that not all (or even any) fights need to end in death or dismemberment depending on your style of game. The second thing is that, except for the magic systems, the rest of the game is quite simple to run and adjudicate all sorts of different checks and tasks and all that other stuff. Character creation can take a bit longer than your OSR games or Numenera, but probably on par with 5E or 13th Age in terms of time spent creating characters.

    The two magic systems, Folk Magic and Theism, are ones you will use the most as players. If there was one omission for me here as a GM it would be Sorcery because that's what the bad guys use!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    RuneQuest Essentials
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Deep Carbon Observatory
    Publisher: False Machine Publishing
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/06/2015 23:14:08

    I have the PDF and the physical book of this and it is a fine piece of OSR art. There are some good ideas here, but it is a jumbled mass of artistically written sentences and not an easy to run or even read module. I want something I can grab and use after a quick read and not mess around trying to figure things out. I've noticed the trend in stuff like Carcosa/Quelong and the like to not really describe the core adventure in the beginning and have the GM figure out what's going on from reading the encounters, but this took it too far. Even higher prep stuff like NSFW is fairly easy to understand what's going on and what the core adventure is. This, I'm still not so sure. That said, I think this feels like a good freshman effort that lacked a solid editor to challenge the writer to make their ideas more clear and realize that while this is a piece of art, it's also got to function for the DM to be playable. This leans far too much on the art side for me (as the GM). Lastly, my players are murderhobos through and through. They kill 'monsters' and take gold and valuables from wilderness areas to get XP, they're not going to save anybody in a river unless there is a lot of obvious loot. The system this is written for (LoTFP or B/X) completely encourages this style of play, so the initial hook is a tough one.

    I think the art is good, the cover especially and I would like to see more from this author.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Deep Carbon Observatory
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/19/2015 22:43:35

    This is my go-to B/X system and here's why: 1) the Specialist class is brilliant. You can have 3 in a party and they will all bring very different things to the game 2) The encumbrance system -- best there is. Very simple, and effective. 3) Ascending AC - not a huge deal but really helps play-ability. 4) Each class is very different from each other, for example, the fighter class is the only class that gets bonuses to hit after 1st level



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Rules & Magic Free Version
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Random Esoteric Creature Generator for Classic Fantasy Role-Playing Games and their Modern Simulacra
    Publisher: Goodman Games
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/13/2014 20:32:52

    I love this thing. I use this for LoTFP and 13th Age (combined with an Excel doc to balance encounters) and it rocks. Players just don't know what's going to hit them next. It's a very solid idea generator as well as just busting out the stats and powers for a crazy looking beast. I can just imagine a summer afternoon getting high and making a bunch of monsters with this except I'm a geezer with kids that works at a large national corporation so that's just a fantasy, but I can sneak a couple monsters in from time to time while MLP is on the TV to fill up a notebook.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Random Esoteric Creature Generator for Classic Fantasy Role-Playing Games and their Modern Simulacra
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Tower of the Stargazer
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/27/2014 22:11:03

    I've run this once so far and will run it again. It's very nice for new GM's (which I'm not) because of the elaboration of WHY things are what they are and some deeper explanations of how things work. If this had come out in the late 70's instead of B1, it would have been much easier to assume my eventual role as a perpetual DM.

    The adventure itself is sort of like Dungeon Quest. The deeper you go and more stuff you try to mess with, the higher chance you have of not making it out. There are very difficult choices to be made in the tower, and during our one play, half the characters died based on those choices. In every case, there are clear warnings that something bad could happen in certain areas so no one minded too much. I would say as a starting adventure to get players used to the tone of Lamentations of the Flame Princess, this is better than The God That Crawls while the latter actually has a better chance of character's surviving, it doesn't feel like it since it's once huge trap.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Tower of the Stargazer
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Carolina Death Crawl
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/23/2013 12:08:55

    We played this with 6 (four players, two swamp ghosts) and it was a complete blast. It went into some pretty dark places and the characters paid in full for their crimes against humanity (and themselves) so I would absolutely not recommend this for anyone under 12 or so. The game is not balanced--- if you know the cards you will be able to figure out pretty quick who is going to 'win,' except for the Swamp Ghost factor-- who are the great equalizer in the game in that they can make sure certain player's characters die during each act. Players who end up as swamp ghosts hold grudges and make those players lose, usually in spectacular fashion. What it adds up to is a frantic and extremely engaging mutual story telling experience. If nothing else, a 3 hour session of this will make your players better at all other RPG's in terms of character development and discourse. I cannot wait for more sets of cards along these lines.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Carolina Death Crawl
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Exalted: The Comic Series - Collection
    Publisher: UDON
    by Christopher T. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/12/2013 16:53:14

    This was an early Exalted 2nd edition release and while the comics are good, the stuff in the back of the book is what I used most while playing the game early on (antagonists). My only concern story-wise is that Solars are extremely powerful and a group of 5 of them-- well they could have completely taken over the city they were in in just a couple weeks time! Some of the story arcs have no completion in the comic, however, these character show up in the Splat books and other Exalted material so reading this gives more significance to the one-page comics in the books. This is definitely the B-Team compared to the Dace/Harmonious Jade/Swan group and for that, it's actually more interesting.

    Obviously Kidale wasn't running the 2/7 filter defense...



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Exalted: The Comic Series - Collection
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items