Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » The Knotty-Works » Blue Razor 5 Page Background » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Reimagined: Fanfic Role-Playing Game
Publisher: Game Machinery
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 17:32:04

Original review posted here, with pictures. http://theotherside.timsbrannan.com/2019/12/review-reimagined-fanfic-role-playing.html

Ok, now this is a fun one. At least it made me smile.

Reimagined: Fanfic Role-Playing Game

Reimagined is a "fanfic RPG" in which you take some other world and run with it. If you have ever read (or written) fanfic or have a personal "head-canon" (or even know what that is) then this might be the game for you.

The author, Katarzyna Kuczyńska, comes in with some solid street cred, just different than what I have seen in the past. This is a good thing.

The game is for two players using the X-Card system (a system I was not very familiar with). You decide on the fandom, what level of romance you want (Gen, Lime, Lemon and Smut), what sort of story you want (lots listed) and who the charaters are and what the themes are.

Now you and the other player work out your do's and don't (or yeses and noes) and move on the storyline. You have some tables you can roll on with a d6 (which makes it a game and not a series of collaborative storytelling). The tables will depend on the tone of your game and type of story.

The players go back and forth being the "actor" and the "director". I think with some tweaking it could be modified to accommodate more people and thus more characters. This is one of those games where people that really know each other is where it would work the best.

There is also an example of play given and some examples of the worksheets filled out. I love the example card shown of "Captain Carol and the God of Thunder" a Superhero story with Lemon (aka steamy) levels of Romance and tension. On the Noes are "Children being hurt", "torture" and "alcohol" ok, fine and on the "yeses" are Dragons!

Among our themes are "Superheroes Showing off", "Passionate Foreplay" and "Space Battles" you know...I am enjoying this one more and more. The main storyline, "Heroes team up to save an alien planet using their powers and spaceship."

Seriously, how does that not sound like fun?

Seriously off the top of my head, I came up with about 30 fandoms this would work with. Even some I wish I hadn't (gives the Mallfoy-Granger shippers some side eye).

I'd have to try it out. You need the right group to do this game with, but I think it would be fun. This is a very different sort of game for me and I want to try it out.

The PDF is full-color at 39 pages. There are also extra sheets included.

All for $3.00. That's pretty good really.

Plays Well With Others: BlackStar

Of course, this got me thinking. If this works well like this, maybe I could use the Story generation functions of this game in my other games. Sit down as a Session 0 to determine what we all want to do out of a series. IF that series is media-tie in, say like Star Trek, Star Wars, Doctor Who, or anything, then it might be a good starting point.

So. Let me try it with BlackStar.

BlackStar is part of the Star Trek Fandom, but it also has heavy doses of Cthulhu. It's going to be Dark, but Gen. Sorry, there won't be time for romance among the stars for this crew, I'll save all of that for the Captain and the Thunder God above.

It is an Alternate Universe and partial crossover. The only character I know right now is Captain Valerie Beaumont. BUT she is not in charge of the ship. She was supposed to be, but it has been taken over by NPC Commodore Taggart. He is the project leader and a complete dick. So that will make up some of the interpersonal dynamics.

I want to cover the themes of "Horror in/of Space", "We are not alone", "Science as a Candle in the Dark" and "Adventure! ...but don't go insane." I am saying yes to Monsters, Insanity, Death, and Visions of Hell. I am saying no to Vampires, Klingons (sorry!) and no to Deltan and Betazeds. Not because I don't like them, I love them, but empaths will have a really bad time here.

Yeah. This sounds like fun.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Reimagined: Fanfic Role-Playing Game
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

White Mage
Publisher: DYS Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 16:19:11

The White Mage (which is an odd name for it. Healer would have been better but hey) is a 14 or 20 level class for "Basic-era" D&D-like games. In particular it is for Labyrinth Lord and ACKS. The White Mage combines magic-user and clerical abilities and spells.

It is 10 pages long, so after the OGL and title pages we have 3 pages of tables and 4 pages of content and 1 page lost to formating. It is only $1.50, but a $1.00 might have been a better price point.

The class is very playable. Some new spells would have been nice though as well.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
White Mage
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Character Workbook: Witch [PFRPG 1e]
Publisher: Dancing Lights Press
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 16:12:06

For a buck you get a pretty handy bit of work.

Nearly 50 pages this covers character creation all the way to 20th level.
Why am I reviewing this now? Simple, I used it and tracked a character from creation to 20th level and it worked fantastic.

Plenty of places for notes and there are guidelines all along the way, such as reminding you that your skills can increase and ability modifiers change. Even a worksheet for your familiar.

Realy a great idea.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Character Workbook: Witch [PFRPG 1e]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Advanced Options: Patron Hexes
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:59:53

6 pages of 25+ hexes baed on the Witch's patrons. No specific patron is given, which is good, these are more generic (read as "flexible") in nature. They all seem great and the handful I have used in play have worked out well. Really helps add some new flavor to the witch class.

If you play a witch and have one of the patrons mentioned in the product listing then this is a must have. If you have a lot of witches (like me) then this is an essential product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Advanced Options: Patron Hexes
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

[PFRPG] Breath Weapons
Publisher: Ennead Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:24:16

Sixteen pages on Breath Weapons for use by dragons and others. There are different kinds of breath weapons, different shapes and attack grids.

For $1.50 it is worth having just to use to modifiy for dragons and other creatures.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[PFRPG] Breath Weapons
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Class Expansions: Witch Grand Hexes [PFRPG]
Publisher: Interjection Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:20:01

Seven new grand hexes for the Pathfinder Witch class. I rather enjoyed them to be honest.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Class Expansions: Witch Grand Hexes [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

FUDGE 32 (32 Psi, Healer and Misc Powers for FUDGE
Publisher: DCS
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:17:08

Six pages (of the total 10) of new Psi powers for Fudge. Mostly powers for healers, but there are some other powers here as well.

It's not bad, it just could have been more.
No art.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
FUDGE 32 (32 Psi, Healer and Misc Powers for FUDGE
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Skills, Feats, and Languages of the Wilderlands
Publisher: Judges Guild
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:13:52

20 pages of skills, feats and languages from d20/OGL sources for D&D circa 3.x.

It adapts some of the older Wilderlands by Bob Bledshaw and Bill Owen.

No art, save for the end. Some good stuff here, but really only Wilderlands fans.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Skills, Feats, and Languages of the Wilderlands
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Genius Guide to the Death Mage
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 15:01:07

Remember the old Death Master by Len Lakofka in Dragon Magazine? Well Owen K.C. Steven does! And this 20 level class for Pathfinder "feels" like that class, but it is own thing.

This class is a stand-alone class (like most of the Pathfinder classes) complete with new powers and spells over 14 pages. In truth it is a lot of fun. The author compares it to necromancer wizrds, death priests and undead-bloodline sorcerers, and how it is different. A better comparison is to druids. But where druid is dedicated to life, the Death Mage is dedicated to death and spirits of the dead.

There are five "Sub-types" of Death Mages presented. Corpse Mages, Ghoul Mages, Tomb Mages, Reaper Mages, and Shadow Mages.

There are 11 new spells. I think an opprotunity was missed here to have 13 spells.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Genius Guide to the Death Mage
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Cohorts & Companions - Roland Talbot [PFRPG]
Publisher: Black Falcon Games LLC
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 14:51:34

OK. This is great product and idea. This pdf presents Roland Talbot and his 20 level career as a Fighter (Polearm Master) for the PAthfinder (1st Ed) game.

For a buck this is a great idea and deal. Check out their list of NPCs and grab the one you need. They can be played both a PC or an NPC. The OGL statement for this product is actially REALLY NICE. Not only does it cover what it needs for the OGL it also lets the reader know what books were used to build this NPC; something needed in the Pathfinder game.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Cohorts & Companions - Roland Talbot [PFRPG]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Feats of Witchcraft
Publisher: Fat Goblin Games
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 14:43:56

Three pages. This includes a title page, an OGL page and one page of feats, 10 in total. Some interesting feats here too. Should be compatible with Pathfinder 2 and even D&D 5 for Warlocks (if you use feats in 5e).

Not bad for a buck.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Feats of Witchcraft
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Saving Throw fundraiser fanzine for James D. Kramer
Publisher: Saving Throw Fanzine
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 14:37:37

A great zine like supplement to OSRIC, or any other Old-School style d20 based game. There is a lot of material including monsters, NPCs, min-adventures and random tables.

The profits from this PDF go to help fund Jim Kramer's cancer battle. So not only fun material, but a good cause too.

This book reminds me a lot of the old gaming zines that I used to find in the 80s for AD&D; though this one is far better laid out and has better material.

Grab this. Even if you only like 1/3 of the material it is worth it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Saving Throw fundraiser fanzine for James D. Kramer
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

[Swords & Wizardry] The Rising Dark: An Introduction to Agraphar
Publisher: Zodiac Gods Publishing
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 14:25:00

A fun supplement for Swords & Wizardry, but really compatible with just about any d20/OGL based product. It is an introduction the author's game world and campaign. There are myths, new gods, languages and new races. This book also covers the lands of the world.

There are some new spells (some) and new creatures but all from OGL sources.

It's a fun campaign book. There is nothing really here to seperate it from the 1000s of other campaign guides out there, but that is fine really, this one works and does exactly what it claims to do.

Grab this if you want some ideas or need to flesh out a part of your own world a little more.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
[Swords & Wizardry] The Rising Dark: An Introduction to Agraphar
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Tarnhelm's Terrible Tome
Publisher: RetroRoleplaying
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/10/2019 14:18:21

A nice 40 page document of various house rules. Many are similar to things we all did (I am sure) but this puts them together in one place. In particular the Mneumonic Mage Class is pretty interesting and would be a fun addition to an old-school game.

There are some rules on minor magics and skills for arcance and divine spell-casters that are also fun.

Throw the author a couple of bucks.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Tarnhelm's Terrible Tome
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

PC1 Creature Crucible: Tall Tales of the Wee Folk (Basic)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
Date Added: 12/03/2019 12:21:16

The PC Creature Crucible series came at the end of the Gazeteer line for Basic D&D. AD&D 2nd ed was my game of choice then, but reviewing this now I think I missed out on something fun. The author of this book, John Nephew, who would later go on to found Atlas Games. While reading this I was looking for any clues to what would be Ars Magica, but I think I was just projecting.

The book is 96 pages with color covers and black, white and green interior colors. The PDF is 102 pages (for maps and covers). It is divided into a 64-page DM's section and a 32-page Adventures section. This book is something I would have loved back then, and really enjoy now.

The book covers playing several woodlands or faerie races. The new race-classes you can play are Brownie, Centaur, Dryad, Faun, Hsiao, Leprechaun, Pixie, Pooka, Sidhe, Sprite, Treant, Wood Imp, and Woodrake. One of the features of Basic-era D&D is Race-as-Class, so a Sprite and Halfling can feel like different things with similar levels of progression.

As per Basic D&D each creature gets it's own advancement table and ability minimums and maximums. All, save the Sidhe, have level limits. All of these creatures have a 0 level and in some cases, negative levels, they need to meet the XP requirements for. It all works rather well for Basic D&D really. We know it can work since we used to do the same thing in Holmes D&D, only not with this much guidance. It would not be difficult with these guidlines to adapt this to any other version of D&D in fact. You can look to the 4th Edition Player's Option: Heroes of the Feywild as an example. Like PC1 Creature Crucible, you can play a dryad, satyr, or pixie. They even have a similar spell-casting class (more on that later).

The book has a solid Lands of Faerie or even a Feywild feel to it. A nice green character sheet (which is cool and all, but prints and copies poorly) only adds to that feeling. The conceit of the book is to present the information as if given to us from the mouths of four different woodland folk of renown; Olyrrhoe, a centaur prophetess (years before a centaur would teach divination at Hogwarts) tells us about centaurs, wood imps, , Lotis, the dryad, speaks for dryads and hamadryads as well as fauns, hsiao, and treants, Robin Goodfellow (yes, THAT Robin) for pixies, sprites and others, and finally Oberon (also THAT Oberon) for Pooka, Sidhe and wood drakes.

This book also deals with three different kinds of spell casters. Shamans (like druids or clerics, but no turn undead ability), wicca (which you know has my attention! magic-users) and fairy spell casters. There are some new spells here that very much feel like woodland/wicca/witchy/druid spells.

We get some new equipment, some woodland realms, some organizations and of course our NPCs and a few more besides. Though no Titania, which is odd given the obvious (and necessary) borrowing from Mid-Summer's Night Dream.

That gives us the first 64 pages.

The adventure book makes up the next 32 pages. We also get an AD&D 2nd Edition conversion guide. Using these guidelines would help in converting to other versions of D&D, in particular, 5e.

The adventures are short and all share a woodland theme. They can all be run in a few sessions, usually one per session.

There is also a fun woodlands/faerie themed character sheet.

This is one of those products that I never gave enough attention too back when it came out, but I really wish I had.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
PC1 Creature Crucible: Tall Tales of the Wee Folk (Basic)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 966 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9 ...  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG