Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Secret Societies of NeoExodus: Section Omega (PFRPG)
    Publisher: LPJ Design
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/26/2020 23:26:25

    This is my mini-review of Section Omega.

    As a fan of psionics, I loved that there was a psionic society in the NeoExodus setting. Section Omega is basically the Psi-Corps of NeoExodus. Psionic characters have a choice: join Section Omega, have your psionic powers removed, or die. They're reminiscent of the Wizards of High Sorcery in Dragonlance.

    There's a lot of setting info here. Section Omega is entrenched in the history of NeoExodus. There are sections on the history, current status, HQ, and methods of the organization are all addressed, as well as other topics.

    Plus a fair amount of crunch, all compatible with the psionics rules from Dreamscarred Press.

    As for downsides, there are a few editing errors, including an incomplete sentence and some grammar mistakes. u

    Overall, good product. I'd like to rate it higher, but the editing errors prohibit that.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Secret Societies of NeoExodus: Section Omega (PFRPG)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Deities of the Holidays - Farfergis
    Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/05/2019 00:51:35

    It's a shame that this product has so many typos. A simple spelling and grammar check would have caught them.

    I didn't look at the monster too closely, but it has more hit points than a tarrasque.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Deities of the Holidays - Farfergis
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Good catch on the minor spelling mistakes. As a free product with a solo designer on it sometimes those slip through the cracks, but the product has been updated now. Once you've had a chance to look at the stats of the monster product please let us know what you think! The daunting task of possibly fighting a minor god should be scarier than a tarrasque so it sounds like we are right on target.
    Curtain Call: A Sharn Adventure
    Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/08/2019 01:23:59

    All in all, a fantastic adventure! It's very DM-friendly. Runs surprisingly well for someone who wasn't prepared (which would be me ;) ).

    There were a lot of fun twists and turns. The characters were all great, and the bad guy was quite unique.

    I thought the book could have had better transitions between scenes.

    Overall, I loved this one and had a blast running it.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Curtain Call: A Sharn Adventure
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    100 Names for Horses
    Publisher: Pink Dice Bag Publishing
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/23/2019 23:24:15

    I love having horses in my games, largely due to being raised on a horse farm.

    I do think a little extra work on formatting the table would help the readability. Some art would be good too. I would have liked to see a horse with a silly grin on its face, or just a nice picture of horses.

    Anyway, good job on this. It's nice and simple, yet wholly useful.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    100 Names for Horses
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Atlas of the Dragonlance World (1e)
    Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/22/2018 21:39:53

    Karen Wynn Fonstad is an amazing cartographer, and her work shines in this atlas. It's a must-have for any fan of the Dragonlance Chronicles and Legends trilogies.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Atlas of the Dragonlance World (1e)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Bard - College of Hymns
    Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/25/2016 23:40:17

    While the idea of a divine bard is enticing, this particular rendition felt a little lacking. One of the comments said it lacked a little in inspiration, and I have to agree with this.

    In essence, this version gives you some bonus proficiencies (Religion skill, a few cleric cantrips), boost an ally's channel divinity, a healing hymn, and a few cleric spells. It's almost like the whole class is there to boost other classes, yet doesn't retain an identity of its own. In essence, this is a bard with a little cleric mixed in.

    I was happy to see an evil variant, but I'm not sure taking from the warlock is the right way to go.

    What I was hoping to see was a subclass that stood more on its own (such as the recent College of Satire). If I could make a suggestion to the author, I would recommend reading War of the Lance, a Dragonlance 3.5 sourcebook by Margaret Weis Productions. Inside is the chorister prestige class, which delves into the concept of spiritual music. It provides a few bard options in an era where the bard class isn't normally available, but goes a lot further to make certain it stands on its own.

    Likewise, you could look at the Goodfellow of Branchala prestige class from Holy Orders of the Stars, though to be fair, the College of Satire covers much of the same territory.

