RPGNow.com
Narrow Results
 Publisher Info













Back
Ironsworn $0.00
Average Rating:5.0 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
30 20
0 0
0 0
0 0
0 0
Ironsworn
Click to view
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Joshua M. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/12/2018 19:12:35

Ironsworn is an amazing product.

The fantastic setting evokes a wide variety of comparisons, but is explicitly designed to allow a player/group to make it their own as part of beginning play. The dice/move mechanics are loads of fun: completely intuitive for anyone who has ever heard of Powered By The Apocalypse, but structured around a unique mechanism called "Momentum," which ebbs and flows based on your character's success. In play with multiple players, Momentum serves to naturally provide the opportunity for spotlight shifting. Character creation is streamlined and easy, with fairly few decisions up front yet an incredible diversity of unique Assets to choose from to customize your character; no "pick a class/playbook" here.

For a GM, not only is the system extremely intuitive, it also (gently) loads a lot of decision and narrative overhead onto the players' moves and the dice themselves, freeing you to make the big-picture decisions and think creatively about challenging your players. Meanwhile, for those without a group to play with for whatever reason, the game works equally well as a GMless co-op or even as a solo game, powered by the best "Oracle" tables I have ever seen. The Oracles also make a great resource for the GM in a guided game.

The actual book itself is beautifully done: logically structured with razor-sharp layout and highly evocative artwork.

Also of note: the creator is highly involved with the community, responsive to feedback, and clearly loves this game as much as any of his customers do. "Labor of love," if anything, seems to undersell it. What's even more impressive is that he has made the PDF donationware; I have been satisfied paying perfectly good money for games that are not this good, and he's giving it away.

No two ways about it: in a short few months, Ironsworn has grown to be among my favorite games in decades of roleplaying. Give it a try, and you will feel the same!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Ronald L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/11/2018 23:53:11

If you're looking for a storytelling game with Apocalypse World-like rules that can be played without a singular GM, Ironsworn is the game for you.

In Ironsworn, not only do you get to create a highly customizable character (via Assets rather than a character class), the group gets to create their own version of the Ironlands by selecting choices amongst ten categories.

An Ironsworn's goals are what push the campaign forward and the results of the dice rolls (full success, partial success, or paying the price) and the interpretive power of the Oracle rules are what push the game forward. I've literally gotten multiple groups together, created the world and characters from scratch, and have ran multiple games with zero prep with great results. Even the session that ended in total disaster and gained no XP whatsoever was extremely fun.

I personally would love to buy a hardcover of this book. I've actually shelled out over $45 to print Preview 7 at Fed Ex just so that I can have a physical copy of the .pdf, and I would much rather that money go to Shawn Tomkin.

If there's any gripe that I have about the game, it's how Assets are meant to be distributed amongst the players. IIRC, each Asset can be taken by only one player in the group, and the Assets are most likely meant to be cut out and given to the individual player, since they pack in a lot of information (each Asset has three benefits, one that a character automatically gets upon acquisition and two more that must be purchased with XP). There are optional rules that replace Assets with either flat out buying stat increases or by implementing professions, but I prefer Assets as they provide the real mechanical individuality per character.

To conclude, this game takes the Apocalypse World rules mindset and propels it even further by a solid system for generating content on-the-fly, especially as more players in the group get involved in the process. Also, it's free, which is freaking awesome, but is a game I will gladly pay a print edition for.

edit from 8/12/18

It seems that my wish to have a hardcover of this book has been answered! About a week and a half ago, I discovered that this game was being released as both a softcover and a hardcover. I received a hardcover copy as of the date of this edit and I am very satisfied with it. It's a 6x9" book with a hardcover feel similar to the GURPS 4th Edition hardcovers. At about $28, this is a great deal. Finally, a great game to add to my collection that will last a long time and not be accidentally bent.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by allan p. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/10/2018 06:03:09

Circumstances have forced me into the solo market and this is my initiation system Great improvisation system



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Catalina G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2018 18:46:57

I've been following the project for some months already, and I must say it was love at first sight. Not only does the design look gorgeous, but it's also a solid system. I think that the fact that it includes oracles, and that it provides options for multiplayer, gmless play, and solo play is a big BIG plus! Give it a try! I promise you won't be disappointed!

UPDATE: I have just received my printed hardcover copy, and I'm incredibly satisfied. The quality is superb, and everything looks amazing. I'm really happy of finally being able to have a tangible version of Ironsworn. I've said it before, and I say it now: Ironsworn is fantastic! There's no excuse for not having it.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Catalina G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/03/2018 18:46:57

I've been following the project for some months already, and I must say it was love at first sight. Not only does the design look gorgeous, but also it's a solid system. I think that the fact that it includes oracles, and that it provides options for multiplayer, gmless play, and solo play is a big BIG plus! Give it a try! I promise you won't be disappointed!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by S J S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/01/2018 06:15:49

Extremely slick product which is available for FREE! This game is beautifully laid out in very impressive format, with beautiful evocative images, clear rules, and no typos to see. And it's FREE! Every page of this book, every reference sheet is well-laid out. The images are all professionally shot and thematically appropriate. The rules are crisp and leave no room for vagueness. And no typos!

And the system itself? Wonderful! It has been designed from the ground to be solo-facing, but can also easily work for co-op and GM mode. Plentiful examples and solid mechanics to entertain you in your lonely hours. What's more, the system setting is easy to hack, with many already playing the game in different settings without much effort.

This product is one of the top-quality RPGs around. Grab it now, and if you want, chuck the author some cash for their hard work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Fernando D. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/20/2018 13:17:27

This game is nothing short of brilliant. I am a big fan of another game which uses a similar move system, Dungeon World. The author has taken that idea and made it into artful game. The use of world building, character generation, and character driven story all weave together to form a tapestry unlike anything I have seen before in RPGs. I would gladly pay for a printer version of this game and I sincerely hope the author does put one out so that he can be rewarded for his superlative work.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by STEFANOS P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/17/2018 13:02:57

This is one of those 6star+ products for sure!

Professionally done and free! I have paid for much less quantity and quality.... Additional assets/downloads to help with the game setup/running and log-keeping! And excellent balance between mechanics and fiction (fluff/crunch) Quite easy to get into despite the almost 300 pages and yet deeply designed to account for more than your average narrative game Gm-less mode which means that you can also Solo the game And help with hacking/expanding chaging the game to your preferences!

This is on the path to becoming one of my (if not THE) go to choices for Gritty Narrative Fantasy games.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Ethan U. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/25/2018 20:48:23

This is the game for solo play right now. I certainly haven't encountered anything better on the market. Ironsworn is a game about a setting where dread, despair, and hopelessness are every day facts of life as humans try to rebuild their society in a harsh new land. The mechanics drive this home, where journeys are perilous and even small tasks can become disastrous with a poor roll. The thorough use of oracles and a set of rules that isn't afraid to spice things up make for a real drama - Ironsworn isn't a game about continual, effortless ascension. It's a game about the people who manage to survive (or not) despite trial and tribulation.

During no other roleplaying game, and certainly not during a solo game, have I ever felt myself so on edge to find out what happens next. It's not just a casual excitement like, "wow, this story is really good," but rather it's a strong emotional reaction that results from every dice roll feeling impactful.

Beyond that, I love Ironsworn for a couple of other reasons. Mechanically, it's really smart. The new (for PbtA) dice mechanic statistically reweights results toward a middle ground where drawbacks and complications are expected, which ensures the story doesn't stagnate on success. The momentum mechanic rewards you for preparation and careful, strategic play. And, maybe most importantly for solo gamers, the use of a new initiative system and player-facing moves means "GM work" is more storytelling than it is mechanical.

All in all, probably the best new rpg I've played all year.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Ovy O. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2018 14:40:34

Some games comfort you in wonderful fancies of nostalgia, others stick with you after you have played, a rare few dare to keep you up at night whispering to you when will you play again.

I can say with complete certainty, that for me, Ironsworn covers all three of these categories.

It is a hauntful company of game-moves similar to PbtA or Dungeon World, but Ironsworn moves are much more personal, its resolution much more temperamental.

After all, you are the Ironsworn, a solemn hero pledging your sword and life for one purpose, in a inhospitable world after a massive medieval apocalypse. No surprise that the elements, the horrors, the dice test your mettle and your iron vow.

Shawn Tomkin has created an alternate reality and a game-system that completely beckons and transports you. With its solo, coop and group play options, short and extended play, Ironsworn can grab you out of your life from just about anywhere.

Don't be late for work!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Krzysztof C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/09/2018 07:09:17

Easily 12/10, great take at the PbtA, with very tight gameplay and evocative setting (that you can fiddle with) to go with. Plays well both with and without GM!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Stacey S. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/30/2018 08:28:22

This is a well designed system and a great game. While I haven't time to really get into all the features and options, the level of dedication and imagination really shows. Great job!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Lars L. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/21/2018 14:22:22

Since I read Apocalypse World, I read a LOT of different systems and also played some of them. :-)

In this way I think Ironsworn is really a milestone in the development of the of the pbtA-system. Shawn Tomkin manages to put the moves together like gears in a clockwork, focusing on getting rid of all the parts that are not necessary to create an ongoing plotline in a cold fantasy-iron-age-world with a strong focus on social interaction. I this way it is closer to a fantasy-Apocalypse-World-setting than Dungeon World with more serious drama and less Quentin-Tarantino-style action.

From the start of Apocalypse World there was this idea to play to find out what happens. Normally there still is a lot stress on the GM (my feeling) driving the plotline of the group, as (my) players are used to waiting to get a hind on what the next step in the adventure should be.

The idea of the Iron Vow as a basis to go on a quest is great. It is followed up by specific moves, if the PC decides to abort or fulfills it tying it back to the social world. Here a GM can really concentrate on the role of a facilitator.

With the Progress-System there is a really interesting push-your-luck-mechanism that is used for example for journeys, combat and personal goals of the PCs.

I also like the incorporation of the Mythic-RPG-way of creating new plot developments through open and closed questions and rolling on the probability. In this why a real ongoing co-op game in pbtA seems possible, which is not to forced to be a one-shot like Fiasco and other systems that are structured in this way.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by Anna P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/20/2018 15:00:51

Ironsworn has options for both solo and group play which I think is really cool. I've only tried playing solo one time, but it was both a fun time and helped teach me the rules in a way you don't always get from just reading through them. I think the quest mechanic is a great idea because it forces the players to consider why this task matters to their characters, and if it doesn't matter enough, to add more detail to the task so it truly turns into a quest, and it provides structure if you're playing solo or without a gm. The world of Ironsworn is also super interesting. It has a lot of details and a cool atmosphere, but there's also a lot of room for customization, and the book encourages the players to make stuff up and build the world together. Reading the book made me want to try playing it with other people.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Ironsworn
Publisher: Shawn Tomkin
by David A. G. A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 04/09/2018 23:49:21

Frankly, this is one of the best uses of the PbtA rules I've ever read. Evocative, simple, and the quality of the book is high for it being completely free. I've always loved PbtA games and mechanics, and I'm also a loner who also happens to be the GM of a small group; I'm usually skeptic when a game claims to be made for solo play or for small groups and fail to deliver in the end, but this one REALLY works well for solo and GM-Less play! And ALSO works well GMing it.

Please, do yourself a favor and play this! I hope this game keeps getting support, it would be great to see it expand to other genres.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 15 (of 21 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG