Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Dancing Lights Press » Building Characters [Black Box Edition] » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Power Cards
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/01/2019 04:22:59

As with other Savage Worlds card PDFs, this one is designed to be printed and cut into poker-sized cards, and it is useful enough, but I would have liked the option to select and print which ones I want, using the print n pages per sheet option of the printer. Both could have been done, I think, by including not only the pages with the assorted cards but also poker-card-sized pages with individual cards. There's reason for Savage Worlds having become such a popular game, if you want to read a review of the new edition, I wrote one here



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Power Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Customizable GM's Screen Inserts
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 18:38:16

I really like this one. Not only the four landscape pages of inserts are just right for my 4 panel customizable screen, but there are ten, whole page, pictures of scenes from the rulebook, for different settings, so that you can change them as you want. The information is very useful too, including the new uses for Bennies and the guide for interludes just where I need them on the table. If you are curious about the changes of the new edition of Savage Worlds, I wrote a review here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Customizable GM's Screen Inserts
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Combat & Chase Quick Reference Chart
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 18:28:31

This is a good summary for quick use at the table. Its four pages of content makes them just right to print and have on the table. Considering that chases are two of those pages, it's even better, since you can store what you are not using. If you are curious about the new edition of Savage Worlds, I wrote a review here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Combat & Chase Quick Reference Chart
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Tokens
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 17:32:05

This is another free, useful (if you play with minis) thing from Pinnacle. Usually, when I have played with minis, we used a grid whiteboard to sketch the map and whatever miniatures we could get, and used markers to signal who was hurt and so on. For players I would use the status cards, but for the host of enemies this is far better. Nonetheless, I would have separated them in blocks and different pages, so I could combine them as I needed, instead of all of them in the same page. This time I see a use for the On Hold token - something I didn't in the cards - because I can imagine a group of mooks with some of them acting, some of them on hold. Since they're sharing the initiative card, status tokens are better. If you want to read a review of the new edition of Savage Worlds, I posted one here



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Tokens
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Bookmarks
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 17:24:26

Besides the images - my favourite is Red in the bike - that are a fair sample of what level of art you can find in the book, there are summaries of the most usual statuses and combat options. It is useful, but I think that at the table a single paper sheet with that kind of data might be better. If you are curious about the new edition of savage worlds, you can read a review here



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Bookmarks
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
These are exact copies of the physical bookmarks we made for the new edition, and posted in PDF by request. Sorry you didn't like them.
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Cards
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 17:16:57

The status cards are a good idea to help keep tracking of who's how, including fatigue, damage, shaken and other statuses with its effects. Once printed (in A4) and cut, they fit sleeved poker cards nicely, and the pictures are a good touch. However, I think there is room for improvement: For instance, there are statuses that include other statuses, such as entangled and bound. It would be best if, besides saying they include those statuses, they would also include the description of their effects. Of course, that's solvable by adding the corresponding status card. Another thing is that pages have mixed cards. I get that there will be more need of wounds and fatigue than shakens, but instead of one page combining two each of stunned, hold, aim and defend, I would find more useful to have each pages having eight instances of the same card, so I can print them depending on my number of players or even what I expect to happen in the campaign. Maybe even having a single card per page, poker-sized, and use the "print X pages per sheet" function of the printer. By the way, I think that the "On Hold" status is not needed as a card, considering the player still has their initiative card. I got these as part of the Kickstarter rewards and I will probably use them, but I'm also considering making my own, even if I have to dispense with the pictures. If you are curious about the new edition of the rules, there's a review of them here



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Status Cards
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Adventure Deck
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/22/2019 12:00:29

This is not a vital item for Savage Worlds, but it adds another weapon to characters, another reward to experience and I have already seen a few interesting twists thanks to the improvisation due to player use of these cards It is compatible with the Deluxe Edition, as Adventurer Edition is. If you are interested in reading a review of the Adventurer Edition, there's one here



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Adventure Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Action Deck
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/21/2019 12:53:44

I like what they have done with Savage Worlds (as you can read here), but I can't get excited about this item. It was included in the Kickstarter stretch goals, but it is a normal poker deck with the figures as multi setting characters.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition: Action Deck
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/20/2019 11:08:33

I really like this edition and am happy of having contributed to its Kickstarter. Most of the rules changes are minor tweaks, but some of them were needed and are welcomed, while the new chases system is more seamless than the previous one. I think it is worth this price to update Deluxe Edition, and a definitely good price if you haven't it. I wrote a longer review here.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Adventure Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

7th Sea: Heroes & Villains
Publisher: Chaosium
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/17/2018 05:56:03

This book extends the "rules" about Villain influence investment and adds a couple new Brute types, but the bulk of it is a classification of heroes and villains in five types each. Each type includes a fairly good description of it, opinions of other types - of both Heroes and Villains - and several one sentence ideas for stories involving a character of the type. Each type also includes one example character from each Thean nation. In the case of Avalon, which is actually three, sometimes they are Avalonian, sometimes Inish and sometimes Highlanders, making them eight for each type, complete with background and stats. For each Heroe there's three goals and for each Villain three schemes and several have some way to redemption. All in all, this book is a good support for players and GMs in need of ideas - for their Heroes and their Villains respectively - and also a good way to have pre-generated characters to introduce somebody to the game without working through the character creation.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
7th Sea: Heroes & Villains
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Rippers Resurrected: Player's Guide
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2018 09:00:49

It is an interesting setting to play in, with well though rules to make it feel different even at mechanical level, and playing very differently to how modern times’ monster hunters would. I wrote a more detailed review here.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rippers Resurrected: Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Savage Worlds Deluxe
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2018 08:40:30

It is not perfect for every story and genre, but it is quite good for most, specially any adventure oriented setting or theme, to introduce people to the hobby. Good with long campaigns and very good when planning one-shots with all one-sheets around. Here is a more detailed review.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Worlds Deluxe
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Story Structure [Black Box Edition]
Publisher: Dancing Lights Press
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2018 02:44:52

This is a useful book, much more the less you know about literary story structure. Although spelling and grammar problems are annoying, they still let you read the book. However, there are some particularities I think should have been addressed differently. Just in case, I published a more in-deph review here.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Story Structure [Black Box Edition]
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Shadow of the Demon Lord
Publisher: Schwalb Entertainment
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2018 02:09:05

An interesting evolution of d20 system, more simple in most things, and adding sanity and corruption mechanics, but is the fluff I love. More details here



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Shadow of the Demon Lord
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

13th Age Core Book
Publisher: Pelgrane Press
by Dario T. N. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2018 02:07:09

A great game for introduce more story and less rules in D&D-like games. I wrote here a longer review



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
13th Age Core Book
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG