Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Castles & Crusades CK Screens
    Publisher: Troll Lord Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/19/2019 14:03:02

    Updated Review

    Originally, the pdf did not include the cover art, but now it does. It has everything you need to run a great game, and with the beautiful art by Peter Bradley, you can insert it into a customizable screen and get to it. 5 stars.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Castles & Crusades CK Screens
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Flesh & Blood - BBFRPG Accessory
    Publisher: DwD Studios
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/25/2014 09:02:30

    A great companion to the BBF line! If you want to expand your game, this it. Another quality product from DWD Studios.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Flesh & Blood - BBFRPG Accessory
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Legend
    Publisher: Mongoose
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:46:27

    I jumped in on the RQII bandwagon when it first came out and followed Mongoose into the Legend title change. I am not a Glorantha fan, but I was intriqued by the rule set, especially the combat. Now bear in mind, the skills are streamlined, which is welcome, but combat is definitely crunchy and fairly slow moving. There are times where I desire crunchy combat, and the combat manuevers presented here really allow some gritty, tactical choices for those that like such a thing. Combat doesn't go on forever, because it's deadly and over in a couple of combat turns usually. I am not a huge fan of the division of magic here, as it assumes most everyday folks have some access to magic spells, but this is easily overlooked and revised for your own style of play. I recommend this product highly, and you can't go wrong for the price.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Legend
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
    Publisher: DwD Studios
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:35:04

    What can I say that hasn't already been said? It really accomplishes a lot of things at once. It is a great entry point for new gamers, including preteens, and is a blast for old school gamers as well. It recreates the Red Box feel and simplicity while adding more character customization without making it more difficult.

    Character creation is easy for even new players, and the game mechanics are fast and efficient without being too simplistic. It is advertised as a rules light game, but it tends to get very close to the rules medium arena, which is just right for me. I have my teen kids playing this now, and they love it. It's also easy to houserule and create your own game out of it. The whole BBF line is so good, I bought it all! Including the new Covert Ops game line.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    BareBones Fantasy Role Playing Game
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    d30 Sandbox Companion
    Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/25/2014 08:23:49

    I was hesitant at first, thinking this was just another run of the mill gm aid, but the positive reviews convinced me to try it. Wow! Am I glad I did. It really hits the sweet spot for me as an world/adventure building aid without being too exhaustive or too brief. Not only are there all these tables to either pick from (or of course roll randomly), but you get some nice worksheets to build your world. The hex crawl work sheet and settlement work sheets are great to print out by the stack and get to really building your own world. I don't even own a d30! So if you don't have one, don't worry about it. It's inspiring to just read the lists and choose what you want to. Still, I now feel the need to buy me a d30! Excellent product that really feels old school, from the tables, the art, all the way to the choice of fonts. Highly recommended.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    d30 Sandbox Companion
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    DRAGONSHIRE: City Ruins
    Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/05/2011 16:11:54

    Another excellent FDG product.! The ruin has multiple texture choices, allowing the building to be customized in appearance (its model structure does not change), from stone to stucco, optional fire scorch marks, and even movable fire models to place on the roof and about the structure for those cinematic "oh no the village is on fire" scenes! I like the ground tile as well. At first you think it's just one tile, but the layered pdf allows for customization, adding various stone and timbers, moss, and even a trap door in the floor ......

    Great buy.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    DRAGONSHIRE: City Ruins
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Larm
    Publisher: Soapbox Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/05/2011 16:05:34

    Great old school fun! A simple sandbox style starting area with head nods to all the old classics like the Village of Homlet and Keep on the Borderlands. I used Labyrinth Lord to introduce my children to roleplaying games back when LL first came out, and this really helped immerse them into the game.

    It is written in a non-linear away, allowing the characters to simply explore the area and take on whatever challenges they feel they want to tackle. Excellent work.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Larm
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
    Publisher: Troll Lord Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/05/2011 02:46:07

    A very long time in the coming, but worth the wait. This is an exhaustive tome covering an incredible amount of material, from expanding classes, equipment, and dealing with such things as hirelings and so on. The real beauty in this book is that it is just as much a toolbox kit as it is a DMG type of book. It has multiple rule variants, giving alternate options to magic (mana points vs Vancian), wound levels, hit location, multiple critical hit systems, optional skills, optional feat-like abilities, alternate armor rules (ie armor doesn't add to armor class, it soaks damage, etc). You really can design your own game with this book. The optional combat manuevers are a cool tactical option as well.

    So besides the standard gamemaster type of subjects you would expect, you also get a lot of stuff to customize the game to your liking. Castles and Crusades is a rules light game but for folks who want to crunch it up a little (or A LOT) can mix up a batch of homebrew goodness with what is in this puppy.

    A classic!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Castles & Crusades Castle Keepers Guide
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    E-Z DUNGEONS: Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Fat Dragon Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/15/2010 21:42:03

    Awesome fun. The detail is great, construction fun and easy to do, and makes for some visually enticing gameplay.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    E-Z DUNGEONS: Deluxe Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Castles & Crusades The Umbrage Saga
    Publisher: Troll Lord Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/08/2010 21:26:41

    This is a solid old-school campaign, with interconnected adventures and a sandbox adventuring area and mini setting introducing players to the world to Aihrde. It really has incredible depth, tone, and material for months of gaming. An excellent product. I now also own the boxed set.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Castles & Crusades The Umbrage Saga
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
    Publisher: Margaret Weis Productions
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/08/2010 21:20:29

    I liked this system so much after buying the pdf that I bought the book as well. Similar to Savage Worlds in some ways, but I like this system a bit better than SW. I would have given it five stars, but it lacks a basic magic system; it does give you some ideas on how to create one yourself, but it would have been nice to have a basic framework to expand on. For people who think this doesn't scale well for high powered games, they're wrong. There are scaling rules that show you how to do this. Overall, I am actually blown away at how cool this actually plays. For me, it is great rules light replacement for my Gurps 4th edition, and yet just crunchy enough...it hit all the right notes for me.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Cortex Classic System Role Playing Game
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Dungeon Master's Design Kit (1e)
    Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/06/2008 10:27:21

    I lost my original copy and found it here! Man, was I glad. This is a GREAT product for adventure designers and even story writers (which I have used this for with great success).

    There are different parts to this, and my favorite and most used was the Adventure Cookbook, which consists of a detailed breakdown of possible settings, themes,plot hooks, pc goals, and lots more. You can roll randomly or pick and choose. It goes over villain choices, making memorable henchman, possible red herrings for PC's, and the list just keeps going.

    Included are a plethera of design forms and templates to flowchart your story or adventure. Don't listen to the previous reviewer who said the forms are already filled out. There are sample forms filled out to give you an idea of how to use them, and then the blank versions also.

    Warning...if you only like pointless dungeon crawls with very little story, you may not like this product. If you love depth to the campaign, and want it worthy of an epic novel, this may help.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Dungeon Master's Design Kit (1e)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Eldritch Role-Playing System
    Publisher: Goodman Games
    by Eric P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/06/2008 10:15:54

    Okay, let's see if I can lay this out in a fair way.

    I was excited to see Goodman Games come out with their own RPG, since I have been a huge fan of their products for a couple years now. So, when Eldritch came out, I bought it right away.

    The cover art of Peter Bradley got me from the getgo, since I have been a fan of his for some time and love his work in Troll Lord Games (Castles and Crusades,etc). The interior is clean and seems well polished.

    The mechanics: Ah the meat and drink of it. Wellllllll, how do I say this? It is different to say the least. Characters have Die Ranks in skills, starting with, lets say, a 1d4 in general melee, upgrading to a 1d6, then a 1d8, and so on. Interesting mechanic in that you also gain additional die by specializing in a field of study, for example, getting an additional 1d6 in swords, and then a mastery rank of, say, 1d4 in a rapier. Soooo, if using a rapier, you get to roll your 1d4 for melee, 1d6 for swords, and 1d4 for rapier and add them all together for Potential Harm. Your opponent has similar die added up to form a defense pool, which has Hit Points, and you must batter through this abstract barrier to harm your opponent. Different but just as viable as other systems I suppose.

    Overall Impression: Well, I just don't like it much. The author states it is a Rules Transparent system, not rules light, to facilitate the story, but I don't get that part. It is just as complex as other systems but combat ends up being far more abstract than I care for. It could be fun for some, I am sure, but it's definitely not for me. I was actually a little disappointed in my purchase, and for the price, it was not worth it.

    I feel it was professionally done, and may be fun for some people, therefore I won't slam the rating based on my personal bias.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Eldritch Role-Playing System
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items