Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Bride of Portable Hole $1.50
    Average Rating:3.8 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    14 12
    9 5
    16 2
    7 0
    3 0
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Itai G. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/24/2019 17:21:48

    It's like getting really drunk and then suffering through the hangover; at some point, and after a certain age, you're going to have to go there; so you might as well just take the plunge, and go there.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Jonathan M. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/13/2015 08:27:24

    This isn't a particularly practical supplement (and doesn't pretend to be), but it's a lot of fun! A huge amount of humor for a very low price.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Tim W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/25/2012 00:43:05

    OMG. For anyone with a half an ounce of a sense of humour and a love an appreciation for the favorite 3.5 version of the roleplaying game that we all love... Somewhat adult-theme, ribald, course, base and appealing to the lower forms of homour, certainly. But that is not a bad thing, if it amuses instead of offend your sensibilities (or their lack thereof).

    178 page .pdf inculding covers. The humour starts with the table of contents d200 and doesn't stop until 2nd to last page (last page being the OPEN game license legal mumbo jumbo).

    Even though these days I'm PFRPG all the way, I still find great pleasure and guffaws from reading the various magical codpieces, the Great Gazebo adventure recounted by Ricahard Aronson, the amusing prestige classes, elemental plane of candy, pick up lines and so much more!

    As an advocate of enjoying life, smiling and laughing, this is a great addendum to any gamers library!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Timothy B. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 02/12/2012 22:38:30

    Gamers have a tendency of taking their game a little too seriously at times. BoPH reminds us that we really shouldn't.

    While everything in these 120+ pages (at at 3 bucks might one of the best dollar to page ratios here) is designed to be silly, humorous and maybe slightly offensive. But all in good fun.

    The trouble is when you scratch away the silly you are left with some pretty nicely designed content for d20. Classes, prestige classes, spells (Summon Astral Diva is my new favorite), monsters, gods. Everything you want. If you were a fan of Dragon Magazines' April Fools editions then this is a good book. If you have an adventure coming up and you need it to be light hearted or even silly, then you need this book.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by John L. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/07/2011 13:59:28

    Bride of Portable Hole is a fun little magazine, so long as you understand from the beginning that it's meant to be humorous rather than effective. It contains a large number of articles that give you everything from prestige classes to stats for the legendary Gazebo (which is apparently quite a tough monster now). It's theoretically possible that you could gain some usage from the gaming options in here, but in reality you're better suited just reading it for the laughs (of which there are a fair number.) I have dabbled with the idea of the "magic user" class (a class that allows you to use and manipulate a far greater number of magic items than normal), but even they admit that that's not a very playable class (though they do have a few playable classes that, if you take them seriously, might be worthwhile.)

    Ultimately, the best use of this book at the game table is as a creative stimulant which could help you to think outside of the box for your own game. And you never know, maybe you'll find an overlooked monster or spell in here that, under the right circumstances, will be exactly what you need...



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Magnus S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/21/2010 06:33:45

    It's teh funneh!

    Dam now I kneed to rite teh rest of the 50 characters to make it accept the review.

    Butt all I realy kneed to say is that it is teh funneh, cause that is what it is. And it's free.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by timothy b. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/14/2010 21:18:40

    added a different game consept will use with the other two books



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Jason C. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 07/29/2009 14:07:36

    As I mentioned in my review of the prequel to this PDF, if you like "gamer humor", snigger at Murphy's Rules, Knights of the Dinner Table, Dork Tower, Grimtooth's Traps, and all that stuff, then you'll like this humorous, often low-brow supplement. If you're like my wife and roll your eyes at that kind of thing, you won't. For my part, I roffled and lolled and did all that stuff the kids text about these days. So I give it high marks.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Daniel D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/28/2009 15:14:14

    A funny Beer and Pretzels game that is definately for a non-serious game group.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Karl K. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/23/2009 22:50:27

    I can only say you have a very interesting story line here for fantasy scenarios.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Nathan O. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/15/2009 23:36:59

    Epic is great is epic so have fun with it. :} LOL ROTFL.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Eric W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/28/2008 22:47:05

    Not as great as the original but still quite enjoyable.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    It IS the original, with extra stuff... :D
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Anton S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/22/2007 21:33:21

    As much fun as the first. More humor centered around gaming and other interesting bits.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Jeff S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/16/2002 00:00:00

    I'm familiar with Ambient's work and again, they have delivered. Funny and zanny, this product was a good read. I have little use for the ridiculous in my campaign, but the feats, PrCs, and monsters are well written enough to actually be used! Any why not use the crazy adventure included to break a sometimes monotonous campaign?

