Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios $19.95
    Average Rating:4.8 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    45 8
    6 1
    1 3
    0 0
    0 0
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Marie O. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/09/2020 11:50:59

    A collection of six very different modern day scenarios, and most of them are good. I mean really, finger-licking-gruesomely-good. I have only had the chance to run the first two and both have been at least two nights of terrible, delightfull terror for my players. The one scenario I both dreaded and longed to run, namely Ladybug, (dreaded as I'm no good at portraying the seriously religious zealots, longed because, darn... if that isn't a living nightmare of choices... exactly what I look for in my games) turned out to be one of the greatest stories I ran so far.

    What I love about the scenarios gathered here is the amount of grey. Very few things are clear from the onset, and after finding the first few hints, often the unease only grows as nothing is clearly cut, black or white. Well thought out motivations for the NPCs and logical actions and reactions included in the storyline make these scenarios very easy for a keeper to get into and effortlessly keep the flow, no matter what your players come up with. Plus the stories are superb, as I think I may have mentioned before.

    Opinion by title (and honestly, this is very personal but it might give you some insight)

    Ladybug, Ladybug, Fly Away Home, by Jeff Moeller. Holy... For me, a serious challenge as a keeper because I have players who love to dig in deep and debate... Playing some crazy zealots seemed a scary challenge but it worked and the fact that my players were unsure who really was crazy and who was right up until the very end was a true delight. 5/5

    Forget Me Not, by Brian M. Sammons. Delightful play with amnesia and as a keeper you can choose if you go for a full gore option, or keep it mild and mindbending til very late in the scenario. I played this story in the mid '80 and found it adapted easily. The heart-wrenching choice presented to the players at the end is a lovely touch. 4/5 (4 only in comparison to Ladybug really... in any other case a 5/5)

    No scores for the next three stories as it seems unfair to score things I haven't run and have only read once ;)

    Roots, by Simon Brake. It seems a little on the nose with the main 'enemy' for people who have some knowledge of Lovecraft, but that does not have to be a bad thing. I personally try to leave my players guessing for a while at least. That said, if my players weren't so keen on surviving that I'm pretty sure they'd soon leave well enough alone, I might have given it a chance. The atmosphere is really nice, the village detailed and so alone in the hostile woods.

    Hell in Texas, by Scott Dorward. Intriguing story, great location, definitely planning on running this, but I need a really good reason that binds my players strongly to the story/location, otherwise they'll do the smart thing and run for their lives fairly soon into the scenario.

    The Night Season, by Jeff Moeller. Very, very fun play with the boundaries of reality, but in this scenario the why and how for what is happening seems to sit mainly in the note to the keeper and that seems a shame. It leaves players struggling with something they will never understand... which presents its own horror of course. Still, the sheer realm of possibilities this scenario opens, given a little creativity of the keeper is immense (and a little daunting to me, as I'm a perfectionist with very geeky friends. cough)

    Only downside, and that's a personal one: I am no fan of the artwork in the book, every portrait seems an uneasy rendering of a face made by someone who has not seen a person in a very long time. Something is off with friend and foe alike, so I have chosen not to use the pictures that come with the stories. I do not mind the fact that the book is black and white, but the 90s computer-rendering feel of the images included is not really my thing.

    All in all: awesome (mature themed) torment wrapped in a fun seized book. Get it now.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Ryan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/29/2020 23:20:42

    This was a great collection of scenarios for modern day Call of Cthulhu investigators. I enjoyed running all with very little modification. You must read them before you run, but I could do it with a 30 read through and some notes. My group got 2-4 games off of each adventure. Great value for the price, in my mind.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by marco f. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/11/2020 03:56:16

    Extra thanks to Youtuber Seth Skorkowsky for the recommendation

    The product that I purchased was the watermarked PDF for $14.95.

    Rarely do I as a dungeon master feel disgusted or scared as I read through notes for a scenario that I am going to run, this, however, managed to chill me to the bone.

    A lot of love and care went into creating these modules and they are well detailed for keepers, so we can run these scenarios with ease. Some scenarios state that they can be completed within 1-2 sessions, which I do not see possible as there is so much going on in almost every scenario. I mean this book is PACKED with stuff!

    Rarely do we see CoC adventures that work well in a modern setting, because usually, we, the keepers would have to say "there's no reception on your phone out here" to make sure the PC's can't use their phones for various reasons. In these scenarios, thas is not an issue. The scenarios are made so that whether or not an investigator has a smartphone or not, will not cripple the elements of horror that this module has to offer. It is fantastic.

    The things that prevent me from giving this product a 5/5 are two points:

    The artwork. The artwork in this book is sub-par at best. I do not mean to take a mean jab at the illustrator, but I do expect a certain kind of art style that does not make me feel like a normal 5-year old girl's face is "out of proportion. None of the "real", normal human characters look a bit too much uncanny valley.

    Colour. This module is in black and white, which is a shame. Colour really helps to set the tone for keepers and players (when it comes to handouts.)

    There's a keepers guide (for free) on DriveThru RPG called "The Mark of Evil" which gives you these handouts with colour and the maps are updated as well!

    Get this module! It is really good! :)

    Edit: As a respond to the reply:

    Take notes ladies and gents. This is real service! Thank you for getting back to me <3



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for the review, Marco, and we're glad to see that you thoroughly enjoyed the scenarios. As for the artwork and black and white book...well, it was our first. All of our books since this one has been in full-colour and we even have plans to release a second edition of "The Things We Leave Behind" at some point in the future, just to be able to update it to full-colour as well. We'll be sure to let you know when that happens (might be a few years yet) as it will contain a new scenario as well.
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Nathan R. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/30/2018 13:53:18

    I would totally love this product if the printing of the hardcover which was 40 dollars didnt look like it came off my 10 year old printer. Another reviewer said to just get the pdf and print it yourself, which I agree with completely. They could offer a premium paper option for this book and I suppose that would help, but it's not offered yet as of July 2018. I guess for 40 dollars I expect a quality printing. I don't think that's too much to expect in 2018. I do really like the adventures so far. My review is really aimed at the quality of the printing and not the content.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Hi Nathan, Thank you for your kind comments. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with the print quality. The version you have is an earlier print and largely out of our control. Happily, since then DriveThruRPG has upped its game in terms of print quality and copies now ship with better production values. This doesn't help in your case, of course, but it will hopefully reassure you as to the quality of our books going forward. If you'd like to contact me via our messaging options here on DriveThru I'll happily send you a PDF of our first fiction anthology as recompense. Stephanie
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/08/2018 05:38:57

    This book contains great stories than can easiliy be modified for other systems. I used 3 of the stories for my WoD campaign for example...



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Andrew G. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/07/2018 16:30:26

    A brilliant colelction of unnerving CoC scenarios. I just ran Forget Me Not after being inspired by the How We Roll podcast. First time I've run anything other than D&D and it was an outstanding success. Everyone had a great time and it was probably my single most satisfying GM'ing experience. The coherence and impact of the story are admirable and the atmosphere created really inspires deep role playing. Brilliant stuff. Only improvement would be to structure the information a bit better inside the text so you dont have to scan through paragraphs to find the germane information inside the narrative. Maybe some kind of schematic way of showing the speciifc details on how to run each scene would be good, like a little flow chart or something. Otherwise impeccable.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Michael F. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/03/2017 13:10:40

    I'll just start off by throwing right out there why I gave this a three star: print quality. I'm new to Drive Thru RPG, and I acknowledge that there are some ins and outs in understanding how this works. I feel like I got burned on my first go. I now understand that there is a difference between standard quality printing and other varieties like "standard heavyweight" and that I now need to look for that when I order physical copies from this site, since that is important to me.

    I purchased this at the hardcover sale 29.99 price point around Halloween 2017. It has now returned to the standard price of 39.99. I understand that smaller publishers have higher costs, but the hardcover version of this is simply not worth that price. I'm not even sure it is worth the 29.99 price I paid, but I don't have the desire to go through the effort of a return for content that I like. The print quality and paper of the printing is not worth that price point, in my opinion. When you pay considerably more for print copies, you expect it to be something better than what this is. The binding is great and maybe that is where the cost is? A glossy, full-color hardback. Great. The paper just doesn't match this same level of quality. It is a hair above photocopy paper on a basic photocopier. I feel there was just a major compromise made that will make me think twice about not doing investigation into print quality before I order on here again. I understand that it is cheaper to print things in bulk in China. I simply would not have invested in a hardcover had I understood the quality ahead of time.

    The module itself is very good for a newly started company. Even if you were not to run these scenarios as is, there is plenty of great mineable material for crafting your own games and scenarios from the bits and pieces. They all have compelling premises. The content is challenging from an ethical standpoint, which I think the Intro does a good job of addressing respectfully up front. Yet, some of the interior content choices then break this respect. (Indian Burial Ground? Really? Published 2016. Come on.) The style of the writing of several of the adventures comes from a clearly inexperienced pen (repetition of phrasing and sentences starters being most common) , but the real meat of this is the ideas, and the ideas are strong. The ideas can be, with some working, be dropped into any era, but especially easily into 1920s. So, don't let the Modern tag scare you away, unless you are a "run the adventure as is" style of Keeper and want to do 1920s. The very excellent first scenario will not work if just grafted into the 1920s. Technology plays a big role. The scenarios get shorter and shorter as you go through the book, but I think it is worth noting that the word count per page is very high. An adventure of 12 pages is not a typical twelve pages of huge font size and watered down. It's 12 pages of depth.

    My only other criticism of the content is the art. Many of the portraits are subpar and look like they are drawn with some weird mismash of hand-drawing and computer graphics. Proportions of many of the faces just don't make sense and look odd. But ideas are more important to me than art for a module of this nature.

    In conclusion, I highly recommend that any Call of Cthulhu player or Keeper pick up this product as a PDF, even if you do not normally run Modern. I cannot recommend the print versions of this for the price. You may feel differently from me.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Hi Michael, I'm sorry you found the paper quality a letdown, I'd have to disagree with you regarding it being a little above 'photocopy level quality'. That said, this book was produced when there was only one choice of a hardback. Since then, DriveThru has brought in Premium Heavyweight paper which is a marked improvement (a lot of complaining by publishers has paid off!) Since this book, we now make a PDF, softcover in standard paper, and a hardcover in Heavyweight. All our books are also now colour with the exception of TTWLB. I anticipate a future edition will be in colour. You're right about the cost, the colour heavyweight version costs a small fortune as they printed one at a time and on demand in the US, UK, and (IIRC) Australia. They don't come from China. For example, a premium colour version of TTWLB would cost £18. With authors, artists, and an editor to pay, this leaves little for me and the company. I wish it were different but you go with what you can. Thanks for the feedback on the scenarios, I'll keep it in mind when our other books are being created. In terms of art, I enjoyed Davide's interpretations but as we've moved into colour we've gone in a different artistic direction. I'm really glad you found the book had depth and can use the scenarios to create new scenarios if the scenarios as-is prove unsuitable. I hope you'll keep an eye out for our other titles and consider buying our books in the future. Stephanie
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by mark w. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/07/2017 13:00:35

    The pdf is well worth the price for the scenario titled "Forget Me Not." The writing for Forget Me Not was fantastic and you can tell that the author spent a lot of time on it. It would be a great scenario to establish a group of investigators in any campaign you decide to run. The other noteworthy scenario was Ladybug. Ladybug was well thought out and has a good amount of detail. If the book only had these two scenarios in it, I'd give it 5 stars.

    The scenario "Roots" was very hard to read through because of the terrible grammar and somewhat silly approach to the scenario. I really didn't care for the Hell In Texas scenario. It was a bit too edge lord for me.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Haydn B. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/23/2017 18:02:32

    Outstanding! TTWLB is a fantastic collection of beautifully dark modern Cthulhu scenarios. It stays edgy without straying into that 'trying too hard' area you might find in certain other games. I'm hanging for their next publication.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by Todd C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/28/2017 21:22:17

    I've read through all the scenarios and I am currently using one. Just beautiful dark, investigative horror stories. I don't care about the system really but these are brilliant!

    Where is the new Kickstarter? I guess there is NO way to buy the stuff for the overarching details.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    I'm afraid not, Todd. It was a commitment made to our backers not to release any exclusive content on general release. Our Kickstarter has begun and we've blasted through our stretch goals and 'backer exclusive' content has come up again so go on over! I'd like to thank you for all the kind words and your review. it fuels our desire to keep producing! Stephanie.
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/16/2016 16:10:48

    I bought the pdf when it was released because I was looking for modern scenario's for the 7th edition rules. I am running Forget Me Not next week, Ladybug, Ladybug a couple of weeks after that, and a double feature for Halloween weekend at our local gamestore featuring Forget Me Not and Hell in Texas. I'm excited to run the material; I have printed it, made notes, and am rereading it to put on an intriquing game for a group of new Call of Cthulhu players. After I have run a few sessions of the scenarios, I will edit my review to reflect the results.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Things We Leave Behind - An Anthology of Modern Day Call of Cthulhu Scenarios
    Publisher: Stygian Fox
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/31/2016 12:29:28

    Having read through the scenarios now I can say this is probably my favorite release of the year, and I think it's an important one because it handily accomplishes something even some official Chaosium releases haven't (for me at least) in the past, and that is fashion some truly effecting scenarios meant to be played in the modern era.

    This isn't lightly given praise either, its VERY difficult (or at least it had been for me in my 10+ years) to construct a Cthulhu scenario that isn't just easily accomplished in the classical era minus a modern invention or two, and I've seen many a scenario that tie cell phones or computers into the plot but don't properly capture or depict the modern era and circumstances or people of that era, much less realistic situations and/or reactions to that zeitgesit in light Cthonian horrors. Not only is this very difficult to peg down feel well accomplished, its done with flair, excellently plotted, tightly written scenarios, simple but evocative images, and a overall aesthetic and style rarely seen outside of professional circles. As Keeper (or GameMaster) my favorite scenarios were Ladybug Ladybug, in which a child abduction and the pursuit of the kidnapper lead to a terrifying confrontation with an angel of death, Hell in Texas, in which strange goings on at a struggling Church's Hell House leads investigators into a confrontation with human despair and Roots, in which a young girl seeking her birth parents goes missing in rural town. Well done Stygian press, I'm looking forward to future installments!

    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Thank you so much for your kind words! We look forward to you enjoying further books from us!
    Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items