Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Fiasco Classic
     
    $12.00
    Average Rating:4.8 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    85 22
    21 2
    3 0
    1 0
    0 0
    Fiasco Classic
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Joseph D. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 06/02/2021 21:15:35

    Fiasco Classic is a great game to run as a one off night of fun and mayhem, whether you're getting a group to dip their toes in roleplaying water for the first time or the whole table is a bunch of old pros. There are playsets available online for pretty much any scenario you could ever want to play out, and the setup allows for plenty of replayability, even if you want to use the same playset over and over!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Jeremy C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/01/2020 11:05:40

    I really enjoy Fiasco! What a fantastic and fun game. I love being able to play an RPG filled with twists and turns all within a 2 hour time frame. Super fun!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Nathan L. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/02/2020 23:31:34

    This is my go to when I vet new players into my games. It will show you who can metagame like a writer, think creatively on their feet, and have the confidence to use the spotlight when it's upon them. Also, it's super fun and the stories that you end up telling have you laughing at them for months.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Max P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/17/2019 11:10:13

    What's worth noting is that the files are excellent: there is a PDF, epub, and mobi. All are flawless.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by malachai j. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/28/2017 13:15:26

    The game is fun. Its a system thats easy to learn and dosent take much setup. It has an improv feel, and i enjoy that. Twas Good.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by A customer [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/26/2016 14:05:11

    So glad I went out on a limb and bought this game. I'm used to playing more traditional dice and minature games but when I heard the description of Fiasco I had to pick up a copy. It has changed my gaming life. Highly recommend.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Sean B. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 07/10/2016 18:50:28

    Excellent system for people who want an RP experience that requires minimal setup time in a GM-less environment. I picked this up after finding out my usual GM couldn't show up for our FATE campaign. We set up the game vanilla, and chose relationships before we built our characters. Then we picked the needs, objects, and locations to make things super insane. The result was a total blast, full of awesome stories, ridiculous twists, and more than a few missing limbs. I would recommend this game to anyone who is looking for a new collaborative game to play with friends or anyone who needs a break from their usual RP session.

    One thing I noticed was that the players who traditionally take RPing less seriously (making decisions that are unimaginative, responding n dialogue with jokes for cheap laughs instead of advancing the story, etc) found themselves in positions in the late game where their characters didn't have anything interesting going on, while everyone else was caught up in glorious chaos that they had collectively created It didn't hinder our experience too much, but I can see that this could hinder some players who are shy, having a bad day, etc. and leave them disappointed. If you are in this position, try to keep them engaged by having your character bring the trouble to them whenever possible (which is delightfully easy in Fiasco!).

    A great game to pick up and play, and can be set up and finished in one session. Get it. You will not be disappointed.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Guntis V. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/23/2014 15:08:02

    A really standout game. Fabulous, I'll say - and innovating for sure.

    Upon reading about it first, all I noticed was that it was GM-less. Didn't impress me... When I had read several high praises and gave it a try, Fiasco proved to give me something I didn't have in 'traditional' RPGs.

    I feel Fiasco like taking the most memorable episodes of several 'traditional' tabletop sessions, and having played just these in one session. All the not-so-epic episodes just eliminated. Like in cinema, as the creators of Fiasco say: you don't watch every damn mundane thing, likewashing pots and laundry - only the adventurous moments.

    The innovative side (in my humble opinion) is how Fiasco manages the creation of characters, plots and outcomes. And - for surprise to those used to roll dice for attacks, saving throws, damage, cure wounds, ad infinitum - no need for any! Outcome voted by others, and it works brilliantly. Perhaps because no one is annoyed for a failure: after all, it's a Fiasco, folks!

    One thing I noticed is, that for those playing Fiasco first time it may take more than those 2.5 hours some say. For us it took more than 4 hours. But a pure pleasure nontheless! I felt like we could record the game as a ready-made movie script.

    Also I believe that a session of Fiasco can be a funny way to produce possible scenarios for other game systems.

    Have a nice Fiasco!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by thomas b. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 10/24/2014 17:35:10

    Fiasco is a great pick-up-and-play tabletop RPG that is easily accessible to everyone from casual boardgamers to hardcore tabletop RPGers. While the simplicity is good, the real draw is the emergent storytelling. No matter how often you and your four friends play The Quest for the Golden Panda, so long as just one of your relationships with another character is different (there's 36 possible TYPES of relationships, not even counting how you choose to define them), the game will play out in an extremely different way. And that doesn't even look at the other 4 relationships on the board, the 36 different types, each, of Needs, Objects, and Locations which drive the game.

    Though it may be a standard of emergent storytelling, the replayability is near infinite on each and every module, which is another plus.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Micah B. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/28/2014 17:20:09

    A small group party game, Fiasco is the most inviting rpg I think I have played. There are no character sheets and every game is a one shot. It's more a session of structured improv than an rpg in reality.

    I have played the game twice. Each time with 4 players. It's fantastic. It's great as a double date activity for us nerdy folk.

    The downside to the game is that it is difficult to explain the concept to someone which can make it difficult to convince them to play. That being said it's well worth it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Ken C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/16/2013 11:47:20

    Fiasco is a hilarious, fun game to play with a bunch of friends. I've played 4 games so far with different groups and each of the play-sets brings even more replayability to an already varied game. This is enough of a 5/5 for me that I already owned this in paperback - I still bought the digital edition!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Ali E. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 09/06/2013 16:26:37

    This is a work of genius. Fast, furious, funny and easy to play. Buy this. You won't regret it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Stuart C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/10/2013 17:13:00

    Very good, very good. The "Replay" section helps clarify play greatly, and so you can find yourself completing your first Fiasco within an hour and a half of opening the book. Great replayability, with plenty of fanmade playlists available online. Well worth the money.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Jason A. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/15/2013 12:25:01

    Love it! The one thing that's missing from role playing games today is role playing. Fiasco delivers what I originally fell in love with when I started gaming.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Fiasco Classic
    Publisher: Bully Pulpit Games
    by Marc P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/03/2013 16:07:25

    Maybe you've seen Wil Wheaton's Table Top episode, maybe not (if not you might want to check it out, it's fantastic). That's where I first encountered Fiasco, and I'm thankful to Wil for that. Fiasco is a GM-less Role-Playing Game, designed specifically to emulate the kinds of no holds barred disasters as seen in movies from the Cohen Brothers and countless others. Beyond that however, Fiasco presents a way for a small group of freinds to get a role- play experience in a short period of time (one and a half to two hours for three players, longer with more), with no need for a pre-planned session and no requirement for one player to act as GM.

    Set up requires only a handful of dice in two colors and some paper and pencils (I find that index cards are really damn near perfect for this). Somebody throws a number of dice into the center of the table and using the dice players take turns slowly determining their relationship with the other players to their left and right (each player having two defined relationships), objects, needs, and locations that are relevant to the game. Tables for each are provided as part of a playset (there are a few in the book, and dozens more available for free online). Dice first establish the broad category of a relationship, object, location, or need, then further dice determine the specific detail. Example:

    • Player 1 takes up a die showing 5 and decides that the first relationship is going to be one from the Family grouping. • Later Player 2 grabs a die showing 1 and establishes that he and Player 1 are estranged siblings.

    • Player 3 takes a die showing 6 and establishes that there is a Need "To Get Even..." • Later on Player 1 takes a die showing 2 and further defines that Need as "To Get Even ... with the one who laughed at you.

    The process continues around the table until every player has a relationship with the players to their left and right and there are at least one Need, Object, and Location (more than three players add more Needs, Objects, and Locations, in that order). Once all the dice have been used and/or everybody is satisfied with the setup play begins.

    Play takes the form of scenes between two or more players and usually two of the main characters (though sometimes a player may need or want a scene with an NPC character played by somebody else for that scene). The player who's turn it is chooses to either Establish or Resolve. When they Establish the set the scene, stating where, with whom, and why, and then the players play it out. Once complete that other players decide if the scene worked out well for the player or not and assign a die to the player accordingly (if using black and white dice, white are "good" and black are "bad"). Play then continues with the next player.

    When a player chooses to Resolve they take a die of the appropriate color and ask the group to Establish the scene for them, with the intended outcome of the scene to be good or bad for their character. Once the group sets the scene it is played out as usual. Regardless of the choice to Establish or Resolve each scene is played out, usually in just a few minutes, and each player gets a total of four scenes that revolve around their character over the course of the game.

    After each player has had two turns (and thus two scenes with their character being central to the action) the first Act ends. The remaining dice are rolled and the two players with the highest total on black dice and white dice choose two Tilt aspects to complicate the second Act. Tilt is determined the same as setup with dice being take to determine the category and then the specifics. For instance:

    • Mayhem → Misdirected Passion • Innocence → The Wrong Guy Gets Busted • Failure → A Stupid Plan, Executed to Perfection

    These Tilt aspects will alter the course of events from the first half and inform the second as the players' character begin (or continue) the downward spiral from "Powerful Ambition" to "Poor Impulse Control", or, to put it another way, well laid plans become a complete clusterf&%k. Scenes played out during the second Act need to be more resolution focused so that the story begins to converge on an end, but apart from that play is generally the same as the first Act with the addition of the Tilt.

    Once all the dice are gone and every player has played their parts the game moves to the Aftermath. During the Aftermath we find out just what happened to each character after the events of the story. Players roll their dice (those they got from scenes) and consult the aftermath table, which is generally grim, and often worse, to find out generally how their characters' fare. They then take turns playing a die and narrating a brief montage of scenes (usually just a few sentences) that bring their characters' to their ultimate fate.

    That's the gist of play in a simplified manner. With three players I've taken part in half a dozen games and none of them were longer than two hours including setup (even the first game where I was teaching the game was only barely two hours). Things are fast and furious with a focus on an entertaining story that twists and turns (often twisting out of the control of the players). The numerous play set options available online mean that nearly any time period, setting, and genre are available from Superheroes to Suburban Housewives.

    Closing Thoughts With genuinely simple and quick mechanics to setup, and direct play and a strong focus on role-playing and improvisation, Fiasco is a perfect game to fill in after a short session of your weekly RPG, or to fill an entire evening with multiple plays. The book is excellently written, conveying the rules clearly and providing a bunch of great advice on what to look for during set up and play to ensure that your game becomes a true Fiasco. The wide variety of FREE play sets available online mean that there are near endless replay options.

    Rating: 100% - Pretty much perfect. This game is everything a lite RPG should strive to be, and I find that the more I play the more I enjoy it.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 24 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items