Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Dirtside
    Publisher: Zozer Games
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/23/2019 21:17:19

    This review is based on a skim reading only. I am the author of the Traveller5 World Builder and take a keen interest in wilderness rules.
    I am impressed. This supplement has a clear structure for quickly imagining and bringing wilderness situations into your Cepheus Engine or Traveller game. Accessible tables make travel and encounters easy to set up.
    But it doesn't limit your imagination, providing concrete numbers for scales of maps and times that are easily adaptable to your imagination.
    It also has a fantastic (and concise!) explanation and history of our beloved isocehedral world maps including a great projection of Earth onto one, the best visualisation I have seen that helps us make sense of it.
    Definitely worth the very cheap price.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Dirtside
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    T5 Gazelle-Class Close Escorts
    Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/18/2018 19:20:46

    This is a labour of love. If you are a fan of Traveller and particularly Traveller5, this product comprehensively outlines a classic Traveller ship design. It includes complete references to versions of the design that have come before. This goes beyond a set of ship statistics updated for the Traveller5 ruleset. It contains several excellent initiatives in colourful charts and diagrams to show the ship's capabilities and how it works with fleet operations. Several versions of the crew are included so that a captain knows exactly how to crew the ship based on the capabilities desired. And, of course, deckplans are provided.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    T5 Gazelle-Class Close Escorts
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Location Crafter
    Publisher: Word Mill
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/07/2017 06:01:53

    Excellent product for structuring encounters into a great night's session. I used this in Traveller to set up a city quickly that the players explored and then created a second 'location' being the journey out of a city towards a destination town in a forest.

    It gave me a simple way of moving the story along - roll again on the table I had generated. It also provides for Random and Special locations, objects and encounters that stimulate your imagination. At a key point in the session I rolled two random words that changed the direction of the story.

    I would absolutely recommend this product for all GMs who need a quick way of keeping players interested when they don't have time to draw up maps.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Location Crafter
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Near Space
    Publisher: Stellagama Publishing
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/17/2016 03:33:48

    Classic Traveller Supplement 10 The Solomani Rim never claimed to be an accurate star chart, but GDW wanted to put Earth ("Terra") on the map of charted space in the official Traveller Universe.

    Now, 34 years later, there is a Traveller product based on modern astronomy data to capture the feeling of near-Earth interstellar space. Fully compatible with the Cepheus Engine, it is also compatible with many other editions of Traveller including Mongoose, Classic Traveller and its descendents, and Traveller5.

    With the social and population statistics blank, the Referee is free to create his or her own universe using the data of the real universe as the skeleton. There are also spaces for suggested hypothetical stars that could exist at certain locations for the Referee to create their own worlds.

    The product is well laid out and deceptively simple - a lot of work went into putting those statistics and those dots onto the map.

    The download comes with to PNG files so that a Referee can edit the map to suit their own campaign.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Near Space
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for the excellent review!
    The Play's The Thing
    Publisher: Magpie Games
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/30/2012 19:38:16

    I am training to be a secondary school teacher in Australia (years 7 to 12). I also grew up loving RPGs. This great product brings English literature and RPGs together. The author's website has a link to some modest teaching resource to stimulate the imagination of teachers and students.

    This is not a combat RPG at all, which caught my attention. Not that there's anything wrong with burning, hacking and slashing!

    However, the focus of this RPG is putting on a Shakespearean production, and the politics of different Actors (i.e. PC's) wanting to shine while the Playwright (i.e. the GM/DM/Referee) wants the play that he or she has written to come to life. Actors can negotiate better parts for themselves through story points, and have three attributes related to their acting, and two talents - on-stage and off-stage. These are all used in negotiating your part on-stage.

    The book is beautifully laid out - very classy, and not too busy. This suits the subject of the game.

    Note that the game is not focused on the actual Shakespearean play itself, but about producing it. The Playwright and the Actors can change the story if they wish. This makes it a great teaching resource to explore with your students what makes a good story, and how good narratives are constructed.

    As an added bonus, my wife is an English Literature graduate and a Shakespeare fan (we have several copies of the complete works and individual plays around the house). This might convince her to give RPGs a try.

    At $10US, this is a steal. A very well thought out idea that is kept rules-light and tightly focused. I highly recommend it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Play's The Thing
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Mandate Archive: Cabals of Hydra Sector
    Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/11/2011 17:30:59

    Sine Nomine Publishing has delivered another great supplement for Stars Without Number. This supplement provides statistics and backstory for espionage agencies and secret cabals in the Hydra sector. The rules used are from the new Darkness Visible supplement, which provides the systems needed to run espionage campaigns. This nicely complements the way that Skyward Steel provided background and materials for running an interstellar naval campaign.

    Kevin Crawford is a great story teller, and the strength of this (yet again, generously free!) supplement is the story ideas. The settings, characters and organisations are vividly described. I am using my own sector to run a SWN campaign for my kids and one of their friends, and I am finding all of the materials Sine Nomine is putting out extremely useful in adding new aspects to the campaign; the material is easy to freely lift out and plonk down in your own setting.

    I fell in love with Stars Without Number on my first reading of the free edition core rulebook, and it continues to enthrall me.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Mandate Archive: Cabals of Hydra Sector
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Mandate Archive: Bruxelles-class Battlecruiser
    Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/21/2011 06:40:50

    A supplement for Stars Without Number, this describes the now-almost extinct Bruxelles Class Battlecruiser. A history is included back at the height of the Terran Mandate before The Scream. Now they are rare wrecks, and invite investigation by player characters.

    Also included are statistics for the Battlecruiser along with new weapons. All of them frightening. Adventure seeds are provided as well.

    As with all Stars Without Numbers material, the focus is on creating a good situation for a good story. I confess I am a total fan of Kevin Crawford's work. Plenty to stimulate a GM's imagination here!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Mandate Archive: Bruxelles-class Battlecruiser
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    An Ineffective System: The M247 Sergeant York
    Publisher: Shilka Publishing
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/23/2011 01:00:31

    An e-Reader such as FBReader http://www.fbreader.org/ is needed to read this book.

    I have been a fan of Traveller, Striker and Squad Leader over the years. Traveller (and its miniature rules counterpart, Striker) both have vehicle design systems spanning many decades of technology development.

    Hence the actual historical development of armament design is of great interest. This little booklet, nicely laid out in ePub format, traces the need for an anti-aircraft weapon and how it was built on the chassis of existing tanks.

    The tension between cost, time and suitability of the weapon to its purpose all play out in this book. I won't "spoil the story" - download and read it if you want to know!

    Great backgrounder for a tank / weapons designer. I am thinking of using the specifications for a design for MegaTraveller, and this will provide pictures for the weapon. So it provides for inserting into a role play game.

    Even without a design system in your war game or role play game, the detailed specifications given here will make it easy to approximate if needed.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    An Ineffective System: The M247 Sergeant York
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Note that a PDF file is available (as well as ePub and mobi files). Once I realised that the ePub file was being downloaded by default, I changed things so that now the PDF is downloaded by default. Download links for all three file types are included in the order details page. Thanks for the review.
    Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
    Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
    by Jonathan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/26/2011 07:16:26

    As a rabid Traveller fan, I downloaded the PDF for free as well as the add-ons, always up for another science fiction game.

    I am very pleased! The old-style D&D rules pare it down to the basics while containing just enough rules to cover all common situations. The story is very strong, and is an intriguing balance with a "sandbox" game.

    My kids are interested in Traveller, but this game is a better introduction to the concept of role-playing. We've spent our first sessions together getting characters together, and the rules encourage us to think of the story behind the character. Now my two daughters (9 and 7) are begging me every other day to get that sector done! Which I am doing now.

    I still love Traveller, but I will definitely play this game regularly. If we all have fun, I'll be purchasing every PDF Sine Nomine Publishing produces for this game!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 9 (of 9 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items