RPGNow.com
Browse Categories













Back
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e) $9.99
Average Rating:4.7 / 5
Ratings Reviews Total
11 9
3 2
1 1
0 0
0 0
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Click to view
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Rudy C. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/17/2019 01:51:54

TL;DR: Old school D&D in it's full glory, exactly the way its creator (Gygax) played. Sacrifice those two cups of Starbucks coffee and pick this bundle up, you are in for a great time!

Full Review:

This is a PDF copy of what's referred to as the "white box" or "3 brown booklets" or "OD&D", the game that kicked off the entire D&D craze back in 1974. Nothing has been altered, these booklets have everything you and your friends need to begin playing D&D the way Gygax played. Contrary to popular belief, Gygax didn't really use the Advanced D&D rules that much. In fact, the final campaign he ran for his players before his death in 2008 was using these 3 booklets. You'll find strange conventions here, such as Fighting Men (fighters), constant references to the Chainmail ruleset (not required), and the fact that every player class uses a d6 for hit points and all weapons/monsters deal a d6 for damage on a hit. As strange as all this sounds, the rules are very workable and allow for truly amazing games of dungeon delving and exploration. No feats, no rules-lawyers arguing about X rule, just you & your character against a very deadly and hostile dungeon that will eat you alive if you're not careful. Fun times, can't recommend this enough!!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Paul R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 03/03/2016 14:11:54

Love it was Waiting for it forever,,,now I can play the game the way it was originally designed



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by David W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/05/2016 11:41:20

This is the heavily censored 2013 version, which does have the benefit of being a modern digital copy which allows copy/paste to work. Making it easy to personalize for you own use. It is disappointing that the reference sheets are not a modern digital copy, but the older low quality scan which is hard to read and does not allow copy/paste. That is why I can only give this four stars out of five, since it would have required very little effort to have provided the updated reference sheets too.

In any event, with the ability to copy/paste the text, add back the censored material, format and print your personal copy, it is a great value.

As always, they should be deeply ashamed that they watermarked the product. This is called insulting the customer.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by John M. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/28/2016 15:03:36

Really happy to see these being re-released. Hopefully this means we will see Greyhawk, Blackmoor and the other OD&D booklets released over the coming weeks.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by sebastian c. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 16:21:43

When was relaesad i was 1 year old, and i´ve started playing in the 90´s, so i´ve played it several years ago after realeas, And i can tell that despite the years and editions this is the most maleable of all editions, its undoubtly the best. And Ive played at least once all the editions including the 4th edition. Dave And Gary were an invencible couple in game disaign. Sorry for my english, i could red better than write or speak.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 11:59:07

So great to have these finally available again in PDF!

Looking forward to the supplements and perhaps even Chainmail and a PDF version of Outdoor Survival!



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Ivan B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 01/26/2016 10:15:31

Hi, Great pdf for the 3 booklets! However, reference sheets are messed up (a bad scan, definitly not the premium reprints pdf files). Future buyer should take notice and should wait for the upload of the correct files before buying. Cheers, Ivan



Rating:
[3 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steven P. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 02/09/2009 21:24:00

My download was very good quality. I am happy to have a copy of the Game That Started It All!. Thanks!

I was glad to see that I got the reference sheets and box cover as well as the three main booklets.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Martin A. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/29/2008 07:12:09

My mistake, the game does indeed include a combat system. So it is a complete game.



Rating:
[4 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Steve R. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 05/06/2008 21:00:30

Scan Quality: I've bought/downloaded several of the older D&D books, and this is the highest quality scan by far. The background is white, the text is black, and it is very clear.

Content: It is what it is. If you're here, you probably already have a good idea if you're interested in buying this or not. It is a piece of history. It is great for those who are interested in seeing how D&D (and RPGs in general) have evolved. If you want to play some old school D&D, it doesn't get more old school than this!

If you're looking for a polished game with all the latest bells and whistles, or if you're picky about art, then this isn't for you.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Jason J. W. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 09/26/2007 09:31:14

Great to have this finally - and at such a reasonable price! It is true that my computer was unable to read the download completely, BUT, my mom's work computer had no trouble, the document printed out complete. I was using the suggested adobe reader 6, so perhaps that is not recent enough to properly read this? In any case, I was ultimately very satisfied with this purchase.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
OD&D Dungeons & Dragons Original Edition (0e)
Publisher: Wizards of the Coast
by Stephen B. [Verified Purchaser]
Date Added: 08/18/2007 13:37:13

Many thanks to the people who pointed out that you need the latest version of Adobe to get the most out of this product. Result - I retract last statement and say buy this product.



Rating:
[5 of 5 Stars!]
Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
Back
0 items
 Gift Certificates
Powered by DriveThruRPG