Bards and Sages RPG Resource
DriveThruComics
DriveThruFiction
Powered by DriveThruRPG


Home » Micro RPG » Lanterns on the Dock » Reviews
Browse Categories













Back
Other comments left by this customer:
You must be logged in to rate this
Portrait of a Troubled Artist (The Rainbow Palace Anthology)
Publisher: Joel Marler Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/21/2020 19:23:56

For the past few days I have soloed my way through Portrait of a Troubled Artist. It is for Tunnels & Trolls. It is a choose your own adventure book with 259 pages. It is available for Pay what you want/free at DriveThruRPG. I enjoyed the action and humor. The first time I ran through it I used the 7th edition rules. I had a wild and crazy night with my mistress, robbed a kitchen, but on my fifth day of adventuring, I was killed by a paranoid-schizophrenic. The second time I ran through it, I used the rules from Deluxe T&T Free RPG Day 2013 (DriveThru) using the level 2 wizard that comes with it. The wizard/artist was killed on the fourth day by a bronze dragon. Yes, this adventure put a smile of my face . . .



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Portrait of a Troubled Artist (The Rainbow Palace Anthology)
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Frontier Starter Edition
Publisher: One Dwarf Army
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/16/2020 18:03:52

For several days, I have played The Frontier Starter Edition which is free on DriveThruRPG. I used The Mythic Game Master Emulator so that I could solo my way through it. The science fiction adventure included is twelve pages long and it is designed for four level one characters and a Dungeon Master. There are nine interesting quests. The ugly = For quest one I was a bit slow. The mayor was killed. Oops. The bad = There was an exciting car chase followed by a gun battle. The hostage was killed. My bad. The good = I stole two vehicles from the bad guys and blew up another. Explosions are so satisfying. Oh, and killing security bots is fun too!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Frontier Starter Edition
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/10/2020 21:17:46

For two days, I have soloed my way through Robert E. Howard's Conan roleplaying game Quickstart using The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox. This action-packed 51 page game is free at DriveThruRPG. The game rules are interesting. The adventure included is designed for low level characters and a Dungeon Master. I used all seven of the characters provided in the module. I was able to save 13 common folk, one ox, and two horses. Just before the boss fight, I was able to recruit a shaman to join the adventuring group. The ugly = I discovered that the female mercenary had a soft side. She cried more than once when saw gruesome things. The bad = It was difficult to rest. The encounters just kept coming. The good = It would be easy to convert this adventure to other systems. So, enter the world of Conan and save the day!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Robert E. Howards CONAN Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

SM12 The Trials of a Young Wizard
Publisher: Dunromin University Press
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/07/2020 20:18:40

For several days, I have soloed my way through SM12 The Trials of a Young Wizard using The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox. This adventure is pay what you want at DriveThruRPG. It is designed for the older D&D system with THACO. I converted it to 3rd edition D&D. It is designed for low level characters and a Dungeon Master. I started with a level 1 wizard and three other characters (level 2). During the first adventure I did have two followers. They died and I realized I needed a cleric. The quest was to find someone. I never found him. For the second adventure I sold a horse (it was not mine) and hired a level 1 cleric to help out. The quest was to retrieve a magic item. I never found it. My characters kind of fell into the third quest. We discovered the truth quickly, but most of the "monsters" got away. The ugly = I was the victim of sneaky tactics several times. Ouch. The bad = I was assaulted by nasty smells and gruesome sights. The good = Nice maps and details on locations. 48 pages of goodness. So, take on the three quests and do better than me!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
SM12 The Trials of a Young Wizard
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Talisman Adventures RPG - Toads and Diamonds
Publisher: Pegasus Press
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/14/2019 16:19:25

Today I soloed my way through Toads and Diamonds an adventure for Talisman Adventures RPG (free). I used The Adventurer's Toolbox to make the adventure even longer (4.5 hours). Both are available at DriveThruRPG. This fun underground 18 page adventure is designed for a game master and players with character levels 2-3. I used four characters, all close to third level. There is no map, but you could use the Toolbox to make one. The ugly = my third level barbarian died. He was half eaten by the time we got to his corpse. The bad = someone ate a diamond! The good = nice loot! So, take on the quest and save the village. . . Enjoy!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Talisman Adventures RPG - Toads and Diamonds
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Solo Adventure Resource: The Dungeon Oracle
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 11/04/2019 14:05:37

There is more than one way to solo adventure modules that were designed for a game/dungeon master and several players. This published guide has six pages of "meat" and three pages of his Keyword List. This guide uses what I call the random principle. You will be changing the adventure, randomly mixing it up, so that you will be surprised whether you have read through the published adventure or not. He suggests using a question/answer mechanic and I agree. There are many available out there on the web and at DrivethruRPG. I have been soloing RPGs for some time now, and let me tell you that the Keyword List is awesome. It will create some really interesting encounters. I do recommend this fun product.

So, I am using this system and soloing my way through Tomb of Annihilation for 5e. My party started with five characters. When I reached the port and explored it, I recruited an animal trainer and found two jungle guides. We have finished one day and night of traveling by canoes, and it has been discovered that these two guides are incompetent. What could go wrong?



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Solo Adventure Resource: The Dungeon Oracle
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

The Science Realm Free Introductory Adventure
Publisher: Griffin Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/18/2019 08:47:41

For the past two days I have been soloing my way through the The Science Realm Free Introductory Adventure. The Realm of the Gateway Basic Rules is free also. Both are available at DriveThruRPG. I did simplify the combat system and I also used The Mythic Game Master Emulator along with it. This sci-fi adventure is designed for a game master and several players with level five characters which are provided. This fun four hour adventure has 31 pages. My characters managed to steal two ATVs and run over some of the bad guys. The rescue mission was a success. I do like the skill system and experience system. Good luck!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Science Realm Free Introductory Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Thank you Bob! I'm glad you enjoyed it.
The Magic Realm Free Introductory Adventure
Publisher: Griffin Games
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/12/2019 14:04:30

For the past two days I have been soloing my way through the Magic Realm Free Introductory Adventure. The Realm of the Gateway Basic Rules are free also. Both are available at DriveThruRPG. I did simplify the combat system and I also used The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox along with it. This fantasy adventure is designed for a dungeon master and several players with level five characters which are provided. This fun four hour adventure has 31 pages. The bad = my rogue died and the slow boss is still trying to catch up to us. The good = I found two magic items. I do like the skill system and experience system. Good luck!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
The Magic Realm Free Introductory Adventure
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Mixed Heritage - A Crystal Heart One-shot
Publisher: Up to Four Players
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/03/2019 15:21:40

Today I soloed my way through the Crystal Heart adventure Mixed Heritage which is free on DriveThruRPG. I did convert it to 5th Edition and I also used The Solo Adventurer's Toolbox along with it. This adventure is designed for a dungeon master and several players with low level characters. I used three characters with an average level of 3.4. This unique three hour adventure has eleven pages. The bad = my illusionist got fleas. The good = the three of them got to eat magic fruit. I did use the Toolbox to make the cave system bigger. Good luck!



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Mixed Heritage - A Crystal Heart One-shot
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Devil's Run: Quickstart
Publisher: Modiphius
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/19/2019 19:47:32

Today I soloed my way through Devil's Run Quickstart. It is free on DriveThruRPG. The first 26 pages are the rules. The remaining 25 pages are for the adventure. This is a three hour adventure, designed for a dungeon master and several characters. I used six first level characters (the ones provided). I also used the Mythic Game Master Emulator. This fun adventure starts with two quests. I did start both of them, but I got distracted and did my own thing. Raizar was mauled by a beast. It was a bloody death. My others did survive. I acquired the Black War Rig (vehicle) and a new member for my "gang". With the rules included, you can not roll up a character. I did like the variety of the ones that were included. I used the 2D20 rules that are also included. You do have a choice of using the Savage Worlds rules. I like the rules for effects and momentum (2D20). A very entertaining product and it is free.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Devil's Run: Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Kings of War the Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Publisher: Red Scar Publishing
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/14/2019 16:04:31

Today I soloed my way through Kings of War the Roleplaying Game Quickstart. It is free on DriveThruRPG. The first 19 pages are the rules. The remaining 25 pages are for the adventure. This is a three hour adventure, designed for a dungeon master and several characters. I used six first level characters (the ones provided). I did use the Solo Adventurer's Toolbox. This fun adventure has a fortified village, the Guild of Progress, and a ruins. My characters did survive their first mission and they are ready for their next one. With the rules included, you can not roll up a character. I did like the variety of the ones that were included. The number of monsters in the monster list are two. I like the rules for payback and mishaps. A very entertaining product and it is free.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Kings of War the Roleplaying Game Quickstart
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Hi Bob, glad you liked it! I'm hearing more and more examples of solo play, which is not something I'm familiar with if I'm honest. I definitely need to rectify that soon.
Lanterns on the Dock
Publisher: Micro RPG
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 07/10/2019 16:46:35

Today I tried Lanterns on the Dock. This game is currently 1$ at DriveThruRPG. It is an eleven page horror dice game. It is advertised as a Roll+Write role-playing game of Horror Investigation set in 1920s New England. You do create a character with five stats and an occupation, but I would not call this a RPG. I did enjoy it, and with some changes I think it could be even more exciting. I have played it once. I did take damage, but I survived. I did lose some sanity, but I was still sane. I successfully investigated three warehouses. I did kill nine cultists (fun). However, I did have problems keeping the lanterns lit on the dock. Six Deep Ones took over two of the docks, Cthulhu made an appearance, and I did lose the game. So, if you like exciting solo dice games, give it a try.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
Lanterns on the Dock
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Creator Reply:
Bob. My sincerest thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed the game. As always, never hesitate to let me know what things can be improved upon. Also, in the future, I'll won't label my roll+writes like this as RPGs. Maybe roll+write adventures? Something like that? Thanks.
Toolbox Solo Adventure A1: The Dead Don't Sleep
Publisher: Dungeon Masters Guild
by Bob V. G. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 06/05/2019 10:31:46

I did try this out and I did combine it with the Solo Adventurer's toolbox. I rolled up two Juiblexian Mnemonic characters. These characters used to be slimes, but I "advanced", or should I say digested. I did three quests and they were all very different. During quest #2, they were looking down a deep 10 X 10 pit. A ghost came up and grappled "wrestled" one of them, and my second character jumped into the fight. They floated down to the next level/room where cultists were in the middle of a blood/victim sacrifice. I rescued the wounded victim who just happened to be the daughter of a wealthy merchant. Score! Thanks Paul!

If you would like to be a slime check this out. JuiblexianRace-_Slimes_Just_Want_to_Adventure on Dungeon Masters Guild.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Toolbox Solo Adventure A1: The Dead Don't Sleep
Click to show product description

Add to Bards and Sages RPG Resource Order

Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
Powered by DriveThruRPG