Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    The Manipulative Player's Guide to Sympathetic Magic
    Publisher: Bards and Sages
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2008 14:09:26

    Quirky little product. I actually like the ideas in this a lot, and the basic rules would work really well, particularly if you are running a modern game where a con artist could really thrive. For the typical fantasy fare, I don’t know how useful this would be. Written in a very conversational tone, as if you have a professional con artist giving a lesson to an apprentice. Pretty boring layout though. Worth picking up, however, particularly for a buck.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Manipulative Player's Guide to Sympathetic Magic
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Keep of Lord Mmorpgus
    Publisher: Bards and Sages
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2008 14:01:18

    Somebody has too much free time on her hands. The author obviously had a lot of fun putting together this tongue-in-cheek collection of magical equipment. But before you laugh off such magical items as Barbaric Armor of the Rabbit or the Heroic Armor of the Triumphant Hedgehog, these silly named items are actually pretty cool, useful, and would add a funny splash to a game. Particularly interesting are the variant wands. Most interesting item in the collection—Rotted Mantle of Poverty, a tabard that is worn over normal clothes, with bonuses dependent on how charitable the wearer has been over the past week. The more you give, the more you get. For the price, a great addition to a your game resources.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Keep of Lord Mmorpgus
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Commodity Cards IV: Finished Goods - The Adventurer's Kit
    Publisher: Tangent Games
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2008 13:47:46

    Fun little product. Print it, cut the cards out, and you're ready to go. A fun little use for the cards--when everyone in the party decides to roll a search check at the same time, lay the cards face down on the table and instead of rolling randomly tell each player to pick one. That is what they found. Plenty of variety to spice up non magical treasure.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Commodity Cards IV: Finished Goods - The Adventurer's Kit
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Mineral Alchemy: Alchemy from Gems and Minerals
    Publisher: Tangent Games
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2008 13:43:41

    Some nice ideas here if running a low-magic setting and you need some alternatives to potions and magical items. Unfortunately, some of the items seem like they should be magical, not alchemetical. Dunite, for example, is supposedly crafted from molten lava and someone holds the heat of the lava inside it to use as a grenade weapon later. Part of the problem may be the writing, which is rather plain and sometimes overly wordy. Layout is kind of boring as well, with gray text boxes used unevenly I guess to break up text. I also don’t think the new skills are even necessary, as I can’t think why I would want to have to split skill points between “normal” alchemy and mineral alchemy when normal alchemy should be enough. I can see maybe creating a feat called mineral alchemy that gives a bonus to alchemy checks when using minerals, but even then I don’t think there is anything presented in this product to justify it.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Mineral Alchemy: Alchemy from Gems and Minerals
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Elemental Gemstones
    Publisher: Bards and Sages
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2008 13:27:36

    Just beautiful, though like Cosmology of Karma this product almost killed my printer. Well written overview of dozens of gems and their supposed magical properties. Gems by Elemental Affinity Chart provides a quick reference in case you want to find gems for specific elements.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Elemental Gemstones
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    40 Alchemical Items
    Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/12/2008 13:18:36

    I really enjoyed this product. Unlike many alchemy collections I've seen, this one provides practical applications of alchemy. Highly useful collection of items that would be a great addition to a game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    40 Alchemical Items
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    50 Cent Feats
    Publisher: The Le Games
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 12:08:22

    For 50 cents you can't complain much. The product is kind of hit and miss, though. Some of the feats seem exceptionally useful, others feel redundant, and a few are just too overpowering to allow in a normal game. I like that the writer provides game mechanic opportunities that allow players to gain additional feats by sacrificing elsewhere. For example, some feats allow a ranger to sacrifice a favored enemy in order to take the feat. That seems to be a sensible option.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    50 Cent Feats
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Free Counter Sampler
    Publisher: Fiery Dragon
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 12:00:47

    You know, I've never thought I had the need for a half-dragon/half-polar bear. But looking at these counters, I think I will have to come up with one. I'm slightly annoyed, because these counters seem very, very adventure specific. To use them, I need to make up the stats for the creatures presented. Which I think was a bad choice for a free promotional product. The counters should have been for more generic monsters to demonstrate the quality. I think these are cool, don't get me wrong, but it's annoying that I have to do extra work to use them.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Free Counter Sampler
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Pantheon Building
    Publisher: Bards and Sages
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 11:52:48

    This is one of those products that basically reminds you of stuff you already know, but forget to remember when you need it. Pretty straightforward, well-written product. For the price, definitely worth picking up if you intend to do any sort of god creation for your game.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Pantheon Building
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Cosmology of Karma
    Publisher: Bards and Sages
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 11:46:36

    This product is gorgeous. Just beautiful use of photos for illustration, it’s definitely the prettiest product I’ve bought so far! Of course, printing this was a bear, and almost destroyed my printer. A text only file or grayscale file would be nice. This PDF is also extremely well written, and presents some unique ideas for using the planes. As you read through it, you get this slight Elder Gods/Lovecraftian vibe from the writer. This PDF presents humans as either a food source for planar beings, lab rats, or minor nuisances for the most part, and it rethinks the motivations of different planar beings like demons (daemons), devils, gods, angels, and an assortment of others. I particularly liked the presentation of The Flux, which is where the four elemental planes of earth, air, fire, and water exist. Provides just enough information for GMs to customize the planar beings for their own games regardless of what type of game you might happen to be running at the time.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Cosmology of Karma
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Fantasy Occupations
    Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 11:37:37

    Very well thought out product, and another one of those things that you don't realize you need for your game until you see it. Well organized. Nice layout. High quality. I'm very pleased with this purchase.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fantasy Occupations
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Two Bits, Six Feats: Weapons & Combat
    Publisher: Skortched Urf' Studios
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 11:33:47

    I don’t like paying for an incomplete product, even if it is only 50 cents. The feats in this product are pretty cool on the surface, but when you actually examine them there is stuff missing. For example, the feat Attune to Weapon has prerequisites of Weapon Familiarity and Weapon Mastery. However I don’t know what these feats are. They are not part of the SRD, and they aren’t explained in this product or even where they are explained. I assume they are in a different product, but forcing me to buy a separate product to understand the one I already bought is the reason I stopped playing RIFTS. There is no way I ever allow Artillery Mage in a game as written, particularly because it is factual wrong. The feat claims that normally, you can cast one missile for every two levels, up to a max of 10 at 20th level. However, the actual max is 5. This feat automatically doubles the number of missiles you can fire. The feat also lets you sacrifice a 5th level spell to increase the damage to 1d8+1. So not only does this feat let you double the number of missiles, but also the amount of damage. And the only requirement is that you know the spell magic missile. And the feat Trollbane Fencer exists for absolutely no reason other than to circumvent monster regeneration. There is no prerequisite requirement that even explains why this feat would actually allow you to negate regeneration. As a DM, I don’t think I would allow these feats in my game. A twink player, of course, will love them.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Two Bits, Six Feats: Weapons & Combat
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Elemental Metals
    Publisher: Bards and Sages
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 10:48:00

    Sweet little product that really just is bursting with inspiration for GMs. Why make up new exotic metals when the real world already has so many? There is so much here beyond the traditional copper, silver, gold, platinum metals. Well written and thought out to be fully functional regardless of your game style or setting.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Elemental Metals
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Initiative Cards (Free)
    Publisher: The Game Mechanics
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 10:27:18

    This is such a simple idea, and presented so simply and beautifully! I know I get frustrated trying to keep track of all the NPCs, monsters, and summoned critters running around. These cards are the perfect little tool to solve that problem. These are one of those things you can't imagine how you ran your game without them.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Initiative Cards (Free)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Five Free Races
    Publisher: Silverthorne Games
    by Nadine S. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/22/2008 10:21:58

    These races are nicely presented and well designed. Any one of them would make a nice additional to a campaign setting to add a bit of exotic flavor to a strange locale. Some might require slight tweaking before allowing as playable races, but none of them are overly powerful that it would be too much of an issue to use as is. The writer did a nice job of providing useful background information for each race that can help give GMs a better idea of how to use them.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Five Free Races
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items