Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Delta Green: The Labyrinth
    Publisher: Arc Dream Publishing
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/17/2020 11:55:27

    While I am hesitant to criticize Mr. Detwiler's latest work, as I'm a big fan of his writing and Delta Green and the modern Cthulhu Mythos (cosmic horror is very frightening to me, on a personal level, which makes it a fun topic for horror), and I've very much enjoyed the DG line up until this point, I have one big problem with this product: it focused a little too much on "right-wing" conspiracies and stereotypes for me. After reading the scenarios, I felt like only my political viewpoint was being mined for "cosmic evil" ideas, while the other mainstream platform was "left" unscathed. Even if the author is opinionated on such topics (and he has every right to be), he should consider in future works that probably half of his fans might get annoyed by this.

    My advice to the author is that, going forward, he should tap into both right-wing and left-wing conspiracies, basically in an effort to undercut both sides, which would show the meaninglessness of it all: an obvious theme in Lovecraft's original work. By focusing only on one side, the author is implying that the other side is not horrific. But this doesn't really jive with the Cthulhu Mythos at all, given its nature that Great Cthulhu and the Outer Gods could care less about our little political viewpoints. I felt that the old DG sourcebook seemed far more neutral on these matters...it just used anything and everything, regardless of source or viewpoint, and attacked it all (like South Park, lol).

    Anyways, I'm not mad or bent out of shape about this. And I'll still buy more of the products. (They're really very good! The art is great, the writing superb, and the ideas are just mind-blowingly evil...fun for all ages, lol!) Just wanted to give the author a chance to hear a fan out about something he might not have personally considered.

    I give it a 4 for production value and writing and content, but take 1 star off because of the obvious political slant.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Delta Green: The Labyrinth
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Castles & Crusades Players Handbook (4th)
    Publisher: Troll Lord Games
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:21:36

    This is a really great system for someone that loves 3rd edition but wants something a lot simpler and easier to manage. It's also really easy to house-rule, and I think I'm going to start running this game over any other rules system from now on (and that's a big deal, because I was really sold on Pathfinder up until now). The game is just way too easy to run and understand for new and younger players, and you don't need a 600 page rulebook to play it. If you love "crunch," this probably isn't the game for you, but I don't see why you still wouldn't love playing it. Classic fantasy roleplaying at its finest!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Castles & Crusades Players Handbook (4th)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Castles & Crusades Monsters & Treasure
    Publisher: Troll Lord Games
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:19:12

    I love Castles & Crusades! It's a really great rules system, and this book doesn't disappoint. The book is extremely well-organized and easy to read, and you can tell the author put a lot of thought into the rules. The treasure tables are quite simply some of the easiest to understand that I've ever seen. There's enough art to keep the book looking beautiful, but not so much that the pages seem cluttered. Great job, Troll Lords!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Castles & Crusades Monsters & Treasure
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fortress of the Mountain King
    Publisher: Soapbox Games
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:17:14

    I love this module. It has all of the elements of a good ol' fashioned, 1st level, old school, dungeon crawl. Easy to convert to other systems.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fortress of the Mountain King
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Death Frost Doom
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:16:43

    Creepy. And awesome. This product is very "rules-light" and very "flavor-heavy" so it can really be used for almost any version of D&D (or any other fantasy rpg) that you prefer for your game. Great story (very Lovecraftian in its horror)!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Death Frost Doom
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Vault of Larin Karr
    Publisher: Necromancer
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:15:26

    The Vault of Larin Karr is a great product. It is the quintessential sandbox campaign setting, with every single location (above and underground) connecting together with a loose story tying them all into one awesome adventure module. A great model of what a real sandbox campaign should look like! Check it out!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Vault of Larin Karr
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Desolation, Part 1: The Edge of Oblivion (PF)
    Publisher: Frog God Games
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:13:59

    These adventures are really great, well-written, and well-organized. Bill Webb certainly hasn't lost his touch since the days of Necromancer Games (or really, long before that when he was in college). Excellent adventure campaign!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Desolation, Part 1: The Edge of Oblivion (PF)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Larm
    Publisher: Soapbox Games
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:12:15

    I love this town setting! It has an extremely old school feel, and even though it's written for Labyrinth Lord and such, it can easily be adapted into any other D&D version without too much problem.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Larm
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Dungeon Crawl Classics #51: Castle Whiterock
    Publisher: Goodman Games
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:11:20

    Huge. Extremely detailed. Awesome in every way. Get it before it gets you.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Dungeon Crawl Classics #51: Castle Whiterock
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Iron Heroes Bloodwood Setting
    Publisher: Fiery Dragon
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:10:56

    I have to say that this campaign source book really makes me want to use it, even though it's meant for Iron Heroes (I prefer regular D&D). However, despite it's intended audience, this product is extremely "crunch-light" so adapting it to any system is a piece of cake (there are pretty much no rules to go along with it, only flavor). If you like a frontier setting with only hints of darker plots that are left unexplained (for the DM to exercise his own creativity), this is the book for you.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Iron Heroes Bloodwood Setting
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Crucible of Freya
    Publisher: Necromancer
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:08:18

    This is definitely my favorite low-level adventure that I have ever read. Once it starts, it doesn't stop...and the climax is a battle of epic proportions beyond anything a 2nd level group could possibly imagine.

    Don't leave home without it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    The Crucible of Freya
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Rappan Athuk Reloaded
    Publisher: Necromancer
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:05:32

    Possibly the greatest dungeon of all time. Just sayin'.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Rappan Athuk Reloaded
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Tomb of Abysthor
    Publisher: Necromancer
    by Robert A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/23/2010 00:00:22

    Even though it's D&D 3.0 and you need to do some stat and treasure converting, it's probably one of the best dungeon modules I've ever seen. Absolutely wonderful. Get it if you don't have it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Tomb of Abysthor
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items