Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » WMB Saltworks » 108 Bear-Themed Monsters (or Friends) » Reviews
Browse Categories
 Publisher













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
108 Bear-Themed Monsters (or Friends)
Publisher: WMB Saltworks
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/16/2019 15:58:20

This is Awesome and I might run Night of 1,000 Bears just to wedge some of these in. My rating is actually something like a 4.7, since there are a few typos etc., but you get what you pay for and this is already more than worth it. You can find stupid bears for comedy campaigns, actually-horrific-if-you-think-about-it bears for horror campaigns, a ready-made bear cult, stealth bears, battle bears, non-bears, drop bears...all the bears you could want on a random table and some you never knew you needed.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
108 Bear-Themed Monsters (or Friends)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you so much! May I ask what your favorite bear is?
50 Ghostly Encounters
Publisher: Pink Dice Bag Publishing
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2019 15:52:39

Nothing strikingly original, but a couple of nice creepy ones in there and the odd mundane thing that could be linked more subtly to ghostly activity. A good inspiration-sparker.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
50 Ghostly Encounters
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Dread of Night [BUNDLE]
Publisher: The Impossible Dream
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2019 15:26:02

The systems are both very good for quick and easy horror gaming. However. There's nothing in the Dread PDF that expands on the free content unless you're very new to TTRPGs and/or horror - if you like the game (and I do, it decidedly deserves its awards), you waste less time to simply donate what you like on the website. Dead of Night has a ruleset that, whilst sleek and on-point, needs playing to be properly grasped. Its technical writing is also disappointing, with the "this book contains content that may offend some readers" disclaimer used as an "I'm not racist but-" rather than a genuine warning on potentially painful topics seriously discussed ahead. I was expecting something like slasher examples with bikini babes and dead women everywhere, y'know, B-movie stuff people'd copy as parody, not things like "Asian horror, also known as J-horror..." (for the geographically-challenged, imagine attributing the entire genre-focused output of Ireland and the rest of Europe to England) and gendered assumptions about the player group throughout.

Decent systems, purchase regretted.



Rating:
[2 of 5 Stars!]
Dread of Night [BUNDLE]
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Convicts & Cthulhu
Publisher: Cthulhu Reborn
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/02/2019 14:56:59

In addition to literally everything you need to play a Coc game in Colonial Australia bar the dice, this book provides excellent, historically-based story seeds in as well as an introductory adventure. The horrors of simply staying alive as a convict or native in the early penal colonies are neither sensationalised nor toned-down, there's no unecessary gendered language in the rules, and the sweet historical accuracy comes with rules for getting drunk on your rum ration, other people's rum ration, bathtub rum, smuggled rum etc.

If it lacks anything, it's guidelines on how to stat a kangaroo, because your players will interact with the wildlife in the least-informed fashion possible.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Convicts & Cthulhu
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Alex, Thanks for your wonderful review of Convicts & Cthulhu. In the 3+ years since we released Convicts & Cthulhu we've been contacted (and met) many gamers who have really enjoyed the level of historical-accuracy and research that we put into the writing of this setting. Seems like you are of a similar mind, which is great to hear. BTW we put the same amount of rigorous research into our PDF supplements for C&C, all of which are available here on DTRPG also (I think we may be one of the few game publishers to ever cite academic papers and history PhD theses in our bibliographies :)) On the subject of a lack of kangaroo (and other Australian fauna) stats ... hmm, yes that is definitely something that's missing from both Convicts & Cthulhu *and* Chaosium's sourcebook on Australia. There were some CoC 7e stats written for such things in early drafts of the latter book; contact me directly via email (dean [at] cthulhureborn.com) if your players take your C&C game places where they would be important.
DEADLANDS: The Devil's Six Gun
Publisher: Visionary Comics
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/20/2015 13:54:34

Wherin an inventor who isn't actually Tesla doesn't make a death ray...but does make one hell of a gun.

I really liked this one, and if only some ambiguity could have been added to the ending I'd have liked it even more. As it stands, the antagonist's motives are muddy and the threat of madness induced through the arcane sciences or Ghost Rock Fever is sadly undercut. The conversation at the end still rocks, though.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLANDS: The Devil's Six Gun
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DEADLANDS: Death Was Silent
Publisher: Visionary Comics
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2015 15:00:33

If you like to watch a fella raise hell, Hoyt Cooper sure gets his body count.

That's about as far as this story goes; I'd recommend this to someone who hasn't heard of or isn't familiar with the Deadlands setting, to whom said not-exactly human bodies and the ease with which a Heroic-level character can level NPCs might be novel. Gettng into potential spoiler territory, perhaps the antagonists should have been introduced at a time when they were an active threat to more than a well-equipped bounty hunter, since mowing the slow, largely unarmed foes down in passive minding-our-own-buisness-pretending-to-be-human season makes the gunslinger look more like a bully than a hero.

Alas, the interesting conceit of a mute protagonist is turned into a gimmick as the hinderance is literally removed by magic, but the art deserves celebration - Hoyt couldn't be described as generic or even good-looking from a country mile. There's no trace of sameface or Hollywood-style prettification amongst the spear-carriers, either (even if everyone's Spagetti-Western white), which lends a neat bit of atmosphere and grit to the tale.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLANDS: Death Was Silent
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

DEADLANDS: Black Water
Publisher: Visionary Comics
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2015 03:13:27

A tale of supernaturally-induced madness without a twist.

Curiously, the bodyguard who acts as viewpoint/protagonist seems more driven than the deviously enchanted (infatuated?) fellow he's employed by. I was entertained by the secondary characters getting killed off in their various ways, and this is the only one of the three Deadlands comics I picked up where there was a /woman/ who a) wasn't a whore and b) didn't die horribly! hi-fives old fortune-teller crone You go, ma'am!

Get it for the Maze dragons and the guide's hilariously habituated attitude to having to step round nasties, sorcerers, sea serpents etc.



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
DEADLANDS: Black Water
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Isolation (8 of 16 in UNFASHIONED CREATURES, A Frankenstein Anthology)
Publisher: Red Stylo Media
by Alex W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2015 02:45:11

This little story would be a quietly thought-provoking short on its own, but in the context of a Frankenstein-themed anthology the thing really shines. The tale of a man who went far further than others would follow, and paid the price. The rough-edged but vibrant art that slowly fades into darkness is absoloutely appropriate and highly atmospheric.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Isolation (8 of 16 in UNFASHIONED CREATURES, A Frankenstein Anthology)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG