Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1 $7.99
    Average Rating:4.2 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    1 6
    1 9
    1 1
    1 0
    0 0
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 06/24/2009 12:56:53

    Everyone needs a giant book of guns at some time or another. Either you are going to run a Tom Clancy technothriller, you have a character who is a "gun character" (my wife calls hers "gun bunnies", okay dear) or you want to really make everyone gasp and giggle when the characters open a duffel bag and you start reeling off calibers and model numbers. Enter the Big Bang series! Lovingly detailed and researched, these entries hearken back to supplements such as the Compendium of Modern Firearms in the early 90s and even Top Secret in the 80s.

    If you want guns, you can't go wrong with the Big Bang series.

    The PDF is of high quality and prints quickly. However, it doesn't have any added electronic features.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Steve G. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/01/2007 00:00:00

    The first volume in what became a series weighs in at 110 pages. This includes cover, credits and table of contents pages (3), a brief intro (1), a description of the formatting used for the weapons (1), using the data in Cyberthriller (3), using the data in D20 Modern (2), using the data in Fudge (2), using the data in Action (2), a BIG and Highly Detailed section discussing cartridges (21) and a weapon misfire table which can be incorporated in your games (1). That's the first 36 pages.

    The rest are used to describe 15 handguns, 10 SMGs, 6 Rifles and 2 MGs. 67 or so pages. And not a common weapon in the lot!

    The last 5 pages were legal notices for the OGL and a few ads for other products. <br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: The data blocks present the basics in a well-organized manner, and the supporting text was detailed. The photos were b&w and clear. <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The weapons included are all ... odd. I don't mean odd as in sci-fi futuristic, I just mean there isn't a standard production weapon that a major power uses today in the mix. You might think that Volume 1 would include, say, the AK47 or AK-74. Nope. How about the FN FAL? Nope. Any one of a number of standard issue weapons used by the US or Great Britain? Nope. I would have thought the first volume or two would be chock full of the standards, and it would be later volumes where they start detailing weapons that nobody uses. I will rate the quality as acceptable, but I'm very disappointed. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Disappointed<br>



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Once again, allow me to point out that I use the method of counting weapons that is standard among militaria publishers ALL OVER THE GLOBE! Details for over 100 different weapons are presented, not the 33 resulting from your erroneous count. As for the selection, well, the aim was things that weren't covered in other books, which lead to covering the unusual.
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Jeff H. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/06/2006 00:00:00

    Well researched and written. Flexiable over a wide range of game systems.<br><br> <b>LIKED</b>: Technical data on the weapons and performance.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: Odd weapon selection in some instances.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Victor D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/31/2005 00:00:00

    This is by far the definitive book on weapons in the modern d20 game.

    Nice pics and desciptions.

    A must have for any modern game.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Acceptable<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Greg L. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/16/2005 00:00:00

    Well written and thought out, I liked the changes made to the various systems to make it seem more realistic. A favorite buy and one that I have already gotten so much use of this product.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: There was little other than layout with the picutes and some of the text difficult to follow.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Todd F. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/05/2005 00:00:00

    Good modern Modern reference book. Has enough of everything to get you close, but still leaves you wanting for more.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Real life stat blocks for weapons.<br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The conversion factor into gameplay seems a lil "strong".<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Sigurd L. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/18/2004 00:00:00

    The book makes for a very entertaining read. It is a good roleplaying supplement for any modern setting featuring gunplay.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Most of the guns presented are relevant to a modern action setting, and I see myself using them in my gaming. Good photos of the guns. Lots of good background material on the various guns - in terms of developmental history, where and by whom they were used, and their advantages / drawbacks. Technical information is clearly and accurately presented. The chapter on ammo is very useful.

    <br><br><b>DISLIKED</b>: The product didn't contain material about any of the guns pictured on the cover. Detailing three different .22LR submachineguns and two .22LR machineguns was a waste of space. Nobody outfits their hero or villain with that kind of weapon, unless they're playing prison guards or totalitarian police agents facing massed soft targets.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Jimmy D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/02/2004 00:00:00

    One thing can certainly be said, the author cares a lot about the quality of his product. He's really knoched himself out on this stuff. Very complete info on the detailed guns, with pictures, and full explanations of ammo types and such.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Britt C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/22/2004 00:00:00

    excellent addition to my gaming library. I hope to see more files like this in the future.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Will W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/05/2003 00:00:00

    A great product for keeping up with the gun nut in your group, the one who knows WAY too much and just won't be satisfied with a list of a few guns.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Erron W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/17/2003 00:00:00

    A very nice collection of information on modern guns; it is well laid out, and informative. There is a good attempt to make it accessible to several game systems, as well as give enough information to allow the creation of data for just about any system.

    I think that this and Vol 2 are good work.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Peter P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/26/2003 00:00:00

    Overall a well done series. I personally dislike the D20 modern firearm combat system. This product helped make it more bearable. There's alot of info here and I highly recomend it.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by James C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/07/2003 00:00:00

    I like this book. There is a lot of description and information aswell as some new rules for specific bullets and calibres.

    My only concern is that it says that there are over 100 guns when in actual fact there are only 30ish there. What makes this 100 guns is actually varied statistics for the various calibres of the same gun. This does provide over 100 entries in a stats chart but I do find it a bit misleading as I only consider it to be 30ish guns. I guess its up to you how you wish to interpret the claim.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Kevin O. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/06/2003 00:00:00

    I like this product because it presents game stats as a seperate item to the main body of info and with each weapon having its own page (i.e. you don't have two weapons sharing one page), you only have to print out the stuff you want. This also makes updating a hell of a lot easier as the author doesn't need to reformat the entire book and the user doesn't have to print out pages featuring weapons they have previously printed out. The author has also been quite happy to include good, clear pics to show what the weapon looks like.

    Also, having spent some time in the army, I get irate at game books that don't bother to research the facts. I figure that if I can go and buy a book from the local bookshop that gives me plenty of factual info, why the hell can't a company producing support products for their rpgs get the same info. Maybe I'm too picky but if I've spent money on an rpg product that ends up being less professional than what I could do myself, then I've wasted my cash. I did NOT have any such complaint with this series, in fact, I look forward to other titles in this series and only hope the author can get the time to put out more of them soon!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Bang: The Mostly Illustrated RPG Guide to Firearms Vol 1
    Publisher: Alternate Realities Publications
    by Kris S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/03/2003 00:00:00

    An great resource, Well laid out and easily understandable. I found the pictures of each weapon very helpful. If you use any modern weapons in your game this is very helpful.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items