Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Paratime Design » Mega-Dungeon 02 » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
The City of Greyhawk
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/06/2018 15:15:39
My review of my new Advanced Dungeons & Dragons 2nd edition Greyhawk Adventures boxed set in softcover printed edition.

I just opened my mail to find this product was not treated very nicely during packing. The back cover, top, at spine was turned out alone with seven pages. This 'ding' to the book could have happened after packing as the box is beaten up. Darn you USPS.

Ok on to the product...

Since I am at the back cover now my second thought is why is the back cover yellow around blue? Why is this not all blue like the front cover and every book cover inside of it?

The product measures in at 8.5" x 11" x 3/4" and weighs in at 2+ pounds of Greyhawk goodness.

The color is sharp, the maps are crisp images, I see no pixilation in my images. The print quality is clean, sharp without shading. Honestly this looks as if it was originally intended to print in this format. If this was done from a scanned copy it does not show it to my eye. The poster maps are printed in full color as single page images. I don't mean to say the 2'x3' poster is on one page but it printed on 8 pages for each poster map.

IDEA/SUGGESTION: allow an option of saddle stapled map book as a separate buy. This way you could do your maps in four 11"x17" images where we could remove the staples and have our maps again. Ideally they would be printed so that the same poster map does not appear on the back or even have blank backs. Also please include the B&W hexed maps too. The only thing this product needs is a hard cover version. If you add this I'll buy one. Ok two.

Pros: clean printing, excellent image quality, and the new world smell...

Cons: no hard cover, no map booklet, no tabs/coloration to tell where each book starts.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The City of Greyhawk
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mega-Dungeon 02
Publisher: Paratime Design
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/17/2016 20:24:52

Quick review here. Of all the map type products I've ever bought (read that as LOTS) this is the first one where layers have been used to near perfect effect. In the option of not showing $ doors It would be best if the hidden room/passage was also removed when there are not $ showing. Otherwise that makes a near perfect PC map.

I really really enjoy these productions.

CONS: error in page number hinders printing $ door hiding does not hide secret rooms

PROS: Excellent layering allows a "white" version to save printer ink. well balanced mapping theme allows for multiple types of dungeons.

This is a requirement to add to your dungeon building toolbox.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Mega-Dungeon 02
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds)
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Rachael S.
Date Added: 12/26/2015 13:37:31

I just picked up all your cover/page backgrounds. I like them and give them 4/5 stars. The only reason I did not give 5/5 was that each pack is missing one page type. There are lefts, rights, and dual pages but there are none that are 4 border pages or a top/bottom border pages. Basically If you want to use these with MS Word you have issues. MS word (that I know of) will not allow me to alternate backgrounds so I want one background that I can use for the whole production.

art quality-wise these are all 5/5 items well worth the money.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Publisher's Choice - Fantasy Design ( Interior Backgrounds)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Hey there friend! You are right regarding Microsoft Word not having a \"master page\" option so that you can use the alternating background. You may want to consider investing in Microsoft Publisher (if you need to use the Microsoft Suite) which allows master pages. Or if you have access to InDesign then you should be good to go. We are glad that you like the art! Rick works his butt off to make these things that WE want to use and make them usable to just about everyone. Hope they work out for you! Best of luck in all that you do! Troy Daniels Fat Goblin Games Project Manager
PX1 Basic Psionics Handbook
Publisher: New Big Dragon Games Unlimited
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 12:41:47

I really enjoyed reading this book. I like the Chakra system. To use this with 1st edition games would be very easy. I plan to use the wild talent portion of this rules system for the old system. I do like the character classes as listed for rare monk/mystic type NPCs. I don't see having a PC with that kind of skills. The only change I plan on making for my 1st ed is to use the 1st ed rules for att/def modes and psionic strength points and this wild talent system for what Chakra you have access to and what abilities you get.

The list of powers/abilities is quite well thought out and tied quite nicely to each Chakra. The only suggestion I would make is to have a few crossover devotions as there is more than one way to get to the same effect.

I also like to couple of rules;

1) Psionic are twice as strong as Magic.

2) Psionic defenses will all ties

EX: use of magic telepathy by spell or device can be stoped by psionic telepathy of half level. Spell like ESP level 2 can be blocked by psionic level 1 telepathy or even mindblank defense.

All in all I highly recommend this for any DM who has psionics in his/her campaign.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
PX1 Basic Psionics Handbook
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Castle Gargantua
Publisher: Kabuki Kaiser
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2015 11:06:41

This product produced a strong emotion in me.

I expected a dungeon, a MEGA dungeon.

What I got was 114 pages of half book sized print. 12 pages of full page color artwork of good quality but not of a subject/style of my likening 7 pages of forms 20 or so pages of random charts 7 pages of maps showing 39 encounter areas plus one full page color "map" of how the 'areas' (not mapped) connect together..... it says "Each square represents 4, 6, or 8 rooms and a few corridors."

I would suggest a normal book sized production (about 50-ish pages) Ideally make several versions, letter, halfbook, A4, & A5 formats. Honestly I think all RPGNow pdfs should come in all four of these sizes as just an industry standard to allow for printing worldwide in home and travel formats.

All in all IF the description had said "Assembly Required" I still May have purchased this. As a kit to build a dungeon this is good but as it was marketed as "a MEGA DUNGEON" this utterly FAILS to live up to that.

I don't mean to speak bad of this product my anger is in the utter failure to write-up this product for what it really is. I feel lied to.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Castle Gargantua
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Shadowed Keep on the Borderlands
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/24/2015 08:49:43

If you are wondering if this module is worth the price the answer is yes. HOWEVER i strongly suggest getting the printed version as the minute I got the PDF I wanted the feel of the hardcopy.

Pros: Well organized, logically sectioned off into playable parts. XP listed with encounters. Home printing (except 1st page) are nice and clean and ink saving.

Cons: I felt that the body count of NPCs was a little light. (A bandit band of 7?), No master list of each faction's headcounts/stat blocks. Not outlaying buildings a keep would have (unattached kitchen, forge, stables, kennels, aviary, and food storage silo)

Requested improvements:

1) I felt that there should have been more bandits, perhaps on hunting patrols, bandit-ing patrols, and Keep exploration patrols I total of 20-30 in a master list would be good.

2) A master list for each faction

3) I would like to see repair costs & times for the keep and for repairable content. (a mend spell works WONDERS! as does prestidigitation).

4) I would LOVE a player's map with graph squares of the building's outline like what was done with Tegal Manor by Judges Guild years ago.

5) A "if the keep was finished" map that can be given to the Players once it is fixed up. I would buy that as a 11x17 map printed through here!!

So basically my review is this. Yes this is worth the $ but it does open me up to wanting MORE from this publisher.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadowed Keep on the Borderlands
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks so very much for this review, Rachael. It\'s much appreciated. I love the idea of a roster/master list for each set of foes. It\'s definitely something I\'ll consider adding to future adventures.
White Plume Mountain Dungeon Tiles!
Publisher: Red Pub Games
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2014 16:27:20

This the second classic adventure battle map pack that this publisher has put up here. I am waiting for EVERY classic adventure to be done this way. Do you have a subscription to these? I'm in!!!

Seriously these are invaluable items. They are sized so that a what your light sees is about the size of the tiles he/she has made. There is enough room details to not 'give away' the contents but enough to place the scene nicely.

I like the fold up doors, they areal are nice to be printed all at once. Though I might suggest 'wings' on the door fold ups to help them stay UP. ;)

My group is just going into this adventure and like Santa Granting my wish BAMP here is the battle maps I need!!!

Thank you!!!! (SO much I bought it twice just to show my support!)



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
White Plume Mountain Dungeon Tiles!
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

iCharacter Sheet d20 for Windows
Publisher: Digital Adventures
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/23/2013 12:45:50

Worth the price for sure. However It has lost my PCs three times now. This program is nice for keeping your pc handy. If it allowed 'saveing' your pc in locations of your choice that would help greatly. I could then save my PC in my cloud drive and use it anywhere i go... hint hint. :)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
iCharacter Sheet d20 for Windows
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mage Guild: Wizardly Resources for OSRIC
Publisher: Harbinger Games
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2013 22:06:34

This product is an ok production. Nothing about it jumped out at me screaming use me.

FYI this product contains:

12 spells 5 magic items 2 new monsters 8 NPC guild members 2 paragraphs of fitting into your game 5 ideas for hooks and or adventures (each is like 4 sentences) 0 Maps (but it tells you to buy the 'enhanced' edition for maps)



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Mage Guild: Wizardly Resources for OSRIC
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Half Sized Adventures
Publisher: Rarr! I'm A Monster Publishing
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2013 16:37:27

This is a pick-a-path adventure book. I have to say I am disappointed as this is not what I expected. This is not to say that the product is not good its just not what I expected it to be is all..

Pros: 5 adventures, nicely written, short with a dozen or so events each. Good for in the glovebox for those boring waiting times.

Cons: I would have prefered this to be in a dual column format, Also it would be nice if it took more then 10 minutes to read it all.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Half Sized Adventures
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

AOTA-TTF - Wizard Kanji
Publisher: V Shane
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/04/2013 16:33:40

I really can't say enough about this font. I Use this font to make player handout scrolls of wizard spells. All I do is write out the spell in the PHB format and when I'm done I highlight it all and change ti to Wizard Kanji. This is all the handout the party gets. The player, who is playing the wizard can now read this font just as if it were in english! it makes other such magical notes so cool when only ONE player knows what it says.. it makes for all kinds of game fun.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
AOTA-TTF - Wizard Kanji
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord
Publisher: Sacrosanct Games
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/04/2013 14:42:12

First off I rated this a four for potental more then achievement.

This adventure can use a few corrections (this is A3 NOT A4 see page 4). Another correction is the lack of 'battle damage' that is listed as showing on the handouts. I would suggest that someone inhouse re-read this for logic errors. The handouts should each be a FULL PAGE image, as these quarter page ones look like crap when printed to full page size for real use. My god people this is a PDF who the hell cares if it costs more pages?!. Another note, we print these at home can you please use layers to turn off the ink sucking background parts of the maps?! PLEASE Also when putting together monster stats if you would put in THAC0, S, I, W, D, C, Ch, PPD, PP, RSW, BW, Sp, Bk pg data or BLANK LINES lines for us to fill in would make combat SOOO much smoother.

This adventure is a one lane railroad very simular to the original A3 module back from TSR, it was not a good thing then it is not a good thing now. This needs a work-around. Think about a party of stealty persons comeing at this with the cloak of invisibility you provided to the group in earler adventures. For that matter plan for all the magic you gave the party to be used in each next adventure in your series. NPCs get caputred and questioned. My party went through over 60% of this adventure without killing everything in combat and still managed to gain the information form several orcs and ogres that were caputred. If you place an subsection in each encounter of "information obtainable from NPC XYZ" it would make this much easer to use.

All in all this product is a good core bundle but requires a commitment to corrections/ alterations to fit it into a campaign, unless your group is closer to a group of starting players.

If the publisher were to fix their logic errors, update the handouts, expand the monster statblocks and republish this I would even buy it again.

?Rachael ?Strange

page 4 Correct A4 to A3 Page 5-8 the "Untamed Lands" these need to ALSO be in a player handout version of what the characters know about the areas Page 6 the outpost maps need to be setup on a single page for each outpost with area descriptions. Use a full page allowing for 3-ring binder use Page 8 the handout for Rall's Note is not easy to read once printed out. Page 9 a sword that is +0/+2? what the heck is this? i have never seen any magic item ever that is magical and only provides damage bonus? can you please explain this to me? seriously please. Page 10 why are encounter chances 50% per hex that seems like way way above 'normal' for encounters. Page 10-11 50 elite orcs, 6 shamans C5, subboss vs party when the army on Page 23 is 50 orcs L1, 30 archers L1, 6 elite orcs, 1 Ogre are sent to take out a town!?! Elves, rangers and local wildlife don't notice this? Ask any hunter what 57 men in the woods does to the local wildlife. There would be NO random encouters at all and PCs have a good chance of noticeing the 'army' in the woods. Seriously, ever go to a convention and smell the dealer hall? 50+ orcs would SMELL BAD! Page 11 having escaped the trap and taking the orc prisoner (into one of the bags of holding you have given the party) and tucking his body into the bag with his gaged head hanging out the party escaped with the cloak of elvenkind (3 bags = 2 loud PCs + orc) on the elf and the thief sneeking the party is away and alive and unrailroaded. Page 12 Having gotten the location of the 'state prison' (really? and the inquisitor does not know about this?) the party goes after it and while scouting it trips a larger pit + shute trap and lands in area 1 with some broken equipment.

At this point I'm going to hold off anymore comments as you can see some of what i'm talking about. Seriously this is a good product, even if a little short sighted.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
A3 Hunt for the Ogre Lord
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Kingdoms of Legend: Knights of France
Publisher: Interaction Point Games
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2011 18:00:33

Product review: I have only 1 real complaint with this whole series of Kingdoms of Legend and that is the lack of printer friendly options. If you use a layer approach to the background color cover that we can turn off that would move this to a solid 5 rating.

Content review: I like the content of this product well. I would like there to be formatting options for 3 hole punching such that i could have one page to one topic/area/country so that I can easly keep all my data relevant to my current game together. The inside front cover is a really good map of the area i'm running in. I would like to see layers used on this level of map with roads, villages, and other such items. Adventure locations would be good also. (abandoned towns/towers, ruins, graveyards, dungeons, mines, etc).. This gives me a really good feel for a long running campain world as long as this publisher focuses on the DM customizing/maintaining our games with their support.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kingdoms of Legend: Knights of France
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OUBLIETTE Issue 4
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/07/2011 17:55:13

I like the OUBLIETTE as a whole. Some of the humor is a little cutting edge. I really like the monster section. All in all its not old school Dragon magazine but if he were to open up a gamer's public board section I think he could find himself a real strong following. I would like to see gamer's classified page or two as well as the two pages Dragon used to have of gamer ads. But that is just my opinion.

If you like old school gaming then I suggest you get this series.. and help to keep making more.

Rachael Strange 4 out of 5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OUBLIETTE Issue 4
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

OUBLIETTE Issue 3
Publisher: Gold Piece Publications
by Rachael S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2010 21:10:39

Normally I really like this eZine. However in this issue there is a comic strip Mouse Watch. This comic is grossly ADULT in nature, and highly NON-Traditional in nature. While I personally have no issues with this I do have an issue with it in my D&D magazine without any ADULT content warning on the before you buy and restrict to adults only. I have a 16 year old young lady who also reads my eZines. Had she seen this before I did I would be most upset and seeking legal advise.

Aside from the one full page comic the rest of the issue is quite worth the purchase. It does a nice write up on D&D barbarians with an adventure as well.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
OUBLIETTE Issue 3
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
You're quite correct to point out that there should be a content warning which has now been added to the product page. Sorry we missed it and we'll make sure it appears for future issues as required.
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG