Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Lightspeed $6.50
    Average Rating:4.3 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    5 12
    4 4
    4 1
    0 2
    0 0
    Lightspeed
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by David D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/29/2019 07:09:42

    Fast and simple point-based ruleset. Lots of gear. Psychic powers. Starship rules. All the basics are covered.

    The book includes a 'broad strokes' kitchen sink campaign setting including pastiches of the Empire (Star Wars), the Federation (Star Trek), and a more 'corporate' empire which has a more grey morality. Each region is touched on in brief and campaign ideas are provided for each (rebels vs the Empire, space rangers, free traders, space explorers, etc.). Also many species of humanoid aliens are mentioned in brief, some fairly original but most being pastiches of familiar races from pop-culture (predators, xenomorphs, klingons, hutts, etc.)

    The Bestiary and Starship Gallery are extensive. The Art is black and white, but very strong, about as good as black and white art can be, with many illustrations of ships and characters. The PDF is not bookmarked.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Geoffrey W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/22/2019 20:06:28

    Two stars. There was potential here. Lots of people like it because it's a mash of star wars and star trek, along with a MESS of other sci fi properties with the numbers filed off. I wanted to like it for the same reasons, but I can't.

    Ultimately it's too slim on information for anything OTHER than the Federation, and even in that regard it really only tells you details about how the StarForce and AstroPol operate. The Empire, the Old Earth Empires... the core book basically disregards them. Even the Criminal sections don't mention much other than AstroPol. It's really disappointing. Hell, there isn't even detailed information on the history of anything other than Human expansion in the galaxy. Each alien species has its own little blurb in its own little section, and other than those blurbs they're barely mentioned in the text of the setting chapter.

    I know that there are other source books, but for even the most basic information about the structure of these other portions of the galaxy to be nearly completely absent from the core game? It's egregious. I haven't even gotten to the system information yet. I'll read it eventually, maybe the Fuzion system itself is worth the purchase of this book... otherwise, however, I can't recommend this. If someone goes through it, trims some fat and then gives all the Galactic civilizations equal treatment, then we'll talk.

    PS: Why are the Ranger starships (Peacekeepers) given a write-up twice? You get very detailed information in the AstroPol Ranger section and then a full ship writeup in the back with the rest of the ships. Things like this are what I'm talking about. The layout isn't very good on top of a heavy bias toward one group.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/01/2011 23:03:43

    The five stars is for the setting: a deliberate derivative of Wars and Trek with some classic '80s anime tropes thrown in.

    I much prefer the instant fuzion system to the full version presented here, but it isn't so crunchy that it's unplayable. I'm looking forward to the open D6 version of Lightspeed.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by matthew o. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/01/2011 07:50:00

    I like the idea in general. However, I was under the impression that it was a d20 system as well as fusion. this is probably because it ws listed under d20 rule systems. I don't know if this is a drivethru rpg error or Comstar games. None of the free downloads showed any rules so I could not tell. Next to the game it says:

    Rule System d20/OGL 3rd Edition _ d20 System/OGL 3rd Ed. Fuzion

    I'm not really that interested in learning a new system so I am pretty disappointed with the purchase.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Yamazaki M. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/21/2008 10:25:31

    I'm satisfied with the contents, except the followings:

    The actual page numbers and those shown in the Table of Contents are not the same. You should add 2 to the page numbers shown in the Contents to get the actual corresponding pages.

    Further, this PDF is not bookmarked. And you cannot add bookmarks by yourself, as it's protected from editing.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by paul g. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/03/2007 00:00:00

    Excellent well laid out and thoughtful fun game.Liked it enormously. <br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Adam S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/28/2005 00:00:00

    I like it! Very good indie game. I would suggest that friends purchase this game for themselves.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Fred Q. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/20/2005 00:00:00

    This is a very easy to use game. It is friendly to the Game Master as well as the player. It is freeform enough to let the imagination go, but not so freeform as to become a chaotic mess.<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: It's fun and easy to use.<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Excellent<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Gobion R. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/25/2004 00:00:00

    Excellent work - I very much enjoyed reading Lightspeed :o)<br><br><b>LIKED</b>: Obvious passion that went into it<br><br><b>QUALITY</b>: Very Good<br><br><b>VALUE</b>: Very Satisfied<br>



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Brendan R. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/05/2004 00:00:00

    Great setting for a good Space Opera with a more realistic bent (unless you are playing Psi Rangers, of course!). Worth the download.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by William N. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/22/2004 00:00:00

    All hyperbole aside (and I could lay it on thick about this game, mister), you will not find a better bang-for-your-buck kind of sci-fi game than you will with Mr. Conkle's Lightspeed.

    The catch-all kind of universe you get with this game gives you the opportunity to play the type of game you wish and also gives you the ability to add things that you want in a rpg. Couple this facet with a rules system that trades on its customization ability and you have a very, very vibrant game indeed.

    The quality of the work itself is also top-notch; the art is consistant, and the editing seems to be very good (I haven't found any errors, FWIW).

    This is a good game that offers much for little.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Harjit K. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/06/2004 00:00:00

    Excellent Game - I can not sing its praises enough. Lightspeed absolutely fills the need for a GM who wants to have a well supported product, which still gives him or her the flexibility to run any kind of Sci-Fi game for his players.

    Well Done!

    Harry



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Randall O. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/10/2004 00:00:00

    Let me just start by saying that I am not a big fan of Fuzion. Period. I don't hate it but there are a large number of systems I prefer.

    Given that this is the case, I am pretty damn impressed with Lightspeed. I feel that it's "include everything" approach to a science fiction world is the closest thing to a modern adaptation of Traveller, and this is a good thing. Much of the world is derivative, but that is the beauty of it. It combines many different genres and types of sci fi and space opera that you really can't go wrong. In short, it trades originality for playability and usefulness in nearly any kind of story, from Star Wars space opera to Pitch Black pseudo-horror. It is also worth mentioning that you get a lot of material in here for your buck. Fluff and crunch are both here in good measure.

    I am well pleased and for the price I paid ($5) it was definately worth it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by T. J. I. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/10/2004 00:00:00

    The best sci-fi game selling today, period. Well-fleshed out, needs no other books to play, embraces whole-heartedly every genre device it could think of.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Lightspeed
    Publisher: Avalon Game Company
    by Jan S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/19/2003 00:00:00

    I have played lightspeed with my group of players several times now and it has been a blast. If you have a favourite sf movie, tv series, series of books etc. you will probably find a way to present it to your players with lightspeed. The rules are easy and usable. I recommend it to anyone looking for a nice generic type of sf game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 19 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items