    Anyway, I hope you take this as constructive criticism and I hope you give this idea another shot. Divine bards are all sorts of cool. They just need to have their own separate identity.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Bard - College of Hymns
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Crystalmancy: The Powers of Gems
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/08/2004 00:00:00

    Crystalmancy is a 57-page PDF product from EN World Publishing, and is the first book by Dallas Parsons. I have to say, if this book is his first, I can?t wait to see what is forthcoming.

    Crystalmancy is, simply put, a sourcebook on crystal magic. Overall, I thought this book was great. It was simple, to the point, and refreshing. One of the big selling points is that the zip file includes both a color and a black-and-white copy, just in case you don?t have access to a color printer. Just a note to those who print this out ? be sure to print as ?landscape?, rather than ?portrait?. At first, it looks a bit odd in a 3-ring binder, but I think that adds to the charm.

    Chapter One is about the Crystalmancer, a new base class modeled after the Player?s Handbook wizard. Scribe Scroll is replaced with a Spellcrystal ability, and the bonus feats are replaced by various Crystal Mastery abilities. What unbalances this class, though, is that it adds several trinkets at every even level, some of which are near equivalents of metamagic feats.

    Don?t want to add a new base class to your campaign? No problem! One can always use the variant Crystalmancer prestige class instead. This is, unfortunately, the only prestige class in the book. I would have liked to see more. Perhaps something akin to the Crystal Proselyte in Malhavoc?s Mindscapes.

    This chapter ends with two new feats (Craft Spellcrystal and Create Crystal Familiar), and a Knowledge (Gemology) skill, as well as a sidebar on spellcrystals. This section could have been better labeled, and would benefit from some touch-up layout work. It isn?t clearly labeled otherwise.

    Chapter Two is Magic of the Gems, a guide to all sorts of new spells. What I like about this chapter is that it not only has a sorcerer/wizard/crystalmancer spell list, it also has one for bards, clerics, and druids as well. In other words, one can be nearly any spellcasting class (save for paladin and ranger) and be able to use crystalmancy spells. There?s tons of great spells in this chapter, including a particular nasty called Crystallize Blood. That one sends shivers up my spine.

    Chapter Three is Crystal Items. This provides an assortment of magical weapons, armor, and other items, including some artifacts as well.

    Chapter Four is Locations and Personalities. This chapter includes the Plane of Crystal, a place similar to our world, but made of crystal. There?s a map, as well as various places of interest. Meet Tresmril, Lord of the Crystal Realm while you?re there. Plus, there?s some adventure hooks. There?s also a group of Crystal Keepers, various Crystal Lords, and even a nifty language called Crystil. The alphabet corresponds to the English alphabet, which makes for a fun tool for game masters to add flavor.

    Chapter Five is Gem Beasts. This has several new monsters, including a Crystal Creature template and sample Crystal Worg. There?s various other monsters, including a gem dragon. One can even play the Berylis as a player character race.

    I found this book to be quite fun and refreshing. It?s hard to find new ways to keep spellcasters fresh, but this book does it well. There?s an underlying thoughtfulness for those who buy this, not only for player options but for the color and black-and-white versions.

    This book could stand a bit of touch-up on layout (and that?s really a nitpick), and could stand to have more prestige classes. It may have been nice as well to delve into the relationship of crystalmancers and psions, especially on how they each use crystal.

    Overall, this book was a great read, and a lot of fun. Most of my criticisms are nitpicks (i.e. layout on the skill-and-feats areas), and the only real area of concern is game balance for the Crystalmancer base class. I would have liked to see more prestige classes, and it may have been nice as well to delve into the relationship of crystalmancers and psions, especially on how they each use crystal. This is not really necessary, though.

    This book was simple, to the point, and covered what it intended to cover (the magic of crystals) quite well. For the price of $5, it was well worth the buy.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Crystalmancy: The Powers of Gems
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Psychic Hero
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Trampas W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/08/2004 00:00:00

    The chart for the Psychic Hero says "Mystic Hero".



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Modern Kyuujinjouhoushi: The Psychic Hero
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Well, I guess if the only flaw one finds is a technical issue like a table header, I guess I must have done everything else right. :)
    Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items