Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition $24.95
    Average Rating:4.9 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    8 10
    1 0
    0 0
    0 0
    0 0
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/14/2021 22:17:34

    This game is nothing short of exceptional! Easy to learn mechanics are both elegant and allow the gameplay to focus on storytelling and role-playing. Beautiful artwork throughout the product really brings it to life. Prowlers and Paragons brilliantly captures the tone and theme of what a Superhero roleplaying game can be. I highly recommend this product for both experienced role-players looking for an awesome new game, and also for newer gamers.

    • Tarkenton


    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2021 10:57:57

    Simply the best Supers RPG I've ever seen in 37 years of roleplaying.

    As said in other reviews, it does hit a sweet spot between ICONS and Champions. It's got as much depth and detail as Mutants & Masterminds and the detail of deep character creation but without being bogged-down by number-crunching.

    The narrative style is deep, creative and easy, but if you want a more traditional system of determining success in rolls, it has that option too.

    Speaking of options, it also has gritty realism rules if you want a darker setting than that of it's default four-colour world.

    The layout, graphics, design, writing and art is first-class and upon thorough reading, there are no apparent typos or errors.

    It's also a testament to how robust and well-designed this game is, that when I converted DC and Marvel characters from other game systems, they exactly within the appropriate Power Levels (Street, Low Level, Standard. High Level, Legendary or Iconic) with Superman at 226 points (Iconic) Wonder Woman at 175 points (Legendary ) and Spider-Man at 107 points (Low Level)

    A thoroughly top-class, beautiful and deep super hero roleplaying game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Allen S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/06/2021 17:20:26

    This game hits the sweet spot between Champions and ICONS for me. It is just amazing. Fast character creation, light rules, fast play, good combat rules and lots of d6s I think I have found my new favorite superhero game!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Floyd G. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/06/2021 13:28:52

    I really love what PPUE does. It's a fantastic mix of light crunch, narrative systems and a solid core mechanic. It avoids the pitfalls of systems like Champions or Mutants and Masterminds by focusing more on what your powers and abilities enable you to do, rather than focusing on minutia of each effect. Simple but effective and satisfying character creation.

    Highly recommended!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Jeff O. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/06/2021 10:30:01

    Full disclosure, the author is in my weekly gaming group. I still payed full price, gleefully, because it's worth it.

    tl:dr Just buy it and play amazing superhero games with it.

    I've been playing P&PUE along the development process. This is my review of the best Superhero Game I've played.

    Mr. Pimentel is one of the best designers working today. I do not exagerate when I say he deserves to be in the same rarified air as Robin Laws. He is the only person I have talked to who designs games with the feel at the table in mind. He works hard to make the experience of the player reflect the experience of the charater. The piles of dice are not there because lots of dice are fun (though they are). You roll 25 dice when a galactic hero does their thing because rolling 25 dice feels like a big deal. Most people need both hands. It makes the experience at the table visceral. If that alone isn't enough to convince you to buy, play, and run this game, consider this.

    It works. It does exactly what it says on the cover. It sets you up to easily, quickly, and enjoyably run any superhero game you can imagine. Want to play the everlasting stone cycle? It's got you covered. X-world games? Done. Are you the fear that quacks in the dark? All over it.

    It's crunchy and robust enough to satisfy the grognard in your heart. It's easy enough to create a hero you can add your friend's cousin who is visiting for a week and never gamed before without breaking stride.

    I know all this because I was on the receiving end of phone calls to listen to how the game could be made better, more intuitive, more fun. Mostly I made approving noises because Mr. Pimentel is brilliant. Every once in a great while I would say something to help him resolve a conflict.

    I know I sound like a loopy fanboy, partly because I am, mostly because this game deserves the recognition. Now if you'll excuse me, I have some death traps to design. Supers aren't going to kill themselves you know.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Creator Reply:
    Very kind, and thank you my dear friend, but if I'm in the same rarified air as Robin Laws, it's only because I am asking him to sign my treasured first edition Feng Shui RPG!
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Michael E. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/03/2021 01:18:05

    This is a simply phenomenal superhero RPG. The rules are clear and flexible, character creation offers a multitude of options that allow you to create very specific hero concepts, and the narrative currency (Resolve) lets you pick the right heroic moment to give it your all. There are a lot of strengths to this game, here are a couple that have really stood out to me:

    • While there is an option for "traditional" dice results, by default P&P determines the outcome of actions by narration. On a successful roll, the player narrates and on a failed roll, the GM narrates. Not only does this massively incentivize players to get descriptive and creatively engaged with every action they take, it also gives a lot of freedom to the GM to treat a failed roll as harshly or leniently as they think is warranted.

    • In addition to superpowers and mundane talents and skills, players can also choose Expertises at character creation (basically a specialization of a skill) and are allowed to use Specialties in low-powered games. The latter provide specific role bonuses in and out of combat. Together, Expertise and Specialty allow for the creation of very specific character builds that move beyond the realm of superpowers alone, without excessive crunch. This elegant pairing is begging to be borrowed in other games/genres.

    • Powers can be modified by Pros or Cons, and heroes can be granted Perks and Flaws. The former can help shape both the thematic nature of your powers, while the latter let you build out your character with tons of genre classics, like a sidekick, secret base, unique vehicle, or special vulnerability.

    • I have to take the opportunity to mention Preparation, a power I love and kind of want to see in every RPG in some form: this allows you to spend Resolve to declare that you've prepared for the specific scenario at hand and have some advantage ready to deploy at a moment's notice. This is meant to emulate superheroes and villains who love to elaborately plan ahead for every contingency. It's a great option for people who like to play mastermind characters.

    If you like rules-light and you're looking for a new superhero game, this is a great choice, with a clear love of the genre and its history.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Kevin H. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/02/2021 23:49:15

    I love the art, just in here its worth the cost. The system seems simple and easy to follow. Character creation does look intimidating but i would think : what if this hero and this hero had a child.. what powers would the child have.. and BAM!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Nestor D R. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/02/2021 20:27:54

    I'm a long-time player of the Champions/Hero System and superhero games in general. I came across Len's original Prowlers & Paragons game and fell in love with it right off the bat. When I heard there was an Ultimate Edition in the works and that Sean Patrick Fannon was going to be part of the creative team, I jumped into the Kickstarter with gusto. As a backer, I got to see the evoultion of the game, and even provide some feedback to help it develop.

    P&P UE fulfills everything I'ver ever looked for in superhero RPGs. The system is simple to pick up yet flexible enough to handle just about any situation a GM might encounter. Character creation flows easily, and the powers list really does let you come up with just about any crazy concept you can think of.

    Combat runs quick; task resolution uses dice pools and opposed rolls to get a quick result and efect. It combines both crunch and narrative elements in equal measure, yet allows the GM to emphasize one over the other to fit their preference. It also makes use of a boost point mechanic (called Resolve for heroes and Adversity for villains), which allows the player to hande those once-in-a story situations when the character has to put that extra heroic effort to succeed, or come up with an outside-the-box application of their abilities.

    Because Sean and Len were quick to share the game with backers and other interested parties to help provide feedback during development, there is an already-active community of players ready to support and enjoy it. There is a Facebook group, a Discod server, and support for the game already set up in the Astral VTT.

    To sum up, if you're into superheroic gaming, this is the system that I believe will become the standard for the genre from now on.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Brett S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/02/2021 17:07:58

    I was a major backer to this title, and to say I have been impressed would be an understatement. It has surpassed my expectations for a well written, and easy to learn game that has as much depth as you ever need for not just the Super-hero Genre, but with small tweaks, can be used in many other Genre's as well! I am very impressed with the artwork, and the level of passion that went into this project! I have found my favorite new go to system to run, and that is Prowlers and Paragons: Ultimate Edition!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Prowlers & Paragons Ultimate Edition
    Publisher: Evil Beagle Games
    by Donny A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/02/2021 15:30:15

    I was the first backer of the kickstarter and have loved every inch of this game. What follows is my experience with the ruleset.

    It is difficult to imagine a more canonical superhero game than Prowlers and Paragons Ultimate Edition and it is almost certain that this edition will remain the most well-known of this game, not the least for being released in a period where Lakeside Games had teamed up with Evil Beagle Games for production and distribution. Affectionately known as “the successor to Champions”, this edition came out in both hardback and softback editions.

    The book itself is quite a tome. The writing style varies between the formal and informal but is also clear and makes the me, the reader, feel like the author at first; is talking to me and second; explaining how the rules work.

    The artwork is the ABSOLUTE BEST IN CLASS FOR A SUPERHERO GAME!

    While characters in many realistic-heroic campaigns can do without powers, any fantasy or superhero setting will need them – and there's quite a collection. A particular feature of powers in the PnPUE is that they describe an effect in game terms, with the world-based logic for the effect being a supplementary question – the “special effect”. Thus an energy blast is a power, and the actual form it takes (lightning bolt, flame bolt, stream of savage caterpillars etc...) is the “special effect”. There are massive amount of powers. Each power has anywhere from a few paragraphs to half a page in description, with plenty of examples. As I said before, the writing drifts to help the reader understand in game terms and what the rules actually mean.

    The GMs section is a is guideline of structured flexibility. That is, it goes through the universal aspects of being a GM and in particular the campaign setting ground rules for diverse superhero campaigns. It encourages player input, establishes the importance of the Heroes, scales the aspects of “campaign tone”, and so forth, before moving into the system-specific aspects such as character building guidelines, optional rule choices, and recommended or disallowed skills, powers etc...

    Another chapter covers desiging adventures, which again is a collection of very sensible advice of bringing the Heroes together, bringing loose ends together, checking for complications, incorporating the game system mechanics, organising subplots, and supervillian motivations and activities.

    At first I though that building a superhero base was too inexpensive. Then I remembered that I want my superheroes to have a connecting point to further their adventures.

    Conclusion

    Prowlers and Paragons Ultimate will become perhaps the most well known superhero game for a good reason. The scope and scale is well suited and there is a serious attempt to cover a great deal of ground.

    Stylistically, there is a lot of positive remarks to be said about the book. Physically superb and well-written the book also has the best artwork, textual expression and organisation and so forth.

    I've given this game 5 stars because I want to play it with you



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 10 (of 10 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items