    Still, why are you reading this? IT'S FREE!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Bride of Portable Hole
    Publisher: EN Publishing
    by Ambient I. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/11/2002 00:00:00

    (REPOSTED from Kithmaker's review on www.MORTALITY.net)

    Ambient Inc. offers up this zany supplement that any role-playing gamer with a sense of humor will enjoy. This 52-page booklet (in .PDF format) is completely FREE, and it's well worth the cost!

    Portable Hole Full of Beer (PHFoB) takes shots at many aspects of gaming that players and GMs everywhere have joked about for years, and puts them into actual d20 compatible rules and stats. The writers don't expect you to really use them in a game (they say such things on nearly every page), but they do offer suggestions on making the stuff useable if you're bent on including it.

    PHFoB starts out with 18 new feats, including such can't-live-withouts as 'Anatomically Over-Endowed,' 'Big-Ass Weapon Proficiency' and 'Eat Anything' (which happens to be a prerequisite for 'Belch' and 'Extreme Flatulence'). These all have complete listings of Prerequisites, Benefits, and Normal, just like in a 'serious' d20 supplement.

    Next comes a reproduction of the original story of 'Eric and the Gazebo,' and even features the d20 stats for the Gazebo, so you can use it in your own game! Moving on, we find the Prestige Class section: home of such mind-boggling characters as the Beat Poet, The Bowler, Field Chef, and the Jester (who has spells in schools of humor rather than domains), among others. Nine prestige classes in all. For those who like to rate themselves (and/or others), there is the Ultimate Gamer Purity Test. A full 500 questions long, this one covers everything from dice habits to 'the dirty deed' and gives you a ranking from 'Level Zero' to 'Gary Gygax' (who else?).

    The fun doesn't stop there, not by a long shot. Yee Mighty Sporting Goodes Shop features all sorts of great equipment, with appropriate d20 stats: baseball bats, bowling rocks (for The Bowler), bar darts, and hockey sticks to name a few 'weapons.' Armor is here too, from those sports that use such protection: football pads, hockey pads, and of course, the protective cup. You can find culinary equipment here, too -- for your Field Chef, or anyone who digs this sort of thing. Did you ever think you'd see game stats for a Meat Tenderizer or a Skillet?

    There's an adventure module here, 'Return to the Orc and the Pastry' -- a tribute to Monte Cook. This had me nearly rolling on the floor, in tears. Here's a taste (pun intended) of what faces your group: 'Someone searching for an alternate method of crossing the Dalsin [river] can make a spot check. On a 13 or greater, they see an old rowboat run ashore 15 feet north of them. A result of 18 or better on the check has the character also notice the fine stone bridge that the locals use to cross the river nearly 50 feet beyond the boat.' There is a map that accompanies the adventure, but I don?t want to spoil too much for you. I will say that there is not only a Ten-by-Ten room in this adventure, but also a Twenty-by-Twenty room. Be prepared.

    My favorite part is the Template section. Soon you might start seeing 12 Year Old Gamer Girl creatures, Mommy creatures, Munchkin creatures, and my absolute favorite: Dead creatures. The 'Dead' template can be added to any living creature; here are only some of the adjustments: hit point total reduced to (and will remain at) ?10 hp; speed reduced to 0; may be used by other creatures as an exotic bludgeoning weapon...

    The last few sections cover alchemy/herbalism (wink wink, nudge nudge, say no more), magical items, and a few new creatures. Overall, this is a wonderfully amusing product, and you can't beat the price. And if you liked PHFoB, you'll love the Kids Coloring Book 'o' d20 Critters (appearing at GenCon), but you'll have to wait until April 1, 2003 for Son of a Portable Hole. Let's tell Ambient we'll pay to have it sooner!

    Content/Value: 10 Originality/Creativity: 9 Adaptability/Flexibility: 5 Breadth/Depth: 6 Quality/Appeal: 8

    Overall: 7.6

    (4.5 out of 5 stars)

    Kithmaker



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items