Little Wars
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Aurican's Lair » GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game » Reviews
Narrow Results













Back
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game $0.00
Average Rating:4.5 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
10 7
2 0
1 1
2 0
0 0
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Click to view
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by John W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 12/05/2018 22:20:33

For a stripped-down, simple, easy to run RPG this is fantastic. If you're looking for something quick and rules-light, something to introduce people to RPGs with, I can't recommend Gateway enough.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by J. B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/19/2018 04:31:46

Gateway is a really great introduction to 5e and rules-lite variant of the system. It places the 5e idea of Advantage/Disadvantage as the core-mechanic over actual numbers, which is imho the best part of the 5e system. More/less d20 rolls are basically what most players, new and old alike, look to make. This definitely falls under the heading of a more RP-focused game, which is more of what I'm a fan of, in the same vein of say Traveller as opposed to GURPS. This is literally a perfect 'gateway' game for introducing people to gaming, and especially 5e.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Glad you liked it J.B! Thanks for the kind words! Happy gaming!
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by Libedrator E. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2017 09:04:14

Pretty good system, with easy to introduce rule-base to new players. When you download it you will notice that they put extra effort in making this product a reality. I would recommend it to everyone. You will want to donate when you understand the quality it contains .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Glad you enjoyed it! Very kind words. As apart of my code, this was always meant to be a free system, so I don't even accept donations for it. All I would ask is that people spread the word and share their experiences or stories of how it worked out for them. :-D Cheers!
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by Jonathan H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 10/22/2017 13:56:11

As I get older I find myself having less and less time to design, prep, and sometimes even run roleplaying games. As a result, I try to find games that are quick and easy to run, so that I can concentrate on what I think is important (such as the story and the unfolding plot) and less on the mechanics and statistics.

Unless it's a game system that me and my group knows well I don't usually delve into my thick, comprehensive rulebooks that much these days. I have my favoured systems to introduce new players to the hobby, and these are pretty generic, but every now and then there's a group who wants to experience the system that dominates the RPG market; the D20 system. Or, to be specific, the D&D game.

Usually I'd use the starter pack, but for those quick and easy games I've found a new and even easier system, one that emulates the D20 game and addresses some of it's key features, and yet is so stripped back that it takes no effort to set a game up.

GATEWAY is an introductory game that takes the standard D20 stats and make them the key focus of the game. At 16 pages it covers everything you'll need to run a game, and not just in the fantasy genre. It's a really good little system. What stops it from being great is that it's lacking a lot of polish and some focus, and I feel a re-write and restructuring of the layout would help immensley.

It works like this; a character has the standard D20 system abilities - Strength, Dexterity, Constitution, Intelligence, Wisdom and Charisma. Instead of being given scores, each is given one of three types of roll; Proficiency, Deficiency or Normal. Each ability is also given a selection of skills.

When called upon to make a roll, the player rolls D20s; if they have a Proficiency in the ability, they roll two D20s and keep the higher result, very much like the D&D 5th Edition advantage roll. If they have a Deficiency, they roll two D20 and use the lower result. A Normal ability is a straightforward D20 roll. The target number is determined by the GM, from 2 to 5 for really easy, up to 20 for impossible.

And that's it in a nutshell. There are small tables for working out Armour Class and Hit Points, but in general that is the entire game, and as it's simple to print off you can have a small sixteen page document, or you can download it as an app and keep it on your phone or tablet. In fact, with a form fillable sheet and a dice rolling app there's no need for any pencils or paper, and interested parties can download the rules and be ready to go in a very short period of time. And the greatest thing of all? It's free.

Now, I really like it. I like the idea of numberless abilities and using the proficiency angle as it just gives a dice roll and that's it, and even though you won't get an incredibly well-rounded character you will get a playable PC you can use for a few sessions. I like the simplicity of the rules and the idea that you can use it for anything, although I do feel it's more angled to fantasy games than any other genre, and I like the freeform feel of it all. It's a nice little system.

But what lets it down is the presentation, both in the free downloadable rules from the Aurican's Lair website and in the app itself. The rules are badly laid out in a very basic format, with some errors in the text, and the rules are spaced out in different areas which lends a little confusion, such as explaining how to roll against target numbers and then not having the target numbers explained until well into the rules section. There's also a lot of GM advice, but this is supposed to be a gateway into tabletop gaming so without a proper explanation of what tabletop RPGs are about these are somewhat superfluous. If the system is for existing GMs to use to introduce new gamers to the hobby, then this section is pretty pointless.

There's also a lot of attention on the saving throws covering incidents from being blinded to being unconcious, and this seems like a lot of wasted effort and betrays the focus of the game - to be simple and easy - and complicates things somewhat.

With some polish, some better imagery and layout, with a huge edit and much more focus on what and who the game is aimed at, GATEWAY could be an excellent introductory game, and may even be used for longer campaigns for experienced groups who just want to dive in and out of a game. It is a great little system, and it's one I have no problem in using on gamers who want to experience D&D or roleplaying in general for the first time, but the general presentation lacks finesse and may put some people off, and that's a shame because the core idea here is really quite good.

Recommended.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
Creator Reply:
Thanks for the great review! Highly detailed! :-)
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2017 03:05:02

This is simply a beautiful rules lite version of 5E.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by Justin H. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/03/2017 06:46:07

This rule system is a real gem. The very nature of its simplicity makes it extremely easy to introduce new players to the world of roleplay without requiring them to have read the rules ahead of time. I love freedomit gives both players and DMs. Its very nature leads to a very descriptive and vivid game. I will say, if you're the type to get hung up on rule, this is not for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by Dom B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/26/2017 18:17:41

This is a great game, for beginning players and is especially fun for one-shots. The less constrained nature of the game lends a very cinematic feel to action and interaction - things flow smoothly and happen faster.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
GATEWAY - The d20 Tabletop Roleplaying Game
Publisher: Aurican's Lair
by Jeff C. S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/25/2017 19:30:20

This system would be a great and easy way to introduce non-gamers to the world of RPGs. Also, an easy way to start children playing the game. The rules are simple enough for anyone to pick up. The creator did a good job creating this 'Gateway' system to RPGs.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG