Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    The Remote is Screaming
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/27/2020 04:19:35

    The remote is Screaming from Evil Beagle games is a fun addition to the long list of 3rd party publishers for Savage World RPG system.

    Bill Keyes and Lee Garvin llsets up a well done sourcebook for any players that want to have a crack at the paranormal investation genre that as taken the reality tv world by storm.

    Remote is screaming gives playerrs and GNs enough info to run a solid game here. Perfect for one shots or a shout few sessions game.

    The books has a nice setting background and adds a few new skills and powers to personize your game into a Ghost Hunting, Dead files Paranormal school game. I loved the network that was created just for these shows in the book and the NPCs and monsters are right out of the trope that most of these shows use.

    A seslllion can be run right out of the book with almost no prep, as characters are provided, but llthere is enough info for character creation and a few tables to create cursed objects and plot seeds for many of an adventure.

    The book is nicely laid out with some cool artwork and photos to give a nice feel for this genre.

    A couple of minor nitpics, while most of the art work is fine, a few of the NPCs art is a bit on the basic side. This really clashes with the better artwork at times.

    A quibble I have with a lot of books recently is that there is not an index. Grented for a book this size it might not have been needed, but I always prefer one.

    The PDF is produced well and for the most part easy to read. Printing this book ut in color at home would be pricey, but as a home laser printer, the pages looked crisp and readable.

    8 dollars for this PDF is a bagain. Savage world fans should love this fun , silly and a bit scary addition to the setting for this system

    To be sure, the Savage world basic rule book is needed and I think the Horror set of addone rules would be a big help.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Remote is Screaming
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/27/2016 16:49:59

    Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition

    by Michael O. Varhola

    Men and monsters of Ethiopia is a somewhat different sourcebook for a system like 5th D&D. This book gets players and GMs out of the western Europe setting that most players are used to and takes them to a more desert and dry environment that most Players are not familiar with, and to very good effect.

    The book is just full of new monsters and NPCs for this new setting. The NPCs are very well done and are my favorite part of the book A competent GM should be able to come up with many types of encounters with these NPCs and should have a large range of reactions ranging from information gathering, to dire combat.

    The monsters range from the mildly irritating, to extremely deadly. The ARWEAN DRAGON was my favorite of the bunch, and I am really looking forward to putting this Dragon in my game.

    The monsters listings have a detailed description. I think lots of plot seeds are in these descriptions and the start of many adventures are in here.

    The book over all is well laid out and easily printed on my Black and white lazer printer. The color pages looked ok in grey scale. The line are is quite nice and prints out well. The color pages on my rather cheap ink jet printer look good and are easy to read for the most part.

    If I have a complaint about the book, I would have liked to have seen a bit more background on a fantasy setting for Ethiopia, perhaps a small part of the Kos World that Skirmisher books also publishes. A fe more photos of what Ethiopia looks like would have been helpful to describe what the various terrain looks like

    Also, the one page on Religion is a bit terse and could have used some extra information.

    These are minor nit pics and the books is worth the price.

    Ill be looking forward to more such location books from Mr Varhola, so use those frequent miles , Bub, and get cracking….



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Men & Monsters of Ethiopia: An RPG Sourcebook for 5th Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/18/2014 15:23:49

    Skirmisher Publishing has released another in a line of inexpensive little PDFs that will make a GMs game a bit better

    100 Oddities for a Creepy House is a fine example of what just a few details can do for a RPG game. There isnt anything ground breaking here, just a few lists to add some detail and some flourish to any haunted house. While the feel is mostly for a modern setting, just a few tweeks and these Oddities can be used in nearly any setting.

    There is also a short article about how to use the list and how to expand the items into plot hooks

    I like the pay as you go style of price setting. I paid$ 1.25 and the PDF was totally worth it.

    I should add that the mini book here is well laid out, easy to read and prints nicely in my laser printer.

    For the cost of a cola or a candybar, this is a great little gem.....dont just stand there, buy this PDF so we can get more...



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    100 Oddities for a Creepy Old House
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    d-Infinity Volume #6: The Mythos
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/10/2014 00:32:03

    D-Infinity over the last few issues has become a great gaming magazine, and Issue 6 is no exception.

    Issue 6 covers the Lovecraft Cthulhu Mythos, but in an unusual but spot on way.

    The fiction piece that starts everything out is a fun read. About 8 pages long, its a fantasy send up of mythos stories, and I thought "Their blood in the sea" set the stage pretty well for a Mythos themed issue.

    The gaming material was mostly for OCG or the AD&D revival RPG that have been coming out in the last couple of years. Any decent player can use the information about the spells and such to use in pretty much any game, so the usefulness o9f the material is very handy.

    The Eldrich Tech for Mutant Future was especially well done as was the writeup for the Living house. There are several plot points and game seeds in that set, and again any GM can mine those for a lot of ideas....

    Skirmisher Publishing house setting is the Swords of Kos setting, and as usual, more gaming material has made its way into D Infinity.....and thats a good thing. We get a a great batch of nice write ups for Heroes and Heroines of Kos”. The folks at Skirmisher have put a lot of time and effort into that setting and it shows. I like having access to a not western European setting for fantasy RPGs and as KOS is very much flavored by the Mediterranean area, players and GMs have another place to explore and to find new adventure..

    The allure of Innsmouth Gold was ok, but maybe a few more pointers on how to make some of the props should have been presented or at least a few more photos..its not bad at all, I hope we get an update and see some more how to photographs....

    The Cthulu live event was nice, but I have to admit, the chances of me getting to play in one are slim or none....and I have to admit my interest in this was not as high as the rest of the contents....but the article does make me want to play in a game if I get a chance....

    Chevauchee seems like a nice old school MetaGaming Co, or some of the early Steve Jackson games ....very small games that cost 3.00 dollars in teh early 80s....but I only glanced at the rules..but they look playable.... I will try to play this game in the future and I will update my review to say what I thought of the game.

    Of much more interest was the “Dagon Rising board game, This little gem is a nice print and play game that we have played thru a couple of times and have had some fun with. I have a decent Laser printer, so my copy printed out quite nicely and looked great. I was able to glue the print out to some cereal boxes and the results were nice. Its not gonna replace my main board games, but my players liked it enough to have it in the rotation on our board game night....

    Over all, this is a great issue.....I would have actually given it a 4.6 but I cant using the current review system. Its only little minor things that keep this for getting a perfect 5 and I can say this was totally worth my 7.00 dollars to buy. the little board game covered that just fine, everything else was extra added value...

    I did print out a lot of this issue, and on my Brother laser printer, the pages looked great. Ink Jet users might consider going to a office or printer store to get this printed as several pages use a lot of ink....

    Keep up the good work



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    d-Infinity Volume #6: The Mythos
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #39: Unique Superscience Artifacts
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/10/2014 11:58:07

    As usual, the lads from Skirmisher have done another fun little gem for the Mutant Future game.

    This little Wisdom zine has some cool, if not a little outlandish, Artifacts that will spice up any post-apocalyptic setting a GM could run.

    This selection of items are a bit on the very high tech side of the scale, making them almost magical in effect, but that was what the author was going for, and for the most part it works pretty well

    The healing bot is the best of the group, as its abilities are useful, but come at a cost and has the added bonus of being the starting or ending point of a grand adventure. The potential comedy effects of the healing device are also full of gaming goodness.

    For a dollar, you just cant go wrong with most of the Wisdom line. I hope at some point, a collection of these issues under one cover comes out.

    I gave it a 5 star rating, for usefulness, a very good layout and general giggles at some of the items......Remember Mutant Future is a totally over the top game and setting, subtle is not one of its strong points....so keep that in mind when reading .......



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #39: Unique Superscience Artifacts
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Jester Dragon's Random Brothel Generator
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/06/2014 00:15:29

    Once again, the Skirmisher folks have released another silly generator for your RPG needs.

    Because, every GM need a brothel generator...trust me on this...

    Its not only a name generator, but also has madam names, pimp names, and the various positions and even STD that can be caught at your fantasy brothel...and brother, some of them are dozies...

    Lets get serious, I am not sure that many GMs are actually gonna be using this in their games, but this is a well spent dollar just to read the many names and combos that can come up.....

    I sure would liked to be a fly on the wall watching Mr Thrasher explaining the various files on his computer that he had to download for "research" for this generator...to his wife.....I am sure Fun was had by all.....I would have also liked to have been at the meeting where this idea was being pitched.... ..

    OK, this is a fun little product from the Skirmisher line, and as all of the other PDFs, its a dollar and worth it just to read and laugh over. Trust me, you can't find this much fun for a dollar anymore, so its worth the cost of a candy bar to check it out....

    I printed a few of the pages on my laser printer, a Samsung 2510 and it looked nice and crisp....no issues there....

    SO its perfect for a Valentines gift...for ...well come back to me on that one and Ill think of something....

    As with some of my other reviews...I did get this as a review copy, but trust me, I would have happily paid the dollar for it...



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Jester Dragon's Random Brothel Generator
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #34: Plant Mutants I
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/28/2014 15:54:23

    Plants often get over looked in fantasy and Sci fi RPG games, and this little issue does a bit to fill in the blanks, for at least a post apocalyptic setting anyway.

    The write ups are nice, especially for the large mind controlling tree that has a nice horror setting to it.

    The pictures with the issue are well done, and give the issue an almost field guide look to the entire issue, its a nice touch.

    Its worth picking up.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Wisdom from the Wastelands Issue #34: Plant Mutants I
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Hedge Mazes Set 2: Terminals
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/28/2014 15:33:26

    This is a very nice set of maps/playing area that can be used for role playing games. While designed for fantasy RPGS, this set of hedge mazes could easily be used in a modern setting, everything from a horror setting trying to find, or get away from a madan, to a modern Spy setting as agents try to find and even kill each other.

    The pages are nice and crisp. the set up is modular and the pages can be set up in a lot of different ways to give a GM lots of layouts and designs to pick from. The pages look nice on the playing table and most size minis should fit in the squares. I used a black and white printer and got ok results. the maze pops when using color, but a serviceable look can be achieved with black and white.

    If I have a minor fault with the set, its that printing at home could be a bit expensive. Many of these pages are very ink intensive and could cost quite a bit printing at home.. A suggesting would be to print one or two pages and see how well your home computer printer will print it out....I had the local office supply store print out mine. It was not cheap, but I have them on cardstock paper and it was worth the investment.....a few of the edges are a bit fuzzy, but its not a deal breaker....

    If printing at home, I would use cardstock paper....its not cheap, but worth the extra cost for the durability

    For the cost of a soda and bag of chips, the budget GM can get a nice set of mazes that is resuable and would be a lot of fun to fight in or try to solve a nice puzzle ....... l;



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Hedge Mazes Set 2: Terminals
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Meddler's Multipurpose Maps: Cavern of The Crimson Cult
    Publisher: Kettle of Fish Productions
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/27/2014 23:35:55

    For the record, before you read my review, I have received free books and maps in the past from Mr Thrasher, but I did pay for this one.

    Cavern of the Crimson Cult is a map much like what you would have found back in the early days of the RPG hobby. Modules were printed on cheap paper and maps were hand drawn by folks with a lot more enthusiasm that actual skill. Nothing wrong with at all, just giving a heads up.

    For the price of a can of soda, the buy gets a hand drawn (or at least , looks like one) map of a series of caves and Caverns. I like the old school of the map, and used correctly in a fantasy RPG, should bring back some nice memories for old school players, and have a nice retro feel for newer players.

    I like that the buyer gets several styles of the map, ranging from a low ink blank and white version thats good for home printing, to a nice color version thats perfect to get done at the local printer shop like Staples.

    The map comes with a simple description of each room. No stats are given, but enough is given that anyone with any monster book for pretty much any system can fill in the blanks. I think thats cool, but a few folks might find that a bit of work. I have to admit that having a better description pf the large monster in the deep pool would have been nice, but frankly, Pathfinder, D&D3.5, Savage World, Fantasy Hero all have monsters to pick from, so its not a deal killer for me.

    Here is the bottom line....Is this map worth a dollar?? Yes, its a clean map that should be a nice side adventure for nearly any game system, and the printing options are a nice touch.

    So skip one soda this week. Buy a map, help a small RPG company make ends meet.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Meddler's Multipurpose Maps: Cavern of The Crimson Cult
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Kos City (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
    Publisher: Skirmisher Publishing
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/23/2013 12:20:07

    Kos City (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting) is a well done generic city setting for any fantasy rpg setting.

    Kos City is set in a fantasy world much like our own, with a history much like our world from 2000 years ago.

    This book is in the line of Skirmisher Press Kos setting. Many more books are coming out and are already out for this setting, but this book can pretty much be put in any high fantasy setting, regardless of gaming system used.

    Set around a eastern Mediterranean center, this book centers on a city with a large number of business, public centers, and guilds that make up a city with a large number of humans, goblins and other fantasy races.

    Kos City is a generic setting. No specific system is used for npcs or other rules, but each npc is given enough of a write up that any GM could be able to write one up in moments.

    Each place , and there are about 70, has a detailed description, an npc or two and an adventure hook for GM to use for a game, or at least a side adventure.

    There is a lot to like here. The setting itself is one thats not been done do death the last 30 years. If a GM is wanting to get characters out of the standard forests or icy mountains of the majority of most fantasy settings, moving the action south to the warm climate of the Mediterranean is a move in the right direction.

    Kos City is well laid out, and the Map included is top notch. Even if the GM does not use the info in the book, the map is a keeper to use for your own city. The look of the book is quite nice. The artwork is a collection of orginial art done for the book, as well as old paintings, wood cuts and photos from various museums. This gives the reader a perfect feel for the Kos City setting, as how the average npc would look and dress and in general what the city and shops look like.

    The font and page lay out is well done for E-readers and computer reading as well. ON my Ipad2, the book was easy to read without having to zoom the page at all.

    On my 7inch screen android tablet, reading was easy, but I did have to scroll around a bit on the page. Thats more of a issue of the screen size, and not of the PDF design of the book.

    I found Kos city hard to read on my android phone, but again, thats an issue of the phone, not the book, but I just wanted to make sure that readers knew that.

    Printing was easy and reasonably ink friendly. A few pages are art heavy, but those are few in this book. I used a Samsung 2510 laser printer for great effect. Ink Jet users might want to use a printing service as that could get expensive per page.

    I really dont have any major issues with Kos City. A few GMs might bemoan the lack of written up npcs, but honestly, the write ups are well done enough that regardless of system, a GM is given enough info to make write ups easy.

    I see Kos city working in nearly any system. Savage World and Hero players as well as the Pathfinder and D&D player will find a lot to work with here..

    I might have been a bit happier if each chapter could have been printed off separately, for those of us that like to pick and choose, but thats the only real quibble I can find here..

    For the record, I did get a complimantry copy of this book from the author and I have met Mr Vorhola at Gencon and we have chatted on some podcasts.

    I am a fan of the company and have bought many of the City building books Skirmisher has published. Im giving this book a 5 star rating.

    Bang for buck, its one of the best buys on Drive Thru right now...get a copy, and read it….



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Kos City (Swords of Kos Fantasy Campaign Setting)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Derelict Starship
    Publisher: Sonic Legends
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/17/2010 14:26:21

    Sonic Legends delivers again with another soundscape thats perfect for RPGs. Derelict Starship is a great example of a music file that sets the mood, but is not so busy that is distracts the players from what a GM is trying to do.

    Any GM running a Science fiction, space opera style game should have this on his MP3 player. The track is seemless, so it can be replayed over and over with out notice. While there is a melody to follow in the tract, the atonal sounds give it a nice alien feel. Random sound effects enhance the music but dont over whelm the mood. The price is right for a 10 minute soundscape. I have bought several from Sonic Legends and plan on buying more.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Derelict Starship
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Arabian Bazaar
    Publisher: Sonic Legends
    by Wayne W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/06/2010 13:07:29

    This is a very nice sound scape for RPG games or just causal listening. The music is quite nice and the added sound effects enhance but do not distract from the mood of the music.

    The middle eastern sound is great for a lot of settings and loops very well.

    My crew likes these music interludes and I believe these soundtracks will enhance your game.

    Minor criticisms, I would have liked a higher bit rate, like 320 or so, but I understand that such a rate would make the file much larger. I would pay a bit more for a FLAC or OggVobis format, but thats just me.

    I will buy more of these when the budget permits, and at the price, I think I can afford them soon.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Arabian Bazaar
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 12 (of 12 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items