Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Time Bomb
    Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/18/2019 01:04:58

    The idea that a new nuclear power would have a big enough stockpile to mount a nuclear exchange capable of devastating the entire world is something I'd probably balk at as a player. In a lot of ways it would be better to stick with Russia. But the idea of future versions of established campaign characters coming back to kill a PC to keep them from starting World War III has a lot of appeal. There are no battle maps. The artwork is kind of random with only some of the characters illustrated while other pictures appearing to be generic superhero/villain images. I found myself wondering "Is that Dryad? No, it's a man."



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Time Bomb
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Ponyfinder - Everglow Bestiary
    Publisher: Silver Games LLC
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/30/2017 16:53:39

    For those with familiarity with the cartoon it is amusing to see the oblique references contained in "werebats", "gem gnolls", and "chaos ooze". The description doesn't lie. This book does contain more than a dozen creatures for Pathfinder and D&D 5th edition, depending how you count them, including one new race suitable for player characters. It gives stats for both so it's not a compact boo,k but it is a well organized one with good art so you can clearly visualize these critters. The evil griffon cult is particularly interesting as are the snake-people.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Ponyfinder - Everglow Bestiary
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
    Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/19/2017 23:30:59

    A delightful combination of D&D, THe Primal Order and Exalted that avoids the clunky elements of each of those systems. Unlike a lot of freebies quite adequately playable as is. Highly recommended.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Godbound: A Game of Divine Heroes (Free Edition)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Supervillains (SUPERS!)
    Publisher: HAZARD Studio
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/20/2015 02:06:34

    This is a collection of supervillains (plus Bug) with dynamic vivid characterization and description that more than make up for my lack of knowledge of what the stats mean. I have no idea how I came to buy it but having read it, I'm satisfied I got a good product. Although, seriously guys, Adonis is the Greek god of beauty. It's also nice that all of the villains come with with enemies in their backstories to help fill out the universe.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Supervillains (SUPERS!)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
    Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/02/2012 20:29:36

    Frankly I have no use for the d20 system. It doesn't matter. This product is great anyway if only for having a world generation system that is quick, colourful, and focussed on the important thing, "What can this world be used for in a roleplaying game?" Having spend hours generating one worthless rock after another in orbit around one red dwarf after another or even one collection of generic Traveller stats after another, I appreciate that a great deal. Apart from that it has quite a good way of rolling large scale conflicts for those PCs who manage to put themselves in charge of military units, espionage agencies, or corporations. The alien creation stuff is interesting. They acknowledge that there are two basic approaches to alien psychology, making them something nearly impossible to communicate with, or make them basically humanlike, but with a Hat or two, a defining trait like "scholarly" or "treacherous". C'mon. You know it's how you do it. It's how Star Trek and Star Wars do it too. Example alien critters and the example set of worlds (on a Traveller subsector map) look like stuff you could totally snag for inspiration. This is definitely worth the download for any interstellar science fiction gm.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Waking Dead
    Publisher: Eden Studios
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/30/2011 19:47:00

    This unholy offspring of Romero's zombies and Stephen King's The Stand, is an adequate introduction to All Flesh Must Be Eaten (and Unisystem). I don't particularly like the brute force character introduction, but I do kind of like the random hospital navigation table. There are no floorplans or anything that can really be used for anything except the intended purpose, introducing players and GMs to All Flesh Must Eaten. That being said, the whole business of drawing people aside to give them dreams is actually extremely awkward in play even though it works OK in a novel.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    The Waking Dead
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Zombacalypse
    Publisher: Silver Gryphon Games
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/26/2011 22:24:59

    Zombies are great opponents in video games. Easy targets and programming their AI is a snap. It isn't a problem if they have a habit of bumping into walls after all. They're convenient monsters in movies. Not only do they symbolize the collapse of modern civilisation into mob violence (an increasing fear since the seventies) but they're one of the few monsters where convincing make-up for them isn't that hard or expensive to do. There have even been a couple of good zombie books. But me, I've never felt any urge to play in a zombie apocalypse, particularly not a Romero apocalypse. I never would have picked this up except as part of one of the disaster bundles. Which is pretty appropriate when I think about it. Still, this isn't a bad deal for the price. All Flesh Must Be Eaten mines the same territory but much more expensively and most of Zombacalypse is useful for any game system. The best part of it is that in the short scenarios that take up over half of the book, most of them don't in fact require you dedicate the whole campaign to zombie survivalism. That's a good feature for those GMs like me, who aren't necessarily Romero fans. Zombie babies are kind of cool...



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Zombacalypse
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Helix: The Post Apocalypse, High-Tech, Fantasy, Western Role Playing Game
    Publisher: Adam J Weber
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/08/2011 23:54:58

    A bit of Boot Hill, a bit of Shadowrun, a bit of Metamorphosis Alpha. But the whole is rather less than the sum of its parts. The "Cyber Mystics" who cast spells with portable computers? I don't really like them. But it is inexpensive and workable.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Helix: The Post Apocalypse, High-Tech, Fantasy, Western Role Playing Game
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    UNEARTHLY: Cosmic Heroes
    Publisher: Adamant Entertainment
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/08/2011 23:02:48

    Contains good advice about how to run games for Green Lanterns and Galactus Heralds or Greek and Norse gods when they're out among the stars. While reading it, I started to think about Azathoth's stats. That means it was hitting the right buttons.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    UNEARTHLY: Cosmic Heroes
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Seven Leagues roleplaying game of Faerie
    Publisher: Malcontent Games
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/08/2011 22:15:27

    Mechanics: Low in crunch, with the ability to be entertaining the key to success. Easily understood and used. I personally prefer more mechanistic games, but this looks idea for the people who like to concentrate on colourful description of speedy action (and in fact vivid and creative description of action is the key to winning).

    Worldbuilding: The mechanics are good enough but not quite my cuppa. But the middle third of the book containing various faerie locales would be a valuable addition to any fantasy or superhero campaign whether you use the game system or not.

    Adventures: There are three adventures at the end, the first being an "Arabian Nights" styled attempt to help a dreaming mortal artist seek out inspiration, the second being the discovery and attempt to foil a villain who is part fairy tale, part James Bond Villain, and the third being a rewritten version of the classic fairy tale "Donkey Skin" that I find to be a considerable improvement.

    All in all this is a great package, and I can recommend it to you.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Seven Leagues roleplaying game of Faerie
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Amerikkka (Don't Buy This)
    Publisher: Blandrake Entertainment
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/07/2011 13:09:58

    Heavy handed. I didn't find it funny and the gaming utility is dubious at best.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Amerikkka (Don't Buy This)
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    DWB Six Month Report on Haiti
    Publisher: Doctors Without Borders
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/07/2010 11:41:11

    Yes, yes, MSB is doing wonderful work and it's nice to see what the money from the donated works went to do. But this is an RPG site, and from that point of view, I'd have to say, that this could be surprising useful for anyone looking to send their superheroes or spies into a disaster zone. The snippets of what was going seemed quite inspirational to me. My only question is...why is this a "secured" product? Who cares if someone passes it around?



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    DWB Six Month Report on Haiti
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    David - No need to secure this, no. The way our previews website code works, we have to set the product to watermarked pdf in order for our previews to display properly. The report can also be downloaded as a plain PDF from DWB's website.
    Villains and Vigilantes
    Publisher: Fantasy Games Unlimited
    by David J. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/19/2008 17:48:37

    Villains and Vigilantes is an oldie of course but once upon a time it was one of the big superhero systems. It does some interestingly unfashionable things that modern systems don't. The semi-random character generation is something a lot of gamers would reject out of hand but it was my experience as a GM that the random roll system really opened my mind to character possibilities I would never have otherwise thought of. It made great inspiration for my villain making. Apart from that, the combat system, while once again an old fashioned one relying on the full polyhedral range of dice is straightforward, unambiguous, and well designed to accomodate the varying power levels produced by the dice driven character generation process. However, V&V's mechanics are very combat oriented and neglect things like detective work. Still, for me, the character generation alone was worth the five bucks and the basics are covered.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Villains and Vigilantes
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 13 (of 13 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items