Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Wizards of the Coast » DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e) » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/24/2018 08:39:28

Overall story is good but the hook are quite weak though S8 changes made many older hooks meaningless. Throughout the module, the most asked question is "Why are we doing this again?" (more from factionless players but even Zhentarim players questioned the motive because it was not accordance to Zhentarim tenants). Basically, the module had too many plot holes for my players.

Combat balancing was quite inconsistent, some fights are way too easy while other were way too hard. As a DM I had to redo many of the fights to cater to my players (run twice for a group of fresh players and another group of experienced players).

Having part 2 and part 3 of the trilogy come a year later is... not the best.

Edit: Meant a 3 not a 2.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
CCC‐RPSG‐01 Ooze There
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL08-06 Purging the Blood
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 04:54:21

I was actually pretty happy with the way the module concluded the trilogy. Personally think this is the best module in the three... however, the chase scene as another reviewer commented about is the key reason for the 3/5 stars. A "make it up yourself" with zero guidance just seem like very lazy writing to me. I understand it is impossible to provide every guidance in the world to DMs. if the writer would have at least provide a simple table of complications or guide with a DC rating for simple > normal > hard obstacles and describe some example of each, I would have been ok.

I was able to make stuff up on the spot but newer DMs will struggle. As an organizer as well I often expect Tier 1 modules to be easier to run with most things provided. This is not what I would expect or be comfortable with handing a completely new DM.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-06 Purging the Blood
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL08-05 Hero of the Troll Wars
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 04:48:32

I actually enjoyed this module. The puzzles were fun and the overall balance between the three pillar was fair for most groups I DM for.

The main problem with the module is that it can not exist as a standalone module which AL modules are supposed to do. 08-05 is great if you also do 08-04 first and then keep in mind that 08-06 is done later. Otherwise it is a really strange module that did not have any introduction or ending.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-05 Hero of the Troll Wars
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL08-04 A Wrinkle in the Weave
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/18/2018 04:44:03

the reason I'm so disappointed and almost angry with having to write this review is because it is exactly what I wrote in my playtest feedback and it appeared it was completely ignored.

The adventure concept seem like the best idea ever but the execution, judged based on the final product, is extremely disappointing. There is zero player agency because the players have absolutely no idea why they are doing this and lacks any form of not even a good hook, there was like... no hooks to why they are doing this. The module felt like an intro scene to a movie where players got to watch a short 5 minutes animation clip that was described to them in a wall of text and then go do some random, consequenceless objectives because the module has to be 2 + 1 + 1 in hours.



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL08-04 A Wrinkle in the Weave
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2018 15:44:04

I did enjoy the module when it can be properly ran.

The module is broken if the characters lack water breathing. Similarly, 75% of the module is thrown away if you resurrect the NPC that is dead.... simple loopholes in the modules that could have been addressed with some playtesting.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-11 A Lesson in Love (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/19/2018 15:41:25

The adventure as a standalone is pretty decent but considering the plot as a whole, most players struggle to connect how it plays a role in all of this.

The challenge level of the adventure isn't exactly there either. Lots of grammar and spelling error throughout the module.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-10 Fire, Ash, and Ruin (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/06/2018 22:07:52

When a party of three walks through the module without any problem, you know there's something wrong with the balancing of encounters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL07-12 In Search of Secrets (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

100 Jungle Encounters
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/02/2018 16:17:35

Fun and easy to use while leaving a great amount of openness for DM to tune and players to run it off the rails. :)

I use this in all of my long term homebrews that involves a forest or jungle.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Jungle Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

CCC-BMG-15 PHLAN 1-3 Subterfuge
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Jia J. T. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/25/2017 13:55:45

The module was left on a super cliff hanger... essentially you will never know the ending because Phlan 1-S will never be release. :)



Rating:
[1 of 5 Stars!]
CCC-BMG-15 PHLAN 1-3 Subterfuge
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:42:44

Very railroading adventure... similar to adventues like DDAL 4-6 The Ghost, this adventures relies on random encounters to hit its exp qouta though I should point out the REs are more related this time around.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-04 In Dire Need (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:40:53

a Standard 5 part introduction module. Enough story to bring characters into the feeling and atmosphere of Season 5 and the standard 1~ combat plus some puzzles here and there to introduce players to all the needed mechanics of D&D 5e/AL.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-01 Treasure of the Broken Hoard (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:39:24

This serves as a good introduction adventure to newer players. The story in the mod is well written and hints at the presence of the Giants a little but does not do much beyond that.

The fights are a little too simple as players pretty much get rested very often. That said, it is the second mod of the season so I think that's might be part of the idea too.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-02 The Black Road (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:37:40

A well written adventure to introduce the tier 1s to the troubles and people in Parnast.

Though a large scale map might have been helpful for characters and DMs to properly explain the direction they were headed etc.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL05-03 Uninvited Guests (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:34:22

Among the ups and downs of Season 4, this falls in the mid... The earlier part of the adventure felt like a strange attempt to make the module 4 hours so it could give out more experience for characters to reach level 5 in Adventurers League.

Otherwise, the adventure is fun and interesting in the later half.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04‐06 The Ghost (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2017 14:32:12

This season is one of those with so many up and downs... sadly this is definitely one of the downs for me and my play group.

The plot of the adventure is confusing and extremely hard to follow.

I will give it a slightly better rating for its ability to create a slightly horror and mystery feeling for the Season 4 ambience but... most of the mystery came from the fact that the mod was confusing.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
DDAL04-07 The Innocent (5e)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 31 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG