Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition

    This product is no longer available from

    Average Rating:4.2 / 5
    Ratings Reviews Total
    5 4
    3 2
    1 2
    1 0
    0 0
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Click to view
    You must be logged in to rate this
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Robert O. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 07/09/2011 02:28:52

    Four books delivered in this pack its a lot material to discuss about. LotFP is very well writen. Full of tips&trick for DMs. The best part of it is... Tutorial for people new to RPGs. This book translate what is RPG in great way. Referee book (dedicated for DMs) is also very usefull. Gives DM solid package of tips.

    But at the end of the day - I was expecting something more. Authors promised weirdness, but I couldn't found much of it. Maybe in future products (settings? adventures?) the promise will be fulfilled.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Curt M. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/09/2010 13:35:09

    Caveat: I bought these pdfs on sale for $1.34, so my opinion is influenced somewhat by that price.

    LotFP is to 0e what Castles & Crusades is to 1e, and arguably better written. The "Weird" aspect of the game isn't so much "strange" as it is an indication that as much as it draws from OD&D and retro clones for inspiration, it looks to the source material that inspired the original game in the first place. Magic-Users and Clerics can use any weapon or type of armor, but only Fighters gain attack bonuses with level advancement. The Specialist concept is a good one. It comes right out of Tunnels & Trolls 7th edition, though Ken St Andre isn't credited.

    This set could be equally inspiring and off-putting for new players. The Tutorial Book is as good a how-to of OD&D as I've seen, but the game almost demands an experienced game master. There are no monster stat blocks included. The rationale for this is that there are literally hundreds of 0e and 1e monster stats available on the net for free. The Referee Book is well written and no-nonsense. There are no treasure or magical item tables, but a discussion of the concepts. The author talks his readers through a number of RPG pitfalls the problems with historical campaigns.

    If I get the chance to run 0e, I'll probably use this. The ascending armor class makes combat easy, and as cool as Dark Dungeons is, it is not a rules-lite game. This is.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Thomas B. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 10/10/2010 00:25:28

    With an eye-catching name and some very interesting art, I was drawn to the promise of "weird fantasy" role playing...what I got was a D&D retroclone that never felt particularly weird. While I'm sure it probably holds up with other retroclones, I didn't see any particular reason one would have to choose this over another variation of D&D,



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Nathan C. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 08/31/2010 20:30:58

    Iron Nugget I am convinced that the intro sheet in Lamentations of the Flame Princess is a hysterical love letter to yours truly. It speaks

    However, like most love letters, it never lives up to its promises. Whereas the writing is witty the actual system is pretty much the same old different take on the OGL with some new saves and a rolling magic system. The presentation is highly visual and eye-catching, but in the end I didn't find anything that made it any more weird than any one else's take.

    I do like this book if you are planning on introducing D&D to new gamers.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Maria P. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/28/2010 05:17:26

    Fantastic content, rules and advise, especially for DM's. Thank you for a great product! We're playing right now. :)

    Any chance of getting the "deluxe edition" cover somehow? It would be greatly appreciated, as it looks very beautiful in the thumbnail over there ;)



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Jim C. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/18/2010 21:19:31

    Some really nice updates and clarifications to the Basic D&D standard in a somewhat grim, low fantasy mood. Given a few published adventures to back it up, I'd say this deserves to become a significant new standard for the old school.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by erik f. t. t. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 08/12/2010 21:22:08

    Weird Fantasy is a nice twist on a classic rule system.

    The rulebook itself should be familiar to anyone that has played D&D or any of its recent clones, yet each of the 4 classes has a unique and defined roll to fill. The default setting (which is not defined) is a low magic world with a slight horror twist. The Magic book is the spell lists and scroll and potion creation (no magic item list - magic items should be unique in this system). The Referee book has some well thought out advice that can be used in any game (no monster listing either - monsters should be unique, and therefore unnerving and scary). It's probably the best piece of an excellent ensamble. Last but not least is the Tutorial book, which includes and excellent snapshot of real life gameplay as well as a nicely done solo adventure.

    It all looks perfect on my iPad and all the books are well bookmarked. An excellent piece of work. Well done.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    LotFP Weird Fantasy Role-Playing Deluxe Edition
    Publisher: Lamentations of the Flame Princess
    by Stuart R. [Featured Reviewer]
    Date Added: 08/10/2010 08:11:33

    I've really enjoyed reading the Lamentations of the Flame Princess Weird Fantasy Role-Playing game so far. It's a new, traditional style RPG, based on the solid foundation of 1st edition RPGs you're likely familiar with already. However, unlike other "retro clones" which can have a sameness and vanilla fantasy quality to them, this game has a strong authorial voice and the implied setting is much darker and more "weird fantasy" than most fantasy RPGs.

    What I particularly enjoyed about LotFPWFRPG (that's some acronym) was seeing the new ideas being brought to a traditional game. It's these interesting additions and changes that make me most interested in reading more of the book - where other "old school" products tend to just get used as reference and are largely left unread. The unified d6 based skill system, and accompanying character sheet design was a nice surprise, as was the Choose Your Own Adventure style tutorial adventure to teach new (and old) players how the game works. The LotFP take on the Thief -- the Specialist class -- is also nicely done. I can see many of these ideas making their way into other Traditional RPG games in the near future.

    The PDFs are not the same layout as what you'd get in the boxed set, and I have somewhat mixed feelings about that. If you're planning on just using them on the screen then you'll be very happy with them. They're formatted in a single column so they're much easier to read with a landscape format monitor. However, if you wanted to print them or view them on an iPad or portrait format monitor, while quite serviceable they're not as nice as what you'd find in print.

    Having said that the PDFs are only $12.50 which is a very reasonable price for so much gaming material. The artwork that accompanies them is also much higher quality than many games you'll find at that price point as well.

    Overall I'd highly recommend this game to anyone who's taste in RPGs tends towards the rules light and setting dark.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Displaying 1 to 8 (of 8 reviews) Result Pages:  1 
    Back
    0 items