Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    The Gardens Of Ynn $5.00
    Average Rating:4.8 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    88 16
    11 1
    2 0
    2 0
    1 0
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Alasdair S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/15/2021 12:36:37

    This is a fantastic piece of work - really imaginative and evocative, with a clear sense of what it's getting at running throughout, which sparks off all sorts of ideas just from reading it. You could use it as is, or steal parts to use elsewhere, or read it as inspiration. Very much recommended for anyone running a TTRPG.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Dan F. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/28/2020 00:41:28

    This is hands down the best RPG purchase I've ever made. Buy it. It's a goldmine of idea fuel and a fantastic way to run a region that builds itself as you play.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Cosmo C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/27/2020 18:02:04

    Fantastic! Just Fantastic. Simply laid out, intredibly interesting, unique, good mechanics to progress through. This is very worth the price of admission.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Laura A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/07/2019 18:40:28

    Ynn is a delight, it is very well thought out and my players are loving it! It is incredibly weird and wonderful and if you are looking for something to change t hings up or just inspirations. I was nervous about it being randomly generated but it is interesting how that actully creates interesting moments.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Josh D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/19/2019 18:20:48

    I bought the POD copy (dont like PDFs) and am exceptionally happy with the content. The thing i liked the most about it was that it seems nearly plug and play into any campaign you're running. Is there a local alchemist in this town? They could know about the garden and once they trust the Characters... BAM - instant adventure.

    I dont think I'd be smart enough to use this book and generate the gardens at the table, I'd be more likely to generate 5 to 10 pre-session, put them on an A4 sheet each then randomly select one when they go deeper.

    I need to read it again, because I was not 100% sure how the "go deeper" mechanic worked narratively- are there meant to be hedge tunnels leading away on the sides/back of each garden that the players can just dash to? Either way though, it was a great read i consumed over 2 nights and want to include in my next game.

    A few typos let the presentation down, but the content and tables were so good that I highly recommend this book to anyone that wants a few session adventure in an extra-dimensional garden. 9/10 so good.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Michael J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/16/2019 12:12:31

    Normally I would give it a five. But I bought the printed copy, without reading the pgf. While I did love the information, and the pictures were nice, the print is way too small. I had to use my magnifying glass to read it. Surely for the price they could have added a few more pages, or increased the dimentions of the book so it had a more reasonable tyoe size.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/03/2019 16:03:33

    I love OSR. It's not exactly what I thought going in, because it's a not a map or a dungeon crawler exactly. You might say it's just a random dungeon generator, and you'll be write. But it's very well written.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Joseph R. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/06/2019 23:04:25

    Well written and refreshing setting. I tried adding this to my current game and had so much fun with the options and it inspired a good night of adventures that could extend for a LONG time! Highly recommended for any setting or campaign that could use a somewhat lighter touch now and again.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by todd p. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/12/2019 22:04:11

    extraordinarily well written. an amazing adventure. many people have been able to utilize language in a much better way than me to convey just how great this is, so instead of like, throwing words at a weed wacker for 45 min i'll just kind of like ahh, prematurely end here. but it truly... truly.. is amazing.

    my only complaint, and i hate to nitpick, but, the cover is pixelated, it's as if there was a slight mismatch between the digital cover resolution and the printer (the printer can clearly print a higher resolution, as the ISBN/barcode font is perfect). i think somehow this might be fixable. the book is so amazing i seriously feel horrible complaining about it and i think i'm breaking out in hives right now as a result. if the author wrote this entire book out on a stack of paper towels and then mailed it to me, i would still give it 5 stars.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by William D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/15/2018 01:34:25

    This adventure is fantastic. It absolutley drips with atmosphere and a coherent theme while maintaining an ease of use that's inviting to veteran players and newbies alike. The simplicity of use and the efficiency in which they are presented are showcased throughout. There is no wasted space or pretense while ideas are conveyed in a clear and concise manner. Take note, this should be the standard for writing adventures



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Carter R. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/16/2018 17:07:19

    Very imaginative and inspiring. This abandoned garden is surreal and haunting. Great stuff for an exploration adventure.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Luke C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/04/2018 07:03:43

    Value for money from this is amazing! Even if you were to just lift the tables and monsters you'd be getting a great deal; the whole product is creative and evocotive.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Dylan A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/15/2018 20:53:21

    Gardens of Ynn isn't so much an adventure as a bizarrely semi-infinite dungeon. Locations and features that are rearranged and recombined every time, a small horde of monsters and some great treasure and tricks all come together to create a lot more playable content than it seems at first glance.

    Everything is done with tables, which I thoroughly love. It goes like this: when the PCs enter the gardens, you roll for the starting location on a table of rooms. As they explore, rolling on the table generates new rooms on the fly. You don't know what will come up next, and every visit to the gardens is different. There are 35 rooms, plus another table of 35 details, which includes things like 'rumbling,' 'hypnotic,' 'smouldering,' or 'predatory'. This changes the lay of the land on every delve, and adds to the replayability of the gardens.

    Last time you explored the well-maintained orchid houses, but this time it's the INVERTED orchid houses?!

    After these two rolls, you roll for 'events,' which includes random encounters, weather, strange sounds, treasure, and brand-new paths that can take you much deeper into the gardens or provide quick ways backwards.

    Downside: I fear it could be too much dice-rolling in the middle of a dungeon for each new area, and flipping back and forth, and thinking about how to describe what the characters see, since you don't actually know what it'll be until the PCs get there. I can picture this slowing down play unless you pre-roll a few or are quick on your feet. More to come on this when I run it for my players (probably in, like, 2028).

    The monsters are all good and span the range from 'somewhat normal animals' like moss-rats, to wild stuff like the puddings (which are actually puddings and cakes!), and again there are some awesome tables to roll on for some of the monsters, giving them TONS of variety: you could EASILY keep your players on their toes with "what the hell is this monster?" for multiple adventures.

    The best part of the book, which sent me scrambling to open up a blog entry and write this review as soon as I was done reading the pdf, is at the end in Section 5: Useful Tables!

    Horticultural Styles, Unusual Flora, Ynnian Alterations (mutations that make you more like the residents of the gardens), treasure tables which include a whole table of special abilities for the magic weapon you just found, I search the body, I search the flowerbed, Stored Food, and tons more...

    I feel like you could learn a lot about a campaign world by reading its Stored Food table. This one certainly gave me the flavour of the place. All these tables are great and 100% worth the price of the book all by themselves. Every one is jam-packed with just plain COOL ideas.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by Steven W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/04/2018 11:59:21

    The Gardens of Ynn is not a pre-written adventure. It has no plot, no detailed villains, no series of encounters strung together. What it does have is a system for generating an adventurous location, a bestiary of unusual creatures and enough randon charts to create a number of variant experiences.

    The Gardens of Ynn are an otherworldly Alice-in-Wonderland-with-teeth, an area that defies earthly physics and logic in place for a system all its own. And don't think this is some cartoony adventure for kids. There are plenty of things in the gardens that want to kill, eat or dissect you.

    For practical use, I would recommend pre-generating a half dozen or so locations before your players enter. Things are not complicated, but there are enough details to keep track of that you may not want to stop and generate an encounter location during the game.

    A would also recommend coming up with a few plot hooks to move the PCs through the Garden. After a while, wandering while looking for an exit may become a bit frustrating for some, even if monsters and treasures are encountered along the way.

    I could easily see entire campaigns spawned from this book, and I recommend it very highly.

    Steve W Baltimore, Maryland



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Gardens Of Ynn
    Publisher: Dying Stylishly Games
    by William P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/30/2018 19:54:02

    This is a no-brainer at this price. I can't imagine a GM (for nearly any game system) that can take something from this. The random charts are much more evocative than the standard fare I normally see offered. Location result "#32 Vivisection theatre"....wowzers. Events and descriptors for these locales follow and since everything is so tightly bundled in a garden theme-- combining bits Chinese menu style-- actually WORKS here as opposed to the nonsense such things often generate. What's in the ornamental pond? How about tiny parasites, how about a mystic version of champagne, or simply fouled....I can't say enough good things about the number of usable material here.

    Hegde mazes, topiaries, buildings, any and all features you would expect or want are all here.

    And the monsters? This is where I always want to be wowed by originality....how about a turtle with a bonsai tree growing from its back, rusted mechanical bumblebees, or a chart for creating hundreds of chimera-type beasts.

    I can drone on and on but I feel like I'd just be giving away more brilliance for free. Buy this product, support this level of creativity with your dollar, you won't regret it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 17 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items