Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e) » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e) $3.99 $2.99
Average Rating:4.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
4 6
3 8
1 3
1 1
0 1
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Click to view
You must be logged in to rate this
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by lowell s. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/16/2019 14:24:19

One of 2 seaon 4 molules can be run without much worry about being stuck in Baravia. One of many modules with Jenny Greenteeth.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by William F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/07/2018 03:31:41

There is definitely an evil fey theme to this adventure. The Ettercap stuff was creepy and fun. The Redcap Ogres were amusing. Stories with Jeny Greenteeth are always entertaining. Role playing Jeny is a blast. The final fight with the Strahd Zombies was ok. Of course, the best part of this from the players perspective is the huge amount of experience awarded.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard V. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/12/2018 01:30:06

I really enjoy using this adventure as a way to quickly level up players who will be staying in barovia for the remainder of the campaign. However if you choose to stay then it will cost a bunch of Downtime in order to get back out, if you haven't died at that point. However I really feel like the story didn't make much sense, from the elves, to jenny, to a ghost that she has been battling for a while now. It doesn't sem like they really thought it through so much. But it was quiet fun and all of the players enjoyed nice sweet jenny greenteeth, that is before she turned into her hag form... 4/5



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/25/2017 01:47:03

This adventure is interesting as it can help you (and more importantly your players) tie up a few loose ends if they follow the story. In the first part of the adventure, you can easily skip the ogres if you have a large party or the webs encounter takes longer than expected. Due to Jeny Greenteeth's role in spellcasting services, it was obvious that my players wouldn't attacker since they party was tasked to look for her despite any indications of her torturing/killing people. The last encounter is more interesting if you proceed with the ritual. If any of the previous antagonist escaped, this is a chance to bring them back as zombies for an epic fight in place of the written zombies (for me it was Lela and Glovia). Doing this didn't impact the overall goal and allowed those who went through the previous Season 4 adventures with you to feel some sense of closure. Due to the Barexit rules (which came out after this adventure), there is no reason for any character to use the story reward to leave. Overall, it is a good adventure that can be trimmed, shows some world building, and interacts with two main characters from the storyline. I'll definitely be running this again.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Richard W. I. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/11/2017 10:57:29

Fun combat encounters and roleplay, but the story is somewhat disjointed. Go help the elves, and then go help Jeny Greenteeth. There is a lack of a connector there.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Mike O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/10/2017 21:13:07

Yay, an exit! I suspect that'll be most players' reasons for wanting to play this adventure. It's solid, but not a standout for me.

Pros: An exit! Sorry to keep harping on this, but it's true. Jeny Greenteeth is creepy and fun to play. The final fight can -- and should -- be won with clever play rather than brute force. Mishandling the encounter with the elves early in the adventure can come back to bite the players later (as it should).

Cons: If you aren't also running/playing through the Curse of Strahd hardcover, some of this is going to fly right over your head. (It did for me.) Four encounters in a row, including the elves, feels like wheel-spinning on the way to Jeny Greenteeth. Two of them could/should be cut, IMO. Now that just about anyone with 25 downtime days can find their way out of Barovia, there's little reason not to go with the Insight ending, nab the bonus XP, then just leave on your own time.

My Experiences: S'been a while (Staind) since I ran this, but the standouts for me are Jeny Greenteeth and the encounter with the titular ghost at the end. My players, thankfully, had the presence of mind to try to solve Talaric's soul to rest rather than fight the guy, which would surely have resulted in a near-TPK. But like I said above, that's a pro -- it's clear that you're supposed to be smart about it and avoid a fight altogether.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Thomas B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/30/2017 19:44:15

PDF is damaged. Images are sliced into ribbons and can't be extracted to print correctly.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Michael G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/29/2017 19:02:27

Highly recommend this module. Players who have a decent paranoia from previous Barovia adventures find themselves having a couple different moments of hesitation to trust. Only downside is there seems to be a lack of reasoning for why the adventuring party seeks out a certain NPC, at least if there is a reason I easily looked it over.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Joshua N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2017 15:50:32

Recommend Purchase: Yes. XP Range: 1,275-1,700 *(+3,000 Mid-Season Award)

The overall story woven between all fourteen modules is called 'Misty Fortunes and Absent Hearts' and is relatively strong overall, but suffers for a couple reasons. The final module probably wasn't written at the time the first was released, so they couldn't or didn't want to spill some of the meta information that DMs would have LOVED to have. In the early modules things would occur 'deus ex machina' and even the DM wouldn't have a clue as to why.

If you're planning on running these, i HIGHLY recommend buying the bundle, reading the DDAL04-14 (The Dark Lord) Adventure Overview on pages 7-8 to see where everthing is heading ... and then reading each module's Overview in turn before running everything. This will help you greatly.

If you start with the first module you'll have enough XP to level up, stay within the module tiers and make it all the way to the 14th module. Afterwards you could always play a few chapters of the Curse of Strahd Harcover and then leave Barovia behind.

Before running any Season 4 module, you should download the following content:

  • dndadventurersleague.org/barexit-escaping-the-mists-of-barovia/
  • dndadventurersleague.org/curse-of-strahd-backgrounds/
  • DMSGUILD: DDAL04 Expanded Dark Gifts Table [OPTIONAL CONTENT]

Season 4 initially couldn't leave the Demiplane of Dread until the very end, but the Admins later introduced the 'Barexit' mechanic.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:34:22

Among the ups and downs of Season 4, this falls in the mid... The earlier part of the adventure felt like a strange attempt to make the module 4 hours so it could give out more experience for characters to reach level 5 in Adventurers League.

Otherwise, the adventure is fun and interesting in the later half.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by david w. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/09/2017 13:37:05

I felt this was a solid adventure for the more combat oriented players. It took my table of 5 right at 4 hours to do. The first combat was a bit easy for them, but the second one really got them scared. I liked that it was a good exercise in resouce management for the players.

When I run this again for those who missed it I'll probably try to add a bit more flavor to the Jeny Greenteeth interaction. I felt that came off a bit weak.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2017 10:24:43

This is a four-hour adventure that really could have been a two-hour adventure, given that many of the early encounters are not really thematically related to the key encounter (with Jeny Greenteeth in part 2) and quest (putting the titular Ghost to rest in part 3).

With that said, it's a solid adventure for those who prefer a good amount of 'fighty-fighty' in their AL experience, while still providing opportunities for those who prefer to put 'role' rather than 'roll' in front of their '-play'. There are a few flaws (the adventure suggests if the PCs don't succeed at Jeny's quest, there will be repercussions, but none ever arise, for example), but they don't detract enough to negatively impact the experience.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ri G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/09/2017 18:22:14

I am any use of fey creatures in stories, but the use of Jeny Greenteeth is very well done. I liked the use of rhymes in the story and games that these creatures play. Overall a nice capstone to the tier 1 portion of the season.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timophey L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2017 01:57:33

Although I am not a big fan of horror stories, I decided to run this game at a convention. I personally like Jenny Greenteeth because it reminds me of Rona Greenteeth - an NPC Forsaken from World of Warcraft MMORPG that sells meat of all sentient races at the Darkmoon Faire, so I added this dark humor of the latter NPC into Jenny's behaviour.

Nervous Elves can be described in a very interesting way, because in Barovia any sound that does not reveal a creature is going to terrify the party. I have also added some foreshadowing from Macbeth like "The raven himself is hoarse. That croaks the fatal entrance of Duncan. Under my battlements." to further the illusion of fear and inevitability.

Derali being a druid in despair because the land itself is corrupted also furthers these feelings of dread.

Taunting ogres are an awesome idea!

But the most surprising twist of fate is that the characters have to seal a deal with Jeny, that can lead to a big amount of roleplay!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Alexander W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/08/2017 13:03:04

The actual maps included in the mod are terrible, so I always use Gabriel Pickards assets to create custom maps (to the exact scale to remain AL legal) so with my custom maps made the adventure was pretty damn cool !

Part 3 of the mod was probably my favourite, it was well written to round the whole module up as a pretty decent adventure.

Part 2 is the highlight with the all star NPC Jeny Greenteeth. So I guess you haven't played Season 4 until you've encountered this hag. For this reason the mod makes a really good one shot.

Part 1 is the bread and butter of all good mods. Some decent exploration, a good and challenging encounter and the chance at some to shine at roleplaying (albeit slightly boring elves, makes it more fun that they are trapped in Barovia) The overall module has a good general feeling of loss, and exploring an entertaining realm.

It's a four hour mod, that could be run in that time with the right players and DM. I also like the module because it touched base with what was happening before the events of Barovia. Which I feel is important for adventurers league characters to feel a part of the big picture.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG