Quick Find
 Categories
     Sister sites
     Information
    See our Quickstart Guide for information on how to get started.

    Having Problems?
    • FAQ - our Frequently Asked Questions page.
    • Device Help - assistance for viewing your purchases on a tablet device.
    • Contact us if none of these answer your questions.

    Affiliate System - Click here for information about how you can get money by referring people to !

    Our Latest Newsletter
    Product Reviews
    Privacy Policy
    How to Sell on
    Convention Support Program


    RSS Feed New Product RSS Feed
    Back
    Other comments left by this customer:
    You must be logged in to rate this
    Hostile
    Publisher: Zozer Games
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/21/2021 03:37:41

    This is a very well written source book that is compatible with Cepheus Engine, but in my opinion, could easily be used with otherscience fiction roleplaying games such as Classic Traveller or 1970's 2D6 Retro Rules.

    Pual Elliot is a very good writer who has delivered a number of gamesin both science fiction and historical settings. Hostile is set in the 23rd century. His setting is gritty and unromantic. Think movies such as Outland and the Alien franchise. If one is to think of timeline with titles such as Orbital in the near future, (Traveller)2300 in the middle, official Traveller universe in the far future, I would place hostile as being contemporary with 2300. It is much more gritty than 2300.

    I really enjoyed reading Hostile. The universe that Paul created is very detailed with lots of potential ideas for gamers.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Hostile
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    The Tekumel Sourcebook - Swords & Glory Vol. 1
    Publisher: M.A.R Barker's World of Tekumel
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/31/2020 22:12:46

    A good overviewoftheworld ofTekumel. Itis very information dense dense and represents good value in that sense.

    This appears to be a scan of the original document. There were criticisims of clarity of the scanning. This looks like that issue has been resolved. It is still only a scan, and could benefit from being remastered at some time in the future.

    The typography and layout this product is it's major drawback. The small font size and dense layout makes it difficult to read. That is why the the product badly needs to be remastered.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    The Tekumel Sourcebook - Swords & Glory Vol. 1
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Talislanta Third Edition Guidebook
    Publisher: Steve Sechi
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/13/2019 21:10:07

    This is actually an excellent product. I have given it only one star, however, because the quality of the scan is quite poor. It is rather blurry and the smaller fonts are very hard to read. This is particuarly noticable on a small screen. The poor quality of the scan is veryt suprising, given the fairly large file size. I suggest that the vendor should update this product with a clearer scan, which I am sure that they can do without increasing the file size.



    Rating:
    [1 of 5 Stars!]
    Talislanta Third Edition Guidebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    High Seas Fleet, 2nd Edition Annex Booklet
    Publisher: Admiralty Trilogy Group
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 02/17/2019 18:55:42

    This is a good addition to FG&DN. It gives you all the information that you need to play naval wargames in the EUROPERAN THEATER. For that the authours have chosen to cover thos navies that operated in European warters. This includes the Austro-Hungarians, Germans, Italians, British Russian and French. Only a few Japanese ships are coverd - the important ones that were involved in the Great War. I noticed that one of those ships was the Ibuki, which was involved early on in the hunt for Garf Spee's squadron.

    I feel that this suppliment covers in detail most of what it has set out to do. I notice that it has had some bad reviews which I belive is due to percieved ommisions in this data annex. I think that this is a bit unfair, because when I read the blurb before purchase, it was quite clear to me that the subjetct matter is essentially the war in European waters (including Australia/NZ and other salient periferal areas). This is quite clearly not a Pacific US vs Japan what-if and appears to be outside the scope of the suppliment.

    As I said, the US fleet is not included in this suppliment. When I purchased this suppliment, I understood that it was not included - yes I did read the blurb before buying! Having said that, I will still argue that for completeness, there should be some US ships in this suppliment because a squadron of US battleships was attatched to the British Grand Fleet from 1917, after the US joined the war. This became the 6th battle squadron. In addition, the authours could have considered the United States' contribution to the war against the German U-boats after they had joined the for. If it is the authours' intent to concentrate in European waters, then this is quite clearly a serious ommission, and some gamers will quite clearlly feel let down because of this. This is something that the authours might want to fix up in an update in order to preserve gppd will with their customers.

    Over all, this is a good, solid and well reserched suppliment for FG&DN. I should really give them 5 stars. The ommsions described above, however, means that I can only give them four stars. Apart from that, well done!



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    High Seas Fleet, 2nd Edition Annex Booklet
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Classic Traveller-CT- B05-High Guard
    Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 11/17/2017 20:19:54

    This is the original High Guard ruled from ClassTraveller. After the 3 little books itwas oneof my first FRP purchaces. I decided on a digital copy aftmy printed copy was falling to bits from lots of use.

    Thisis truely a classic Starship design book. Itdates from the early 1980's. Some aspects suchas the computer ruled a bit quaint today. Other aspects suchas ship's weapons still seem to hold up nicely. What could have been very complicated has been simplified to the extent that pencil, paper and a calulator (no spreadsheets back then) was all you need to star gear heading your first ship.

    Many star ship design rules have followed - none have matched CT High Guard's fine balance of elegant simplicity and creative potential. My only criticism is that this is a scan and not a digitally mastered copy (look closely at the fonts - they blurr when you zoom in which is a sign that it is only a scanned copy). This criticism aside, at least a digital copy is available for purchase.

    I strongly recommend this as a purchase for anyone interested in Classic Traveller.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Classic Traveller-CT- B05-High Guard
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Glyphs RPG Blueprint - Digital Edition
    Publisher: Scribeworx
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 05/06/2016 20:15:46

    This is a good professional product, however it is very incomplete. For it to be usable one has to buy all the tokens that area needed to make the game playable.

    Furthermore, my initial thoughts and impressions of this gaming system is that it appears complicated and difficult to understand.

    For such a profssionally produced gaming system I really wanted to be more generous in my review, I know how hard it is to produce anything these days.   Unfortunately that is not possible here. Athough this was a free product, ti me it was a bit of a waste of bandwidth.

    There are plenty of other products out there that are better.



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Glyphs RPG Blueprint - Digital Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Creator Reply:
    Thank you for your feedback Philip! Glyphs is intentionally a bare-bones product, which is mentioned in the beginning so there are no misconceptions. It is meant to be a set of mechanics and some default content to be used to make virtually any setting or content. I liken it to a box of Legos. I took a somewhat minimalist approach as far as content was concerned to encourage users to use their imagination and give freedom of creativity. It is not incomplete by any stretch and is exactly as I intended it to be, although I realize this approach may not be for everyone. It looks like a lot to take in, but it\'s actually simple to learn. Glyphs is simply a new approach to RPG\'s that have otherwise been played the same exact way for the last 40 years. I wanted to do something completely new, and I understand the inherent risks in deviating from the norm. The reason I went with the Tokens instead of dice is because they accomplish more, specifically the dexterity component as well as random context. This adds a new take on the game instead of solely relying on the randomness of dice. Otherwise, thank you for your kind words regarding the quality! Give it a chance and you will find Glyphs to be a very fun gameplay experience. Cheers!
    Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
    Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/10/2016 03:23:20

    A very interesting read. The discussion covers many works from those that pre-date Traveller, and were influential in it's conception as a SF RGP, though various works of fan fiction. It ends up discussing the most recent works.

    I really enjoyed this ebook. There are a lot of works discussed that I did not know about.   It was very informative. Although the writer covered a lot, I feel that there are a lot of other SF works out there that, although not Traveller specific, is still of benifit to anyone designing a scenario.   The subject is however very large and it is not possible to cover everything.

    Overall, a very good ebook.   Strongly recommend.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Ebook: The Science Fiction In Traveller
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Big Damn Dryden 2503 - Introduction Version
    Publisher: Dryden House
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/04/2016 03:59:26

    A good product. Nicely presented primer on the Dryden 'universe.' Graphics generally very good. I particularly liked the presentation of the solar systems.

    Its very hard for indie develers to get new products on to the market.   Speaking from some experience, it is also very hard to produce rpg material.

    If this primer is anything to go by, the full product will bet quite good.

    Well done.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Big Damn Dryden 2503 - Introduction Version
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    GDW Game System Guides [BUNDLE]
    Publisher: Game Designers' Workshop (GDW)
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/08/2016 16:55:05

    Game guides have their uses as they can help establish what serious collectors of gaming products need to get to fill out their collections.

    I got the bundled package during the Christmas period when it was free. As a minor point, this is really a form of advertising and should always be free as it is essentially helping the vendor to sell more products.

    Overall, was worth getting.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    GDW Game System Guides [BUNDLE]
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
    Publisher: Scrying Eye Games
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/08/2016 16:42:20

    This is a nicely rendered little document. It is quite thin, however it is also free. The artwork is quite good and would look good on any gaming table. Although it is only a small vehicle, it is of the standard that a lot of us now expect from deck plans and maps with full colour and good quality rendering showing things such as seats, fixtures and machinery.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Civilian Air/Raft for Traveller
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Introduction to Clement Sector
    Publisher: Independence Games
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 08/01/2015 03:19:11

    A very good introduction to the Clementsector. Good background information is given.

    The Clement Sector offers a refreshing change from the standard Traveller settings. Gives the impression of being closer to 2300AD than 'regular Traveller. '

    I would recommend this to anyone thinking about gaming in this setting.



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Introduction to Clement Sector
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Referee's Aid 2: The Type-S Scout/Courier
    Publisher: Mongoose
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 03/05/2015 18:39:53

    The product is OK only. I think that it is very light in content and that a lot more effort could be put into it. For a product with a full price of $4.99 (I actually paid $2.99 when it was on special) I would have expected a lot more.

    The 3 D artwork along side the traditional deck plan is good. It gives a real living sense of this little starship. I like this aspect of the product and would like to see more in future. This is where Mongoose really had a chance to shine, but alas, they seem to have fallen short. Black and white artwork belongs in the 1990's. We live in the 21st century with tablets, computers with PDF readers and colour printers. I have said this once and will say it again -

    THERE IS NO EXCUSE FOR NOT USING COLOUR.

    The external drawing of the Type S end of the ebook gives a good sense of the external view of the starship. The drawing on page 6 looks nothing like it. It appears a lot bigger and is confusing for the reader.

    So here are my recommendations:

    Use colour in your artwork.

    Consider 3D modelling software when doing artwork. Many folios of historical WW2 fighting ships have been done this way - they are more expensive but they do look good.

    Provide more written content.

    My rating - two stars -(not a total disaster but found wanting)



    Rating:
    [2 of 5 Stars!]
    Referee's Aid 2: The Type-S Scout/Courier
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Traveller Main Rulebook
    Publisher: Mongoose
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 12/13/2014 21:59:35

    This is a fair attempt at updating what is essentially classic Traveller (CT) little black books to 8. I say 'fair attempt' because although the basic idea was there, it was rather sloppy in it's execution. Overall production quality and layout is no improvement over rpgs from the late 1980's to early 1990's. Artwork consists of basic monochrome drawings in a style of the same vintage, yet other rpgs have moved on with a much more sophisticated level of production. With modern computer graphics available to us all these days, there is really no excuse for such sloppy and lazy production. Character generation is ok - somewhere between little black books 1- 3 and books 4 - 8. Starship construction is essentially books 1 - 3. Larger ships require 'High Gaurd. '

    Overall, considering that this is just a core rule book, it is farly expensive for what you get if you pay full price for it. I actually purchased it on special when it was really cheap. At the price I paoed ot was actually a bargain! At full price, however, it is as with a lot of othe Mongoose 'Traveller' rpg products, overpriced.



    Rating:
    [3 of 5 Stars!]
    Traveller Main Rulebook
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Special Supplement 3: Vehicle Upgrade Manual
    Publisher: Mongoose
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 04/11/2014 20:35:29

    I think this is a great little product that greatly enhances the suppliment 5-6 design sequence. Now it is possible to design land dredoughts and behemoths! I like this option as the system up until that puont seemd a bit limited. My main criticism is that this supplement seems to switch across to a system that looks a lot like their High Guard system which is used for large starships. There is no explanation why or how rhis dovetales into the book 5-6 system. This may be confusing to some people as there seems to be a lack of adequate explanation.

    Overall, a fairly good effort Mongoose. I look forward to seeing more of your good work. Pleasw keep it up.



    Rating:
    [4 of 5 Stars!]
    Special Supplement 3: Vehicle Upgrade Manual
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
    Publisher: Sine Nomine Publishing
    by Philip W. [Verified Purchaser]
    Date Added: 01/05/2014 21:26:58

    This is a good role playing game with an interesting background. It seems to have elements that are a blend of a number of experience points/level gaming systems and 'space opera' science fiction storysettings such as ones penned by Larry Niven or 'Star Wars' settings. The character generation system and starship creation systems both seem to be farly straight forward proving that it is possible to create a system that can be operated without a PHD in physics and astro-enineering.

    Well done!



    Rating:
    [5 of 5 Stars!]
    Stars Without Number: Original Free Edition
    Click to show product description

    Add to  Order

    Displaying 1 to 15 (of 16 reviews) Result Pages:  1  2  [Next >>] 
    Back
    0 items