RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Starships Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2009 05:13:51

Another quality product of Arion games!

This set is useful for firefights in space, to keep track of chases and dogfights, the models being too small for individual characters. It doesn't contain any battlemaps for boarding maneuvers, so for that you'd have to look elsewhere.

The designs are varied. If we're talking starship classes, I'd say there are 5 or 6 small fighters, 3 or 4 medium figthers or bombers (really depends on where you draw the line), 15 freighters or large fighters (perfect for a group of player characters), and 6 large battleships.

In general, the models are different enough to give the sense of being built by different cultures. That holds especially true for the largest ones - which could each be easily the main battle ship of 6 different spacefaring cultures or races.

Excellent, excellent set. Now I'd like the same for sailing ships or for steampunk boats! :D



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Starships Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WWII Americans Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/24/2009 09:33:24

Another quality set of figures from Arion Games. This should be useful both for pulp games as well as for WW2 tactical games. My only gripe with the product is that there's just a little to few of everything. I would've liked another tank, for example, maybe with desert camouflage. I would've liked more paratroopers as well as a few marines. While it's easy to build a squad of army soldiers, there are just too few paratroopers (for example) to do the same. This is not really an issue for tactical wargames, but if you want to run a RPG set in WW2 with the players being part of a squad, you'd want a little more variety for your players to have a set of "heroes" to choose from.

That being said, the graphics are great, there's even an arty unit and this should complement the Germans WW2 set just fine.

Now I want to see some Brits and Russians! :-D



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
WWII Americans Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

WWII Germans Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/27/2008 13:32:13

An excellent collection of figures and vehicles that should cover your needs for settings like Weird Wars and especially for 30ies Pulp. The quality is top, as with all arion games figures.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
WWII Germans Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Shaintar: Immortal Legends Player's Guide
Publisher: Savage Mojo
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2006 00:00:00

The Cover It's static and it doesn't give an idea about the world it's set it, but looking on it you get the idea that this is a legendary warrior who had many adventures and battles and came out ahead. Not the worst notion to get from a cover of a book that promises Epic High Fantasy.

4 of 5 stars

The Layout The book's inside is presented in black and white, the borders of the page are highly ornamented and the background fades from grey to almost white in the center, making the text easy to read. This will be very heavy on the printers, so let's hope that there's a slightly trimmed down version for us savin' folks.

5 of 5 stars.

The Artwork There are black and white drawings throughout the text, in the style of sketches which spark the imagination and give a good idea of the look of the world. The website offers a few full-color graphics as well which depict scenery. While nice-looking, they didn't strike that as that powerful. I'd rather take the b/w sketches for the final book.

5 of 5 stars.

The Text Shaintar obviously has a rich and detailed background. There are quite a few hints and clues at a much larger world that couldn't be fit in into one mere book. I'll get back to that later. The flavor text at the start of the Player's Guide left me kinda disappointed. It's a classic opener in the line of "something terrible's about to happen, luckily there is hope". Which is fine for starting the main story arc, but I'd rather have a typical "everyday-scene" of an adventurer's life at the beginning of the PG.

The PG continues with a brief overview over the world of Shaintar and its history. This gives new players a rough overview who the big players are and what's common knowledge for heroes hailing from the Southern Kingdoms (or where ever the characters come from). The calendar seems a little tedious, but that's just out of personal preference. I'd rather not deal with keeping track of dates in a calendar not everyone is familiar with, but this will be a non-issue at most tables, I'm sure.

One thing is really great: the GM-to-GM notes. With those, Sean describes in straight-to-the-point language the reasons why he did something the way he did (including dwarves, for example). He also offers advice on how to run Shaintar, what to emphasize, what to de-emphasize. All-in-all a very interesting and helpful view on the creating of Shaintar.

One last thing: When it comes to the rules, the language is plain and to the point. You won't read that this skill has "no particular use and should thus not be taken", you'll read: Don't bother to put points into this. It's like a GM offering advice to new players on his table.

3 of 5 stars.

The Rules Here's the crunch of Shaintar, the real juicy bites for the number-crunchers. It starts off with the Races. Shaintar offers 11 races, some of them quite generic for fantasy, some unique. Each race offers a short description (including bits on culture and the like) before assignid racial abilities. At first glance, the races might seem unbalanced since they come out better than the equivalent of one free edge (like Humans in general). But fear not, Humans get an additional boost as well, so it balances out nicely. There are various types of Faes (think Elves), Dwarves, Humans, a special kind of Half-Elves, Orcs, Ogres and Goblins. Additionally to these, there are Brinchie (a feline race) and Dregordians, a lizard-like race.

There doesn't seem to be a race who get's shorthanded, although some racial hindrances come "only" through roleplaying into play.

5 of 5 stars for the races.

Skills, Edges & Hindrances Shaintar offers a big list them, but a good portion of that is re-printed material from other sources (like 50 Fathoms) or details minor changes on existing edges on the rulebook. Again, Sean offers insight via the GM-to-GM boxes on the decision process.

There are a total of 28 new Edges (if I didn't miscount). Some of them are more specialised than others but there's no excessive branching of edges (the Kor-In Student, for example, has been trimmed down to three edges).

Some of these Edges are difficult to judge without knowing the full world, but I'll give this section:

5 of 5 stars.

The Gear This section offers a slightly different way to handle armor (basically, it introduces a Called Shot penalty per Armor for hits aimed for unarmed body parts) and replaces the gear list from the main rulebook completely for Shaintar.

No thrills, but no complains either.

5 of 5 stars.

Magic in Shaintar Shaintar uses quite a few powers published in Evernight or 50 Fathoms, but re-prints them here for easy reference. There are about two dozen new powers and I'm not sure that you need that many. Reading the descriptions I though that the one or the other could have been done with existing powers and trappings, but that would be nitpicking. There are 6 Arcane Backgrounds in Shaintar, 5 of them available for player characters, including Psionics. The ABs are re-named for better fitting into the world. In my opinion, that wasn't necessary, but it's no harm either.

4 of 5 stars

What else? The PG closes with a tour of the world offering an overall map for the world, then "zooming in" for short descriptions of nations, islands and the like. Gives a good overview for the players without getting lost in minute details.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The GM to GM comments offer valuable insight into how this setting came to pass and what the author's thoughts are on some issues.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The introductory story.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Shaintar: Immortal Legends Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for taking the time to write such an in-depth review! We really appreciate your feedback, and providing this kind of detail helps us really know where our strengths and weaknesses are. So, again, thank you. We have included a lightweight version of the PDF for those trying to save ink. If for some reason your download didn't inclue it, please let me know and I'll be happy to get you the updated versions. It's wonderful to hear that the GM-to-GM sections are working as well for others as we hoped, as well. Finally, including fiction to help present a "day in the life" is a great suggestion! It's certainly one we'll work on incorporating in the future both for Shaintar and other projects. Thanks again, Markus!
Celts Set
Publisher: Arion Games
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2006 00:00:00

Great-looking set for Barbarian Warriors, no matter if playing fantasy or medieval roleplaying or wargame settings!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Celts Set
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Rippers Figure Flats
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2006 00:00:00

Good set for use with Rippers (obviously), I would've liked a few more heroes and would've prefered more original graphics instead of figures from Deadlands and 50 Fathoms.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Overall quality of graphics.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Re-use of previously published figures.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Rippers Figure Flats
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Tour of Darkness Player's Guide
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2005 00:00:00

Simply one of the best Player Guides for one of the best RPG settings I ever read.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Tour of Darkness Player's Guide
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Savage Tales #8: Smuggler's Cove
Publisher: Pinnacle Entertainment
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2005 00:00:00

A very nice adventure and something completely different than the usual stuff I tried. Great story for kids and those who haven't forgotten the innocent child in them!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Savage Tales #8: Smuggler's Cove
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Metacreator & Savage Worlds
Publisher: AlterEgo Software
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2005 00:00:00

This nifty little program has a high learning curve - at least if you want to incorporate your own stuff into it. Since I don't have the time, I haven't used it much, although I don't regret the purchase.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Metacreator & Savage Worlds
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
Publisher: Dog House Rules
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2005 00:00:00

A nice and detailed product for those running Wild (or Weird) West adventures. The adventure hooks are ok, but it's the detail that went into the locales and the maps that make this book absolutely useful!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 1
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 2
Publisher: Dog House Rules
by Markus F. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/28/2005 00:00:00

A nice and detailed product for those running Wild (or Weird) West adventures. The adventure hooks are ok, but it's the detail that went into the locales and the maps that make this book absolutely useful!<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Frontier Towns: Fort Griffin, Volume 2
Click to show product description

Add to RPGNow.com Order

Displaying 1 to 11 (of 11 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG