Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Maniac Brews » Madness of the Rat King » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Print & Paste Dungeon textures: Floors & Walls
Publisher: Crooked Staff Publishing
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 19:08:37

Loved the art, used it extensively in a game last week and the players loved it! Good size pieces that covered most of the rooms in one sheet, including bending a row up for the walls. A best buy even if it is free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Print & Paste Dungeon textures: Floors & Walls
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Inked Adventures Small Room Wizards Study
Publisher: Inked Adventures
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 19:02:39

very small and cartoonish in presentation best I can say is it was free



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Inked Adventures Small Room Wizards Study
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Grey Dungeon Tiles (Free Version)
Publisher: Blue Sword Games
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 18:59:01

A basic geomorph tile. Room sizes were small with the largest being 5 X 6 blocks



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Grey Dungeon Tiles (Free Version)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Fantasy Map Decor 1
Publisher: Red Kobold Games
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 18:55:43

Art was in keeping with Blue Dongeon tiles, but a bit simplistic for use on a battel mat. Also decor is a bit of a misnomer as I do not think of balistae and mine carts as decor.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Fantasy Map Decor 1
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Grim's Dungeons of Doom: Fine Furnishings Volume 1
Publisher: Grinning Skull Studios
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/05/2018 18:52:57

Good quality art, nice 3-D presentation, relatively easy to build. Selection was a bit weak, but it was free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Grim's Dungeons of Doom: Fine Furnishings Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Madness of the Rat King
Publisher: Maniac Brews
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/25/2018 16:45:46

This was a bit different than what I expected, but in a good way. It was a bit dark, but the roleplaying oppertunties are great and the overall product was well thought out. I have an ongoing campagin and had already introduced a hook for a similar module. Upon reading this product, it had much more depth thatn the original and I now plan to use it as a second layer to the wererat problems. The mapping was detailed and creative. I would reccomed this product as a good value.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Madness of the Rat King
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for the recommendation, Alex!
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2018 10:15:36

A great add to the GM's toolbox! This d100 chart allows a bit of curiosity and whimsy to be added to any treasure. I like that many of the netires can become plot hooks if desired, and if not they are just curiosities. 10 of 10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Treasure Hoard
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Off the Beaten Path Vol I: A Bump in the Road
Publisher: A Hole In The Ground Terrain & Games
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2018 10:06:47

A quick one off advernture. This is a bit sparse on the cohesion that some of the others in this series have had. I do like that it makes the players make some moral decissions. 7 of 10



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Off the Beaten Path Vol I: A Bump in the Road
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Off the Beaten Path Vol I: The Isle of Klamacki
Publisher: A Hole In The Ground Terrain & Games
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/01/2018 07:51:44

This is a great series of short adventures. This one might be a bit tough to fit into an ongogin campagain, but as it says it is a great starting point. I like the fact that it forces palyers to be creative in solving issues like a lack of weapons, armor and food. Not quire the standard shipwreck advenbtrue. I would recommend it as it is well thougth out, provides the GM with just enough to make it play smoothly and quickly. 8 of 10



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Off the Beaten Path Vol I: The Isle of Klamacki
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure Map 9: Western Karak
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:56:08

This map provide a bit more detail on the Western Karak than the Rhadamanthia Continental map, but nowhere near as much as the level found in the original Wilderlands sets. It does provide a geographical framework for the GM to extend the wilderlands world to the east of Tranatnis and the maps to the sout on the eastern edge of the original widlerland series. Be advised this is a map and only a map, there is no description (villages, lurid lairs, islands, etc.) like is propvided in the orognal Wilderland series.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure Map 9: Western Karak
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:48:42

This provides a great deal of information on the overall world layout, and how the better known maps of the wilderlands fit into the rest of the world. Due to the scale, there is a diminished level of detail. That being said the map still provided an excellent contect for the main Wilderland maps. It also allows the GM to handle the situation where the player travel off the edge of the known world!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure: Rhadamanthia Continental Map
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Wilderlands of High Adventure Player’s Guide #1: Tharbrian Horse-Lords
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:40:56

This is a very detailed view of the Tharbian culture. It is a must for anyone intendng to play characters in the Wilderlands and within that culture. I could see this adapting easily to any nomadic horse based culture as well. I don;t see this as a game aid in the sense of an adventure, unless you were to have your players encounter a tribe of Tharbians in the wilderness, and ther eit would probably take some special circumstances to prevent a brawl to the death. Being a huge fan of the Wilderlands series I found this added depth to Tharbian race and I am now applying some of this even to the city dwellers of Tharbian decent.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Wilderlands of High Adventure Player’s Guide #1: Tharbrian Horse-Lords
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

100 Oddities for a Wizard's Tower
Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/20/2016 07:33:45

The oddities section is a great playing aid, providing mundane to minimal powered items that add character and intrrigue to a rooms. The rooms and entrance/exit sections I did not find as useful. If my players are in a wizard's tower, I generally have designed that tower and am not looking for a random mix of elements.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
100 Oddities for a Wizard's Tower
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
Publisher: 0one Games
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/29/2014 18:44:11

Think the thought put into it. Will work well in the sewers of my current campaign. One issue the collapsing bridge is not well explained--how does she cross?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Black & White: Medusa Hideout
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

10 Fantasy Coins
Publisher: Chaotic Shiny Productions
by Alex U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/16/2014 21:26:58

Not exceptional, but for free a very fine product. I can see it adding a whole new aspect to my setting--rare coin and coin collecting markets. Of course this would be after the legal issues of trying to pass an unknown gold coin as legal tender!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
10 Fantasy Coins
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG