Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Dream Pod 9
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:48:15

    At 258 pages, 252 are the content. A pretty good scan, much better than Heavy Gear 3rd Player's Handbook.

    A lot is covered in the PDF: Character & Mechanical Design, Advanced Rules, Open Gaming Rules Conversion, Appendixes, Game-mastering, etc.

    Al looks pretty good., wish I had more time to look through section. I like it. All artwork is b&w (a fair bit of it from Heavy Gear - my favourite).

    Not bad for £5.05. Well worth a look.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Silhouette CORE RPG Rules Deluxe Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
    Publisher: Dream Pod 9
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/13/2014 08:28:59

    I bought the Silhouette Core Deluxe edition some time ago, which wasn't too bad, scan wise. This PDF, unfortunately, not so good. The pages slant to the side, the scan quality is low. Not a good scan at all. I can see why they reduced the price.

    Don't get me wrong, I like the Heavy Gear RPG & other products); I have the 1st & 2nd edition books with supplements, miniatures, etc; all good. So this download (PDF) was a disappointment.

    I'm hoping for an updated/improved version.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Heavy Gear RPG 3rd Edition Player's Handbook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cogs,Cakes & Swordsticks RPG & Setting [BUNDLE]
    Publisher: Modiphius
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/27/2014 13:11:24

    CCS is an extremely rules-lite D6 RPG. There are no lists for equipment, weapons, or armour, vehicles, etc. Artwork is black and white, and not too bad.

    The CCS system has 3 attributes (Cakes, Cogs & Swordsticks), basically a tri-stat system like BESM or the Warrior, Rogue Mage RPG.

    I feel that both PDFs could have been cheaper (maybe £2-£3 each) considering CCS is only 55 pages, and Atlantis is 43 pages. Yes, there is quite a bit of background material, etc to get the players in the mood for the time period; but CCS just seems too 'lite' for the £7.99 price.

    Steamcraft (Perilous Journeys Publishing) is £8.99 and 216 pages, and appears a more 'fuller' RPG for the price; although not meant to be played anywhere like CCS.

    Don't get me wrong, CCS is a good 'lite' RPG; just not a lot of 'content' for the price.

    CCS is £7.99, and Atlantis is £5.99 (£13.98), down to £11.99 - not a bad saving. £4-£5 for both wouldn't be too bad a price.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Cogs,Cakes & Swordsticks RPG & Setting [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Caeron 3000 The Science Fiction Role-Playing Game
    Publisher: Magique Productions, Ltd
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/27/2014 11:49:45

    This PDF is 171 pages long (167 pages being the actual content).

    Artwork: pretty good (all black and white). Caeron 3000 is basically OSR (D&D) space fantasy.

    It has the character sheet (2 page), world map & other sheets with a sample scenario at the back.

    There are other OSR sci-fi RPGs: Star Without Numbers (£11.99 - Core, or the free edition), Hulks & Horrors (£8.99) for example. I believe Dragonstar would also be among the list as well.

    Apart from the 2 reviews here, there are no other reviews of any kind on any other RPG sites. The website (caeron3000.com) is non-existent. Magiqueproductions.com is barely working; only the Home & Contact are working, and have no mention of Caeron 3000. It's as if they've just tucked it under the carpet and forgotten it.

    The only colour is the front & back covers.

    At £4.50, it doesn't seem too bad (some support from the publisher would be nice).



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Caeron 3000 The Science Fiction Role-Playing Game
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for your very honest and forgiving review. It has been a long time since we did anything with the Caeron 3000 brand and it unfortunately was tucked away for a very long time. However, I'm happy to say that we are working on an updated version of the game, which will be released with a full-color hardcover option. The game universe is going to be changing quite a bit, but I believe all for the better. In addition to the updated rulebook, we are also planning to release adventure content. The website will be updated with the new game information and we plan to support the product going forward.
    Dungeon Romp
    Publisher: Golden Griffon Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/07/2014 09:14:23

    At £2.11, this is actually quite good. The PDF is 44 pages long (42 are the actual content). The system reminds me of 2 RPG systems: WEG D6 and BESM Tri-Stat). WEG similarity: abilities are D6 based, for example one might be 3D (3D6), while another could be 2D (2D6). As for the Tri-Stat similarity, the 3 abilities/attributes are Body, Mind and Skill (BESM: Body, Mind, Spirit). You choose one at 3D, another at 2D, and the last one at 1D.

    The attributes/abilities can be upgraded with gold (P23): 100Gp to increase an ability by 1D (max 3D). It states on the last page it's for 9+ years, which seems about right.

    I'll try it out on some of the younger members of the family, see how they get along with it. It's good to see RPGs like this for younger RPG players (there's also the JEN Games one as well).

    I'd give this 4.5/5, a good introduction to young RPG players.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Dungeon Romp
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I\'m always looking to update and improve, so feedback is appreciated.
    Pits & Perils
    Publisher: Olde House Rules
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/16/2013 08:01:14

    At 80 pages (75 are the actual content), it definitely gives the feel of the 'shoddy primitive affairs' of the early 1970's. The publisher has done a good job doing this, complete with the 'typewriter look' on the pages. The artwork has that 'cliche medieval look', and does give that early 1970's look.

    No character sheet that I can see, but the PDF does give you a website to download one. It does have that 'olde' tabletop fantasy RPG look. Page 5 seems a little confusing perhaps: roll 2d6 for your character's attributes and abilities (roll 11-12, and you get 2 choices), the attributes of STR, INT, DEX, WIS, CON, CHA are listed under abilities (shouldn't they be attributes?) - typing error? Hit points are governed by your class, and what armour/shield you're using. So, for example, a level 0 warrior (10HP) with chain mail and shield would have 10/+3 hit points. After obtaining Labyrinth Lord, Tombs & Terrors, Basic Fantasy, etc, it's ok. It might not be to everyone's taste. Some people might think it's worth £4.35; others might not.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Pits & Perils
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fallen Utopia
    Publisher: Homepage Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/08/2013 06:50:18

    At £1.87/$2.99, it seems quite a bargain. But (there's always a but), there's NO indication of what dice to use (most strange). Although it does say the system is very open-ended.

    The ToC (Table of Contents) are a page number off (Skills are p9, not p8, Talents are p13, not p12, etc).

    The Generating Ability Scores on p5 might be a little confusing to some.

    Nice font for the heading, actual content is approximately 32 pages. Not ink heavy (no pictures).



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Fallen Utopia
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    In the new file update, we have fixed the Table of Contents error and added the Basics section. Thanks for the review, Stephen.
    Quick Decks 1: Starter Pack
    Publisher: DSL Ironworks
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/24/2013 08:31:59

    A good printer friendly map set. The pdf is 31 pages (25 pages are the actual maps and items to 'occupy' the maps, including a blank map page. Good usage tips (p.4) for setting different scales (25mm, 20mm & 15mm). Well worth the price.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Quick Decks 1: Starter Pack
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Engage: Spaceship Combat
    Publisher: Red Wyvern Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/04/2013 05:02:59

    At 94 pages, this PDF of spaceship warfare looks quite good.

    This reminds me of Star Fleet Battles (SFB), with it's power allocation system. I believe someone said it reminded them of SFB with the numbers filed off.

    A good number of pictures to show off the various starship models from various manufacturers. Also includes some themed fleet lists.

    The Red Wyvern site does provide some downloads (even a printer friendly ship sheet!).

    I would like to give it 5 stars, but the PDF is ink intensive. A printer friendly version would have been good. At £6.59, it's fairly good, and should remind you of SFB.

    Worth a look at.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Engage: Spaceship Combat
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Hi Stephen, Thanks for your review, we do now have a Tablet/Printer friendly version that comes with all electronic copies of Engage! It should dramatically cut down on ink costs (only text boxes, text and the bare essential images). It comes as a PDF that has also been designed for use on a tablet (small files size) with links from the contents page and a home button on each page to take you back to the contents for quick and easy use. Cheers, Red Wyvern Games Team.
    Freefall The Role-Playing Game
    Publisher: Friz Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/24/2013 13:14:56

    At 48 pages long, Freefall reminds me little of Futurama (a little). It gives players a chance to play comedic sci-fi scenarios. Your character starts off with 6-9 positive traits and 1-4 negative traits. Task rolls involve rolling a D6 plus a D6 for each applicable trait.

    Freefall might be an acquired taste (you need a funny bone). Characters also have notable gear.

    At £1.30, it's good for the price.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Freefall The Role-Playing Game
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Parsec
    Publisher: Jolly Roger Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/17/2013 15:26:31

    I can see why this PDF has been reduced (£13.25 reduced to £7.95); you CAN'T print it! That's why I've decided to give it 3/5, otherwise, I'd have given 4-5/5. The website (www.parsecrpg.com), gives you the character & ship sheet to download (resources section).

    Parsec seems quite good for a RPG; weapons, equipment, armour, etc have traits. The system is D6. So 5D6@3 means roll 5D6, and 3+ is a success. Sounds a little similar to the FUGLI system (Friz Games).

    Artwork: fairly good. The PDF counts in at 130 pages. In some ways, I prefer Distant Worlds (D6 system).



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Parsec
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Damned Are The Living
    Publisher: Friz Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/20/2013 03:38:55

    The DATL PDF is 88 pages, approximately 80 are the content. Nicely done with background/history of the virus and events leading up to the outbreak.

    Character sheet included.

    Various zombie types listed - nice. Random encounters, NPCs are also listed. Equipment has a wear classification and target number for failed tasks.

    I just need to print it out and get some victims (sorry, players) for some unpleasant zombie encounters.

    At £1.91 it's very good. Well worth a look.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Damned Are The Living
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Damned Are The Living SNEAK PEEK
    Publisher: Friz Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/30/2013 04:52:58

    A good 20 page preview of the upcoming Damned are the Living RPG.

    A brief little story in the first pages, then the 'history' of the beginning of the Cerberus virus.

    Worth getting, just to give you a 'taster' of the RPG when it arrives.

    Can't wait to 'sink my teeth into this' when you comes out (pardon the pun).

    Certainly looking forward to it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Damned Are The Living SNEAK PEEK
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cogs, Cakes & Swordsticks - Steampunk RPG - FREE PREVIEW
    Publisher: Modiphius
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/26/2013 09:32:33

    The PDF is 8 pages, of which 4 pages are the preview.

    3 pages give the background, and 1 page for the mechanics. Brief and simple. The mechanic shown is roll 1D6, add/minus modifiers.

    There are 3 vital statistics: Cog (Mental), Cakes (Social), and Swordsticks (Physical skills). The preview seemed a little bare, more could have been added I suppose.

    Worth a download & look at, as it is free.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Cogs, Cakes & Swordsticks  - Steampunk RPG - FREE PREVIEW
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Book of Classes for Tombs & Terrors
    Publisher: Beyond Belief Games
    by Stephen Y. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/26/2013 09:01:22

    The PDF is 43 pages, 27 of which are the rules/data. It's free!

    The information contained within the pages does offer some interesting classes for the Tombs & Terrors RPG. The artwork I recognise from the Warrior, Rogue & Mage RPG by Michael Wolf (Stargazer Games), which I found quite enjoyable.

    I'm sure some players could fit the classes contained within this PDF into any OSR/D20 RPG.

    Definitely worth a look, since it's free.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Book of Classes for Tombs & Terrors
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 136 to 150 (of 201 reviews) Result Pages: [<< Prev]  ... 10  11  12  13  14  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items