Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Patrick E. Pullen » 40 Maps for Your Games » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
Town Map: Walled Town
Publisher: Raging Swan Press
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/09/2018 23:07:34

I've bought a number of maps from Raging Swan. This is the first I've been disappointed with.

Firstly, it's not hand drawn, it's clearly computer generated. Maybe it was hand drawn with a computer program? But it's not the nice pencil drawings like their other maps. It's also a bit pixellated, I guess because the resolution is relatively low (1275 x 825) and it only comes as a jpg. Previous maps I've bought from them had a tiff version of 1800-2000 or so pixels.

Secondly, while the tagged version is indeed actually tagged with numbers (unlike some maps I've bought from them), it also has a giant "Wolfsbane Hollow" on the map, making it impossible to use for a town that isn't also named that. It's pretty easy to add numbers to a map, but it's hard to remove a giant name.

edit: While still very computer generated looking, at least there is now a version without the name on it, so am bumping up my score.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Town Map: Walled Town
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
I\'m sorry this map didn\'t work out for you, Jeremy. I\'d be happy to offer you a refund or another map in exchange for this map. You can contact me at gatekeeper [at] raging swan [dot] com. Thanks very much for your previous support!
JH Illos Fantasy Stock Art Pack 3
Publisher: Jeremy Hart
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/28/2018 02:38:37

Lots and lots of excellent artwork here. Some are just variations and his art style reminds me a lot of the Silent Hill games, probably not for traditional fantasy, but good for dark or weird fantasy.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
JH Illos Fantasy Stock Art Pack 3
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Art Resource: NPC Portraits, Vol. 1
Publisher: Above Average Creations
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/20/2018 00:29:29

Basically this looks like someone took colored pencils and drew over bad 3d models that hit the "uncanny valley", that don't look real yet look too real to be art. It's an improvement over the bad 3d models, but they still fall into the uncanny valley much of the time.

Still, it's cheap and you get a lot of them. Good for synthetic people portraits.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Art Resource: NPC Portraits, Vol. 1
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

JH Illos Fantasy Stock Art Pack 1
Publisher: Jeremy Hart
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/18/2018 02:24:50

I've bought a number of Mr. Hart's single pieces over the last couple years because he tends to cover "weird" subjects (most of which my modules are), weird in the old sense (as in Weird Tales), strange alien beasts, demons, creepy landscapes, etc, as opposed to more traditional fantasy or modern interpretations pf ,pmsters.

This has a lot of duplications, many of which are seemingly just color shifted, but you still get a ton of very high quality art. It's worth it for the 3 different types of the Hounds of Tindalos, the picture of the "Creepy Tentacle Monster", some of the demons and the odd landscapes. This is really a steal, even.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
JH Illos Fantasy Stock Art Pack 1
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thanks for the kind words Jeremy. Yeah, there are a lot of different filter combos and color shifts in these older pieces. I was selling them individually, but it was causing my storefront to get cluttered and only a few of the experiment/iterations were selling anyway. Now I'm including any iterations of an image with others of the same series and increasing the price marginally with each new image. Please, keep an eye out for my third fantasy stock art pack as I continue to consolidate my older work. If all goes as planned, it should be done this weekend.
Medieval Female Art 1
Publisher: Aegis Studios
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/11/2018 18:02:29

Strictly speaking, more fantasy than real life medievel, these are all very nice female portaits at fairly high resolution. Except for the use of shading, reminds me a lot of Patrick Nagel



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Medieval Female Art 1
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you very much for your kind review!
40 Maps for Your Games
Publisher: Patrick E. Pullen
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/04/2018 23:59:24

Very nice, old school (mostly) maps of short dungeons. While all are in a pdf, they copy and paste from it fine and are at a decent resolution, usually 1000 something x 1000 something.

The downside is they don't have numbers on them and the stock art license doesn't mention whether you can modify the maps or not so as to add them (or erase the map names, for that matter).



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
40 Maps for Your Games
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you for your review! Yes, you can modify the maps as you see fit. That is the main reason I did not include numbers. I will add that to the license agreement.
Stock Art: Female Elven Ranger
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/23/2017 00:37:49

It's always a bit hard to review a pciture, since afterall you can see it. But still, this is perhaps the best work I've been by Brian Brinlee, which is saying something since he's a very good artist and my favorite from Purple Duck. It's just a really great picture and the full color version is amazingly high res, something like 5000 x 6500.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Female Elven Ranger
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

The Inadvertent Wizard
Publisher: CoachK
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/18/2017 01:25:59

Short but very charming adventure with one of the most well developed villains I've come across. So much so that you hate to have your players kill him.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Inadvertent Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
wow thank you so much for taking time to comment and for the 5-star rating! I wrote this to be run in 1 session - about 3-4 hours so it could be used at gaming conventions. So glad you like the villain! He is quite a character lol. Good gaming and good luck!
Character - Elf Rogue - RPG Stock Art
Publisher: Dean Spencer Art
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2017 02:27:05

The image is great and it's delivered in a .png not a jpg or even PDF as some stock art providers do. About the only downside about the image itself is that she only seems to have two toes on her feet, large ones at that. While it's only noticeable when you zoom in, it's kinda weird looking.

The catch is the license which is rather restrictive, You can use the image once. While that might okay for larger publishers, for a lot of small publishers and hobbyists like me (which are basically the people buying stock art and not commisioning original artwork), you're likely not going to be making the cost of stock art back from just one product

Realistically it's my fault for not reading the publisher preview, but at the same time, I'm not sure why this was hidden in the preview and not written on the product page itself. In fact, it would be really nice if OBS categorized stock art (or art in general) to let the buyer know details of the license as easily as the game system for RPG products.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Character - Elf Rogue - RPG Stock Art
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Jeremy, Thank you for your review, just to let you know that she is wearing a pair of traditional split toed tabi boots, ideal for rogues. I do often have sales on my stock art and also run a Patreon page where my patrons benefit from vastly reduced prices on all my stock art, hopefully they may be of help with your cost issues on projects. The licensing terms I use are purposefully put in the preview so that they easily accessible before purchase, it would take up too much space on the product page itself. Regards Dean
Stock Art: Blackmon Agitator
Publisher: Rogue Genius Games
by Jeremy R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/04/2017 20:25:33

Besides the cover picture, you get a black & white version and line art versions that are a complete figure, not how she's stepping through a portal on the cover color shot.

OTOH, like all their stock art products (or at least the ones I've bought), it comes in a PDF, not individual image files. And copy and pasting from the PDF creates some artifacts, so I've had to resort to taking a screenshot of the PDF and use that, which unfortunatel drops the resolution a lot.

Still, nice picture.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Blackmon Agitator
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Stock Art: Female Gunslinger
Publisher: Purple Duck Games
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/11/2017 21:37:03

Great picture. There are surprisingly few stock art pieces of normal looking, normally dressed people with guns

THough one quibble, she is presumably right handed (as she's holding the rifle in her right hand) but the pistol is slung for use with the left hand



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Stock Art: Female Gunslinger
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Patricia Smith Presents: Barbarian Anna
Publisher: Misfit Studios
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2016 05:08:57

With all the flood of bad computer art on this site, it's nice to see something this high quality, almost comparable to Franzetta, at a relatively reasonable price



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Patricia Smith Presents: Barbarian Anna
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

0one's Blueprints PRO: Ten Small Dungeons
Publisher: 0one Games
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/03/2016 05:00:40

Firstly, bear in mind, these maps are meant to be old school style maps, from the heyday of TSR, they are not meant to be modern, color, full of unreadable and blurry textures style maps found in most modern adventures.

As such, they are quite nicely done, very high resolution and very crisp. Most of them make prefectly well designed and viable small dungeons, with the possible exception of the catacombs, which is only a few rooms (mostly just niches for bodies)

My only real complaint is that they aren't too easy to work with, being presented only as layered TIFFs. Apparently (from my googling) you need Photoshop to be able to manipulate the layers and turn on and off all the various features mentioned. At least, I couldn't get it to work in GIMP. At the very least, I would have liked unkeyed versions as separate files, since in some cases, I would like to re-number them (and not having photo shop to turn off the layer, I'll have to manually erase all the numbers).

WIth that said, you are still left with standard old school style dungeon maps, fully keyed and with the usual square grid.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
0one's Blueprints PRO: Ten Small Dungeons
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

BF1 Tower of Skulls (SnW)
Publisher: Cut to the Chase Games
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/24/2016 04:27:08

This is a pretty good dungeon crawl, with a lot of rooms (a little more than 50) most of which are quite detailed. Combat, traps, exploration, riddles, good mix. But it suffers from being a somewhat poor conversion from 5e or Pathfinder, I guess.

Firstly, some of the monsters are not described. You just get stat blocks at the end, no details about what they look like or what they are. Most notably, what the heck is a Gwiddon?

Secondly, old school games rely on treasure for character advancement. There is almost no treasure in the module. A fair amount of weak magic items, a couple of gems and pieces of jewelry (dog collars) and no monetary treasure.

Lastly, supposedly the module takes place in a single night, but has over 20 combat enounters. The module gives places where characters may take a "short rest", which I guess ia a 5e thing. Most old school games don't have that, healing can take a while, even with magic.

None of these are major issues (except the lack of monster descriptions) but they detract from an otherwise excellent dungeon (well, tower)



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
BF1 Tower of Skulls (SnW)
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much for the review! I\'m glad you liked it. And you do bring up some very valid points, so I went ahead and shuffled the monster stats around so that the new monsters have descriptions of what they look like a bit of background to them. I also updated the language in a few places to remove long rest - the Rooms of Respite are still viable for regaining spells after resting for some hours in Swords & Wizardry, depending on your game rules obviously! I\'m posting up the updated version here in a moment. Thank you again!
The Sinister Stone of Sakkara
Publisher: Autarch
by Jeremy Z. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/19/2015 05:42:42

Very well done homage to Keep on the Borderlands, this time in a pseudo-Roman empire keep in an Ancient Egyptian/Mesopotamian culture that they have conquered.

Very high production values (other than some use of very common stock art) with a lot of original art, including some color pieces. The keep is meticulously detailed.

The adventure is very much like Keep on the Borderlands, with a dungeon complex ruled by different factions, but the map is very much historical looking, like a real temple.

On the down side, most the dungeon is full of bog standard D&D monsters (the regular humanoids) with only a few new monsters. But as it's an homage to Keep on the Borderlands, this isn't necessarily a bad thing.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
The Sinister Stone of Sakkara
Click to show product description

Add to Little Wars Order

Displaying 1 to 15 (of 30 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG