Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » The Knotty-Works » Player Paraphernalia #1/2 Secondary Skills » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Out of Space and Time: An Eberron Adventure for 4 − 6 Characters Levels 1 − 4
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/04/2019 10:57:22

The adventure is a small dungeon crawl with a hook that literally walks up to you and asks you to come adventure in a dungeon because who knows it could be fun. The adventure is confusing, random, and nonsensical. Why are there fiends here? Why is Leanna here? Why can't Ralayan remove the dagger himself? The one trap the adventure has is very long (nearly a full page of text!) and very confusing. The adventure ends without an ending, and you have to go to the appendix to read a hastily cobbled together social encounter that sort of wraps it up where you walk the NPCs back to towns. I can't recommend anyone run this adventure, nor even bother reading it. The premise is decent, but the execution is just terrible.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Out of Space and Time: An Eberron Adventure for 4 − 6 Characters Levels 1 − 4
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

AE01-07 The Silvered Edge of Twilight by Ed Chivers & Will Brolley
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/23/2019 18:29:35

The Silvered Edge of Twilight is a memorable journey to a city torn by civil strife with a calculating and intelligent villain. The adventure would work great as a sidequest in any Eberron campaign that visits Thaliost, or really any city! It's very modular in that respect.

It starts off with a straightforward crime investigation: the thing you were supposed to get has been stolen! There's multiple paths right off the bat for how you want to investigate the body, and the openness just starts there! A tour guide shows up and the options multiply as the players are tasked with racing across the city to gather clues. Unfortunately a lot of the locations are very underdeveloped, and their tasks at each are extremely limited. I wish these locations, and their objectives, were more fleshed out.

While they're investigating, the tension in the city turns up to 11 and riots break out. I really like how there's possible encounters after every stop. It makes it feel like things are really happening in the city. For my group though, we sadly rolled the same encounter twice! That's no fun, so I didn't run it again. I think it would have been better if there were just a set of encounters that automatically trigger after the first stop, second stop, etc. Before the party can finish their fact-finding, they're ambushed down an alleyway. It's a great encounter that locks the party in with intelligent enemies. The only problem is their tour guide has no stats listed! I wasn't really sure what to do with him.

After reporting back their results, the party is sent to retrieve the stolen item that's on its way to its evil destination aboard the lightning rail. But just before they can board, a huge mob is rioting near the platform! It's a great scene to visualize, but the stats given for the mob are a swarm of people and it just doesn't work. The fight for me was terrible and one of the worst combats I've run. When you run it, just swap out the Swarm for a handful of individual rioters with molotovs. Then you get the great visuals of the riot without the bad mechanics.

After sleeping on the train, the party rises early to get breakfast in the dining car. There's some other early risers they can question to see if one of them is the villain. Each of them are interesting, fleshed out characters, but the adventure lacks any real benefit to talk to them. I think there is a typo in the scene too because after the party talks to a few people, lunch is served. So have they been in the car all day, or did it mean to say breakfast is served?

While they're chatting up the other passengers, some of the baddies are on the lookout. The scenario has you roll every time the party talks to someone which I think is a great mechanic for seeing if the enemy gets wise to them! After they poke their noses in enough people's businesses, there's a cutscene where the villain and her accomplices escape to the roof. I hate cutscenes.

After dispatching the minions, the party arrives in Delethorn where there's a handful of locations, but no reason to visit any. Perhaps that's for the best because the locations are even less fleshed out than those in Thaliost. Still it would be easy enough to have Brunstan Fisher tell the party they have to get the map from the local druidic shrine which would give them a reason to explore at least one place.

Once they're on their way out of town they have two different routes they can take, but there's no benefit or harm in their choice – just two different encounters they could have. But they're awesome encounters! Great choice of enemy, and daunting terrain features the party has to deal with. I liked the encounters so much I ran them both! It's a lot of combat back to back though, so read your table before repeating what I did!

After a night's rest it's on to the final boss, and what a final boss! The encounter is awesome and memorable with lots of great twists and unique additions to the combat that is exactly everything I want from a great fight in the world of Eberron! Even if you include nothing else in your campaign from this adventure, you'll use this fight! One tweak I'd make is give her one of her minions at the beginning of round 1. She needs a minion ASAP and if the party is too quick on the draw she might be in big trouble otherwise.

The adventure has its ups and downs, but a lot more up than down. The locations in the cities aren't fleshed out and the rioting mob fight is a mess. But the other encounters are top-notch and the adventure has a lot of creative and unique mechanics to keep the players on their toes. Not to mention the unforgettable final fight! I'd recommend the adventure as part of the campaign or as a sidequest in any Eberron campaign. It's very modular and a lot of fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
AE01-07 The Silvered Edge of Twilight by Ed Chivers & Will Brolley
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The weird case of Zephyr Godefroy
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/19/2019 11:43:32

This is the shortest adventure I've ever read. It barely counts as an adventure and it certainly wouldn't fill a single session as it advertises – it's far too short for even that. There's only a single location to explore, and none of the named characters outside the titular Zephyr Godefroy are outlined at all. It only references them and you must fill in the blanks. That actually describes this adventure best: you must fill in the blanks. Because only the one location is detailed, if you want the players to receive the quest you have to write it yourself. If you want any scenes in the adventure, you must write them. If you want any of the secrets of the adventure ever explained to the players, you'll have to figure out how to get that info to them because the adventure itself doesn't explain anything to them. The adventure builds deep secrets and sets up a larger villain and campaign which leaves this scenario on a bit of a cliffhanger because it doesn't deal with any of the big secrets it weaves.

All this is a real shame because the location is pretty good and so is the story behind it. The location is well crafted and laid out with unique encounters. The story fits the theme of Eberron too, though the adventure itself is a more classic D&D dungeon crawl. I will probably run the adventuring location, but I really wish the adventure were more fleshed out.

UPDATE: I have run the adventure for a party of 5. I was satisfied overall, but lacking any real puzzles to solve or alternate routes it's a slight disappointment as far as dungeon crawls go. The real issue I had however was the difficulty. You must - and I can't stress this enough - must rebalance the encounters with your party in mind. The first encounter was nearly a TPK for my group because it uses a creature that is immune (100% immune) to nonmagical damage! By the 5e calculations it's a fair fight because it's only CR1, but in practice it's a TPK if you haven't rebalanced it beforehand because a low level party has too few means of damaging it. After some recovery, the rest of the adventure was easy enough to run through and provided an intriguing murder mystery without requiring the players to get bogged down in the mystery aspect and focus more on the murder part. I'm keeping my initial rating of 3 out of 5 stars.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
The weird case of Zephyr Godefroy
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Dear friend, thanks for your review! Anyway, something does not add well. For example, any named NPC is clearly described in 4E or 5E Eberron campaign guide, consequently there is no need to write again their description in the adventure. The same is true for the 'larger villain': its description and the details related to its plans occupy three pages in 4E Eberron campaign guide, no need to replicate them here (the link to the 4E book is provided though). The same is true for adventure hooks also, two or three are contained here. No much blanks are to be filled if the DM has access to the basic Eberron campaign guides, especially if she skimmed through them. If your review is instead addressed to a 'generic' DM running a non-Eberron campaign, so yes, some blanks have to be filled. But the product is clearly labelled 'Eberron'n so... :) Anyway, thanks again for your time!
Hi David, thanks for your real playing feedback! I'm sorry about the first encounter problem, most probably it is due to some errors in WotC playtesting and challenge rating assignment of that single monster, as you point out I just applied the standard rules to create the encounters… anyway, next time your PCs will know to have some adamantine weapons with them ;) (the monster is not 100% immune to mundane damage after all!)
AE01-01 Fired & Forgotten by Imogen Gingell
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/13/2019 13:20:18

Fired & Forgotten makes a great splash as the first scenario for the Across Eberron campaign, and the first in the Convergence Manifesto adventure path. It includes multiple role-playing first scenes, combat encounters, and unforgettable scenes like Sharn Chicken! All the combats have unique twists of environments, motives, and objectives that spice them up more than just fight 1d4 goblins. Most scenes also have multiple paths to take, and multiple ways of dealing with obstacles. This makes it feels very player-oriented as the party gets to decide how they want to accomplish each goal.

I appreciate the inclusion of bonus scenes which add fun additions to the adventure and could easily be swapped out into other adventures if you were short on time. I especially liked how the adventure links in with the Eberron lore. It has a solid conclusion while still linking together to the next scenarios in the AP.

Spoilers Here. The links to the lore help to build out the world. The scenario introduces the other planes, The Cogs, Warforged rights, Abberant Dragonmarks, the Houses, and the Adventurers Guilds! That's a lot of different topics to include, but they're just light enough as a taste that can be expanded more in a campaign or future scenarios. I had only two issues with the scenario. The first is in Scene 5A the party returns to Drummond Independents to witness an Ettin shaking down the proprieter, but there's no reason for the party to be there instead of just taking the artifact to the buyer, and there's no reason to interact with the conflict because they don't care for either side. The other issue I had was there's a couple info dumps without enough player interactions, like when the party descends to The Cogs, or when the party seeks information from the Ettin. These could be tuned better by splicing in something between the long blocks of reading.

I would strongly recommend the game to any GM running an adventure in Eberron. It could be easily adapted to higher level play, and it works great as a standalone adventure. This adventure fits nicely in a four-hour slot and is a great introduction to Eberron and Sharn.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AE01-01 Fired & Forgotten by Imogen Gingell
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 2.Frozen Tears
Publisher: Mana Project Studio
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/05/2019 03:44:18

The second installment in The Rune Thief adventure path. The new seer has arrived in Uppsala, and the party is tasked with tracking down ingredients for him. There is a bit of scenic and thematic exploration, and some fun and interesting combats encounters. There are a couple issues like the map being nonsensical (you travel from point 2 and skip by point 6 to get to 3, then go past 6 again to get to 4, then go past 6 and 7 to get to 5, then double back to hit 6? It makes no sense!) It's nice that there's a time crunch, but the time spent seems to assume you skip some of the encounters on the map which, afaik, are not skippable, so it's rather confused. The other minor gripe is that the intro text is too long and uninteruppted. I never like reading such a long narration to the party without giving them some bits to interact with.

Spoilers here. I liked the thematic bits for the party to interact with: the dead ravens, the forest mist, and the mysterious body. The Shivering Fisherman had nothing to do, and why he offers the tent to the party when they're on a time crunch is beyond me. The dangerous ice is a fun environmental addition to the combat. My players never investigated the ship though, given there's no obvious reason to do so, and so we skipped one of the combat encounters. The adventure should have had a reason for them to investigate it. One other issue I found was that if the players don't want to tread out on the ice to investigate the obviously dangerous skeleton, there's no way forward.

This adventure was the best Journey to Ragnarok one yet, better than the campaign book, The Grey Wanderer, or the first Rune Thief scenario. It's fun for a JTR campaign or could be easily adapted for any campaign that's in a cold climate.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 2.Frozen Tears
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Magewright, Marked, Cabal, Claw
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2019 22:25:14

I bought this thinking it would help me run intrigue and espionage adventures in Eberron. Unfortunately it is completely useless. It contains very brief overviews of how members of the houses and some of the secretive factions might be useful in espionage operations. There are no hooks here, no adventure seeds, not even a list of house/faction goals which you could expand and use to run an adventure. And most importantly there's no explanation of how to run espionage adventures. I would not recommend reading this product even if it were free. You are far better off reading Chapter 4 of WGtE or reading the wiki. Both would be a far better use of your time.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Magewright, Marked, Cabal, Claw
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 1.Blood Stained Snow
Publisher: Mana Project Studio
by David A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2019 19:23:54

I bought this expecting a standard four hour adventure and was first surprised by the lack of content which really only covers 2 hours at best. The adventure is thematic and has interesting twists particularly the Futhark circles you find. There are a few logical and mechanical issues with the adventure though, and while some can be remedied, some can't.

Spoilers in this paragraph. The issues I had were that the scene of death you come upon has no clear link to the task the party was sent on. There should have been some evidence linking it to the guy you're looking for. The defensive Futhark around the cave was too easy to overcome. There should have been some other way to deactivate them, and a clear indiciation that they were deactivated. My players deactivated it but had no way of knowing. At the end of the adventure, the players have to decide whether to traverse a storm or wait it out. But there's not a huge time push on them. The quest giver needed to make the time crunch an issue, or Thorghest make the case, because there's little reason not to stay without knowing there'll be consequences. And the biggest issue, one which has no fix, is that the whole final leg of the adventure is optional and inconsequential. My players' decisions skipped the entire part. Content should be designed in such a way to be encountered, not avoided. But even if they do encounter it, and even if they fail tons of saves and get bad rolls, they still arrive back at Uppsala and can recover everything because the adventure ends there! This type of consequence has to be done before a fight, not at the end of an adventure! Huge misstep from the writers on this one.

Overall it has a few cool aspects, extremely simple investigation and trail following, and it's good setup for the next adventure, but it suffers from a few issues and is too short to fill a session. My players wanted to play in Journey to Ragnarok, and this adventure is a lot better than the relatively bare sandbox offered in the Adventure and Setting book. Even considering all the issues I'd probably buy and run it again, but I'd have to make some changes to a couple spots and work hard on adding extra stuff to it to fill a session.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Journey To Ragnarok - The Rune Thief: 1.Blood Stained Snow
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David _. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/02/2018 21:19:50

Great improvements to the rules for season 8. It's really cut down on a lot of the cheesy stuff players could do, and it's made logging, leveling, and figuring rewards a lot easier. Not to mention it encourages things in AL besides killing everything in sight.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
D&D Adventurers League Player & DM Pack
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Party Tracker
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David _. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2018 20:18:43

By far the best party tracker I've found. It lets you quickly see player AC, spell save DC, passive perception, and what skills they have trained. Much better than asking players every turn for details. I also like using it to give information to specific players whose characters are trained in certain skills. I highly recommend this tracker to all GMs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Party Tracker
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Wolves of Welton - a Single-Session Adventure
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by David . [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/12/2017 04:58:03

A decent hook and a good twist, but the whole adventure is poorly planned and laid out, and it suffers from a slow climax and denouement. I would not recommend this adventure.

My biggest complaint is the poor planning which makes it difficult to run the adventure. Right from the first encounter you have problems. The party comes up against two shepherd Commoners, 4 sheepdogs, and a flock of sheep. What are the sheepdogs doing during the fight? How would I even stat them? How many sheep? None of this is answered. The combat tactics say the wolves "will keep the shepherds distracted while the rest pick off sheep and reatreat". How many turns does it take to pick off a sheep? Do the wolves need to kill more than one sheep, or just kill one and then every wolf grabs a snack and books it? What's worse, the PCs are 150 ft away when the encounter starts. I had to make a separate map just for the approach because of the huge distance, and by the time the PCs arrive the wolves are nearly done. This encounter was very difficult to run as a new GM.

The finale is the most confusingly written because we can't even answer the question of how many wolves there are. Page 6 says there are 6 wolves, some armored. Page 8 says two wolves are guarding the cubs. Page 8 also says when the F&B emerge they bring with them 4 more armored wolves and all wolves will move to attack. By my count we are now at between 6 and 12 wolves (at least 4 armored) + F&B. This is an extremely deadly encounter for 2nd-3rd level characters and you're going to have to pull a lot of punches if you want your players to survive even a single round. Bite + Pack Tactics means the wolves are going to have Advantage the entire fight. So how many wolves are in the den and how many are without? It's a simple question with no single answer, and there's no explanation on how to adjust the encounter depending on your party's size and strength. And with a movement speed of 50 ft from F&B, there's no running from the fight even with Dash.

Finally the denouement includes a long and boring wrap-up. My party just grabbed the BBEG's carcass and returned to the town as heroes. I think this worked a lot better than the slow boil of intense village council negotiations. And when all is said and done, the mystery is never truly revealed to the players. They never find what happened to the wizard. How anti-climactic. I added a scene where B takes the party to the site of the transformation and the party can see the arcane explosion as well as bits of the wizard, which helped to actually tie things together and answer their questions.

Overall I would not recommend this adventure.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
The Wolves of Welton - a Single-Session Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Player Paraphernalia #1/2 Secondary Skills
Publisher: The Knotty-Works
by David _. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/27/2017 13:10:47

The PDF only contains a single alternate rule which is really quite minor and basically is just bartering the GM for ranks in certain skills. Not worth reading.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
Player Paraphernalia #1/2 Secondary Skills
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your brief review. This was an initial promotional issue that was produced in 2014. There are other promotional issues that have more content, including archetypes and additional class skills that may be of more interest.
Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG